User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 363 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 363

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    From the top of the saga.
  2. Nov 8, 2014
    8
    Action game for adults and kids alike. Epic in scope and in game mechanics. Focuses on action (third person cover-based shooter) and not so much on exploration or puzzles. The puzzles are innovative (though I once played a Flash game with the same gimmick), but that part of the game only feels added on like a bonus. It doesn't really take off as it only gets an hour or two of shorterAction game for adults and kids alike. Epic in scope and in game mechanics. Focuses on action (third person cover-based shooter) and not so much on exploration or puzzles. The puzzles are innovative (though I once played a Flash game with the same gimmick), but that part of the game only feels added on like a bonus. It doesn't really take off as it only gets an hour or two of shorter puzzles mixed in between the main story. The action, however gets plenty of time to expand from simple blasting to a balancing act with a big arsenal of memorable weapons. The story aims for the ridiculous and hits it hard, spot on. Not anything to teach you life-lessons or anything. But you do come away from the game feeling a little bit more capable, a little bit more heroic. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a beloved series on the PS2 and PS3 and the Future games are totally awesome. My daughter and I love the series! It's not coop but you can still enjoy it together.
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Ratchet & Clank: A Crack in Time is incredible, absolutely incredible. It uses the gameplay formula style of Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty, but they've improved it, they've tweaked it so that it's more fast-paced and engaging, it's an awesome game to play. The graphics style has changed a bit, so that it looks better, it's very easy on the eyes. One thing that makes the wholeRatchet & Clank: A Crack in Time is incredible, absolutely incredible. It uses the gameplay formula style of Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty, but they've improved it, they've tweaked it so that it's more fast-paced and engaging, it's an awesome game to play. The graphics style has changed a bit, so that it looks better, it's very easy on the eyes. One thing that makes the whole experience even better is the massive space hub-world, where you can explore different moons, complete quests, listen to hilarious radio, and blow up stuff. One of the best parts of A Crack in Time is the excellent story-line, with shocking twists, hilarious conversations and stuff, and dramatic sequences. The soundtrack wouldn't be that great to listen to on its own, but it fits in with the game insanely well. If you haven't played this game or got it yet, I truly, truly recommend this to you! Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    9
    An amazing game, and an perfect example of what a game should all be about. Yes, this would be my first ratchet and clank game, and needless to say I will be buying future/past iterations of this franchise without hesitation, This game has everything I look for in video games, the fun factor, variety in gameplay, decent-good story with fun platforming, puzzles, addictive side-content,An amazing game, and an perfect example of what a game should all be about. Yes, this would be my first ratchet and clank game, and needless to say I will be buying future/past iterations of this franchise without hesitation, This game has everything I look for in video games, the fun factor, variety in gameplay, decent-good story with fun platforming, puzzles, addictive side-content, perfect gamelength, and a game that doesn't take itself too seriously with added in humor. There wasn't much negatives in this game, although I felt like the story(especially the ending was pretty predictable), wanted more platforming/wacky unique guns, since it can get repetitive shooting so many enemies in the game. But clearly the positives outweigh the negatives by a mile; this is probably a better investment than most triple a games coming out this past year or generation in my opinion. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the best PlayStation 3 game I've played. Although it feels distinctly similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games, there are a few new things to keep it fresh. The main antagonist from the 3rd Ratchet and Clank game, Dr Nefarious, returns (Yay!) and plans to use a device called the Great Clock created by the mysterious beings, the Zoni and create aRatchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the best PlayStation 3 game I've played. Although it feels distinctly similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games, there are a few new things to keep it fresh. The main antagonist from the 3rd Ratchet and Clank game, Dr Nefarious, returns (Yay!) and plans to use a device called the Great Clock created by the mysterious beings, the Zoni and create a Future in which the Heroes always lose. The game play is similar to anyone who's played a Ratchet and Clank game: You have a selection of weapons and have to fight through enemies to reach the end of the level. The weapon designs are great like the Buzz Blades and the Tesla Spikes.The spiritual moons return from past RaC games and are fun to explore. The graphics are lovely: It feels like your watching and playing a Pixar movie. A new game play element to the series is the introduction of Time Puzzles which Clank has to solve which are fun to solve and the later puzzles in the game give your brain a workout. The plot is interesting and the characters are well designed and nicely voiced. The boss battles are epic and quite challenging and the soundtrack is superb. Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is a really enjoyable game and a great conclusion to the Future Trilogy. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at howThis game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at how outstanding these graphics are, they are truly spectacular all around. Playing the game is very easy, and you can easily jump right in to everything. Each gun in the game is also spectacular in their own rights, and each also gets a special intro video to each, which by the way are very humorous. Puzzle sequences alternate with Ratchet's shooting sequences, and they are time based. Clank is in charge of the puzzles in the game, and there is enough to satisfy, yet not too much to get annoying. If you need a Platinum Trophy... this game is a 25-35 hour Platinum trophy, and a very easy one at that. Should you get this game? Yes, absolutely pick this up, you will love it. Expand
  8. May 10, 2015
    0
    Mediocre game, too unfocused. Tries to be funny but fails badly at the end. Stay away from these pretentious piece of crap. Boring, tedious and doesn't worth your time.
  9. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is one of my favorite video game series of all time. The platforming, great graphics , good gameplay, comedy, and cool storyline are what makes certain games like this great. 10/10
  10. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the story is great, the game play is better. Truly the best game in the series. This game has many changeling puzzles, heart-pumping action, and laugh-out-loud humor. This game is great for anyone and everyone.
  11. May 15, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Ratchet & Clank series and this doesn't disappoint in terms of the experience. This probably has the best story of any game in the series revealing more about Ratchet and Clank's respective origins and what happened to the Lombaxes. The other characters are great to with Azimuth being my favourite. The wepons are as fun as ever and the same great platforming andI have always loved the Ratchet & Clank series and this doesn't disappoint in terms of the experience. This probably has the best story of any game in the series revealing more about Ratchet and Clank's respective origins and what happened to the Lombaxes. The other characters are great to with Azimuth being my favourite. The wepons are as fun as ever and the same great platforming and shooting is there from the other games. The changes such as now being able to freely pilot your ship and Clanks's time puzzles are good to. It changes up the gameplay well unlike All 4 One. The graphics are great to with alien worlds and varying environments looking better than ever. Truly a great game Expand
  12. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the final game to the future saga and overall became a more exciting game than Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty. The game may have the same formula as previous Ratchet and Clank games, but provides new elements that's never been featured in the other Ratchet titles like exploring through space freely and the new Clank's time puzzles. I thinkRatchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the final game to the future saga and overall became a more exciting game than Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty. The game may have the same formula as previous Ratchet and Clank games, but provides new elements that's never been featured in the other Ratchet titles like exploring through space freely and the new Clank's time puzzles. I think what makes this game really engaging is the continuation of the story and those outstanding animations. Though some parts of the plot are a bit mind boggling and even if the visuals are really vivid this time around, the cutscenes seem too inconsistent compared to previous Ratchet games. As always, the writing in the story and humour is great for both kids and adults to enjoy with a great set of voice cast to make the experience really entertaining. Like Tools of Destruction, A Crack in Time came close to a perfect 10 with its old and new variety of gameplay, but the lack of world explorations and recycled weapons gives it a 9. Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is definitely the better Ratchet and Clank game to try out on the PS3, but be warned that you might be confused with the story if you decide to play this game before Tools of Destruction. Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Simply fantastic game. Seems like the game series are never going to die away. Beautiful graphics, epic storyline and gameplay make this easily one of the best action/adventure games what ps3 has to offer.
  14. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    This game was very good the graphics were smooth the gameplay was very good I liked giong from moon to moon although there should have been more planets another complaint is that the weapons werent as useful as the other R and Clank games very very good but not perfect. 9/10
  15. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    A Crack in Time stands to be one of the greatest Ratchet & Clank adventures to date, taking everything that made Tools of Destruction great and expanding on it. The addition of explorable space, as well as reinforcing the platformer elements with time puzzles and additional collectables make this title a fine addition to glowing franchise, and one of the most highly recommended titles toA Crack in Time stands to be one of the greatest Ratchet & Clank adventures to date, taking everything that made Tools of Destruction great and expanding on it. The addition of explorable space, as well as reinforcing the platformer elements with time puzzles and additional collectables make this title a fine addition to glowing franchise, and one of the most highly recommended titles to play in the series. Expand
  16. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best games money can buy. The arsenal of weapons is better than expected, the characters are real characters and.. Quark is definitely being..Quark. Great graphics, great gameplay, better space combat and free real roaming-- everything you expected and maybe more. The ending was pleasing.. but so sad to see the series end. Long live Ratchet and Clank!
  17. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    RC A Crack In Time is one of the best PS3 games i have played. The story is great, beautiful graphics, cool music and awesome gameplay.

    You will love the weapons, most of the planets, the sidequests, and riding around the galaxies while listening to the Pirate Radio or the Deep Space Jams!
  18. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing storyThis was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing story that will keep you hooked. but as you're reading this and looking at the metacritic score "87" you might be scratching you head (Ign did not give it a perfect score because it was "more of the same" really? more of the same? is call of duty not more of the same? seriously). well take my advice and mine only ignore it because those reviewers don't know JACK. That score should be at least a "96" because this game is awsome! Expand
  19. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    You didn't know your PS3 could do so much. "Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack In Time" is the final installment in the "Ratchet and Clank Future" trilogy, and the final "Ratchet and Clank" game to follow the original format (Yes there ARE new R&C games, but these are simply because R&C are Sony's main mascots and naturally star in other games with different concepts, just like how SuperYou didn't know your PS3 could do so much. "Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack In Time" is the final installment in the "Ratchet and Clank Future" trilogy, and the final "Ratchet and Clank" game to follow the original format (Yes there ARE new R&C games, but these are simply because R&C are Sony's main mascots and naturally star in other games with different concepts, just like how Super Mario still stars in MarioKart). This game has it all; an incredible, gripping plot, a massive variety of weaponry (customizable and upgradable) and a very long list of game-play options, in a game that will last for weeks. simply incredible, it has no flaws, and is an ideal PlayStation title. If only there were more gripping action/third-person-shooter titles like this one. Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    To close the Future arc in the Ratchet & Clank series, A Crack in Time is a perfect mix of everything that was best in each previous game of the series. Without sacrificing the fun dialogue, Insomniac created a serious story that explores the past of the main duo and gives them new depth. Ratchet's origins and the fate of the Lombax race and Clank's purpose are intelligently developed asTo close the Future arc in the Ratchet & Clank series, A Crack in Time is a perfect mix of everything that was best in each previous game of the series. Without sacrificing the fun dialogue, Insomniac created a serious story that explores the past of the main duo and gives them new depth. Ratchet's origins and the fate of the Lombax race and Clank's purpose are intelligently developed as the game progresses, powered up by the return of the best villain of the series by far, the mad Doctor Nefarious. Gameplay was improved and Ratchet feels lighter than ever. The soundtrack is great and the new weapons are outstanding even by the series' standards. Firing the Rift Inducer 5000 and seeing your kraken-like monster buddy Fred come out of a black hole to pull in enemies never gets old. Graphics are as colorful as ever, and the breathtaking environments are simply beautiful. Clank has a whole new role to play in the series, and his time-based puzzles are imaginative and challenging without being frustrating. Space travel, planetoid exploration, everything was improved and perfected. A Crack in Time is arguably the best game in this brilliant series. Expand
  21. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best games I played so far. The graphics are amazing. the gameplay is FUN FUN FUN!!! there are a lot of weapons, and customizations for them. The story and characters along with the voice acting are amazing. There was nothing I didnt liked in this game. Do yourself a favor and get it!!! This is a game world you have to visit.
  22. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    ratchet and clank a crack in time is probably one of the best ratchet and clank games together with up your arsenal this game is just so good the graphics are better more and cooler weapons many extra's and great gameplay and character development another great extra for this game is the insomniac museum what is quite big too in short ratchet and clank a crack in time is probably theratchet and clank a crack in time is probably one of the best ratchet and clank games together with up your arsenal this game is just so good the graphics are better more and cooler weapons many extra's and great gameplay and character development another great extra for this game is the insomniac museum what is quite big too in short ratchet and clank a crack in time is probably the biggest ratchet and clank game ever made this is what ratchet and clank shoud be again.
    +better weapons
    +good character development
    +big open universe
    +great gadjets
    Expand
  23. Jan 31, 2015
    9
    One of the best in the series so far. The new Clank gameplay is a great addition, and the balancing issues from Tools of Destruction have been fixed. A good part of the series storyline too. A little short.
  24. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the best Ratchet and Clank game ever!! It is so fun to play and I am a big fan of Ratchet and Clank!! Fantastic story, wonderful graphics, and very good gameplay makes this a must buy. 10/10
  25. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is not just the best Ratchet and Clank game ever made, but it is also the best platformer ever made! It's funny, exciting and full of heart. It stays true to the Ratchet and Clank series while improving it. This game has the heart of Pixar and the comedy of Dreamworks while still bringing an exhilaratingly fun traditional game that has tons ofRatchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time is not just the best Ratchet and Clank game ever made, but it is also the best platformer ever made! It's funny, exciting and full of heart. It stays true to the Ratchet and Clank series while improving it. This game has the heart of Pixar and the comedy of Dreamworks while still bringing an exhilaratingly fun traditional game that has tons of replay value despite its long length (if your trying to complete everything that is). All of the cool new quarky weapons brings new excitement to the series, and the customizable weapons is also great upgrade. Expand
  26. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Excellent game, everything lovable about Ratchet and Clank is here! Ratchet's gameplay is fairly standard stuff, it was Clank who saved this, however. His simple yet effective time based puzzles were amazing and reserved most of my love for this game. Space gameplay is lovely and the story is excellent. All classic is the rest with a special mention to Hover-Boots, these masterpieces areExcellent game, everything lovable about Ratchet and Clank is here! Ratchet's gameplay is fairly standard stuff, it was Clank who saved this, however. His simple yet effective time based puzzles were amazing and reserved most of my love for this game. Space gameplay is lovely and the story is excellent. All classic is the rest with a special mention to Hover-Boots, these masterpieces are amazing! Voice acting is FAB music is good but not as good as previous Ratchet titles. An 8/10 from me. Expand
  27. Dec 11, 2014
    7
    Ratchet & Clank Future: A Crack in Time (known as Ratchet & Clank: A Crack in Time in most PAL countries) is a 2009 platformer video game developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony Computer Entertainment for the PlayStation 3. It is the sequel to Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction and Ratchet & Clank Future: Quest for Booty.
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is the best game that I have ever played. It is all I ever wanted in a video game. Its gameplay is really good, even the Clank stages which I disliked in the other games, the story is great and unique, the graphics and design is just so beautiful, and the soundtrack is amazing. This game doesn't let me down.
  29. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    The game is enjoyable all the way through and still adds many new gameplay elements to keep it fresh. Do
    not think that you are crazy for playing this game through more than once; I and many others most certainly have.
  30. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    This has to be the best Ratchet & Clank game out. The jokes are so bad they're good, the weapons are inventive and the graphics are still cartoony, but polished to make an already good look better. I loved this game so much i was gutted when i took it back to Blockbuster. However, i did manage to get an easy platinum trophy out of it! There are a few annoying glitches though. Sometimes,This has to be the best Ratchet & Clank game out. The jokes are so bad they're good, the weapons are inventive and the graphics are still cartoony, but polished to make an already good look better. I loved this game so much i was gutted when i took it back to Blockbuster. However, i did manage to get an easy platinum trophy out of it! There are a few annoying glitches though. Sometimes, the game sound stopped if i fireda gun for more thn 5 seconds, and Ratchet glitched through barriers and insta-died a couple of times too. These glitches stop this game from being a perfect 10, but 9.9 is still good enough! Good job Insomniac! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Same gameplay, new story. More jokes and many new little gadgets make the new part of this series as enjoyable as the older ones. Insomniac Games build on their qualities and do well so.
  2. 85
    This is the last part in the trilogy and has a few new gameplay possibilities. You can use the great new Hooverboots, explore space with your spaceship and you need to find Clank. A great adventure and a truly worthy closing of the trilogy.
  3. 90
    It's not a difficult game, but with bolts, Zoni, Skill Points, holoplans, Constructo Mods, space missions, Trophies and Challenge Mode, there's an abundance of gameplay. It's a robust single player experience, and I particularly love that Insomniac has kept their signature Skill Points, with their own quirky requirements, separate from Trophies.