User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 360

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    The game is enjoyable all the way through and still adds many new gameplay elements to keep it fresh. Do
    not think that you are crazy for playing this game through more than once; I and many others most certainly have.
  2. jerry
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Playing this game is like watching a saturday morning cartoon. It's such a blast to play and can be quite challenging at times. If you want a game with an excellent storyline, beautiful graphics & excellent gameplay A Crack in Time will have you covered on all fronts.
  3. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games you can play. Everything about this series screams the word "fun" but this one in particular was hands down the best experience of them all so far! I love the clank time puzzles, they are easy at first but take quite a bit of thinking towards the end. I adore all the characters in this franchise and it is awesome when you see people from previous games return or makeOne of the best games you can play. Everything about this series screams the word "fun" but this one in particular was hands down the best experience of them all so far! I love the clank time puzzles, they are easy at first but take quite a bit of thinking towards the end. I adore all the characters in this franchise and it is awesome when you see people from previous games return or make cameo's. Nice blend of action, comedy, and fun! Expand
  4. RyanR
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game! Would be foolish not to try it. Epic Storyline and a blast to play.
  5. MatthewW
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Seriously, if the PS3 ONLY had it's exclusives and not a single other game I would go out and pay $500 for it today. The R&C Future series are just beyond amazing. You'd swear you were playing the playstation 4 it looks so amazing, it has such incredible framerates and of course, obsidian, being one of the world top devs has made the gameplay fun on every level. I recommend all Seriously, if the PS3 ONLY had it's exclusives and not a single other game I would go out and pay $500 for it today. The R&C Future series are just beyond amazing. You'd swear you were playing the playstation 4 it looks so amazing, it has such incredible framerates and of course, obsidian, being one of the world top devs has made the gameplay fun on every level. I recommend all the R&C future games, they all are worth whatever the cost for they bring a platforming experience that you've never even come close to playing. Trust me, buy all 3 games. If nothing to see just how HUGE the gap in pure gaming power the PS3 has over the XBOX. Seriously after playing the R&C:F games, killzone 2, uncharted 2, and resistance 2 I now realize just how much the xbox is holding back gaming. All these 3rd party devs want to make games on both so they have to make games with 1/3 the content and drasticaly lower graphics than if they were making a PS3 only game. Seriously it's a shame we have to suffer having mediocre games because people think the xbox is better than the PS3 which it is not, in any way. XBOX has HALO... seriously? ODST sucked, nothing else worth mentioning. Don't forget to check out Captain Quarks new movie, "My blasters run hot!" (now playing in holo-theatres galaxy wide.) Expand
  6. DanT
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    "Crack in Time" is a great addition to the series. The time puzzles are awesome, although at first I wasn't sure I would like them. I'm currently playing my first replay, on Hard mode, and some parts of the game can be a real challenge. Make sure you complete all the moons - they make the game last much longer. My only complaint is that the RYNO V isn't the best RYNO of the "Crack in Time" is a great addition to the series. The time puzzles are awesome, although at first I wasn't sure I would like them. I'm currently playing my first replay, on Hard mode, and some parts of the game can be a real challenge. Make sure you complete all the moons - they make the game last much longer. My only complaint is that the RYNO V isn't the best RYNO of the series (but it's pretty good) - that honor goes to the RYNO II if I remember correctly - the one with all the homing rockets. I must admit, though, that I haven't gotten it to full stats yet, so perhaps my opinion will change. R&C is my favorite gaming series - I've played every game on every platform. I bought a PS3 specifically for R&C (but obviously use it for much more). I hope this isn't the last in the series, because there's really nothing else like it anywhere. You can find plenty of FP shooters, but how many games like R&C are there? None. Long Live Ratchet & Clank!! Expand
  7. ImreK
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Nothing short of brilliant. If you liked the first one go out and get it now.
  8. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the best PlayStation 3 game I've played. Although it feels distinctly similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games, there are a few new things to keep it fresh. The main antagonist from the 3rd Ratchet and Clank game, Dr Nefarious, returns (Yay!) and plans to use a device called the Great Clock created by the mysterious beings, the Zoni and create aRatchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is the best PlayStation 3 game I've played. Although it feels distinctly similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games, there are a few new things to keep it fresh. The main antagonist from the 3rd Ratchet and Clank game, Dr Nefarious, returns (Yay!) and plans to use a device called the Great Clock created by the mysterious beings, the Zoni and create a Future in which the Heroes always lose. The game play is similar to anyone who's played a Ratchet and Clank game: You have a selection of weapons and have to fight through enemies to reach the end of the level. The weapon designs are great like the Buzz Blades and the Tesla Spikes.The spiritual moons return from past RaC games and are fun to explore. The graphics are lovely: It feels like your watching and playing a Pixar movie. A new game play element to the series is the introduction of Time Puzzles which Clank has to solve which are fun to solve and the later puzzles in the game give your brain a workout. The plot is interesting and the characters are well designed and nicely voiced. The boss battles are epic and quite challenging and the soundtrack is superb. Ratchet and Clank: A Crack in Time is a really enjoyable game and a great conclusion to the Future Trilogy. Expand
  9. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at howThis game is a testament to why Insomniac is so good. A Crack in Time creates an epic story with a great deal of humor mixed in for good measure. The game consistently rewards and praises you while running through the game, and even though some of the challenges are easy, it still gives has a nice feel good touch. The graphics are vibrant and colorful. You will be amazed at how outstanding these graphics are, they are truly spectacular all around. Playing the game is very easy, and you can easily jump right in to everything. Each gun in the game is also spectacular in their own rights, and each also gets a special intro video to each, which by the way are very humorous. Puzzle sequences alternate with Ratchet's shooting sequences, and they are time based. Clank is in charge of the puzzles in the game, and there is enough to satisfy, yet not too much to get annoying. If you need a Platinum Trophy... this game is a 25-35 hour Platinum trophy, and a very easy one at that. Should you get this game? Yes, absolutely pick this up, you will love it. Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I've given this a 9 because the story mode is good however i found flying round in space and doing some of the moons a bit boring. I loved the hover boots as they make it a lot easier than using the charge boots all the time like in the old game, the hover boots also make it easier to get from action to action so it makes it more enjoyable that you can kill more enemies in a shorter amountI've given this a 9 because the story mode is good however i found flying round in space and doing some of the moons a bit boring. I loved the hover boots as they make it a lot easier than using the charge boots all the time like in the old game, the hover boots also make it easier to get from action to action so it makes it more enjoyable that you can kill more enemies in a shorter amount of time. I found the variety of weapons very good as there are just normal guns and burping frog guns. I think i would give it a 10 if it had multiplayer and online like in 3 and gladiator as I don't think that just the story is going to keep you entertained for more than 20 hours. I think it's worth buying and if you don't have the games before this one there is a cinematic telling you the story so far. Expand
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    This game is the best Ratchet and Clank game ever!! It is so fun to play and I am a big fan of Ratchet and Clank!! Fantastic story, wonderful graphics, and very good gameplay makes this a must buy. 10/10
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Pretty much the culmination of 10 great years of Ratchet & Clank mechanics, "A Crack in Time" has everything I'd expect from a main series entry and then some. The story is in parts amusing, but overall very touching and surprisingly moving. The gameplay is as fast-paced and enjoyable as any of the other entries and I had a great time blasting enemies to pieces with the variety of crazyPretty much the culmination of 10 great years of Ratchet & Clank mechanics, "A Crack in Time" has everything I'd expect from a main series entry and then some. The story is in parts amusing, but overall very touching and surprisingly moving. The gameplay is as fast-paced and enjoyable as any of the other entries and I had a great time blasting enemies to pieces with the variety of crazy weapons you're given. And there's a surprising amount of content here too, given all the planets you can explore with Aphelion for bolts, zoni and other treasures. Overall, one of the best videogames I've played in a long time. I cannot recommend it enough. Expand
  13. jason
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    A fantastic game. Better than TOD. Probably the best in the series.
  14. GtwodD
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This game is worthy sequel. Not the best R&C game, but defiantly worth having. I like the new layout of travelling from planet to planet including sub missions. I would love to see the old ps2 game update for the ps3, I think there is a an audience. R&C is probably the best platformer out there, fun for all ages
  15. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    If this is indeed the las time that we will see of Ratchet or Clank for awhile then they surely went out with a bang (no pun intended). It has everything you'd expect from a R&C game along with new clever puzzle pieces making this is the best R&C game to date.
  16. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Funnier to experience than Tools of Destruction, it's more of the same when considering the presentation and gameplay elements but if you thought that TOD and Quest for Booty lacked the comedy the series is sometimes known for, Quest For Booty will do brilliantly for your platforming needs
  17. JasonA
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    What are the reviewers that gave this game a 70 looking for? Why can't a game be a single player experience and just fun? This game is a blast to play, it grabs hold of you and never let's go. The pacing is amazing also, you work thru a huge battle requiring strategy and planning which leads into a cerebral puzzle or twitch rail platforming section. Like I said, pure fun, and What are the reviewers that gave this game a 70 looking for? Why can't a game be a single player experience and just fun? This game is a blast to play, it grabs hold of you and never let's go. The pacing is amazing also, you work thru a huge battle requiring strategy and planning which leads into a cerebral puzzle or twitch rail platforming section. Like I said, pure fun, and with all the side quests it's incredibly long for a platformer. Expand
  18. RienyeN.
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Solid peace of gaming and an excellent cap to the R&C franchise. Finished it after 15hrs of playing. Granted i played it on normal mode (like i do all games at first). Only thing i can say is that on that level, the bosses are pretty tame. Only died once fighting Nefarious, but other than that i loved it. They should totally make another. Great game, great graphics, totally worth it.
  19. BrettD
    Dec 4, 2009
    7
    It's an okay game if you have nothing else to play. The previous game FTOD was much better though. It had a better script making me laugh often whereas this one I laughed seldom. The new weapons are cool though and I enjoy how insomniac keeps the weapons fresh. I do miss some of the older aspects like more grind rails and the mini games like the hacking the circuit with the sixaxis. It's an okay game if you have nothing else to play. The previous game FTOD was much better though. It had a better script making me laugh often whereas this one I laughed seldom. The new weapons are cool though and I enjoy how insomniac keeps the weapons fresh. I do miss some of the older aspects like more grind rails and the mini games like the hacking the circuit with the sixaxis. Not a terrible game but definitely a rental. Collapse
  20. BrianR
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.25, Which is the Metascore this title deserves. Play it, and you'll understand... DISCLAIMER: I HAVE NOT PLAYED THIS GAME
  21. JasonM
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    This game is just amazing and i have only just finished the first level. But all the new moves and puzzle solving is brilliant. Yeah sure it has been the same for 7 years like the movie critics have said but if you've been playing it since PS2 and RAC 1 then it is amazing to see how everything has evolved from then on. Absolutely breathtaking.
  22. RafeakyJ
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Excellent adventure , with paradox puzzles , customizable and upgradable weapons. Performs well with a good story platforming and action. Last but not least the Omega Ryno V is an Epic Weapon.
  23. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    This has to be the best Ratchet & Clank game out. The jokes are so bad they're good, the weapons are inventive and the graphics are still cartoony, but polished to make an already good look better. I loved this game so much i was gutted when i took it back to Blockbuster. However, i did manage to get an easy platinum trophy out of it! There are a few annoying glitches though. Sometimes,This has to be the best Ratchet & Clank game out. The jokes are so bad they're good, the weapons are inventive and the graphics are still cartoony, but polished to make an already good look better. I loved this game so much i was gutted when i took it back to Blockbuster. However, i did manage to get an easy platinum trophy out of it! There are a few annoying glitches though. Sometimes, the game sound stopped if i fireda gun for more thn 5 seconds, and Ratchet glitched through barriers and insta-died a couple of times too. These glitches stop this game from being a perfect 10, but 9.9 is still good enough! Good job Insomniac! Expand
  24. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is one of my favorite video game series of all time. The platforming, great graphics , good gameplay, comedy, and cool storyline are what makes certain games like this great. 10/10
  25. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    One of the best games money can buy. The arsenal of weapons is better than expected, the characters are real characters and.. Quark is definitely being..Quark. Great graphics, great gameplay, better space combat and free real roaming-- everything you expected and maybe more. The ending was pleasing.. but so sad to see the series end. Long live Ratchet and Clank!
  26. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the story is great, the game play is better. Truly the best game in the series. This game has many changeling puzzles, heart-pumping action, and laugh-out-loud humor. This game is great for anyone and everyone.
  27. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This game is pure fun. It follows the same formula but never seems to get old. The new additions from previous is the ability to now travel between planets and do mini planets/moons, fight and earn bolts from jobs! Leveling up weapons as you use them and collecting all the special item's is very satisfying. If you want a brilliant 3d platformer with a great story then look no further.
  28. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing storyThis was a really great game. one thing i liked was the space exploration, this is a great addition to the game, and made it seem more alive somehow. I hope they add it to another ratchet and clank game in the future. the graphics are even better than they were in Tools of Destruction, you also get the hoverboots which are a better version of the charge boots. It also has an amazing story that will keep you hooked. but as you're reading this and looking at the metacritic score "87" you might be scratching you head (Ign did not give it a perfect score because it was "more of the same" really? more of the same? is call of duty not more of the same? seriously). well take my advice and mine only ignore it because those reviewers don't know JACK. That score should be at least a "96" because this game is awsome! Expand
  29. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    This game was very good the graphics were smooth the gameplay was very good I liked giong from moon to moon although there should have been more planets another complaint is that the weapons werent as useful as the other R and Clank games very very good but not perfect. 9/10
  30. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    This game is a great game but it didn't feel like a ratchet and clank game i had grown up with. I just love having ratchet on my back. I have finished this game 3 times and it is really addictive to get all the trophys on this game and to play the game another time. I had quite alot fun on this ratchet and clank I think its worth buying.It has beautiful visuals and there really nice andThis game is a great game but it didn't feel like a ratchet and clank game i had grown up with. I just love having ratchet on my back. I have finished this game 3 times and it is really addictive to get all the trophys on this game and to play the game another time. I had quite alot fun on this ratchet and clank I think its worth buying.It has beautiful visuals and there really nice and smooth in HD I love the twists on this game but i don't want to ruin it. I would give this a Solid 8.7. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 85 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Same gameplay, new story. More jokes and many new little gadgets make the new part of this series as enjoyable as the older ones. Insomniac Games build on their qualities and do well so.
  2. 85
    This is the last part in the trilogy and has a few new gameplay possibilities. You can use the great new Hooverboots, explore space with your spaceship and you need to find Clank. A great adventure and a truly worthy closing of the trilogy.
  3. 90
    It's not a difficult game, but with bolts, Zoni, Skill Points, holoplans, Constructo Mods, space missions, Trophies and Challenge Mode, there's an abundance of gameplay. It's a robust single player experience, and I particularly love that Insomniac has kept their signature Skill Points, with their own quirky requirements, separate from Trophies.