User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 705 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 705
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MasJ.
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    Nice graphics, good story and interesting locations. Creative and the boss battles are just right. I rented it, finished it in about 10 hours and definitely feel I had my money's worth of entertainment.
  2. WarrenC.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    In my top three games of 2007 (right under Call of Duty 4 and Bioshock). It's a a great breath of fresh air in a year packed with dark shooters.
  3. IanR.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    This game is seriously fun, I completed it 3 times back to back and still wasn't bored of it. I bought this game as a bit of a gamble, hoping it would take me back to my much loved platform gaming days and it didn't disappoint. The range of weapons is awsome and it looks fantastic, incredible colour and graphics especially in HD. You may need some help to find all of the golden This game is seriously fun, I completed it 3 times back to back and still wasn't bored of it. I bought this game as a bit of a gamble, hoping it would take me back to my much loved platform gaming days and it didn't disappoint. The range of weapons is awsome and it looks fantastic, incredible colour and graphics especially in HD. You may need some help to find all of the golden bolts and holo plans (for the Ryno weapon) as they are scattered throughout the galaxy, but all in all one of the best games out on PS3 at the moment. Expand
  4. AndrewO
    Mar 26, 2008
    8
    Very fun, fast paced game. Of course you are going to have fun with all the weapons and upgrades. The only flaw that I can find is the short story. I rented the game and easily beat it within the 5 day rental period. A good weekend rent, but not worth purchasing.
  5. JeremyN.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    The bottom line is, it's a must buy for playstation 3 owners.It has my vote for the best ps3 exclusive out there.
  6. GarrettS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Perfection. Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools Of Destruction feels like a sream. Not only is the gameplay absoloutly brilliant but there are times when you just have to put your weapon (s) down and look at the environment your playing in. The concepts in this game are truly breathtaking. I very much indeed look forward to the next installment because if it is anything like this one, it Perfection. Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools Of Destruction feels like a sream. Not only is the gameplay absoloutly brilliant but there are times when you just have to put your weapon (s) down and look at the environment your playing in. The concepts in this game are truly breathtaking. I very much indeed look forward to the next installment because if it is anything like this one, it should be a law to own it. Oh....and dont be scared off by the occasional glitch...I think that one floating box can be excused seeing as how it is floating in a flawless world that is Ratchet and Clank: Future Tools of Distruction. Expand
  7. ChrisM.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Entertaining for the family. Wonderful graphics. Downside is that it's not 2 player and it's to short. Re-playability just isn't there. Recommended for non-hardcore games looking for a couple weeks of fun. I wish there were more entertaining games like this on the market.
  8. NathanSmit
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is defenetly the best game of all time by very far!!!!! I have been a fan of the game since the begining and i still have all the games on ps2 and this new R&C 5 (TOD) is by far the best game i have played so far!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  9. FACTISWRONG
    Dec 26, 2007
    8
    This is my first Ratchet game, not to mention first PS3 game. I must say I am very impressed, and glad I got a PS3. A previous reviewer FACT is on crack because what he mentions is the opposite of what is really the fact. Ratchet and Clank is a Super Mario Bros for the PS3, and that is a compliment in itself. My only complaint is why is it not at the full 1080p? I do not think thisThis is my first Ratchet game, not to mention first PS3 game. I must say I am very impressed, and glad I got a PS3. A previous reviewer FACT is on crack because what he mentions is the opposite of what is really the fact. Ratchet and Clank is a Super Mario Bros for the PS3, and that is a compliment in itself. My only complaint is why is it not at the full 1080p? I do not think this game FULLY leverages the PS3, as I expect more from this platform. Expand
  10. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction is awesome. The first game of the Future trilogy. The graphics are lovely and detailed and the levels huge and interesting. The plot is also interesting, the weapons just as bonkers as ever (especially the Alpha Cannon), the gadgets such as the Groovatron are funky (loads of laughs guaranteed seeing a boss your facing dance to the beat!), the dialogRatchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction is awesome. The first game of the Future trilogy. The graphics are lovely and detailed and the levels huge and interesting. The plot is also interesting, the weapons just as bonkers as ever (especially the Alpha Cannon), the gadgets such as the Groovatron are funky (loads of laughs guaranteed seeing a boss your facing dance to the beat!), the dialog is funny and it is quite a big adventure. One for the fans of Ratchet and Clank. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a very good game. It has good graphics and is very entertaining. When I started playing Ratchet and Clank I didnâ
  12. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Ratchet and Clank were one of the biggest mascots back on the PS2, and seeing the mechanical duo again in their first PS3 game with Tools of Destruction is a must own platforming title for the PS3. Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction consists all the things we loved about the series back on the PS2 games, but with updated visuals, new charming characters, six-axis controls and a newRatchet and Clank were one of the biggest mascots back on the PS2, and seeing the mechanical duo again in their first PS3 game with Tools of Destruction is a must own platforming title for the PS3. Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction consists all the things we loved about the series back on the PS2 games, but with updated visuals, new charming characters, six-axis controls and a new story premise in seeking more about Ratchet's race origins for the first time to newcomers and R&C veterans alike. This game would have been a perfect 10, though a couple of the clunky six-axis controls (The Decryptor puzzle game for example) and the unexpected rare crash that happens before one cutscene on planet Mukow bumps the game down to a 9 instead. This is the game that made me want to get a PS3 in the first place and it is a must own title to add to your PS3 collection. Expand
  13. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Ratchet and Clank series has never let me down except for the All 4 One game , but it is still a great series. A fun platformer with puzzles, humor ,and more. Anyone can enjoy this fantastic game.
  14. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Introduction: I love 3D platformers. I think Spyro The Dragon for the PS1 was the first 3D platformer so it's interesting to note that the makers of that game made the Ratchet & Clank series. Gameplay: You start out with a wrench and a pistol-like weapon. Every weapon except the wrench can be upgraded to level 5. You upgrade weapons simply by hitting any enemy with it. The strongerIntroduction: I love 3D platformers. I think Spyro The Dragon for the PS1 was the first 3D platformer so it's interesting to note that the makers of that game made the Ratchet & Clank series. Gameplay: You start out with a wrench and a pistol-like weapon. Every weapon except the wrench can be upgraded to level 5. You upgrade weapons simply by hitting any enemy with it. The stronger the enemy, the faster your weapon will upgrade. Each upgrade increases your weapon's power, and on the 5th level your weapon gets a certain additional effect that makes your weapon more powerful. Additionally you can use raritarium (purple crystals you either find in chests or falls randomly from enemies) to purchase additional upgrades to your weapons such as faster rate of shooting, more ammo, or even special upgrades that add additional effects to your weapons.

    For the first bit of the game the difficulty felt ridiculously easy to me but thankfully the enemies do become more powerful. The controls are great and very easy to learn, and if you hate using the sixaxis function (some minor parts of the game involve the sixaxis function) you can disable that so you could use the left stick instead. Jumping from platform to platform and railings to railings is incredibly smoth and easy, there'll be no frustrating deaths here due to that. If you love treasure hunting this game has it as you'll be wondering around huge beautiful maps trying to find gold bolts and raritarium chests. But that's optional, you don't have to do it if you don't want to. The enemies are varied, challenging, and fun to kill. Weapon upgrading is ridiculously fun, I've spent countless hours focusing on upgrading my weapons just to see how powerful they get when they become level 5 and fully upgraded. The one fault I can find with this game is that it still does not have trophy support and it seems that the developers have no intentions of adding it. Without the trophies I have to take out half a point so I give it 9/10 for gameplay. Story: You're a Lombax, the last Lombax. An evil genius emperor named Tachyon has killed all the other Lombaxes and he desperately wants to kill you. He reminds me of Dr. Robotnik from the Sonic series. I'd say they're both equally cool villains. Alongside you is Clank, a small robot that helps you out by giving you the ability to float in the air a bit increasing your jump distance. He also helps you in other ways but I don't want to spoil how. With 3D platformers I'm more interested in exploring and admiring the beautiful worlds rather than the story, but the story for this one did occasionally have me wanting to find out more of why Tachyon did this or that. I give it 8.5/10 for story. Graphics: Well it's almost 2012 and I'd say the graphics have held up very well. The color selection isn't perfect in my opinion, I like vibrant greens especially in grass and trees, and this game doesn't have much grass or trees. Still some worlds look so beatiful they'll have you opening your mouth wide open in amazement. Framerate seemed rather smooth to me. I'd give this a 9/10 in graphics. play Time/Replayability: It took me almost 30 hours to beat the game on my first playthrough but I wasn't in a rush I was having so much fun upgrading weapons and treasure hunting. If you were to try to beat the game as fast as possible I think you could do it in about ten hours. When you beat the game you have the option of playing it all over with all the weapons you've unlocked and with all your powerups but on a much harder difficulty, or you could choose to have the game timewarp you to before the final boss encounter so that you could finish exploring the previous worlds you've been to. I'm very satisfied with my playtime but I wish this game had trophies so I'm taking off a point for that. I give this a 9/10 for Play Time/Replayability. Final Recommendation: If you like 3D platformers at all then buy this game immediately! You won't regret it. My final score is 9.5/10.
    Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    lovely game that has not aged well. that is as conclusive as you can get now. when sixasis controls were cool, this came out. when this came out little else good was out. it is still a good game, probably better than a crack in time.

    better guns and storyline, and great humour. this is the best r and c on ps3. but some features are now uncool.
  16. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Tools of Destruction had a terrible mission to accomplish: to take the mascot-powered Ratchet & Clank series into a new console generation; and that usually goes bad. But Tools of Destruction pulls it off with flying colors. It is a great game and a worthy addition to the series. Graphics are beautiful and colorful, making you feel like you are playing a cartoon. The soundtrack isTools of Destruction had a terrible mission to accomplish: to take the mascot-powered Ratchet & Clank series into a new console generation; and that usually goes bad. But Tools of Destruction pulls it off with flying colors. It is a great game and a worthy addition to the series. Graphics are beautiful and colorful, making you feel like you are playing a cartoon. The soundtrack is addictive and voice acting is masterful. The story represents a turn for the serious as it kicks off the ''Future'' arc, but that is done in a very smart way and the series maintains its fun and light dialogue. Gameplay remains unchanged, but for some reason at times I felt that Ratchet was a little bit more mechanical and sluggish than in the previous installments. The new arsenal is as great and creative as ever, from the disco-globe launcher Groovinator (which makes all enemies stop firing at you to dance) to the new brilliantly named rocket-launcher Negotiator. Tools of Destruction is the best mascot-like fun you can have in this generation of consoles. Expand
  17. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    ratchet and clank: tools of destruction is an amazing 3rd person shooter/plat-former with awesome game-play, an interesting storyline, good music, it doesn't really have much faults at all.
  18. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    A great entry into the series, although slightly shallow in wisecracks, and far too short. Having said that, the formula remains strong thanks to upped graphics and fantastic gadgetry and weapons, although it is far from being the essential game of the series.
  19. Apr 30, 2015
    9
    Another ratchet and clank game , and another amazing one at that. Lots of variety and different way to play the game. cool weapons and a decent story, with thrown in humor which I liked a lot. If you like ratchet and clank I think it's safe to say you'll love this one.
  20. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics, perfect controls, and a variety of incredibly powerful and unique weapons make this an amazing game for anyone to enjoy. If you've never played a Ratchet and Clank game before, you will most likely love this game, but if you have played the series before, you will still love it, but it may feel a bit stale. The lovable characters, great story, and outrageous weapons willAmazing graphics, perfect controls, and a variety of incredibly powerful and unique weapons make this an amazing game for anyone to enjoy. If you've never played a Ratchet and Clank game before, you will most likely love this game, but if you have played the series before, you will still love it, but it may feel a bit stale. The lovable characters, great story, and outrageous weapons will infatuate newcomers, while the old formula could turn off long-time fans of the series who would like to see some change. The fighting and exploring style of the game is great, but it could end up feeling like you've played the game before. This is really the only issue with the game (if that's a problem for you, and personally I'd be fine if they made a million games with the same style) so if you still love running around slaughtering your enemies with a vast array of crazy weapons, then this is definitely the game for you. If this fighting style is just too old for you, then maybe you would be better off with Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One. Expand
  21. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    This game continues the excellent tradition that the Ratchet & Clank series already has. While it may not be the very best R&C game to date (in my opinion, that would be Up Your Arsenal for the PS2), it still delivers with original weapons, graphics which are on par, and great voice acting. Don't miss out on this game.
  22. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Like other R&C games this is also pure gold! The story is strong and ends very well. Shooting, platforming and space battles sooo much fun. This is one epic adventure.
  23. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This game is wonderful. Tools of Destruction definetly has some of the best weapons in the series. The graphics truly make the game look like a movie. and it has a great story. big replay value.
  24. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Ratchet and Clank are always of those games where you never get tired of playing.
  25. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Having loved the first one when I was younger and then playing the following 3 I thought this game was going to be the same exciting new experience that it was then. I haven't played the original games since it came out so while I knew what to expect as far as gameplay I still thought it would a fresh feeling. I've got to say, this game did not hold up for me. I felt like I was pushingHaving loved the first one when I was younger and then playing the following 3 I thought this game was going to be the same exciting new experience that it was then. I haven't played the original games since it came out so while I knew what to expect as far as gameplay I still thought it would a fresh feeling. I've got to say, this game did not hold up for me. I felt like I was pushing myself through it rather than actually wanting to see what was next. I didn't find the story interesting in the slightest bit and it didn't help that the audio was either out of sync or skipped and repeated at times. Visually the game was on par with my expectations and the gameplay wasn't terribly bad but it felt monotonous. It was certainly an enjoyable experience reliving certain aspects of a game I once loved but just doesn't feel like what it used to be. I'll be playing the rest of the future series in hopes that it is just a poor experience with one game. Expand
  26. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    good great new graphics cool weapons but not really a lot of weapons actually.
    controls are good,the armor sets are very different from armors from the previous games.
    bolts are easily earn thanks to leviathan hunting and arena fights. something i don't like at this game is that captain qwuark is a bit different then in the other ratchet game's and he issn't on any of the missions. the
    good great new graphics cool weapons but not really a lot of weapons actually.
    controls are good,the armor sets are very different from armors from the previous games.
    bolts are easily earn thanks to leviathan hunting and arena fights.
    something i don't like at this game is that captain qwuark is a bit different then in the other ratchet game's and he issn't on any of the missions.
    the story is okay.
    the game length is fine as well and the new graphics make it look awesome.
    raritanium this crystal is an extra for upgrading your weapons.
    in short a good ratchet and clank game worth buying
    Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    As the first PS3 outing for R&C this game was really fun, but it does slow down in parts (for example the Dino and snow pirate level) but it is still one of my favorite PS3 games
  28. May 11, 2016
    9
    This game is very good and a lot of fun. A mix of 3rd person shooter, platformer. and adventure. Ratchet and Clank prove that you can do a lot with a small concept.
  29. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Tools of Destruction marks Ratchet and Clank's first foray into the HD generation, and a fine attempt at that. Even playing it now in 2013, it's graphics hold up splendidly well with it's bright colours and smooth edges, with a silky smooth framerate to boot. Everything you love about the old games is here, as well as an expanded weapon customization system, 'Gadgets' and a variety of moreTools of Destruction marks Ratchet and Clank's first foray into the HD generation, and a fine attempt at that. Even playing it now in 2013, it's graphics hold up splendidly well with it's bright colours and smooth edges, with a silky smooth framerate to boot. Everything you love about the old games is here, as well as an expanded weapon customization system, 'Gadgets' and a variety of more open levels allowing for exploration with the Robo-Wing, hunting wild creatures and more. Despite all the positives, Tools of Destruction isn't without bugs. With multiple crashes during my playthrough and numerous other small oversights, the game isn't a perfect experience, but it looks great, plays great and is one hell of a great game to play. Aye, Tools of Destruction is the best Ratchet game since Up Your Arsenal, and deserves every bit of praise it gets. Final Score: 8.6/10 Expand
  30. Oct 22, 2015
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game, pretty much on par if not a little better than the original trilogy. The levels are incredibly well designed throughout the majority of the game. The story has more of a darker undertone, with the majority of the game focused on Ratchet's past and the Lombaxes.

    I do recommend this game and find it to be incredibly fun however I feel the majority of the game is
    Absolutely fantastic game, pretty much on par if not a little better than the original trilogy. The levels are incredibly well designed throughout the majority of the game. The story has more of a darker undertone, with the majority of the game focused on Ratchet's past and the Lombaxes.

    I do recommend this game and find it to be incredibly fun however I feel the majority of the game is far too easy and when it isn't (a huge flaw IMO) enemies and bosses are very bullet spongy and you'll find yourself running out of ammo sometimes, this problem pretty much destroyed all fun from the last two stages for me (especially the final two bosses). A flawed masterpiece, with a great story. 9/10
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Given the series orientation towards multiplayer in the final chapters on the PS2, it's quite surprising to find Tools of Destruction a solely single-player experience. With a handful of mini-games Tools of Destruction can be rushed through over a weekend, with the only real replay value stemming from Insomniac's traditional selection of Skill Point challenges to achieve on every level.
  2. The single best game you can find on the PlayStation 3 right now, and at the end of the day, it's the best in the series. If you own a PS3, you need this game in your library. It is the absolutely definition of a must-have title, and right now is the front-runner as game of the year, hands down.
  3. 85
    Not only one of the best looking PlayStation 3 games, it's incredibly enjoyable, with some excellent weapons and some brilliant action set pieces.