User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 569 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 569

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Ratchet and Clank is a very good game. It has good graphics and is very entertaining. When I started playing Ratchet and Clank I didnâ
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    When I first played this, I was amazed, it had been years before I had played a new Ratchet and Clank. It has earned the top of my favourite games list, respect it and treat it well, I have.
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics, perfect controls, and a variety of incredibly powerful and unique weapons make this an amazing game for anyone to enjoy. If you've never played a Ratchet and Clank game before, you will most likely love this game, but if you have played the series before, you will still love it, but it may feel a bit stale. The lovable characters, great story, and outrageous weapons will infatuate newcomers, while the old formula could turn off long-time fans of the series who would like to see some change. The fighting and exploring style of the game is great, but it could end up feeling like you've played the game before. This is really the only issue with the game (if that's a problem for you, and personally I'd be fine if they made a million games with the same style) so if you still love running around slaughtering your enemies with a vast array of crazy weapons, then this is definitely the game for you. If this fighting style is just too old for you, then maybe you would be better off with Ratchet and Clank: All 4 One. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This game is wonderful. Tools of Destruction definetly has some of the best weapons in the series. The graphics truly make the game look like a movie. and it has a great story. big replay value.
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Ratchet and Clank are always of those games where you never get tired of playing.
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction really has a number of good remarks. For one, the graphics (especially for a game made in 2007) are absolutely mind blowing. The gameplay combines a shooter, a platformer, an rpg, and even is a bit of a puzzle game! The story is absolutely engaging to all gamers of all ages and has a nice control interface. In conclusion, this game blew my mind!
  7. Sep 6, 2010
    9
    Ratchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction is awesome. The first game of the Future trilogy. The graphics are lovely and detailed and the levels huge and interesting. The plot is also interesting, the weapons just as bonkers as ever (especially the Alpha Cannon), the gadgets such as the Groovatron are funky (loads of laughs guaranteed seeing a boss your facing dance to the beat!), the dialog is funny and it is quite a big adventure. One for the fans of Ratchet and Clank. Expand
  8. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    i love ratchet and clank and i believe it to be one of the things the Xbox gamers wish they had there are only a couple issues that i had which is why it does not get a perfect score from me. when i bought this game it had been a while since i had played a ratchet & clank game and was excited when this came out and i wasnt disapointed with the good graphics many weapons to use and awsome voice acting and laugh out loud moments that make me smile and as always the story is top notch and has a couple twists that you dont see coming. one problem though is the length and although it is an awsome game there is only about 10 hours of game play if you arent trying to get all the skill points and extra figures to get and can easily be compleated in a weekend i wish they had continued to make the games multiplayer to add some replay value. also the extra battle items i found to be next to useless as i almost never used them except for the Mr Zurkon and i think they could have just left these out. you should not miss out on this game and you will be playing through it a couple times so you should defenatly pick this up Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Ratchet and Clank were one of the biggest mascots back on the PS2, and seeing the mechanical duo again in their first PS3 game with Tools of Destruction is a must own platforming title for the PS3. Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction consists all the things we loved about the series back on the PS2 games, but with updated visuals, new charming characters, six-axis controls and a new story premise in seeking more about Ratchet's race origins for the first time to newcomers and R&C veterans alike. This game would have been a perfect 10, though a couple of the clunky six-axis controls (The Decryptor puzzle game for example) and the unexpected rare crash that happens before one cutscene on planet Mukow bumps the game down to a 9 instead. This is the game that made me want to get a PS3 in the first place and it is a must own title to add to your PS3 collection. Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Ratchet and Clank series has never let me down except for the All 4 One game , but it is still a great series. A fun platformer with puzzles, humor ,and more. Anyone can enjoy this fantastic game.
  11. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    Introduction: I love 3D platformers. I think Spyro The Dragon for the PS1 was the first 3D platformer so it's interesting to note that the makers of that game made the Ratchet & Clank series. Gameplay: You start out with a wrench and a pistol-like weapon. Every weapon except the wrench can be upgraded to level 5. You upgrade weapons simply by hitting any enemy with it. The stronger the enemy, the faster your weapon will upgrade. Each upgrade increases your weapon's power, and on the 5th level your weapon gets a certain additional effect that makes your weapon more powerful. Additionally you can use raritarium (purple crystals you either find in chests or falls randomly from enemies) to purchase additional upgrades to your weapons such as faster rate of shooting, more ammo, or even special upgrades that add additional effects to your weapons.

    For the first bit of the game the difficulty felt ridiculously easy to me but thankfully the enemies do become more powerful. The controls are great and very easy to learn, and if you hate using the sixaxis function (some minor parts of the game involve the sixaxis function) you can disable that so you could use the left stick instead. Jumping from platform to platform and railings to railings is incredibly smoth and easy, there'll be no frustrating deaths here due to that. If you love treasure hunting this game has it as you'll be wondering around huge beautiful maps trying to find gold bolts and raritarium chests. But that's optional, you don't have to do it if you don't want to. The enemies are varied, challenging, and fun to kill. Weapon upgrading is ridiculously fun, I've spent countless hours focusing on upgrading my weapons just to see how powerful they get when they become level 5 and fully upgraded. The one fault I can find with this game is that it still does not have trophy support and it seems that the developers have no intentions of adding it. Without the trophies I have to take out half a point so I give it 9/10 for gameplay. Story: You're a Lombax, the last Lombax. An evil genius emperor named Tachyon has killed all the other Lombaxes and he desperately wants to kill you. He reminds me of Dr. Robotnik from the Sonic series. I'd say they're both equally cool villains. Alongside you is Clank, a small robot that helps you out by giving you the ability to float in the air a bit increasing your jump distance. He also helps you in other ways but I don't want to spoil how. With 3D platformers I'm more interested in exploring and admiring the beautiful worlds rather than the story, but the story for this one did occasionally have me wanting to find out more of why Tachyon did this or that. I give it 8.5/10 for story. Graphics: Well it's almost 2012 and I'd say the graphics have held up very well. The color selection isn't perfect in my opinion, I like vibrant greens especially in grass and trees, and this game doesn't have much grass or trees. Still some worlds look so beatiful they'll have you opening your mouth wide open in amazement. Framerate seemed rather smooth to me. I'd give this a 9/10 in graphics. play Time/Replayability: It took me almost 30 hours to beat the game on my first playthrough but I wasn't in a rush I was having so much fun upgrading weapons and treasure hunting. If you were to try to beat the game as fast as possible I think you could do it in about ten hours. When you beat the game you have the option of playing it all over with all the weapons you've unlocked and with all your powerups but on a much harder difficulty, or you could choose to have the game timewarp you to before the final boss encounter so that you could finish exploring the previous worlds you've been to. I'm very satisfied with my playtime but I wish this game had trophies so I'm taking off a point for that. I give this a 9/10 for Play Time/Replayability. Final Recommendation: If you like 3D platformers at all then buy this game immediately! You won't regret it. My final score is 9.5/10.
    Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    ratchet and clank: tools of destruction is an amazing 3rd person shooter/plat-former with awesome game-play, an interesting storyline, good music, it doesn't really have much faults at all.
  13. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    This game continues the excellent tradition that the Ratchet & Clank series already has. While it may not be the very best R&C game to date (in my opinion, that would be Up Your Arsenal for the PS2), it still delivers with original weapons, graphics which are on par, and great voice acting. Don't miss out on this game.
  14. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Like other R&C games this is also pure gold! The story is strong and ends very well. Shooting, platforming and space battles sooo much fun. This is one epic adventure.
  15. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    I just love this game, even though there is no trophies, the game was fantastic. Even though there is no online, even though there is no multiplayer, these things don't matter when everything else that was included was done superbly, the weapon level ups (except the omni-wrench), the variety of weapons, the humor, etc. Sure the ending wasn't great, but the game play was fantastic. I'd call it a fair sized game, even though I beat it in about a week, even so I didn't do absolutely everything (collecting gold bolts, leveling up all weapons, beating the game on challenge mode, etc.) Overall, 8.7/10 (I hope Crack in Time is this good or better) Expand
  16. May 15, 2013
    9
    If you've played Ratchet and Clank 3 think that but shinier on the PS3. The gameplay is essentially the same which is fine because it is a near perfect mix of platforming and shooting. The enemies and planets you visit vary and the story is good to. It also introduces the villian of Captain Slag, a side villian that manages to outdo the game's main antagonist Emperor Tachyon in charm and making him strangely likeable for a selfish robot space pirate. The weapons are great as always with the massively OP Rhino and Alpha Cannon fun to use. Clanks sections are a bit annoying but nothing major still a great game and is worth playing. Expand
  17. May 24, 2013
    9
    The Ratchet and Clank series has been a childhood favorite of mine, and I felt terrible when the PS3 games came out because I didn't have one back then. Now that I have one, I got this one for my birthday, and I can say this is one; if not the best, Ratchet and clank game. Luckily with the jump to another system the gameplay is still intact, and feels as great as it did back then. The animation is pure eye candy, and does not get in the way of playing the game. The animation is so great that it feels like your watching a movie, and being a apart of it only adds more the adventure. Like with all Ratchet and Clank games, there's a lot of weapons to choose from, all with unique abilities. Also the puzzles with motion control are actually very good, sometimes they're difficult, but too much so that it's impossible. With great animation, variety in weapons, and some interesting puzzles. This is one of the best Ratchet and Clank games to date. Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Tools of Destruction marks Ratchet and Clank's first foray into the HD generation, and a fine attempt at that. Even playing it now in 2013, it's graphics hold up splendidly well with it's bright colours and smooth edges, with a silky smooth framerate to boot. Everything you love about the old games is here, as well as an expanded weapon customization system, 'Gadgets' and a variety of more open levels allowing for exploration with the Robo-Wing, hunting wild creatures and more. Despite all the positives, Tools of Destruction isn't without bugs. With multiple crashes during my playthrough and numerous other small oversights, the game isn't a perfect experience, but it looks great, plays great and is one hell of a great game to play. Aye, Tools of Destruction is the best Ratchet game since Up Your Arsenal, and deserves every bit of praise it gets. Final Score: 8.6/10 Expand
  19. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    lovely game that has not aged well. that is as conclusive as you can get now. when sixasis controls were cool, this came out. when this came out little else good was out. it is still a good game, probably better than a crack in time.

    better guns and storyline, and great humour. this is the best r and c on ps3. but some features are now uncool.
  20. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Tools of Destruction had a terrible mission to accomplish: to take the mascot-powered Ratchet & Clank series into a new console generation; and that usually goes bad. But Tools of Destruction pulls it off with flying colors. It is a great game and a worthy addition to the series. Graphics are beautiful and colorful, making you feel like you are playing a cartoon. The soundtrack is addictive and voice acting is masterful. The story represents a turn for the serious as it kicks off the ''Future'' arc, but that is done in a very smart way and the series maintains its fun and light dialogue. Gameplay remains unchanged, but for some reason at times I felt that Ratchet was a little bit more mechanical and sluggish than in the previous installments. The new arsenal is as great and creative as ever, from the disco-globe launcher Groovinator (which makes all enemies stop firing at you to dance) to the new brilliantly named rocket-launcher Negotiator. Tools of Destruction is the best mascot-like fun you can have in this generation of consoles. Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    A great entry into the series, although slightly shallow in wisecracks, and far too short. Having said that, the formula remains strong thanks to upped graphics and fantastic gadgetry and weapons, although it is far from being the essential game of the series.
  22. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    I love Ratchet & Clank, always have and always will, love different weapons and dialogue, great game :) it will keep you busy for a while, and it pretty cheap to buy now as well.
  23. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    good great new graphics cool weapons but not really a lot of weapons actually.
    controls are good,the armor sets are very different from armors from the previous games.
    bolts are easily earn thanks to leviathan hunting and arena fights.
    something i don't like at this game is that captain qwuark is a bit different then in the other ratchet game's and he issn't on any of the missions.
    the
    story is okay.
    the game length is fine as well and the new graphics make it look awesome.
    raritanium this crystal is an extra for upgrading your weapons.
    in short a good ratchet and clank game worth buying
    Expand
  24. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    As the first PS3 outing for R&C this game was really fun, but it does slow down in parts (for example the Dino and snow pirate level) but it is still one of my favorite PS3 games
  25. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    Tools of Destruction is a fun and addictive game thanks to all the explosions and destruction you cause throughout the adventure. There are a few balancing issues with the weapons as some that you get near the beginning of the game do absolutely nothing against the enemies found later in the game.
  26. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    Having loved the first one when I was younger and then playing the following 3 I thought this game was going to be the same exciting new experience that it was then. I haven't played the original games since it came out so while I knew what to expect as far as gameplay I still thought it would a fresh feeling. I've got to say, this game did not hold up for me. I felt like I was pushing myself through it rather than actually wanting to see what was next. I didn't find the story interesting in the slightest bit and it didn't help that the audio was either out of sync or skipped and repeated at times. Visually the game was on par with my expectations and the gameplay wasn't terribly bad but it felt monotonous. It was certainly an enjoyable experience reliving certain aspects of a game I once loved but just doesn't feel like what it used to be. I'll be playing the rest of the future series in hopes that it is just a poor experience with one game. Expand
  27. Dec 26, 2012
    7
    I've been a R&C fan since the first game came out, and I'm still a fan. Tools of Destruction, however, was a bit of a disappointment for me. Over all I still enjoyed the game, but I felt that it was inferior to most of the previous titles. The story line was original, but not very engaging. The gameplay was roughly the same as the old PS2 titles, which is fine, but I feel like the developers should have taken the opportunity to improve. I feel like the weapons and gadgets you can get in the game were all recycled from previous titles. If you're a R&C fan, I would recommend this game simply as a continuation to the series. For everyone else, you may enjoy a single play through, but it doesn't have much replay value. Expand
  28. Aug 22, 2011
    5
    Accidentally gave my review a 10 when I meant to give it a 5.

    /150
    char............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  29. E.Boy
    Oct 28, 2007
    0
    Have to say any score below around 85% seems odd for this game. Scoring down on MP doesn't seem right to me as its up to each game to decide if it is SP, MP or both. If a game is only SP it should be reviewed as such. By the logic of most of the lower reviews then Bioshock should be scored around 75% to 80% as well due to lack of MP.
    Judged purely on its own content there is
    almost nothing wrong with this game, and for myself I'd score it 95% Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Given the series orientation towards multiplayer in the final chapters on the PS2, it's quite surprising to find Tools of Destruction a solely single-player experience. With a handful of mini-games Tools of Destruction can be rushed through over a weekend, with the only real replay value stemming from Insomniac's traditional selection of Skill Point challenges to achieve on every level.
  2. The single best game you can find on the PlayStation 3 right now, and at the end of the day, it's the best in the series. If you own a PS3, you need this game in your library. It is the absolutely definition of a must-have title, and right now is the front-runner as game of the year, hands down.
  3. 85
    Not only one of the best looking PlayStation 3 games, it's incredibly enjoyable, with some excellent weapons and some brilliant action set pieces.