Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ratchet and Clank are back. PlayStation's beloved duo returns with an original single-player adventure, an epilogue to the acclaimed Ratchet and Clank Future Series (Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction, Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time, Ratchet and Clank Future: Quest forRatchet and Clank are back. PlayStation's beloved duo returns with an original single-player adventure, an epilogue to the acclaimed Ratchet and Clank Future Series (Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction, Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crack in Time, Ratchet and Clank Future: Quest for Booty) that will remind fans why they fell in love with the Ratchet universe. Ratchet & Clank: Into the Nexus is a story-driven adventure with humor and heart, featuring outrageously upgraded weapons, planet hopping and brand new worlds begging to be explored. Ratchet's personal story arc is once again front and center, as Ratchet & Clank: Into the Nexus marks a true return to form for the celebrated series by developer Insomniac Games.

    After one of the most infamous manhunts in galactic history results in the capture of Vendra and Neftin Prog, Ratchet and Clank offer to escort the dangerous criminals to the Vartax Detention Center. After a daring orbital jailbreak at the forgotten edge of the galaxy, Ratchet and Clank find themselves lost in an abandoned sector. There, in deepest space, they uncover an inter-dimensional event that threatens the universe - and forces Ratchet to decide what's really important.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    91
    Regardless of which is true — whether it's a legitimately awesome game, or simply one that looks like it because it's miles better than the execrable Full Frontal Assault — I can say this with certainty: if you're a fan of the Ratchet & Clank series (or even if you just want a good 3D platformer) you owe it to yourself to check it out.
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    85
    Bright, funny and with a ridiculous array of weaponry - a fitting finale on PS3. [Jan 2014, p.84]
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Ratchet & Clank is an enjoyable action adventure for PS3.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    80
    The final episode of the PS3 Ratchet & Clank chapter is more of a small game than a fully-fledged one. Considering its purchase cost is adequate along with the overall game's intensity, it is a perfect ending of another period of Lombax' colorful life. Moreover, there's a bonus on the disc, Quest for Booty, an old but totally awesome mini installment certainly worthy of your attention. So get cracking!
  5. 75
    Into the Nexus is a solid return to Ratchet & Clank's world, but hopefully PS4 will take the series to more creative exciting heights.
  6. 70
    All in all, Into the Nexus is an entertaining and well put together Ratchet and Clank installment with some flaws here and there that drop the experience from good to just okay.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    It’s a perfectly serviceable adventure that you’ll play through with few frustrations, but will likely have forgotten by the following morning. Ratchet and Clank’s story ends, then, not with a bang, but with a half-hearted shrug.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    $30 dollars is not a lot for a game, but this game is incredible, and well worth your money.
    The sheer imagination that has been put into the
    $30 dollars is not a lot for a game, but this game is incredible, and well worth your money.
    The sheer imagination that has been put into the environments, the love and care put into the character models, and the crazy weapons make this game worth playing alone.
    The story is nice and well paced, with a fair amount of little puzzles to figure out. The villains are ambiguous in their aims and motives, and although you don't get to spend as much time with them as you could, I feel they were worthy adversaries.
    My favorite franchise is Ratchet and Clank, and this game is third in my list of my favorite Ratchet and Clank games.
    So, to sum it up
    Ratchet and Clank= #1!
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    $30 for an 8 hour game with a great story, fun gameplay, and a good sense of humor. Into the Nexus is the best thing to happen to R&C in a$30 for an 8 hour game with a great story, fun gameplay, and a good sense of humor. Into the Nexus is the best thing to happen to R&C in a long time, since A Crack in Time. The 8 hour story is perfectly paced and well written. The turn in atmosphere is a breathe of fresh air and the gorgeous graphics complement it well. The Jetpack is also very fun to use and adds new style to the classic Ratchet gameplay formula that's returned. This games a good break after all the shooters out there, and it's probably the best $30 you can spend on a game because you will get your money's worth. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Definately what defines a 'short and sweet' game, Game is absolutely brilliant, only problems are the ending isn't worthy of R&C, but stillDefinately what defines a 'short and sweet' game, Game is absolutely brilliant, only problems are the ending isn't worthy of R&C, but still brilliant, and the game length, a must play for R&C fans. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This game is spectacular, all of the feelings of the old ratchet and clank games come back into my mind again! This game continues insomniacsThis game is spectacular, all of the feelings of the old ratchet and clank games come back into my mind again! This game continues insomniacs legacy, not including all for 1 and those other titles. Goooopd jobbb insomniac! Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    What a great way to end a series (for now).
    I was 14 when I played the first Ratchet & Clank. Now I am 25 and this game really gives me the
    What a great way to end a series (for now).
    I was 14 when I played the first Ratchet & Clank. Now I am 25 and this game really gives me the same feelings.
    Okay, we have seen most of the gameplay before in previous games but it works really well in this one.

    Game is rather short, give or take 5 to 6 hours, but there is replay value to be found here. But we all knew this since it is a cheaper priced game. I do notice framerate drops when the game is pouring enemies on the screen. This could be since I have a Playstation from launchdate.

    Other than that: looks great, sounds great, feels great!

    Hope to see more from Insomniac on the PS4!
    Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    FINALLY! A return to form for the Ratchet series. After the horrible 'spin-offs' "All 4 One" and "Full Frontal Assault", R&C are finally backFINALLY! A return to form for the Ratchet series. After the horrible 'spin-offs' "All 4 One" and "Full Frontal Assault", R&C are finally back in this cool little adventure. Although it does feel like a shorter game, like a hybrid between a full Ratchet experience like "Tools of Destruction" and a mini-adventure like "Quest for Booty", it's still a great game. Insomniac have said this will be the last game in the 'Future' series and that really makes me sad, because all of the main games in this series have been fantastic... it's just a shame they spent so many years creating those horrible mini-game spin offs instead of working on great entries like this. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2014
    2
    Say what you will about other Sony mascots like Jak and Daxter or Sly Cooper, but at least they knew how to actually end. Ratchet andSay what you will about other Sony mascots like Jak and Daxter or Sly Cooper, but at least they knew how to actually end. Ratchet and Clank:Nexus is just a reminder for why you shouldn't drag your series out to this level; a game insultingly short and uncreative compared to the other entries. The weapons have as much impact as looking at your enemies and aren't fun to use at all, the story's attempts to be frightening are laughable (I know it's a kids game but you can at least try), and of course, there's audio logs voice acted by whoever was around that are either Insomniac's lack of self awareness to how contrived the plot is or yodeling "What the hell is exposition, some kind of vegetable?!"
    Supposedly this is the last game in the RaC series. If it is, I'm going to be even more depressed than I was playing this miserable kick to the ribs this game is to the series as a whole. It was so ready to end by A Crack In Time, but no, they had to drag it out to make three more games that were all painfully mediocre compared to the original trilogy, or even the Future trilogy. I felt like Conan the Barbarian watching his village burn down while playing this game; except instead of a village, it was the childhood memories I have for the original trilogy. If you must spend £25 on something, spend it on the Trilogy Collection for the PS3; even if there are some graphical oddities in it, it's much more worth your time than this boring, un-scary pile of cat waste.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews