Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to Rayman Origins and brings multiplayer interactions for you to employ. The Glade of Dreams is in trouble again. During a 100-year nap, the nightmares multiplied and spread, creating new monsters even scarier than before. These creatures are the stuff ofRayman Legends is the follow-up to Rayman Origins and brings multiplayer interactions for you to employ. The Glade of Dreams is in trouble again. During a 100-year nap, the nightmares multiplied and spread, creating new monsters even scarier than before. These creatures are the stuff of legend… Dragons, giant toads, sea monsters, and even evil luchadores. With the help of Murfy, Rayman and Globox awake and must now help fight these nightmares and save the Teensies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    Rayman Legends isn’t just good, it’s utterly terrific on practically every level. That such a title was once confined to Nintendo’s sickly hardware seems abhorrent, although it’s the sort of rare game that would sell a console. An exquisite offering, it exudes polish and should appeal to everything sentient within 50 yards of the TV.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    95
    After the formidable Origins, Ubisoft continues the rebooted Rayman franchise with Legends. Once again, the developer hits it out of the park. The interesting art style, the fun and accessible gameplay, and the gleeful soundtrack all add to the overall experience. It's a shame that there is no online multiplayer, but a number of competitive challenges more than make up for it.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    95
    An essence of pure, unpretentious fun, a work of geniuses with untamed creative powers. I simply can’t imagine a human being that will not enjoy this wonderful, beautiful game. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.66]
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    No fan of platform games should miss this one: it's incredibly fun, tremendously beautiful and exudes a lot of charisma.
  5. If you don’t have others to play with, that doesn’t mean you should miss out on the fun, though, because have no doubt about it, Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers we’ve played in years. [October 2013, p79]
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    If you loved Origins, you’ll definitely get $60 worth out of this even with some Origins content being present here, while those who’ve never played Origins should give the demo a shot and see if they like it. If you’re won over by it, then snatch it up ASAP.
  7. 80
    I just wish there was a more elegant solution for touch-screen gameplay that simply doesn’t translate to platforms other than Wii U, where Legends was conceptualized and built first.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Like falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to findLike falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to find another good platform experience in Rayman Legends. Not only was I blown away by the sheer awesome unique game design and mechanics but also by the awesome story. Gameplay is very good and every level brings up something new and fresh to keep you interested. Enemies and your friendly characters are top notch with a lot of variety. The soundtrack fits the mood perfectly in each level and keeps you pumped in anticipation. The story is epic and interesting. There is a lot of replayability. I just have to recommend this to other people. If you don't buy this you're really missing out. I know I'm going to be jumping in those paintings for amazing adventures for a long time to come! Collapse
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Rayman Legends Improves on everything in Rayman Origins, which i thought was impossible seeing how good that game was. The graphics look lotsRayman Legends Improves on everything in Rayman Origins, which i thought was impossible seeing how good that game was. The graphics look lots better, the gameplay is smoother and more fun, the music and sound effects are perfect, there is heaps more content with more levels, challanges and minigames. I could go on and on about how good this game is.
    Easily one of the best games i have played,
    Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    The perfect platformer! that's why it's getting a 10/10 from me. Awesome levels and soundtrack charming graphics,flawless gameplay oh and someThe perfect platformer! that's why it's getting a 10/10 from me. Awesome levels and soundtrack charming graphics,flawless gameplay oh and some awesome boss battles. Then again there are some problems for example the game is way to short for my taste a game fun like this needs to be longer! And 4 player coop can get very chaotic and crowded.

    Did i mention that this game is fun as hell!? it's magic buy it!
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is refreshing and really good fun. The most impressive aspect is how many different types of gameplay they've managed to squeezeThis game is refreshing and really good fun. The most impressive aspect is how many different types of gameplay they've managed to squeeze into each of the different worlds. The music really adds another level to the experience, and the bonus rhythm levels are a real hoot. I find myself playing with a cheesy grin plastered on my face a lot of the time, which can't be said of many games these days. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    A great multi-player platforming game. My favorite platforming game, not having played either of the super Mario galaxy games, so that couldA great multi-player platforming game. My favorite platforming game, not having played either of the super Mario galaxy games, so that could change. The graphics are very unique. I now like Ubi art. There are many levels including about thirty levels from Back to Origins, which I skipped because of that. The levels have many hidden teensies which are fun secrets to find in each level. There are daily, weekly and monthly challenges that you can take part in, competing against the world. Eventually the challenge levels become a part of your memory because the layout of the levels get repeated so you could get pretty good and get to be number one one day. If you plan on getting the platinum, it will take 3-6 months playing every day. That's my only complaint. So if you like platformers like Mario or donkey Kong I would definitely try this game. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Rayman, you started of as a simply fun and enjoyable platformer for the PS1, you then made the jump into 3-D with Rayman 2:The Great escape (aRayman, you started of as a simply fun and enjoyable platformer for the PS1, you then made the jump into 3-D with Rayman 2:The Great escape (a game I am still to play all the way through), Rayman 3 was...to me very good, very very good! Creative and beautiful art design and unique method of power-ups (by the way these power-ups are awesome). Personally I think the 'Rabbids stuck about for a bit too long in my opinion. So It was about time Rayman made a pure Rayman game, and boy was it worth it!!!

    Rayman legends combines a clever and gorgeous art style, with the good old Rayman formula we know and love. I'm not going to compare it to 'Origins' simply because I have never played 'Origins' but if it's anything like this game sign me up! This may be my favorite platformers this year, the way you control Rayman is floaty but he stills feel very 'real' If you know what I mean. He does genuinely feel like Rayman again with the long traveling punches and the way he jumps. The soundtrack is perfect, there's no other way to describe it. it's just perfect! It makes you happy or it makes you pumped and ready for more of the game. The story is great, I won't mention it for the sake of spoilers but believe me when I say it's good.

    The only real downsides I have with this game is that the difficulty of this game seems to be two different extremes; very easy or very challenging. The levels as fun as they are full of enemies that die in one weak punch, personally I'd prefer it if the enemies were a little tougher, also the secrets for me at least were fairly easy to find. And then it gets tough by giving you challenges where you have to react quickly, but as long as you have the right control scheme you'll be fine. Overall I'd say pick this game up for a fantastic platformer, a fantastic Rayman game, and for some like, a big blast of nostalgia.
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    3
    The conversion from the Wii U to the Playstation 3 went rather badly. First of all it looks about 10x worse, the controls are bad and it losesThe conversion from the Wii U to the Playstation 3 went rather badly. First of all it looks about 10x worse, the controls are bad and it loses a lot of its charm. The whole idea of Murphy is turned on its head, when instead of using the Wii U gamepad you press a button. Next time Ubisoft should stick to the console it was designed to be exclusive on. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.