Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to Rayman Origins and brings multiplayer interactions for you to employ. The Glade of Dreams is in trouble again. During a 100-year nap, the nightmares multiplied and spread, creating new monsters even scarier than before. These creatures are the stuff of legend… Dragons, giant toads, sea monsters, and even evil luchadores. With the help of Murfy, Rayman and Globox awake and must now help fight these nightmares and save the Teensies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    Rayman Legends isn’t just good, it’s utterly terrific on practically every level. That such a title was once confined to Nintendo’s sickly hardware seems abhorrent, although it’s the sort of rare game that would sell a console. An exquisite offering, it exudes polish and should appeal to everything sentient within 50 yards of the TV.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    95
    After the formidable Origins, Ubisoft continues the rebooted Rayman franchise with Legends. Once again, the developer hits it out of the park. The interesting art style, the fun and accessible gameplay, and the gleeful soundtrack all add to the overall experience. It's a shame that there is no online multiplayer, but a number of competitive challenges more than make up for it.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    95
    An essence of pure, unpretentious fun, a work of geniuses with untamed creative powers. I simply can’t imagine a human being that will not enjoy this wonderful, beautiful game. [CD-Action 11/2013, p.66]
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    No fan of platform games should miss this one: it's incredibly fun, tremendously beautiful and exudes a lot of charisma.
  5. If you don’t have others to play with, that doesn’t mean you should miss out on the fun, though, because have no doubt about it, Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers we’ve played in years. [October 2013, p79]
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    90
    If you loved Origins, you’ll definitely get $60 worth out of this even with some Origins content being present here, while those who’ve never played Origins should give the demo a shot and see if they like it. If you’re won over by it, then snatch it up ASAP.
  7. 80
    I just wish there was a more elegant solution for touch-screen gameplay that simply doesn’t translate to platforms other than Wii U, where Legends was conceptualized and built first.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Like falling in love all over again. This game is pure magic. I've been a fan of Rayman for a while now so I picked this up hoping to find another good platform experience in Rayman Legends. Not only was I blown away by the sheer awesome unique game design and mechanics but also by the awesome story. Gameplay is very good and every level brings up something new and fresh to keep you interested. Enemies and your friendly characters are top notch with a lot of variety. The soundtrack fits the mood perfectly in each level and keeps you pumped in anticipation. The story is epic and interesting. There is a lot of replayability. I just have to recommend this to other people. If you don't buy this you're really missing out. I know I'm going to be jumping in those paintings for amazing adventures for a long time to come! Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is refreshing and really good fun. The most impressive aspect is how many different types of gameplay they've managed to squeeze into each of the different worlds. The music really adds another level to the experience, and the bonus rhythm levels are a real hoot. I find myself playing with a cheesy grin plastered on my face a lot of the time, which can't be said of many games these days. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Rayman Legends Improves on everything in Rayman Origins, which i thought was impossible seeing how good that game was. The graphics look lots better, the gameplay is smoother and more fun, the music and sound effects are perfect, there is heaps more content with more levels, challanges and minigames. I could go on and on about how good this game is.
    Easily one of the best games i have played,
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2014
    10
    the perfect 2-D platformer for any console, no failures, perfect graphics and amazing gameplays.
    all of this guarrantees lots of of fun.
    ten
    out of ten for me! Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Very refreshing gameplay. Little ad-ons make just that little difference you expect from a sequel. There is more focus on online multiplayer with many challenges and online scoreboards which will let you try again and again to beat the scores of your friends. The new worlds are breathtaking and well balanced. More puzzles than Origins, which is pretty nice and defiant. You even earn levels from the previous game, fully re-done but still familiar. Slight flaw is the dificulty of the game, in my opinion it is less difficult than Rayman Origins. I have to say I haven't finished the game yet so the last world could be - similair to Origins - more challenging Final conclusion: Money well spend! Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    It's good to know there are still game developers who create platformers with as much passion as Ubisoft. Like its predecessor, Rayman Legends focuses mainly in simple yet effective platform gameplay, with an unique art style that mixes both traditional and digital art, 2D and 3D. The music is incredible, Cristopher Hèral and Billy Martin took Rayman Original Score to a new level. The levels are great in numbers and very different from one another, making hard for me to define which was my favorite, since they are all add some ingredient to the mix. The Musical Levels are a clever addition to the series, and they could shine on their own, but there was such need for Ubisoft to add at least five more of these kind of stages. The downside: Playing RAyman Legends with your friends in a couch its a fun affair, but it may get messy and players can spoil one another. Over all, Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers of this generation, a fun game for all ages and something a good old school gamers should surely enjoy. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2013
    3
    The conversion from the Wii U to the Playstation 3 went rather badly. First of all it looks about 10x worse, the controls are bad and it loses a lot of its charm. The whole idea of Murphy is turned on its head, when instead of using the Wii U gamepad you press a button. Next time Ubisoft should stick to the console it was designed to be exclusive on. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.