Rayman Origins PlayStation 3

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 248
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Just great an fan, back to the origins of the true Rayman, fun and colorful.
    Playing with friends just makes it even funnier, just like a new super mario, but, better, because its gorgeous. The graphics are stunning, the animation well done. I can't recommend it enough.
  2. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Gorgeous game. Classic platforming. The world 's are very creative and the music is amazingly in tune to the theme of each world. Although there is no online multiplayer, there is still some good replay value if you attempt to go for 100%, as some of the challenges are quite difficult. This game is a stellar representation of the mechanics that cause us to look back fondly on games fromGorgeous game. Classic platforming. The world 's are very creative and the music is amazingly in tune to the theme of each world. Although there is no online multiplayer, there is still some good replay value if you attempt to go for 100%, as some of the challenges are quite difficult. This game is a stellar representation of the mechanics that cause us to look back fondly on games from past generations. Sure it doesn't tick every check box of a modern game component list (multiplayer, extensive options,etc), but the developer has concentrated resources into maximizing the awesomeness of the components that are present. Do not miss this game. If nothing else rent it. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This quirky, whimsical 2D platformer is a breath of fresh air and proves the genre can still be relevant as a full-fledged retail release. The vivid hand drawn art is flawless, and the infectious soundtrack compliments each world perfectly. It is a technical and artistic masterpiece. With over 60 levels, unlockable costumes, and time trials, there's more than enough to warrant a $60This quirky, whimsical 2D platformer is a breath of fresh air and proves the genre can still be relevant as a full-fledged retail release. The vivid hand drawn art is flawless, and the infectious soundtrack compliments each world perfectly. It is a technical and artistic masterpiece. With over 60 levels, unlockable costumes, and time trials, there's more than enough to warrant a $60 price point. Difficulty varies, and the last optional level is still fun, despite its brutality. 2011 has been an awesome year, with countless amazing games, but this one takes Game of the Year in my book. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    A beautifully realised old school platformer that's a delight to play.A pointless story,colourful graphics,great design and memorable soundtrack are all here in 2011.Amongst some major titles this year,Rayman Origins can hold it's head high.
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing, i just say wow! It looks so colorful and good. this is a true Rayman game! Its so fun with/without friends, one of the best games this year! I have waited so long for this.
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    People from Ubisoft are going back to the roots! I've been waiting for this for a long long time. Amazing graphics, superb animation and this humorous inserts..hmm it couldn't be better.
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    If you have kids (and a PS3) and want to play video games with them your choices are Lego games (which are cool), sports games and anything racing. Finally Rayman:Origins came along and is the perfect game for all of us to play together. I can't say enough good things about it.
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Beauty epitomized, Rayman Origins is proof that videogames are indeed an art form. Multiplayer is a blast, while the collectibles offer a lot for players to do. Prepare to be charmed.
  9. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    What an excellent platformer, like in the old days! It's amazing to see, that publishers begin to understand, that 2D games arn't dead. Far from it, RO is one of the most superb looking games out there because of its wonderful (native) 1080p support, handdrown backgrounds and beautiful animations.

    Beside the technical point, that still impresses me after 6 hours of gaming, the gameplay is
    What an excellent platformer, like in the old days! It's amazing to see, that publishers begin to understand, that 2D games arn't dead. Far from it, RO is one of the most superb looking games out there because of its wonderful (native) 1080p support, handdrown backgrounds and beautiful animations.

    Beside the technical point, that still impresses me after 6 hours of gaming, the gameplay is really good, surely because of the great controls. It's just perfect to control the characters and jump over large holes and impressive landscapes.

    The 4-Player-Coop is a blast! The whole game works better than Little Big Planet 2 or New Super Mario Bro.s. And there are ton content to unlock and find. A real masterpece!

    The only downside, and that's why the game gets "only" 9/10: There are a few trial & error passages and some frustration level design (like in the old days: the water levels... :-( ).

    But all in all: Best buy this year, I hope that we will see a lot of more 1080p-2D-Games! Sonic perhaps and not this "Generations" blah with overdrown gameplay mechanics. ;-)
    Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    One of the best games os 2011 BY FAR. "Rayman Origins" is an almost perfect game: beautiful to look at, great gameplay, lovable characters, a lot of content and personality. It starts like an easy 2D platformer - and a true homage to simpler times - and gets more and more difficult but NEVER being frustrating due to a perfect checkpoint system. Congrats to Ubisoft for this release, theyOne of the best games os 2011 BY FAR. "Rayman Origins" is an almost perfect game: beautiful to look at, great gameplay, lovable characters, a lot of content and personality. It starts like an easy 2D platformer - and a true homage to simpler times - and gets more and more difficult but NEVER being frustrating due to a perfect checkpoint system. Congrats to Ubisoft for this release, they really nailed it. This is a must have in any collection. Expand
  11. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    I would have to call this one of the best platformers I have ever played. It looks and sounds fantastic and plays just as well. It's tough though, especially if you look to collect everything, and the further you progress the harder it gets. There's certainly quantity within quality here, it could last anywhere between 25-35 hours and the option to play locally with 2 or more players makesI would have to call this one of the best platformers I have ever played. It looks and sounds fantastic and plays just as well. It's tough though, especially if you look to collect everything, and the further you progress the harder it gets. There's certainly quantity within quality here, it could last anywhere between 25-35 hours and the option to play locally with 2 or more players makes it twice as fun. Fun is the optimal word here but be prepared to get a little angry in places, 'cos it ain't easy. Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    The best looking 2D game of this generation? Iâ
  13. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    The rayman series has gone back to its roots, and I have never been happier! Say goodbye to the terribly redundant raving rabbids minigames and say hello to the visually beautiful and addicting rayman origins! The controls are not slippy whatsoever, the ability to play with a friend (Globox and the teensies) is great. And the backdrops and bosses are just so original and amazing it blowsThe rayman series has gone back to its roots, and I have never been happier! Say goodbye to the terribly redundant raving rabbids minigames and say hello to the visually beautiful and addicting rayman origins! The controls are not slippy whatsoever, the ability to play with a friend (Globox and the teensies) is great. And the backdrops and bosses are just so original and amazing it blows my mind. And to ubisoft please make rayman 4! :D Expand
  14. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Rayman game! Graphics are gorgeous, control is spot on, and it just a generally fun and great looking game! Co-op is fun, even for younger kids playing with an adult.. I recommend this to anyone who loves platformers or Mario!
  15. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Not only does it play great, but the fact that Rayman Origins packs one hell of a challenge and boasts some of the most jaw-droppingly gorgeous visuals I've ever seen, cements its place as the new king of 2D platformers. Of course, the most impressive aspect (and most addictive) is the couch multiplayer with friends. Think New Super Mario Bros., and you get the idea. Gorgeous game. ClassicNot only does it play great, but the fact that Rayman Origins packs one hell of a challenge and boasts some of the most jaw-droppingly gorgeous visuals I've ever seen, cements its place as the new king of 2D platformers. Of course, the most impressive aspect (and most addictive) is the couch multiplayer with friends. Think New Super Mario Bros., and you get the idea. Gorgeous game. Classic platforming. The worlds are very creative and the music is amazingly in tune to the theme of each world. Although there is no online multiplayer, there is still some good replay value if you attempt to go for 100%, as some of the challenges are quite difficult. This game is a geat representation of the mechanics that cause us to look back fondly on games from past generations. Sure it doesn't tick every check box of a modern game component list (multiplayer, extensive options,etc), but the developer has concentrated resources into maximizing the awesomeness of the components that are present. Do not miss this game. If nothing else rent it. Graphics are gorgeous, control is spot on, and it's just a generally fun game! A pointless story, great design and memorable soundtrack are all here. Amongst some major titles, Rayman Origins can hold it's head high. Expand
  16. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    rayman origins is the best rayman game ever, it's unique (yet strange), the game-play is incredible, the music is catchy and the art style and animation is beautiful. if you like 2D plat-formers, i strongly recommend this to you!
  17. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    YES! the game i had waited for for 8 years finally arrived, no horrible little Rabbids screaming in sight! Just classic rayman platforming at its best with wacky and original characters, levels and awesome multiplayer fun! Definitively in my top 3 best of 2011 alongside Uncharted 3 and Skyrim!, The game starts of fun and simple but later progresses into a pretty challenging task,YES! the game i had waited for for 8 years finally arrived, no horrible little Rabbids screaming in sight! Just classic rayman platforming at its best with wacky and original characters, levels and awesome multiplayer fun! Definitively in my top 3 best of 2011 alongside Uncharted 3 and Skyrim!, The game starts of fun and simple but later progresses into a pretty challenging task, especially if you aim to get the skull coins and lums!! If you have not bought this yet DO IT NOW! Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    Playing Rayman Origins is just plain fun. In most story driven games, there a parts that's just not as fun as the rest of the game. Rayman Origins is just fantastic fun from the beginning to the end. It start out as child play but the end -should you make it thus far- is pretty hardcore. There is something for everybody, should you desire a easy time with a great platform or a greaterPlaying Rayman Origins is just plain fun. In most story driven games, there a parts that's just not as fun as the rest of the game. Rayman Origins is just fantastic fun from the beginning to the end. It start out as child play but the end -should you make it thus far- is pretty hardcore. There is something for everybody, should you desire a easy time with a great platform or a greater platform challenge. I love it so much I just bought it for my Vita, first time I ever buy the same game on two consoles Expand
  19. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Like no game you've ever played, this one is really for anyone, hardcore and casual gamers alike. You will not find a more gorgeous, polished, atmospheric , original and fun game on any platform. An absolute must have!
  20. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    this quirky 2d platform is a must have for younger and some older playstation gamers. completely underrated as a christmas release because it was competing with so many other games like Skyrim and COD, this beautiful hand-drawn platform is loaded with game time, from replay-ability to getting secrets in rooms it is all there. the only gripe i would have with this game is it does get boringthis quirky 2d platform is a must have for younger and some older playstation gamers. completely underrated as a christmas release because it was competing with so many other games like Skyrim and COD, this beautiful hand-drawn platform is loaded with game time, from replay-ability to getting secrets in rooms it is all there. the only gripe i would have with this game is it does get boring after a while not in a boring, same old, manner but more in the case of boredom out of sheer boredom as although the game has a lot to pull you in it does very little to keep you in Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Do you like platformers? If so BUY THIS GAME, right now. The platforming is good, and co-op is fun!

    One of my favorite games this year, It's a shame It's so Underrated.
    I have no words to describe this game... Play the game and you know how awesome it is, and if you love Rayman 1 or Rayman Advance, you're going to feel like a kid in a candy shop!
    Seriously Buy This Game NOW
  22. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    I was never a fan of the Rayman series. I played one or two games and forgot about them. But this one is different. Everything in this game is perfect: graphics, sound, music, fun and the game has tons of replay value that will keep you entertained for weeks to come. Easily the best 2d platform of this generation. Don`t think twice. Buy it.
  23. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    It's almost too easy to find niggling faults with most of the big hitters in 2012 (Skyrim's bugs and dull combat, Uncharted 3's terrible platforming and shooter controls, Batman's disappointing enemies/plot, Portal 2's dumbed down story campaign, etc.). "Rayman: Origins" is almost pitch perfect. It's not an attempt to be those huge orchestral epics, but rather the catchy ditty you heard inIt's almost too easy to find niggling faults with most of the big hitters in 2012 (Skyrim's bugs and dull combat, Uncharted 3's terrible platforming and shooter controls, Batman's disappointing enemies/plot, Portal 2's dumbed down story campaign, etc.). "Rayman: Origins" is almost pitch perfect. It's not an attempt to be those huge orchestral epics, but rather the catchy ditty you heard in a bar one night and keep whistling the rest of the day. If you like old school video games, youâ Expand
  24. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    Rayman Origins with this chapter takes the crown in the house and returns as a protagonist in the Ubisoft genre that has dedicated to video game icon.
    Rayman Origins is an excellent title and not an absolute must in the collection of a lover of the platform. On the Wii, Rayman is perfect but is much tougher competition than that found on HD consoles: here Donkey Kong reigns again, and New
    Rayman Origins with this chapter takes the crown in the house and returns as a protagonist in the Ubisoft genre that has dedicated to video game icon.
    Rayman Origins is an excellent title and not an absolute must in the collection of a lover of the platform. On the Wii, Rayman is perfect but is much tougher competition than that found on HD consoles: here Donkey Kong reigns again, and New Super Mario Bros. that quickly gives chase, but on HD consoles, where there is no title Rayman video game is like a masterpiece that can satisfy both the novice and hardcore players. The only drawback is the lack of production of the online multiplayer mode that would give more excitement and originality to the title.

    http://www.4news.it/9884-recensione-rayman-origins.php
    Expand
  25. Jan 21, 2012
    9

    How terribly underrated this game is! It has seen undeservedly underwhelming sales, but there is nothing to dislike about this Rayman reboot. It is simply loads of fun and very true to its roots. Anyone can enjoy this game - with up to four players at once you can play it with your kids, your friends, your parents, etc.



    If you are unfamiliar with Rayman, the game is a

    How terribly underrated this game is! It has seen undeservedly underwhelming sales, but there is nothing to dislike about this Rayman reboot. It is simply loads of fun and very true to its roots. Anyone can enjoy this game - with up to four players at once you can play it with your kids, your friends, your parents, etc.



    If you are unfamiliar with Rayman, the game is a traditional 2D platformer that's easy to pick up and play and has tons of replay value. The gameplay is simple: run, slide, and jump through the game's multitude of stages, "bubblizing" the enemies in your way by either punching them or hopping on them. There are lots of collectibles to grab on your way, and at the end of each of the areas are exciting boss battles. I can not stress enough how much this fun is when you are with a buddy or two!



    Aside the gameplay, Rayman Origins is visually and audibly pleasing. The animation of the hand-drawn characters and enemies is superb, lively and comical. The levels are absolutely gorgeous, lush and colorful environments, like a rain forest, in the mountains and even underwater. As for the soundtrack, it is top-notch like everything else in the game. It helps to accent the zany and sometimes weird Rayman atmosphere.


    Do yourself a favor and buy one of the best games released in 2011.
    Expand
  26. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    No matter advanced that games get plat formers are always some of my favorite to play. Rayman Origins really does a great job being a not only fun, but challenging game.
  27. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    "A celebration" First off let me say WOW! This game is awesome in so many ways while remaining pretty difficult in some spots. Co-op is the way to go but, if you dream of collecting all of the collectables, you better do it alone. I haven't been this impressed with a platformer since the Sly Cooper days on PS2. This is a game for all ages and Rayman proves that he is back on top when it"A celebration" First off let me say WOW! This game is awesome in so many ways while remaining pretty difficult in some spots. Co-op is the way to go but, if you dream of collecting all of the collectables, you better do it alone. I haven't been this impressed with a platformer since the Sly Cooper days on PS2. This is a game for all ages and Rayman proves that he is back on top when it comes to Platformers. Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    If you only "like" platformers, play this game. It is like playing the game you have always dreamed of (if you've dreamed of playing a top notch cartoon with utterly AMAZING controls and level design.). Download the demo, preview it, then save your money, sell your things, beg, borrow, steal, buy it. This is what every platformer since the inception of video games has striven towards.If you only "like" platformers, play this game. It is like playing the game you have always dreamed of (if you've dreamed of playing a top notch cartoon with utterly AMAZING controls and level design.). Download the demo, preview it, then save your money, sell your things, beg, borrow, steal, buy it. This is what every platformer since the inception of video games has striven towards. I thought Yoshi's Island was it, but this game is the peak of what 2-D gaming is so far. And, surprisingly, it is not Nintendo. I have played the original Rayman on Playstation and the controls and actions of the character are similar, but the look of the game is more like modern animated platformers (Warioland: Shake-it, Bloodrayne, Shank) and the style of the game in general is very similar to the Earthworm Jim and Ren & Stimpy games of the 16-bit era. Dear Lord, this game is a breath of fresh air in an environment of endless sequels and $60 hype yawners. I don't even care for Rayman in particular, but this game just plays and looks so great that i would love it no matter what franchise it was affiliated with. Expand
  29. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    A true Rayman Game! Without Rabids! If you want something different, you should get Rayman Origins.
    It is full of color, funny situations, great boss battles, and the music is good.
    The only problem is that once you've finished the story, there isn' t Multiplayer Online to add value and "Game time".
  30. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This game is probably one of the most underrated games in 2011 due to who it's competing with in the market with Christmas around the corner this game with please everyone and is so superb with everything that the game offers you. Well done ubisoft commendations go to you and I'm sure if Rebecca Black was reviewing this game she would be saying fun fun fun fun looking forward to playing rayman.
  31. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    great platforming game. the characters are cool. the controls are great. the graphics is nice. totally the game is awesome. for those who enjoy 2D platforming games, it is a perfect game. the only cons in this game is that it becomes really hard at the end which might be annoying. so i give it a 9/10.
  32. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    At a minimum equal to any of the best 2d platformers out there, no matter what you think they are or who is in them. Mario? Yes. Donkey Kong, Yoshi, Megaman? Yes, yes, and yes. Castlevania, Metroid, Sonic, Kirby, Contra, Kid Icarus, Ducktales, Splosion Man, etc? Jesus F*cking Christ, kid! What the f*ck did I just God damn type? YES, IT'S AS GOOD OR ARGUABLY BETTER. Now f*ck offAt a minimum equal to any of the best 2d platformers out there, no matter what you think they are or who is in them. Mario? Yes. Donkey Kong, Yoshi, Megaman? Yes, yes, and yes. Castlevania, Metroid, Sonic, Kirby, Contra, Kid Icarus, Ducktales, Splosion Man, etc? Jesus F*cking Christ, kid! What the f*ck did I just God damn type? YES, IT'S AS GOOD OR ARGUABLY BETTER. Now f*ck off and have a nice day, I've got work to do. Expand
  33. Dec 15, 2011
    4
    Thank goodness I only rented this hogwash of a game. After doing my research and being wowed by all the tremendous scores I thought for sure I'd wind up buying it after giving it a shot. How wrong was I!

    Let me first start by agreeing that yes, many of the major platforming icons don't make a lot of sense. Sonic is a blue super-fast hedgehog. Mario is a plumber chasing after a princess,
    Thank goodness I only rented this hogwash of a game. After doing my research and being wowed by all the tremendous scores I thought for sure I'd wind up buying it after giving it a shot. How wrong was I!

    Let me first start by agreeing that yes, many of the major platforming icons don't make a lot of sense. Sonic is a blue super-fast hedgehog. Mario is a plumber chasing after a princess, stomping mushrooms, and generally being odd. But while Mario, and to some extent Sonic, have a charmingly childish quality to them, Rayman is so far out in left field that it's utterly absurd. And not in a compelling or interesting way. The enemies, the characters, the settings, all seem like they're just thrown together. There is no cohesion, just a bunch of weird... things... whatever they are... making weird noises and generally getting in the way.

    And the story (if you could call it such) is much the same. There's something going on with a crotchety old lady and some bats (its the opening intro, so you'll forgive me if I don't credit that as being a spoiler) and then it degenerates into... well, I don't know really. Other platformers, even bizarre ones, usually let you get at least a sense of what's going. Not Rayman apparently. I'm running around jumping on things and slapping things and saving weird things... why? I don't know why, and therefore I don't know why I care, and therefore I don't care.

    None of this would be so bad if it were actually fun to play, but alas, the much lauded game play that I read all about is non existent too. Rayman feels slow and unwieldy, and controlling him is never natural or intuitive. It feels like I'm constantly struggling to get him to keep up with where I want/need him to be, and while some levels move at a fairly quick pace, Rayman always feels like he's as slow as molasses in comparison. It's downright bizarre, like fighting with lag even though there is none. He's just not responsive. Certain moves and jumps can't be aborted, bouncing pads are often unidirectional, and you just don't feel in control. I certainly haven't yet.

    Yeah sure, the artwork is nifty, the graphics are fine (for what it is) but the lack of any real depth of game play, character, or story, really betrays this games psn-release beginnings, and it should've stayed this way. I'm hard pressed to justify laying out $7 for the rental. I could see shelling out $15 for a psn download. But $50 + for a retail disc...not a chance. Save your money.

    (Btw, its a generous 4 because metacritic doesn't allow point values, and its terrible but not atrocious so I couldn't justify giving it a three. But in reality, funky artwork really is nothing to be too proud off. 3.5 would be more like it but well...)
    Expand
  34. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy thisI loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand
  35. Feb 25, 2012
    3
    Rayman is one of those games who start very well and you enjoy it. But as you progress the game, the difficulty spikes to outrages levels. I've already beaten the 4 bosses and I think I only have 1 level to go, but decided to quit, because after the 1231938823434 death I have realized that this is not fun anymore. Overrated game who make no sense and the level design are just thinks thrownRayman is one of those games who start very well and you enjoy it. But as you progress the game, the difficulty spikes to outrages levels. I've already beaten the 4 bosses and I think I only have 1 level to go, but decided to quit, because after the 1231938823434 death I have realized that this is not fun anymore. Overrated game who make no sense and the level design are just thinks thrown on the screen. Expand
  36. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    pro:
    Really fun (even more with friend at 4)
    A real challenge (especially the bonus level)
    good old platform game back to origins.
    cheap (considering the actual market and the length of the game)

    cons:
    only 3 different character for a 4 player game.

    A good investment for all player who likes a bit of difficulty and platform game. Enjoy.
  37. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Great game, loads of fun and a decent challenge. We bought this for our 4 year old son but he found it too tough. After watching him playing it I thought I would have a go and was hooked in an hour. It's daft and silly and gives you no clue as to what you're doing (other than saving the world?), but the levels are so well designed and varied that it doesnt really matter. Reminded me ofGreat game, loads of fun and a decent challenge. We bought this for our 4 year old son but he found it too tough. After watching him playing it I thought I would have a go and was hooked in an hour. It's daft and silly and gives you no clue as to what you're doing (other than saving the world?), but the levels are so well designed and varied that it doesnt really matter. Reminded me of some of the best N64 platformers and reeks of nostalgia. Gets tough towards the end though, so don't expect an easy ride... Expand
  38. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Origins is by far the best game in the series since Rayman 3. After 5 years of Rabbids ruining Rayman (At first the rabbids games were good. But after the first one, it began to go downhill) The game returns to Rayman's 2D roots and is definitely the finest 2D Rayman Game. The game looks better then anything in the Rayman franchise. If you enjoy platformers, then you'll love Rayman Origins Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    A breath of fresh air. Everything about it hits the right note and balance. The level design is near perfect, the music is eccentric and fun, and it always looks beautiful in motion. It's one of the most perfect games I've ever played. Considering its really low price (only like 15 bucks at this point) it's a must play.
  40. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a good game that also works good with up to 4 friends. The biggest complaint I have is that's the learning curve is too steep and that it's too difficult in general. The game is pretty long and by the end I was tired of it. After the ending, it seems like the levels kept coming, there was another bonus level and that was waaay too hard! We never finished it and it feels like I never finished the game so I kinda have a bad feeling about this and don't want to play Rayman again. Expand
  41. Feb 12, 2012
    7
    Beautiful hand drawn backgrounds make this 2D game unique. Although this game is fun and challenging to collect all the extras, it does get rather boring after a bit of time. To me it seemed like after a while the game dragged on and my appeal was faded. A good renting game but not worth buying in my opinion.
  42. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Rayman Origins is good old fashioned platforming at its best. People complain about how there's no story and it doesn't make sense, well guess what? It's NOT SUPPOSED TO. Platforming games are about having fun and Origins gave me some well needed gaming refreshment when so much focus is given to games like COD these days. The game provides a great challenge, especially in the later levelsRayman Origins is good old fashioned platforming at its best. People complain about how there's no story and it doesn't make sense, well guess what? It's NOT SUPPOSED TO. Platforming games are about having fun and Origins gave me some well needed gaming refreshment when so much focus is given to games like COD these days. The game provides a great challenge, especially in the later levels and the time-trials are a blast. My partner even picked up a controller and jumped straight into the game with me, and not many games can make that happen! The visuals are absolutely beautiful and the colour practically bursts out of the screen. It's a damn shame that games such as Origins take a back seat to more commercial games. For all you Sonic, Mario, Spyro, Crash and of course Rayman fans out there, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. Expand
  43. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    What an amazing 2D platformer. It's just plain fun and good vibes. The animation and controls are PERFECT, though the game lacks a good story/motive and could've done with online co-op.
  44. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    For a game that looks like it's meant for 5-year-olds, it is brutally difficult. I prefer to just sit back and play platformers instead of yelling at the screen. It does have beautiful levels and decent level design, but I prefer the other heavyweight platformers. The others have much better competitive advantages: there is Little Big Planet that significantly better replayability andFor a game that looks like it's meant for 5-year-olds, it is brutally difficult. I prefer to just sit back and play platformers instead of yelling at the screen. It does have beautiful levels and decent level design, but I prefer the other heavyweight platformers. The others have much better competitive advantages: there is Little Big Planet that significantly better replayability and Mario is much more fun with friends. Expand
  45. Dec 5, 2016
    8
    If you're looking for nothing but platforming in a game, this one is as good as it gets. Its a solid platformer all around, although not as the same level of awesomeness of it's successor (rayman legends), it still has a few memorable levels, but most importantly all levels are different and unique. Controls sometimes can get frustrating making the game harder than it should be, but thatIf you're looking for nothing but platforming in a game, this one is as good as it gets. Its a solid platformer all around, although not as the same level of awesomeness of it's successor (rayman legends), it still has a few memorable levels, but most importantly all levels are different and unique. Controls sometimes can get frustrating making the game harder than it should be, but that is my only major complaint. Game can also feel like a grind sometimes because it doesn't have a story, but like I said if platforming is all you're looking for get this. Expand
  46. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first played this game in a demo (Although the review is not about demo) it blew my mind how it was simillar to classic SNES and GBA platformers. The Presentation is 10 all the way through, Level design, Graphics, music, every thing could be described as cheerful masterpiece. Cartoony graphics work very well, for adults it reminds how they loved cartoons of 80s-90s, and to kids, It is just as well as regular cartoon. The main selling point of the game is gameplay. It is nothing special if you think about it, but what was the last game to you that had difficulty raised with each level evenly, only Mario Games. It looks pretty awesome how the level is built, which is pretty nice, as at first you think it is impossible to beat the level but then you quickly understand how to go through it. Co-op is awesome. There are some places hard to get to, but if you get 3 buddies in one room, be careful, you are going to havelots of laughs when you try to get through the level.
    The plot is very simple. An undead witch tries to make revenge to Rayman and friends for loud music.
    The only small problem with this game is the final "regular" boss (there is another one, true one to which I didn't get to). But one small problem AT THE END didn't made me forget how awesome the game works. Yes, I am looking at you ME3 haters.
    This game for me is definetely GOTY of last year and is definetely one of my favorite games of all time.
    Expand
  47. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    If you`ve been on the lookout for a great modern day 2d platformer, look no further - This is it. A fun and inspired art style, great gameplay and some deeply immersive and challenging levels all help to make this gem of a game what it is. As several past reviewers have mentioned, I only wish this game included the functionality of an online multiplayer which would likely extend some sweetIf you`ve been on the lookout for a great modern day 2d platformer, look no further - This is it. A fun and inspired art style, great gameplay and some deeply immersive and challenging levels all help to make this gem of a game what it is. As several past reviewers have mentioned, I only wish this game included the functionality of an online multiplayer which would likely extend some sweet playing time for me. Needless to say, it`s still a fun ride from start to finish and you'll most undoubtedly feel you`ve gotten your money`s worth based on the hours you put into this game, whether by your lonesome or with the aid of a friend! Expand
  48. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    A truly masterpiece, if you like platformers atention You Can't Miss That this can summarize all, but what i can tell you to experience this game is that the gameplay is gorgeous, the soundtrack is thrilling or calm some times and the characters adorable, the history is silly but fun, give this a try and you won't be sorry.
  49. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the top 5 2D-plattforming games I've ever played, and I went through very much plattforming games feauturing nearly all mario-games, the great DKC-Series, Crash Bandicot, etc.. Rayman Origins does everything right. Controls are great, the graphics just blow your mind and the soundtrack fits every situation. The gameplay is so well balanced and never stops to beThis is easily one of the top 5 2D-plattforming games I've ever played, and I went through very much plattforming games feauturing nearly all mario-games, the great DKC-Series, Crash Bandicot, etc.. Rayman Origins does everything right. Controls are great, the graphics just blow your mind and the soundtrack fits every situation. The gameplay is so well balanced and never stops to be challanging. But it's very fair as well (infinit continues) and therefore keeps motivating till the end of the game. It's my first Rayman game and it won't be the last! Expand
  50. Mar 23, 2015
    9
    It is the return of Rayman to his glorious 2D side-scrolling platforming roots. It looks amazing, it plays amazing and it sounds... crazy. A great return to glory.
  51. Dec 3, 2015
    8
    Rayman Origins is a fun 2D platforming game that's worth buying. It's challenging and has awesome boss fights and can be enjoyed by everyone, you should get it.
  52. Jul 1, 2016
    9
    A franquia mostrou que está preparada para marcar território nos próximos anos,um jogo bonito e divertido,de forma simples e eficaz consegue entreter o jogador por horas e horas,sem dúvidas rayman me cativou de forma significativa.Recomendadíssimo!!!!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    90
    Gorgeous, polished, and legitimately challenging, it is as good a 2D platformer as one will find, nostalgic or no. Very few games manage to be old-school and new-school at the same time, but Rayman Origins threads that needle to near-perfection.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    85
    Rayman goes from 3D to 2D but gains charm and quality in the progress. The hand-drawn levels are beautiful and well animated, the music has rhythm that compliments the gameplay and playing the game with two, three or four players is hectic in a good way.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    84
    We had the most fun playing the game with just one other player. Four players on screen is too hectic, two is just right and a lot more fun than taking on the enemies on your own. The only thing we miss is online co-op for when you don't have a friend handy. [December 2011, p.94]