User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1724 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like to point out that RDR's characters are too stereotyped and the twist and turns of the story are predictable, especially when it comes to the ending. But, everything else is spot-on and amazing, most notably the world itself, the combat, and the controls. I loved RDR and I recommend it to anyone who loved Westerns or GTA, for that matter. If you hate either of those two things, then RDR is not for you. A 9.8/10. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. The vast landscape, the bustling western towns, the dynamic characters, this game is one of the greatest of this gen. Good job, Rockstar.
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous
    statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    rockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff down to where they all arnt crazy maniacs chasing you down relentlessly non stop like in the GTA games . the game took me about 30 hours to finish and there is alot of bonus stuff you can do . there is a pretty solid selection of wepons you can use . the cover system is decent and i found the aiming abit of a chore and took me awhile to get use to it. the game is also alittle buggy and glitchy i didnt find any of it really game breaking . i had 1 freeze up and a few other things happen. all in all RDR was a real fun game i havent tried the online yet and want to down load the undead nightmare DLC but PSN is down but i have heard it alot of fun so looking foward to it. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    What can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good it is, the main single player campaign is very good. The only problems seen with the single player is the fact the game is quite glitched, and during a 6 hour bashing session of this game, there were around 1 glitch/ freeze per hour, which is bearable, however very frustrating when you're in the middle of a mission and end up restarting the ps3. This is the reason that the game, personally for me, is just kept off the 10/10 mark. Moving onto the multi player, the multi player is deep, and keeps you occupied well after the single player is completed, the attraction of getting better horses and guns keeps you interested, as well as the endless activities and things for you to do. This game is especially good when you have a few mates to make havoc with. Overall then, this game is a brilliant buy, i would definitely recommend it, as in my mind it is way above the quality of GTA 4, thanks to the endless tasks to complete, and the knowledge that the open plains on the map are always full of life gives a warm feeling to the game. I definitely recommend, it's an excellent buy! Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Nobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished and complete in every respect. Red Dead Redemption is no exception. They improved the character control since GTA, but horses aren't as fun to control as cars, so the traveling can get a bit dull. This world isn't quite as fun as GTA and lacks the over-the-top action from GTA (like the ability to sky dive or create 10-car pile-ups that made GTA so enjoyable)...but this is still an amazing game that puts most other games on the market to shame. It really is baffling to me how under-appreciated Rockstar's work ethic. They put so much more into their games than anyone else does, yet many other games still get scored in the 9-10 range, despite the fact that these games have half the amount of content, half the freedom, half the environment, and half the attention to detail as Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  8. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now I'm not going to say what has been said a million times on EITHER side.On one side people are saying its the same as Gta4....it not.And on the other side Its the greatest game ever.Yes,I think it was very good but once you beat the game and hae to play as Johns son Jack he is the MOST annoying character since Jar Jar bink half the time when you are riding the horse he says stupid stuff that make me want to break my game.Also,why cant I swim ...you could in the previous rockstar games but no , a badass like John Marston can't swim. Expand
  9. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    A really fun game with a bit to do, however it just felt like the effort wasnt there to make it interesting but overall it had a solid base but they should of expanded on it more. I rented it for the week and I'm glad I did this instead of buying it.
  10. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, which will take you approx 40 - 50 hours if you are thorough, it is done. The story is told and time to shut the book and move on. Expand
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    9.5 Amazing environments, fantastic controls, and incredibly addictive. Rockstar somehow keeps creating compelling characters because its one of the few gaming studios left that ACTUALLY KNOW HOW TO WRITE GOOD SCRIPTS. This is definitely one of the best games of the year so far.
  12. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  13. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    This game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls as in GTA 4. but the actual missions are what let me down. in my opinion the game just gets gradually more and more repetitive. after abut an hour into the game I felt as though the game started to lack something special as the missions become a real chore and you keep having to do the same thing over and over again. go over, talk to this guy and follow him over to another place, where a gang of thieves will be waiting for you or just to meet a new character. and it stays almost the same throughout the game. it is a very good game and playing online in a party with friends is very enjoyable and is where the game stands out, but as a single player experience, it is very good but I felt that it could introduce a more varied set of missions in order to keep me interested in it. Expand
  14. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Perhaps the greatest sandbox game of all time. It's unlike Grand Theft Auto, as there's still so much to do after getting 100% completion. The graphics are incredible, and the soundtrack is amazing, too. The storyline is involving, but there's so much to do in the huge open world game that it may seem to get in the way.

    A fantastic game, my choice for Game of the Year 2010.
  15. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game with almost endless playability if you like the online. There are a few noticeable bad points to the game with prevent it from being a 10. Most notability the glitches which can be frustrating at times, also the multiplayer doesn't feel incredibly fun to play and competitive multiplayer can be quite boring. Although the game is redeemed with it's excellent story and the best 'open world' graphics a game has offered us yet. It certainly isn't for everyone, the first hour or so amounts to nothing more than cattle herding. But the rest of the game is very solid and although the pace never becomes 'intense', it does get quite brilliant towards the end. Finally, the world which the game is set is far more memorable and realistic than Liberty City of GTA IV. Unlike the crowded, drab world of GTA IV, (which was far from bad in itself), Red Dead manages a small collection of easily identifiable towns that have far more charm in them than Liberty City. Overall, It's not outright better than GTA IV, but certainly does Rockstar proud with a 'Game of the year' contender. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Hype Strikes again i will admit the story was fun but horses suck compared to cars and I'm from the Midwest. i didn't like GTA4 that much and was afraid RDR would be the same layout which it was ,but my main reason for giving this game a 5 is because the MP was a joke auto aim lackluster pile of steaming horse crap there is nothing to do. Don't give me that **** about how there's challenges i mean come on flower picking and the game mode types were stupid this game was not made to be competitive its engine just cant handle that and as a result TDM and the other modes felt like a bad ps2 third person shooter ,and all the other boring ass stuff they threw in there to try to make it work was laughable at best. i found my self just boosting my levels up on the easiest gang hideout with friends just to give me something to do and the pvp reward system is a joke 5 point for killing another person its retarded you would have to kill 200 real people which would take for ever in a game were there is only ever 4 freaking people in a lobby when i could just boost a easy gang hideout in 1:40 and get 1000 xp. overall i was done with this game in like a 5 days b/c the MP was just to damn boring OVER HYPED NUFF SAID Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    RDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bit more now).

    My main gripe is that the game is often quite boring which, when put aside my feeling that the game is also too short, is quite an achievement: Rockstar created a short and partially boring game. Usually tedium comes with long, drawn-out games! The boredom is induced by the slew of horse riding courier-type missions throughout. Yes, I appreciate that it conveys the vast expanse of the West, but I didn't need to be slapped in the face with this every 5 missions or so. Luckily, the tedium is interrupted by some absolutely brilliant missions and some great cutscenes; just enough to save RDR from being a completely boring game, and instead turning it into a decent one. But I can't forget those horse riding missions. Other issues I have with RDR are: 1) It was set too late in history, and would have been better had it been in a more familiar Civil War setting; 2) The narrative pretty much restrained your role-playing into one of a bad guy turned nice guy - there was no chance to play the anti-hero, and very few choices afforded to the player, except outside of missions which didn't really affect the narrative in the same way that games like Mass Effect have managed (and Westerns are all about the anti-heroes!); 3) There was no 'bank job' mission (a Western without a bank job?!); 4) There was no Magnificent Seven/High Plains Drifter-style 'save a town from bandidos' side-story (perhaps more a personal preference, but if Rockstar are to pay homage to such films then you can't go without it).

    I've nit-picked a bit there, and have perhaps paid too much attention to what I didn't like about the game. Overall, I did really enjoy it and put a lot of hours into it, but I just feel very strongly that it didn't deserve the 9's and 10s it got, and that such inflated scores (and the Toby McCasker saga) leave me a little concerned about the credibility of mainstream games reviewers.
    Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a original thriller of Rockstar, is true ... His immersion, graphics effects, his soundtrack and epic love your way to practically all types of players.

    John Marston is a great character and justifies this in the wonderful storyline that the game provides. The missions are well balanced and many things are new at this game.

    It's amazing how Rockstar managed to
    faithfully reproduce the old-with this primacy. It's really one of the greatest games of all time.

    Since I have so much to write, my grade is 9 to why it could not be less than that. It's a review from Brazil, take care world ! =]
    Expand
  19. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played; superficial narrative fails to explore briefly mentioned themes; streamlined campaign lacks side missions or exploration.
    Game duration 8 -10 hours depending how slow/fast you play
    Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have given this game this score for the simple fact that people made it out to be the perfect and best game imaginable but lets be honest, it really isn't. Its too easy for gods sake. I managed to go through out HUGE chunks of the game without dying. Im talking about 2-3 hours worth of the game and I would be able to kill everyone and everything and that is pretty much down to the fact that the shooting is so easy. Before you even think about it. I did take the auto aim and move it up to whatever difficulty it has for the shooting and it made no difference whatsoever because nothing was going to stop me. The AI is stupid. The story is boring. After you get to go to Mexico I seriously had had enough of the cut scenes so I just skipped them. They aren't like the ones in games like Uncharted where because of the characters and that it advances the plot that I have to watch it. The mission variety is boring. At least with GTA there was fun out of me going around and shooting and killing people. In this its just like here you go. I know its set in the days of cowboys and all that but come on. This is just boring. What annoyed me the most out of the game is that when I finished it I felt NO satisfaction from doing it. Expand
  21. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    The game is nice for a 3rd person shooter. The game allows you to free roam with some interesting finds to give you some side quest as sharp shooter, gatherer, etc. The main story is nice to follow with an end that I didn't predict. To play a GTA game settled in the west was a nice change.
  22. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalness feel to it with loads of plants and live animals. The story is good, deep, fascinating and provides a good, meaty single player experience. The game (for the most part) plays like a first person shooter. Many missions see you fighting against the bad guys in engaging fire fights and RDR has a neat cover system along with a great slow-mo precision targeting system feature known as Dead-Eye which allows you to slow down time and target multiple targets then unleash hell on them with fire power. The gunplay and the game play itself is polished and uncomplicated to play due to clear instructions on where to go and an auto targeting system which allows you to quickly dispatch a group of outlaws. There are some decent variety in the missions that you'll undertake like escorting someone to safety by defending them against outlaws, tame horses, herd cattle from one place to another and more. There is a hint of RPG style game play in this game. I like the fact that you can earn money by scavenging for materials from plants or organs from dead animals and sell them to someone. The single player campaign is defiantly action heavy and bloody. The weapons at your disposal are plentiful and fun to use with bolt action rifles, pistols and a really cool lasso which can be used to take down criminals or targets without killing them. The most ideal mode of transport across the vast environment is the horse. Horse controls maybe a little bit fiddly at first but you'll get use to them. However, galloping sections where you are just riding with a NPC and discussing about various topics can get repetitious at times and I hate the fact that you have to hold down the X button to keep galloping at a consistent speed or else you'll slow down. What I like about this game is how Rockstar San Diego has captured the perception of the Wild West beautifully with the landscape, music, building design, sound design, and the character models and how they move and talk. Speaking of the sound design, the characters in this game are well voiced and the gun noises sound wonderful. What is always a strong point in Rockstar's sandbox games such as their Grand Theft Auto games is that there is an abundance of stuff to do. This game is no exception. There's loads to do even after completing the expansive single player campaign such as side jobs like being a Night Watchmen or helping civilians, scavenge for plant material and play mini games such as Horseshoes and Poker which are fun if a little annoying (especially Horse Shoes, can't say the same thing about Poker: I don't know how to play it!). The physics look convincing and realistic like falling off a cliff or dragging someone behind you (attached to the lasso) and watching them tumble and twirl while you gallop along with your horse. The game does get a little bit slow at the end and I don't like hunting helpless, innocent animals and skinning them but I guess it's just a game. When you skin animals, blood splatters across the screen which is an unnecessarily effect considering the perspective that you play the game. It would be acceptable in a first person shooter where you look through the eyes of your character but not in a third person shooter. RDR is accessible to anyone due to a generous checkpoint system and clear instructions on what to do but in turn it does make the game a little too easy. As a whole, RDR is a great Third Person Shooter with RPG elements that do not overcomplicate things. This Wild West game deserves to be in any action gamer's collection. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This game is a sigh that even games like GTA IV are now a thing of the past. Rockstar delivered a masterpiece that is worthy of GOTY for 2010. Plus, one of the best endings in recent gaming history!
  24. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Open-World Western? Check. Arsenal of weapons at the users disposal? Check. Expansive, detailed, massive world? Check. Rockstar once again essentially raises the bar for the open-world genre. With enough missions and side quests to keep you busy for hours-upon-hours, a world where every inch begs to be explored, and a cast of memorable characters who follow an engaging, adrenaline-fueled plot, this game is simply put, phenomenal. Red Dead Redemption is a shining example of how to make a western game, and one no fan of the genre should miss. If your not convinced to buy the game yet, apparently you have yet to drag a helpless civilian by the feet behind your horse as you ride off into the sunset. Expand
  25. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead is a brand of its own, hosting a massive world of rustic locales, interesting npcs, and beautiful graphics. What it does best though is it captures the Western feel of cinema, something very few games have ever done right (if ever). A long game depending how you play, which is very ambiguous and up to the player. Whether your hunting, capturing a bounty, free roaming, or just killing innocents, Red Dead has something for everyone; the cowboys, and the cowboys at heart. Expand
  26. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This game was not disappointing. Think of GTA except in the early 1900's in rural Texas. The story is compelling, and the characters are like straight out of a movie (I couldn't skip one single cut scene). Heck, I even enjoyed the conversations you have on horseback while riding towards your goal in the mission. And for those who say screw the story, I'm just gonna wreak havoc, you can do that too. I recommend anyone who enjoyed the GTA franchise, or who is looking for a new game to pick up and play for several weeks. This may be the one partner Expand
  27. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, a GTA beater I don't know. If your looking for an interesting, new, different open world game then you could not go wrong with RDR. If your interested in cowboy movies and you have a small interest in computer games, then this will turn you in to a gaming addict, If your interested in computer games and have a small interest in cowboy movies then you will love this game. If your just interested in computer games, then there's a good chance that you will love this game anyway. Expand
  28. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Red Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what a gunshot wound to the head would actually look like. However the game does have problems, while almost every characters motivations and personalities are interesting, John Marston's, weirdly, isn't. While Marston's cause is a worthy one, he doesn't half go on about it, repeating the same story over and over to passers-by and anyone who'll listen, conscious or not. Also the game is just plain easy; the cover button seems to toggle god-mode and dead-eye (while visceral and satisfying) is just bullet-time in a dress. Also, bears shouldn't be able to take a shell to the head without flinching, they're bears not houses. In conclusion this is a good game hampered by small niggles, like a supermodel with no teeth... And Jack can jump in a **** black hole too Expand
  29. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Read dead is a fantastic game, from fun addicting game play to amazing graphics. I had loads of fun playing this game; itâ
  30. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    While this game blew me away with it's sheer size and seemingly limitless playability, it's techincal flaws really hampered what I feel could have been a close to perfect game. For one example, I had just finished using the gatling gun at Fort Mercer, one of the bandits had been shot off his horse and was suspended in mid-air and dead. Now my natural curiosity has me go over to the corpse and kind of chuckle at a minor game flaw. I walk near the corpse...and I DIE?? Really?? and that's just one of many bugs I found. As far as I am concerned, that is practically inexcusable to be in a $60 game. I can understand a glitch here and there...but dying after walking under a suspended in mid air corpse? Or having a wagon driver completely go **** for no reason and drive right over a cliff? A townsman running in place just propels himself into the sky? For shame Rockstar.....for shame Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!