Red Dead Redemption PlayStation 3

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2492 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewK
    May 20, 2010
    9
    It's "Grand Theft Horse"....and I love it! But seriously, this game has one of the most interesting environments of any game ever. There is so much to do and my only problems thus far have been little glitches here and there (in the snowy parts there are lines where the snow meets the grass and in thieve's landing when I first got there the frame rate took a dive bomb) I'd It's "Grand Theft Horse"....and I love it! But seriously, this game has one of the most interesting environments of any game ever. There is so much to do and my only problems thus far have been little glitches here and there (in the snowy parts there are lines where the snow meets the grass and in thieve's landing when I first got there the frame rate took a dive bomb) I'd give this game a ten if it was a perfect game, but really this is one of the closest gaming comes. Have fun!! Expand
  2. JohnD.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    After so many sandbox games i never thought i would be amazed again. But Rockstar did it again. Red Dead Redemption is currently one of the best games i have ever played.If you love westerns and really good and immersive world then RUSH TO THE STORE NOW.
  3. JonathanL
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This game is simply incredible. A Rockstar game based in the Wild West? You should be sold right away. There's lots to do and with the Wild West theme untapped, the experience feels very unique. The characters and story and engrossing and you'll be captivated after the first few minutes.
  4. OfekI
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This game is simply AMAZING! I already spent 20 hours of playing and as soon as i'm done here ill go back to play more! The game looks georgous, sound is simply awesome with great voice acting and the gameplay, is never boring! always diffrent missions and all of those randon events you get while free roaming, and mini-games... also it's fun to get a little drunk and start a bar This game is simply AMAZING! I already spent 20 hours of playing and as soon as i'm done here ill go back to play more! The game looks georgous, sound is simply awesome with great voice acting and the gameplay, is never boring! always diffrent missions and all of those randon events you get while free roaming, and mini-games... also it's fun to get a little drunk and start a bar fight! and raiding gang hideouts is a very good addition, so except for a few minor bugs which don't come often and won't affect your experience, the game is excellent! Expand
  5. JaykeW
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Just wanted to address Zombie Mouse. You've mistaken multiplayer for Co-op, a dlc release that was supposed to coincide with the release of the game. The setting of this game is amazing. Jogging along and suddenly on the ground from a rattlesnake bite, watching mountain lion kill a vulture feeding on the coyote you just skinned..beautiful!
  6. EricG.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Dude, Zombie Mouse, I hate to say it but you are terribly mistaken. First of all, what you are referring to is "Free Roam" mode, which is merely one small part of the entire online experience. From "free roam" you can jump into any number of competitive multiplayer games, including deathmatch and capture the bag. Second, there ARE missions in "Free Roam" mode, in the form of gang hideouts Dude, Zombie Mouse, I hate to say it but you are terribly mistaken. First of all, what you are referring to is "Free Roam" mode, which is merely one small part of the entire online experience. From "free roam" you can jump into any number of competitive multiplayer games, including deathmatch and capture the bag. Second, there ARE missions in "Free Roam" mode, in the form of gang hideouts and persistent challenges. The gang hideouts are scattered around the map, you just have to get close to one and it triggers a mission (just like in single player). The persistent challenges are also similar to single player, like the hunting and gathering ones, but are much more elaborate. Finally, I don't know what towns you went to, but there most definitely are civilians all over the place in Free Roam mode. I've more than a few times found myself trying to outrun the law after raising havoc against the innocent in towns like Blackwater and Armadillo. I guess what I am trying to say is that anyone who reads zombie Mouse's review should not be discouraged. This game is every bit as fantastic as the professional reviews above say it is, in both single AND multiplayer. Buy it NOW. Expand
  7. NathanB
    May 19, 2010
    8
    I would give this game a 8.5. The best part about it is that there is just a lot of stuff going on. People run up to you asking for help all the time & there seems to be an animal to shoot every time you turn the corner. Every once in a while the framerate suffers. Also I would honestly say the size of the map is 1/50th the size of Just Cause 2. At the end of the day besides the fact the I would give this game a 8.5. The best part about it is that there is just a lot of stuff going on. People run up to you asking for help all the time & there seems to be an animal to shoot every time you turn the corner. Every once in a while the framerate suffers. Also I would honestly say the size of the map is 1/50th the size of Just Cause 2. At the end of the day besides the fact the map is small, you cant swim, it lags a lot, this game is just a lot of fun. Also great story. Expand
  8. JeromeR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    An open world sandbox style game is perfect for the Western setting. Sure, it plays very similarly to GTA4 but they really fine tuned some of the stuff that really annoyed me with the former game. What I really think is getting me that the last Grand Theft Auto did is the setting. Everything just feels right in the Wild West, when it easily became annoying in the Big City. Marston is an An open world sandbox style game is perfect for the Western setting. Sure, it plays very similarly to GTA4 but they really fine tuned some of the stuff that really annoyed me with the former game. What I really think is getting me that the last Grand Theft Auto did is the setting. Everything just feels right in the Wild West, when it easily became annoying in the Big City. Marston is an awesome main character, very sympathetic (lol, well as long as you play him honorably.) Expand
  9. BillH
    May 19, 2010
    9
    I'm at 30+ hours of gameplay, almost half-way through. I'm looking hard for reasons to dislike the game (as I was in the minority of people who thought GTA IV was rotten with horrible controls and dull gameplay and was horribly let down after being so excited for it for so long). But thus far I simply can't find anything to really hate, it comes togethor as a cohesive I'm at 30+ hours of gameplay, almost half-way through. I'm looking hard for reasons to dislike the game (as I was in the minority of people who thought GTA IV was rotten with horrible controls and dull gameplay and was horribly let down after being so excited for it for so long). But thus far I simply can't find anything to really hate, it comes togethor as a cohesive whole, the missions are a little easy, but I spend more time riding around the wilderness exploring and hunting. The alternate activities available are simply engrossing. The only real viable complaints I have is their light levels are way off at night, even after adjusting your monitor it's very hard to see more than a few feet in front of your character, might be realistic, but it's not great for gameplay. They also commit the cardinal sin of open world gaming by making it instant death to go into the water, near as I can tell, simply to cordone off areas in the beginning. I don't like those things, but right now I don't care, it's just too awesome to be overly bothered by them. Expand
  10. Darrrrt
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This game is awsome if u like gta4 then this game is must buy for you but if you dont like gta4 but like western setting than its must buy for u too and if u donot like either gta or western setting u should not waste ur money on this game but i would strongly recommend u too atleast rent the game...this game is the best sandbox game ive ever played...
  11. SeanC
    May 19, 2010
    10
    At first I was a little skeptical about the game, it being in one of the few in the particular genre of gaming. I really didn't know what to expect from the mixed things I was hearing from it, but now that I have played it, I cannot stop. Each little aspect of this game from the puzzling treasure maps to the reaction of surrounding characters, this game continues to amaze me. Just At first I was a little skeptical about the game, it being in one of the few in the particular genre of gaming. I really didn't know what to expect from the mixed things I was hearing from it, but now that I have played it, I cannot stop. Each little aspect of this game from the puzzling treasure maps to the reaction of surrounding characters, this game continues to amaze me. Just when I think that I have seen it all in this game, I find something new and I am glad to have developers who can create such an amazing game. Though there is a minor glitch in the multiplayer gameplay, which I am sure rockstar (or hope) will soon fix. Expand
  12. JoshuaW
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Absolutely amazing! This game brings you into the "wild west" and doesn't let you go. A must buy for anyone who enjoys this era or anyone who is looking to escape the concrete jungles.
  13. bobv
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Unless you're still putting in the hours, do not bother with this overpriced 3 map pack. You will groan over seeing crash and overgrown again - Killstreak rewards are the only difference to these tired old maps and do little to make you care to play them again. Don't get me wrong, the hardcore will love it all - but for the casual fpser, $15 is a ripoff for only 3 new maps with Unless you're still putting in the hours, do not bother with this overpriced 3 map pack. You will groan over seeing crash and overgrown again - Killstreak rewards are the only difference to these tired old maps and do little to make you care to play them again. Don't get me wrong, the hardcore will love it all - but for the casual fpser, $15 is a ripoff for only 3 new maps with terrible options currently to play the new ones only. $10 these would be a great deal for, but that extra 5 is just a spit in the face with only 3 maps and 2 reused. Expand
  14. WonderChicken
    May 20, 2010
    8
    I know I am giving a great game a mediocre score, but I'm disappointed in Rockstar Games. There is no way the PS3 version should be as gimped as it is. It's not 2007 anymore, Rockstar, most games are at parity between the xbox 360 and PS3. In addition, the PS3 exclusives clearly show that it is the more powerful of the two systems. The only explaination is laziness. After the I know I am giving a great game a mediocre score, but I'm disappointed in Rockstar Games. There is no way the PS3 version should be as gimped as it is. It's not 2007 anymore, Rockstar, most games are at parity between the xbox 360 and PS3. In addition, the PS3 exclusives clearly show that it is the more powerful of the two systems. The only explaination is laziness. After the PS2 basically made Rockstar Games, you'd think they'd be loyal enough to Sony to actually build a decent engine for their next system (the PS3). Expand
  15. ErickG
    May 19, 2010
    8
    Singleplayer: This game is awesome in its entirety on the singleplayer area. GTA fans may be let down a bit due to seemingly repetitive nature of the game and little variety but the setting being in the Old Americas alone makes up for it. Never seen a Western game quite like it. And true to Rockstar style, players may find themselves confused what to do at first. Heck!, hunting wild Singleplayer: This game is awesome in its entirety on the singleplayer area. GTA fans may be let down a bit due to seemingly repetitive nature of the game and little variety but the setting being in the Old Americas alone makes up for it. Never seen a Western game quite like it. And true to Rockstar style, players may find themselves confused what to do at first. Heck!, hunting wild anilmals and picking flowers alone eats a lot of time. Singleplayer: 9/10 Multiplayer: This area is this game's Achilles. In short, this area is full of bugs and glitches. Character disappearing, steeds nowhere to be found, enemies and wild animals sucking your life out of nowhere (are they invisible really?), and worse, players getting stuck while doing crucial missions. Rockstar, you gotta do better than that. Expecting a quick fix on this. Multiplayer: 7/10. As a whole, the graphics and the environment is some of the most awesome around, mechanics doesn't hurt players who are into CoD and other shooting games, and sound and music are just superb. One thumbs up Rockstar/TakeTwo! Expand
  16. MattS
    May 21, 2010
    9
    What a fantastic game. After putting over 10 hours in, I might have been 1 hour into the actual story, spending the rest of my time partaking in the slew of side missions and challenges. If you're like me and were horribly disappointed by the travesty that was GTA4 and lost all faith in Rockstar, you owe it to yourself to get this title. They did absolutely everything right.
  17. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like toRed Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like to point out that RDR's characters are too stereotyped and the twist and turns of the story are predictable, especially when it comes to the ending. But, everything else is spot-on and amazing, most notably the world itself, the combat, and the controls. I loved RDR and I recommend it to anyone who loved Westerns or GTA, for that matter. If you hate either of those two things, then RDR is not for you. A 9.8/10. Expand
  18. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. The vast landscape, the bustling western towns, the dynamic characters, this game is one of the greatest of this gen. Good job, Rockstar.
  19. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  20. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    rockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff downrockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff down to where they all arnt crazy maniacs chasing you down relentlessly non stop like in the GTA games . the game took me about 30 hours to finish and there is alot of bonus stuff you can do . there is a pretty solid selection of wepons you can use . the cover system is decent and i found the aiming abit of a chore and took me awhile to get use to it. the game is also alittle buggy and glitchy i didnt find any of it really game breaking . i had 1 freeze up and a few other things happen. all in all RDR was a real fun game i havent tried the online yet and want to down load the undead nightmare DLC but PSN is down but i have heard it alot of fun so looking foward to it. Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    What can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good itWhat can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good it is, the main single player campaign is very good. The only problems seen with the single player is the fact the game is quite glitched, and during a 6 hour bashing session of this game, there were around 1 glitch/ freeze per hour, which is bearable, however very frustrating when you're in the middle of a mission and end up restarting the ps3. This is the reason that the game, personally for me, is just kept off the 10/10 mark. Moving onto the multi player, the multi player is deep, and keeps you occupied well after the single player is completed, the attraction of getting better horses and guns keeps you interested, as well as the endless activities and things for you to do. This game is especially good when you have a few mates to make havoc with. Overall then, this game is a brilliant buy, i would definitely recommend it, as in my mind it is way above the quality of GTA 4, thanks to the endless tasks to complete, and the knowledge that the open plains on the map are always full of life gives a warm feeling to the game. I definitely recommend, it's an excellent buy! Expand
  22. Mar 27, 2015
    10
    I think anything lower than a 9 is a troll review. The game is expansive, memorable, great gameplay, classic Rockstar GTA but in the Wild West. It is one of the 10 best games of last gen, and it was never ported to the PC. We all eagerly await Red Dead 2 and it would blow the doors off this gen!
  23. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Nobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished andNobody makes better games than Rockstar. Their attention to detail is unmatched. Every aspect of their games is done better than anything else on the market - their control, their physics, their environments, their animations, their freedom of movement. When you play most games, there are usually 1 or 2 aspects of the game that are lacking or rushed...but Rockstar's games feel polished and complete in every respect. Red Dead Redemption is no exception. They improved the character control since GTA, but horses aren't as fun to control as cars, so the traveling can get a bit dull. This world isn't quite as fun as GTA and lacks the over-the-top action from GTA (like the ability to sky dive or create 10-car pile-ups that made GTA so enjoyable)...but this is still an amazing game that puts most other games on the market to shame. It really is baffling to me how under-appreciated Rockstar's work ethic. They put so much more into their games than anyone else does, yet many other games still get scored in the 9-10 range, despite the fact that these games have half the amount of content, half the freedom, half the environment, and half the attention to detail as Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  24. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  25. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now I'm not going to say what has been said a million times on EITHER side.On one side people are saying its the same as Gta4....it not.And on the other side Its the greatest game ever.Yes,I think it was very good but once you beat the game and hae to play as Johns son Jack he is the MOST annoying character since Jar Jar bink half the time when you are riding the horse he says stupid stuff that make me want to break my game.Also,why cant I swim ...you could in the previous rockstar games but no , a badass like John Marston can't swim. Expand
  26. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    A really fun game with a bit to do, however it just felt like the effort wasnt there to make it interesting but overall it had a solid base but they should of expanded on it more. I rented it for the week and I'm glad I did this instead of buying it.
  27. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, whichThis game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, which will take you approx 40 - 50 hours if you are thorough, it is done. The story is told and time to shut the book and move on. Expand
  28. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    9.5 Amazing environments, fantastic controls, and incredibly addictive. Rockstar somehow keeps creating compelling characters because its one of the few gaming studios left that ACTUALLY KNOW HOW TO WRITE GOOD SCRIPTS. This is definitely one of the best games of the year so far.
  29. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's veryMuch, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  30. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Perhaps the greatest sandbox game of all time. It's unlike Grand Theft Auto, as there's still so much to do after getting 100% completion. The graphics are incredible, and the soundtrack is amazing, too. The storyline is involving, but there's so much to do in the huge open world game that it may seem to get in the way.

    A fantastic game, my choice for Game of the Year 2010.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!