User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2047 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Great game that is all i have to say with great graphics, amazing atmosphere and open world so why i only give it a 7/10 you may ask? Well, i found that the begining missions with bonnie and the late missions with johns family were realy dull and got me realy bored but the rest were all exciting and fantastic and i would have enjoyed the ending a bit more if my stupid friends didnt spoilGreat game that is all i have to say with great graphics, amazing atmosphere and open world so why i only give it a 7/10 you may ask? Well, i found that the begining missions with bonnie and the late missions with johns family were realy dull and got me realy bored but the rest were all exciting and fantastic and i would have enjoyed the ending a bit more if my stupid friends didnt spoil it for me but i still realy enjoyed the single player to the point of actually getting 100%. Now the multiplayer was realy fun even when you are playing alone. I mean there is just so much that you can do that it is realy addicting but sadly the community is realy little nowadays and there are loads of hackers that steal your fun. If it wasnt for the online comunity this game would be an easy 10/10 especially with undead nightmare but if just want to beat the campaign then WTF are you doing. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a game that gets everything right: The script, the acting, the atmosphere, the game mechanics and most importantly the emotional connection. There have been few games that have moved me quite like RDR. It's ending is a masterstroke of subtlety, which is something you rarely see from gaming. If you play the game as it was intended (like a hero and not a GTAIV thug),Red Dead Redemption is a game that gets everything right: The script, the acting, the atmosphere, the game mechanics and most importantly the emotional connection. There have been few games that have moved me quite like RDR. It's ending is a masterstroke of subtlety, which is something you rarely see from gaming. If you play the game as it was intended (like a hero and not a GTAIV thug), it has a contemplative, lilting tone that stays with you long after the credits have rolled. Red Dead Redemption is a true adult gaming classic; mature, well written and with a huge heart. Basically speaking, it's one of the best games that I've ever played. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A true masterpiece. Everything from the story to the soundtrack is just incredible. There is so much content to indulge in and you can spend countless hours just exploring the beautiful landscapes. The multiplayer is a blast and is surprisingly deep. The gameplay is as smooth as ever and Rockstar's Engine truly shines. All of the downloadable content is great as well and shouldn't be missed.
  4. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Collapse Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Despite a few bugs this game is seriously great!! Great world, great atmosphere.
  6. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like toRed Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like to point out that RDR's characters are too stereotyped and the twist and turns of the story are predictable, especially when it comes to the ending. But, everything else is spot-on and amazing, most notably the world itself, the combat, and the controls. I loved RDR and I recommend it to anyone who loved Westerns or GTA, for that matter. If you hate either of those two things, then RDR is not for you. A 9.8/10. Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    What can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good itWhat can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good it is, the main single player campaign is very good. The only problems seen with the single player is the fact the game is quite glitched, and during a 6 hour bashing session of this game, there were around 1 glitch/ freeze per hour, which is bearable, however very frustrating when you're in the middle of a mission and end up restarting the ps3. This is the reason that the game, personally for me, is just kept off the 10/10 mark. Moving onto the multi player, the multi player is deep, and keeps you occupied well after the single player is completed, the attraction of getting better horses and guns keeps you interested, as well as the endless activities and things for you to do. This game is especially good when you have a few mates to make havoc with. Overall then, this game is a brilliant buy, i would definitely recommend it, as in my mind it is way above the quality of GTA 4, thanks to the endless tasks to complete, and the knowledge that the open plains on the map are always full of life gives a warm feeling to the game. I definitely recommend, it's an excellent buy! Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Perhaps the greatest sandbox game of all time. It's unlike Grand Theft Auto, as there's still so much to do after getting 100% completion. The graphics are incredible, and the soundtrack is amazing, too. The storyline is involving, but there's so much to do in the huge open world game that it may seem to get in the way.

    A fantastic game, my choice for Game of the Year 2010.
  9. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game with almost endless playability if you like the online. There are a few noticeable bad points to the game with prevent it from being a 10. Most notability the glitches which can be frustrating at times, also the multiplayer doesn't feel incredibly fun to play and competitive multiplayer can be quite boring. Although the game is redeemed with it's excellent story and the bestFantastic game with almost endless playability if you like the online. There are a few noticeable bad points to the game with prevent it from being a 10. Most notability the glitches which can be frustrating at times, also the multiplayer doesn't feel incredibly fun to play and competitive multiplayer can be quite boring. Although the game is redeemed with it's excellent story and the best 'open world' graphics a game has offered us yet. It certainly isn't for everyone, the first hour or so amounts to nothing more than cattle herding. But the rest of the game is very solid and although the pace never becomes 'intense', it does get quite brilliant towards the end. Finally, the world which the game is set is far more memorable and realistic than Liberty City of GTA IV. Unlike the crowded, drab world of GTA IV, (which was far from bad in itself), Red Dead manages a small collection of easily identifiable towns that have far more charm in them than Liberty City. Overall, It's not outright better than GTA IV, but certainly does Rockstar proud with a 'Game of the year' contender. Expand
  10. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    I give this game a 10 out of 10 but I wish I can give it more. The game was a mixture of class, amazing graphics, perpetually interesting gameplay, and a great storyline.
  11. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this is better then Grand theft auto 4 on multiply fronts. For starters the environment is stunning and you will have to ride from town to town with the risk of wild animals attacking you giving a realistic edge to the game. Next there is more to do besides just missions, you can help random people who come up to you for help, you and also hunt for wanted people for a small payment, you can gamble as well with the risk of loosing money or you can completed challenges to improve your fame and honour levels which has many improvements. More fame means more people want help from you which rewards you with money. More honour means bigger discounts at stores and more pay from jobs. One favourite of mine is that you can shoot out both legs of your enemy stopping them from moving then pull out your lasso and tie them up. Now last but not least dead eye, you slow down time to get a better lock on your enemy. Still there are many things to discover if you bye the game, Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    i love this game and i still continue to play it now... the graphics are amazing the story is great and the world is just alive... yes this game is better than gta because rockstar have taken the GTA formula and then made it better... no its not GTA on a horse its like a simulator of wat life was like as a cowboy....essential buy it now...
  13. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    I took the Madame of Thieves' Landing, hogtied her to train tracks then sat back and watched in sadistic glory as the train roared on by and a little pop-up in the corner of my screen alerted me that I received the "Dastardly" trophy (I swear I felt somewhat bad). How can you not give this game at 10 out of 10.

    Great soundtrack too, by the way.
  14. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    There is no where near enough words to describe the majesty and scale of this unforgettable western adventure, so you will simply have to play it yourself. The characters and plot are well fleshed; John Marston is probably the coolest character ever made in a video game. The graphics are beautiful, the sky a wish-wash of oranges and reds at sunset and a bright electric blue at day. WhilstThere is no where near enough words to describe the majesty and scale of this unforgettable western adventure, so you will simply have to play it yourself. The characters and plot are well fleshed; John Marston is probably the coolest character ever made in a video game. The graphics are beautiful, the sky a wish-wash of oranges and reds at sunset and a bright electric blue at day. Whilst it is not of the length of the likes of GTA IV, the journey through is probably better (just). Absolutely essential to any game collection, this game is a modern gaming masterpiece. 95%. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. Rockstar has outdone themselves on this one. Excellent atmosphere that really give the feel of a Western world. Large variety of weapons and horses. Good gameplay mechanics and a good system for online play.....Love the posse.
  16. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may be well known for their Grand Theft Auto series, but Red Dead Redemption is the game to remember the company by. The game feels much more complete, engaging, open, and fun than GTAIV. Everything you do in the single player is a ton of fun. From the tasks such as hunting and games, to saving civilians and doing other side objectives. not only that, but the multiplayer isRockstar may be well known for their Grand Theft Auto series, but Red Dead Redemption is the game to remember the company by. The game feels much more complete, engaging, open, and fun than GTAIV. Everything you do in the single player is a ton of fun. From the tasks such as hunting and games, to saving civilians and doing other side objectives. not only that, but the multiplayer is outstanding, with fantastic DLC and an awesome open world setting. I can go on for hours about why this game is awesome, but do I really need to? You absolutely must go out and buy this game! Expand
  17. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    This game was not disappointing. Think of GTA except in the early 1900's in rural Texas. The story is compelling, and the characters are like straight out of a movie (I couldn't skip one single cut scene). Heck, I even enjoyed the conversations you have on horseback while riding towards your goal in the mission. And for those who say screw the story, I'm just gonna wreak havoc, you can doThis game was not disappointing. Think of GTA except in the early 1900's in rural Texas. The story is compelling, and the characters are like straight out of a movie (I couldn't skip one single cut scene). Heck, I even enjoyed the conversations you have on horseback while riding towards your goal in the mission. And for those who say screw the story, I'm just gonna wreak havoc, you can do that too. I recommend anyone who enjoyed the GTA franchise, or who is looking for a new game to pick up and play for several weeks. This may be the one partner Expand
  18. USG
    Nov 21, 2010
    9
    The story, overall, in Red Dead Redemption is excellent, at least one of the best. It's dynamic, long and still works perfectly. Truthfully the story has blown me away. The game's graphics are generally good; the sky really stands out. The gameplay works; horses prove to be second to none compared to any other game. It has great exploration value, good difficulty, and sufficient featuresThe story, overall, in Red Dead Redemption is excellent, at least one of the best. It's dynamic, long and still works perfectly. Truthfully the story has blown me away. The game's graphics are generally good; the sky really stands out. The gameplay works; horses prove to be second to none compared to any other game. It has great exploration value, good difficulty, and sufficient features and side missions. The map adds hours of extra play. Its greatness does not even require multiplayer. Redemption does provide a classic Western feel. However, a huge problem are all the glitches in-game which breaks the momentum. Expand
  19. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. Where the coyotes wail and the wind blows free. And when I die, don't bury me beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is the missing link between players and wild west, since there is no possiblity go back in the wild west, this game is the next best thing, and oh it's good. I'm big fan of western movies and games, this game
    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. Where the coyotes wail and the wind blows free. And when I die, don't bury me beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is the missing link between players and wild west, since there is no possiblity go back in the wild west, this game is the next best thing, and oh it's good.

    I'm big fan of western movies and games, this game makes the impossible to possible by offerring very deep and authentic feeling wild west for players to play, visit, travel, ride and live.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. This words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day."

    RDR looks pretty amazing on consoles and if there's coming PC version I think it will be also must buy.

    Gameplay is almost identical to GTA IV but there is few minor differences, like swimming that isn't possible in RDR. Shooting and hunting is probably the second best part in this game, but riding on sunset with fast horse and perfect music playing on background is absolutely the best part in whole game.

    At the end of one mission player had to ride to Mexico and there was perfectly fitting music track playing and sun is starting to set behind the horizon, oh my god it was amazing.

    "But we buried him there, on the lone prairie where the rattle snakes hiss and the wind blows free. In a shallow grave, no one to grieve beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is true masterpiece and well executed piece of art. It's the only game that I have bough dlc packs and will keep buying. For everyone who is interested in wild west or western movies this is a must buy.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. These words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day. On his dyin' bed, at the break of day."
    Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    RDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bitRDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bit more now).

    My main gripe is that the game is often quite boring which, when put aside my feeling that the game is also too short, is quite an achievement: Rockstar created a short and partially boring game. Usually tedium comes with long, drawn-out games! The boredom is induced by the slew of horse riding courier-type missions throughout. Yes, I appreciate that it conveys the vast expanse of the West, but I didn't need to be slapped in the face with this every 5 missions or so. Luckily, the tedium is interrupted by some absolutely brilliant missions and some great cutscenes; just enough to save RDR from being a completely boring game, and instead turning it into a decent one. But I can't forget those horse riding missions. Other issues I have with RDR are: 1) It was set too late in history, and would have been better had it been in a more familiar Civil War setting; 2) The narrative pretty much restrained your role-playing into one of a bad guy turned nice guy - there was no chance to play the anti-hero, and very few choices afforded to the player, except outside of missions which didn't really affect the narrative in the same way that games like Mass Effect have managed (and Westerns are all about the anti-heroes!); 3) There was no 'bank job' mission (a Western without a bank job?!); 4) There was no Magnificent Seven/High Plains Drifter-style 'save a town from bandidos' side-story (perhaps more a personal preference, but if Rockstar are to pay homage to such films then you can't go without it).

    I've nit-picked a bit there, and have perhaps paid too much attention to what I didn't like about the game. Overall, I did really enjoy it and put a lot of hours into it, but I just feel very strongly that it didn't deserve the 9's and 10s it got, and that such inflated scores (and the Toby McCasker saga) leave me a little concerned about the credibility of mainstream games reviewers.
    Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Having played all the GTA series I was anxious to get this game. It is a truly absorbing and atmospheric game , expansive and enthralling. However one can't help feeling that because GTA exists it never fully feels 'new' and because of that the impact is lost a little. If you have never really played GTA go for this straight off, you wont be dissappointed. Even if you have GTA I wouldHaving played all the GTA series I was anxious to get this game. It is a truly absorbing and atmospheric game , expansive and enthralling. However one can't help feeling that because GTA exists it never fully feels 'new' and because of that the impact is lost a little. If you have never really played GTA go for this straight off, you wont be dissappointed. Even if you have GTA I would recommend. Its a superb game. The game is worth playing just for the wow factor of looking at the views and listening to the wildlife. Id put it close to GTA but not quite a GTA 4 beater. Expand
  22. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    very good game but not as good as GTA IV, the production values didn't seem as impressive in this game and the story was uninteresting for me until the awesome finale but anyway this game is a little of an improvement gameplay wise over GTA IV and it had more activities to do, i hated playing some of the mini games but the ability to hunt animals and pick up flowers as well as tamingvery good game but not as good as GTA IV, the production values didn't seem as impressive in this game and the story was uninteresting for me until the awesome finale but anyway this game is a little of an improvement gameplay wise over GTA IV and it had more activities to do, i hated playing some of the mini games but the ability to hunt animals and pick up flowers as well as taming horses was really awesome, it feels like there's so much to do even when most of it is tedious, but at the end I really enjoyed the game including the great multiplayer, not as fair and diverse of an experience as GTA IV but it was fun nonetheless. Expand
  23. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Out of Rockstar Games, it was actually the best I saw, but I still believe this game does not deserve to be in Game of the Year because although the game had amazing gameplay and storyline, the battle system was a little too unoriginal just because it shows the Old West. If I look closely, I still believe that Final Fantasy 13 shows better graphics, storyline, and even gameplay becauseOut of Rockstar Games, it was actually the best I saw, but I still believe this game does not deserve to be in Game of the Year because although the game had amazing gameplay and storyline, the battle system was a little too unoriginal just because it shows the Old West. If I look closely, I still believe that Final Fantasy 13 shows better graphics, storyline, and even gameplay because that game was the first to indtroduce a new concept which I understand was not perfect. Expand
  24. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Now I'm not going to say what has been said a million times on EITHER side.On one side people are saying its the same as Gta4....it not.And on the other side Its the greatest game ever.Yes,I think it was very good but once you beat the game and hae to play as Johns son Jack he is the MOST annoying character since Jar Jar bink half the time when you are riding the horse he says stupid stuff that make me want to break my game.Also,why cant I swim ...you could in the previous rockstar games but no , a badass like John Marston can't swim. Expand
  25. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    A really fun game with a bit to do, however it just felt like the effort wasnt there to make it interesting but overall it had a solid base but they should of expanded on it more. I rented it for the week and I'm glad I did this instead of buying it.
  26. Nov 17, 2010
    9
    This game is gran-theft auto in the desert using western guns and horses. Its awesome. Probably one of the most creativite ways to use an open world system in years. The graphics are good, gameplay is non-manatonous, random events occur, and you can kill any animal you see anywhere. Pretty unique game here. Buy it if you like western movies, are a gta fan, or enjoy open ended games. RentThis game is gran-theft auto in the desert using western guns and horses. Its awesome. Probably one of the most creativite ways to use an open world system in years. The graphics are good, gameplay is non-manatonous, random events occur, and you can kill any animal you see anywhere. Pretty unique game here. Buy it if you like western movies, are a gta fan, or enjoy open ended games. Rent it if not, because everyone should try this game. Expand
  27. Jan 17, 2013
    6
    I've said it before in my reviews and will say it again, a small lively open world is better than a massive empty one. Red Dead has a ok story with one fudging too big world. Its gameplay though is solid as a brick wall. I just wish, as with many games I have, it wasn't given as much praise. Why? I expected too much.
  28. Feb 8, 2014
    5
    This is so boring. Go there and kill that guy. Go there and kill that guy. Also this is so incredibly easy. Where is the challenge ? There are lots of weapons but it makes no difference. They all feel the same. You can buy items at the shopkeepers but the items barely have an impact on the game. You can earn cash ... But there is nothing useful or fun that you can by with it. There is anThis is so boring. Go there and kill that guy. Go there and kill that guy. Also this is so incredibly easy. Where is the challenge ? There are lots of weapons but it makes no difference. They all feel the same. You can buy items at the shopkeepers but the items barely have an impact on the game. You can earn cash ... But there is nothing useful or fun that you can by with it. There is an hardcore mode but activating this mode requires you to restart the game from the beginning and go through the horribly painful tutorial where you play the role of a cow boy in a ranch.

    There are side quests. Guess what ? Go there and kill that guy !

    It could have been a nice game because the graphics and the music are nice.
    Expand
  29. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extraThis is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extra side content in the game this is one that could hold you over for a while. Expand
  30. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red DeadRed Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Red Dead Redemption Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!