User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2047 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, stylish and engrossing. If you ever had the yearning to be a cowboy in the old west then Rockstar have got all the bases covered. From duels in the streets to poker in a bar in Mexico to watching the sun set ove rthe mountains there is every activity you could ever want to enjoy in the game. Story wise the tale of John Marston is engrossing and you feel deeply connected toBeautiful, stylish and engrossing. If you ever had the yearning to be a cowboy in the old west then Rockstar have got all the bases covered. From duels in the streets to poker in a bar in Mexico to watching the sun set ove rthe mountains there is every activity you could ever want to enjoy in the game. Story wise the tale of John Marston is engrossing and you feel deeply connected to the character throughout the game. This is one of Rockstar's best moments and one which has gameplay for many months to come. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's veryMuch, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalnessRed Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalness feel to it with loads of plants and live animals. The story is good, deep, fascinating and provides a good, meaty single player experience. The game (for the most part) plays like a first person shooter. Many missions see you fighting against the bad guys in engaging fire fights and RDR has a neat cover system along with a great slow-mo precision targeting system feature known as Dead-Eye which allows you to slow down time and target multiple targets then unleash hell on them with fire power. The gunplay and the game play itself is polished and uncomplicated to play due to clear instructions on where to go and an auto targeting system which allows you to quickly dispatch a group of outlaws. There are some decent variety in the missions that you'll undertake like escorting someone to safety by defending them against outlaws, tame horses, herd cattle from one place to another and more. There is a hint of RPG style game play in this game. I like the fact that you can earn money by scavenging for materials from plants or organs from dead animals and sell them to someone. The single player campaign is defiantly action heavy and bloody. The weapons at your disposal are plentiful and fun to use with bolt action rifles, pistols and a really cool lasso which can be used to take down criminals or targets without killing them. The most ideal mode of transport across the vast environment is the horse. Horse controls maybe a little bit fiddly at first but you'll get use to them. However, galloping sections where you are just riding with a NPC and discussing about various topics can get repetitious at times and I hate the fact that you have to hold down the X button to keep galloping at a consistent speed or else you'll slow down. What I like about this game is how Rockstar San Diego has captured the perception of the Wild West beautifully with the landscape, music, building design, sound design, and the character models and how they move and talk. Speaking of the sound design, the characters in this game are well voiced and the gun noises sound wonderful. What is always a strong point in Rockstar's sandbox games such as their Grand Theft Auto games is that there is an abundance of stuff to do. This game is no exception. There's loads to do even after completing the expansive single player campaign such as side jobs like being a Night Watchmen or helping civilians, scavenge for plant material and play mini games such as Horseshoes and Poker which are fun if a little annoying (especially Horse Shoes, can't say the same thing about Poker: I don't know how to play it!). The physics look convincing and realistic like falling off a cliff or dragging someone behind you (attached to the lasso) and watching them tumble and twirl while you gallop along with your horse. The game does get a little bit slow at the end and I don't like hunting helpless, innocent animals and skinning them but I guess it's just a game. When you skin animals, blood splatters across the screen which is an unnecessarily effect considering the perspective that you play the game. It would be acceptable in a first person shooter where you look through the eyes of your character but not in a third person shooter. RDR is accessible to anyone due to a generous checkpoint system and clear instructions on what to do but in turn it does make the game a little too easy. As a whole, RDR is a great Third Person Shooter with RPG elements that do not overcomplicate things. This Wild West game deserves to be in any action gamer's collection. Expand
  5. ERB
    Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of the games in the PS3 console we will always remember.The game looks so real and the graphics in this game is beautiful.The world in this game huge and it is fun adventuring the whole world of red dead redemption.The horses in this game looks awesome and I love riding the horses in this game.It is fun!You can also go to bars and drink beer.After you drink soRed Dead Redemption is one of the games in the PS3 console we will always remember.The game looks so real and the graphics in this game is beautiful.The world in this game huge and it is fun adventuring the whole world of red dead redemption.The horses in this game looks awesome and I love riding the horses in this game.It is fun!You can also go to bars and drink beer.After you drink so many beers your character will go drunk which is funny.The guns in this game is also cool and my favorite gun is the Mauser Pistol"The Mauser Pistol is a gun from Germany".There are just not one country here but there are two in this game.You can adventure America And Mexico.I'll give the graphics in this game a score of 3/3 and the world of Red Dead Redemption a score of 2/2.

    The game play in this game is fun.There is this new bullet time"Like Max Payne"which is called the Dead Eye.The dead eye allows you to not get any damage while Dead Eye is active.The Dead Eye also allows you to put an x marks on the enemy and when you shot with your gun the bullets are fired on where you put x marks on the enemy.The Dead Eye is so cool.It is fun playing in an open world game especially when you are in the Wild West.The game play is fun and I love It!The game play gets a score of 2/2.

    The most important thing in this game is the story.The story of John Marston begins when the law captured John's family and the law told him to kill the criminals whom they are John's formal gang mates and friends.The friends he had before are notorious criminals.Now John is forced to pick up his guns and kill who the law are asking him to kill.The story of Red Dead Redemption is interesting and the ending in this game is so touching that it really made me cry in a good way.I love this game Red Dead Redemption is a legendary game for the PS3.Thank you Rockstar for making this game.This game is incredible.We all love this game.I'm giving the story of this game a score of 3/3.Combine all the scores for this game and It gets a 10/10!This game is legendary and I recommend you people to buy this game now and try playing it.I promise you people you will love this game.Rockstar please make a sequel for Red Dead Redemption.I love this game.I love Red Dead Redemption.
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This game is a sigh that even games like GTA IV are now a thing of the past. Rockstar delivered a masterpiece that is worthy of GOTY for 2010. Plus, one of the best endings in recent gaming history!
  7. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Open-World Western? Check. Arsenal of weapons at the users disposal? Check. Expansive, detailed, massive world? Check. Rockstar once again essentially raises the bar for the open-world genre. With enough missions and side quests to keep you busy for hours-upon-hours, a world where every inch begs to be explored, and a cast of memorable characters who follow an engaging, adrenaline-fueledOpen-World Western? Check. Arsenal of weapons at the users disposal? Check. Expansive, detailed, massive world? Check. Rockstar once again essentially raises the bar for the open-world genre. With enough missions and side quests to keep you busy for hours-upon-hours, a world where every inch begs to be explored, and a cast of memorable characters who follow an engaging, adrenaline-fueled plot, this game is simply put, phenomenal. Red Dead Redemption is a shining example of how to make a western game, and one no fan of the genre should miss. If your not convinced to buy the game yet, apparently you have yet to drag a helpless civilian by the feet behind your horse as you ride off into the sunset. Expand
  8. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    rockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff downrockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff down to where they all arnt crazy maniacs chasing you down relentlessly non stop like in the GTA games . the game took me about 30 hours to finish and there is alot of bonus stuff you can do . there is a pretty solid selection of wepons you can use . the cover system is decent and i found the aiming abit of a chore and took me awhile to get use to it. the game is also alittle buggy and glitchy i didnt find any of it really game breaking . i had 1 freeze up and a few other things happen. all in all RDR was a real fun game i havent tried the online yet and want to down load the undead nightmare DLC but PSN is down but i have heard it alot of fun so looking foward to it. Expand
  9. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, whichThis game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, which will take you approx 40 - 50 hours if you are thorough, it is done. The story is told and time to shut the book and move on. Expand
  10. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    9.5 Amazing environments, fantastic controls, and incredibly addictive. Rockstar somehow keeps creating compelling characters because its one of the few gaming studios left that ACTUALLY KNOW HOW TO WRITE GOOD SCRIPTS. This is definitely one of the best games of the year so far.
  11. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a original thriller of Rockstar, is true ... His immersion, graphics effects, his soundtrack and epic love your way to practically all types of players.

    John Marston is a great character and justifies this in the wonderful storyline that the game provides. The missions are well balanced and many things are new at this game. It's amazing how Rockstar managed to
    Red Dead Redemption is a original thriller of Rockstar, is true ... His immersion, graphics effects, his soundtrack and epic love your way to practically all types of players.

    John Marston is a great character and justifies this in the wonderful storyline that the game provides. The missions are well balanced and many things are new at this game.

    It's amazing how Rockstar managed to faithfully reproduce the old-with this primacy. It's really one of the greatest games of all time.

    Since I have so much to write, my grade is 9 to why it could not be less than that. It's a review from Brazil, take care world ! =]
    Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead is a brand of its own, hosting a massive world of rustic locales, interesting npcs, and beautiful graphics. What it does best though is it captures the Western feel of cinema, something very few games have ever done right (if ever). A long game depending how you play, which is very ambiguous and up to the player. Whether your hunting, capturing a bounty, free roaming, or justRed Dead is a brand of its own, hosting a massive world of rustic locales, interesting npcs, and beautiful graphics. What it does best though is it captures the Western feel of cinema, something very few games have ever done right (if ever). A long game depending how you play, which is very ambiguous and up to the player. Whether your hunting, capturing a bounty, free roaming, or just killing innocents, Red Dead has something for everyone; the cowboys, and the cowboys at heart. Expand
  13. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, a GTA beater I don't know. If your looking for an interesting, new, different open world game then you could not go wrong with RDR. If your interested in cowboy movies and you have a small interest in computer games, then this will turn you in to a gaming addict, If your interested in computer games and have a small interest in cowboy movies then you will love this game. IfFantastic game, a GTA beater I don't know. If your looking for an interesting, new, different open world game then you could not go wrong with RDR. If your interested in cowboy movies and you have a small interest in computer games, then this will turn you in to a gaming addict, If your interested in computer games and have a small interest in cowboy movies then you will love this game. If your just interested in computer games, then there's a good chance that you will love this game anyway. Expand
  14. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Read dead is a fantastic game, from fun addicting game play to amazing graphics. I had loads of fun playing this game; itâ
  15. May 25, 2011
    10
    Rockstars best game. This game is so much better than all their other games in every aspect (apart from L.A. Noire which is much more innovative). Shortly: it's GTA: Cowboy but with a lot of improvements.
    The game has amazing graphics, some of the best characters in a video gamer ever, a quite good story, great gameplay, dynamic environment: you can go hunting, saving people, killing
    Rockstars best game. This game is so much better than all their other games in every aspect (apart from L.A. Noire which is much more innovative). Shortly: it's GTA: Cowboy but with a lot of improvements.
    The game has amazing graphics, some of the best characters in a video gamer ever, a quite good story, great gameplay, dynamic environment: you can go hunting, saving people, killing people, stealing stuff, robbing stuff, catching criminals etc etc ... and all this feels really realistic and alive. The only thing I can bash on is that it's still the standard (in the main quest) go from "point A to point B" thing. There is no real choice on how to do a mission which feels very linear to the rest of the game. But anyhow, it's one of the best games ever and it's definatley Rockstars best game. Love it.
    Expand
  16. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This is not only the best game I have ever played; I think it belongs in a new class. Nothing else has come close. It is the most immersive open world experience out there. The graphics are stunning graphics, the voice acting excellent, and the sheer number of interesting activities is mind-boggling. This is not simply GTA with horses, it is a significant leap ahead.
  17. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Dull. This is the best word for this game. Sorry, but I am not interested in skinning racoons, or riding MILES across plains to get to the next shootout. Yes, beautiful, atmospheric, clever, well made. But dull.
  18. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Never was a fan of GTA series but a big fan of Westerns. So I was intrigued at the concept of a sandbox game mixed with a Western background. The result was one of the best gaming experiences ever. The storyline is greatly influenced by classic Western movies like The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. Plus, the soundtrack is one of most memorable pieces of music I've had the pleasure of listening to.
  19. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    So, this is one of the best games I've ever played, hands down. It's not the grudgingly good score some give games that are rated well but not quite as enjoyable as expected, nor is it one that I am fanboyish about because I just happened to be in the perfect mood for it one sleepless night. Those games, and we all know there are plenty of examples of each, all have something to improveSo, this is one of the best games I've ever played, hands down. It's not the grudgingly good score some give games that are rated well but not quite as enjoyable as expected, nor is it one that I am fanboyish about because I just happened to be in the perfect mood for it one sleepless night. Those games, and we all know there are plenty of examples of each, all have something to improve on. Yet RDR has nothing to improve on, it simply gives us a living, breathing world, and lets us romp around in it like the heroes of westerns would have, but with the self-conscious modernist philosophical twist Rockstar showed more crudely in GTA. The societal commentary is there, but more intelligent and not as nihilistic or snarky as in GTA. Much more consistent message and world all around here.

    So, the GTA formula is inevitably what this game will be compared to by anyone who ever played Rockstar's stuff since GTA 3. And it's a fair comparison because it's superficially just like GTA, but, unlike GTA, it is quite refined in action. There is no tedious travel because you can quick travel with a minimum amount of downtime, yet you can appreciate the landscape if you wish by just riding toward the sun and seeing where it leads you (try it at sunset, it's pretty and it's fun).

    The GTA formula could not, IMHO, get much more refined than this, because not only is it convenient, but it encourages you to explore and has a TON of stuff for anyone who wants to go outside the storyline and play around. There are 10 ranks in 4 different categories of various tasks, in hunting, shooting, picking herbs, and treasure hunting. I love all these activites, and it's fun to work on them because they feel so natural in conjunction with running around across the landscape.

    So rather than rehash what you can read in dozens of professional reviews, I guess I want to say, to clear away all the informational overload, how I react to this game overall, and how it fits into the landscape of gaming these days. This game is more like Oblivion than any other, I believe, because its best character is the world in which everything takes place. Except unlike Oblivion, its polish, detail, and mind-boggling variety will even impress the most pissy, jaded critics. The world has a personality of its own, and there are two basic themes that shine through this entire experience - a rustic nostalgia we all love from the best 50's westerns, and also the kind of serious humanistic character-driven drama we get from the best modern cinema. There are plenty of examples of both in this game, which is one of the biggest reasons that it succeeds so well, that it does not simply flip the bird to everyone the way Grand Theft Auto did. There is depth and maturity in, not only the story, but the whole world and style. This, folks, is a video game world if there ever was one, not just a haphazard collection of missions - so get it already if you have a PS3 or 360 and if you love quality games. And, on a side note, if jaggies bother you in your games you will have to get used to them, especially for the PS3 version, which has quite a bit of aliasing that distorts the otherwise beautiful landscape. Odd since the PS3 is so much more powerful with exclusives. As a PC gamer I am especially picky about graphics, but even compared to many other PS3 games the jaggies are pretty noticeable, and I heard the 360 version's graphics are smoother.

    To close, I did read about the exploitation of the Rockstar SD employees by executives, and I think it's a travesty - if someday a Rockstar SD employee might read this review, the silent majority of gamers wish you could've been given an extra year to make this game if that meant you could've worked a reasonable work week. To think that the few hundred men and women who made one of the greatest games of our generation had to worry about their labor rights being upheld is simply ridiculous. But in the end we all appreciate your blood, sweat, and tears, and we hope you continue to do more fantastic work in the future. The game speaks for itself.
    Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    I don't think I've ever grown to care so much about a character as I did with John Marston. The story is so well crafted and every character feels so believable. I've never liked "doing nothing" in games, but I'd rather do nothing in this game than do something in most games. I understand if some people think this game is hyped and don't enjoy this. But everything in this game is just soI don't think I've ever grown to care so much about a character as I did with John Marston. The story is so well crafted and every character feels so believable. I've never liked "doing nothing" in games, but I'd rather do nothing in this game than do something in most games. I understand if some people think this game is hyped and don't enjoy this. But everything in this game is just so beautiful and well thought out. Quite buggy from time to time, but nothing too serious. An incredible cowboy simulator, I really really got into the western feeling. Riding is incredible and missions are great! This is the first gime where I really cared about doing everything 100% because I couldn't stop playing it. Also, when the game was over I felt sad for days - I'm not kidding. There was such a big emptiness and I wish I could erase my memory and play it from the beginning. Truly a masterpiece in gaming, much better than GTA IV. Expand
  21. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    This is a spectacular game, and did not disappoint at all. I had trouble putting the controller down every time i played. It is an easy 10 out of 10.
  22. May 12, 2011
    9
    For me this was pretty much everything GTAIV wasn't... an immersive story line with a new world that was exciting to explore, from the mountains all the way down to the lush green plains and then the rolling deserts... The zombie add on was also truly great, changing the world enough so that I wanted to go exploring again to find the yeti's the four horses of the apocalypse... and manyFor me this was pretty much everything GTAIV wasn't... an immersive story line with a new world that was exciting to explore, from the mountains all the way down to the lush green plains and then the rolling deserts... The zombie add on was also truly great, changing the world enough so that I wanted to go exploring again to find the yeti's the four horses of the apocalypse... and many other little hidden gems! One of the best sandbox games ever Expand
  23. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Let me just say this: Red Dead Redemption is an AMAZING game! , i dont know why some people hate it, i honestly think its one of the best games this gen, I recommend everyone to buy it especially if you like open world/action games
  24. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of my favourite games of all time, the story was well told and the characters were likable, it also built up to a fantastic ending. The gameplay is very similar to Grand Theft Auto 4, however the game adds a few little tweaks and touches to set it apart, most notably the cover system has been heavily immproved as has the shooting, platforming also has a slight emphasis inDefinitely one of my favourite games of all time, the story was well told and the characters were likable, it also built up to a fantastic ending. The gameplay is very similar to Grand Theft Auto 4, however the game adds a few little tweaks and touches to set it apart, most notably the cover system has been heavily immproved as has the shooting, platforming also has a slight emphasis in the game which can be slightly irritating due to Marston's occasionally sluggish movement, however as it isn't brought up often it can be forgiven. Horses take over from the cars of GTA and are a welcome improvement, easy to control and after a few minutes of riding around in the Wild West you'll be shooting from horseback like a true outlaw. Missions vary, with some asking you to assist a rebellion and another (delightful) mission letting you rob a train. However many levels, such as the train level, that offer interesting elements are brushed over and do not reappear, which can be slightly disappointing. The graphics are phenomenal. The deserts, plains and settlements of RDR look beautiful, and the animals and characters populating them are equally impressive. Thanks to the brilliant engine behind the game's physics, NPCs react incredibly realistically to being shot or falling. A shot to the shoulder, for example, will throw back the character, shoulder first whereas a shot to the leg will topple them, leaving them to limp away. The gritty, dark streets of Liberty City have been replaced by the Old Western states of West Elizabeth, New Austin and Nuevo Paraiso, allowing you to trek through Mexico as well as North America. All three locations offer varying terrain, environments, people and wildlife, for example West Elizabeth, the northernmost location offers dense, snowy forests populated by bears and deer as well as a large town full of posh citizens, whereas down south in Nuevo Paraiso, the land is covered with deserts and canyons as well as lower class villages, and Bobcats. The weapons are fun to use and get better as you progress through the story, the downloadable Explosive Rifle being a highlight. The multiplayer is also enjoyable and incredibly satisfying to succeed in. When you first hit the square button you'll be thrown into a free-roam session in which you can roam around performing challenges, breaking the law or just wandering. Alternatively, once dropped into free roam you can open the multiplayer menu by pressing the SELECT button and choose from several game-types (added to with DLC), these generally consist of Teamdeath Match, Deathmatch, and an interesting mode called "grab the bag", it's essentially capture the flag but with a slight twist, the bag weighs a little and slows your character down, you're also limited to a handgun when carrying the bag so it's helpful to ask your teammates for aid at that point, however this game mode can also be played without teams, allowing you to pick up multiple bags and eventually break your shoulders (that was a joke). Another interesting dynamic to multiplayer is that most of the matches begin with a classic Mexican standoff, in the case of team games both teams stand opposite each other and in free-for-all games, players stand in a circle. The seconds leading up to these standoffs are intense and the standoff itself is very satisfying to win. The team that succeeds in the standoff is given a head start, also.

    Overall the game is excellent, yes it's held back by a few minor flaws but they're hardly game breakers. If you have a PS3 (or an XBOX for that matter) you should buy this game, perhaps buy the GOTY addition as that includes all of the brilliant DLC packs (Undead Nightmare is unbelievably good) and isn't much more expensive.
    Expand
  25. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    PERFECT history
    PERFECT gameplay
    PERFECT (the best i ever **** seen) shooting mode
    PERFECT graphics (it's 2013 and they still surprise me)
    PERFECT scenarios
    PERFECT ambientation of west
    PERFECT
    PERFECT
    **** PERFECT
  26. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. The vast landscape, the bustling western towns, the dynamic characters, this game is one of the greatest of this gen. Good job, Rockstar.
  27. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I am speechless. This game is jaw dropping and a strong entry from Rockstar. Play it on HD if you can, you will love the sceneries and those simple moments just galloping through the fields. Subtle things take little to almost nothing away from the experience. A solid soundtrack and a cleverly written story that climaxes to a fulfilling ending that blends the love of a man for his familyI am speechless. This game is jaw dropping and a strong entry from Rockstar. Play it on HD if you can, you will love the sceneries and those simple moments just galloping through the fields. Subtle things take little to almost nothing away from the experience. A solid soundtrack and a cleverly written story that climaxes to a fulfilling ending that blends the love of a man for his family and the overpowering hand of the system that breaks the soul of man. I can't say anything anymore, it is unjust. Go out and get it and play the whole story, do the side quests, they're fun; and you'll have an experience like no other. I give this game a solid 10, for its direction and cinematography, strong dialogue, and rich thrilling western experience. HD must. Expand
  28. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    The game is nice for a 3rd person shooter. The game allows you to free roam with some interesting finds to give you some side quest as sharp shooter, gatherer, etc. The main story is nice to follow with an end that I didn't predict. To play a GTA game settled in the west was a nice change.
  29. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    Very well thought out game, has a great story line all the way to the end, enough different weapons to make it interesting, i personally prefer the GTA games however this was definitely worth buying. I enjoyed it to the very end.
  30. Jan 30, 2011
    8
    By now you probably know all about Red Dead Redemption. It had a harsh development life at Rockstar, it won all the awards and it's "awesome." But you haven't bought it yet - so you're probably wondering if it's for you. Here's some perspective. If you felt disappointed, bored or simply satisfied and done with the last GTA than you probably won't find much to love with Red Dead Redemption.By now you probably know all about Red Dead Redemption. It had a harsh development life at Rockstar, it won all the awards and it's "awesome." But you haven't bought it yet - so you're probably wondering if it's for you. Here's some perspective. If you felt disappointed, bored or simply satisfied and done with the last GTA than you probably won't find much to love with Red Dead Redemption. No, it's not fair to call RDR simply GTA on a horse but it does play much like it. There is an interesting story here, the world feels alive and is gorgeous, there's plenty to do but in the end the game plays very similar to GTA. That is a good or bad thing. Additionally while the overall story is interesting and engrossing it takes its time to progress. It started, something happens at the 4ish hour mark and another thing happens at the 8-9 hour mark. Nothing is happening in between. Nothing. So what goes on there? Favor quests. Do you know those sidequests games throw in with strangers asking you for a favor? Yeah, most of RDR's main quests are just like that. You'll meet someone, they'll tell you to do something and you'll need to do it. The main character will begin commenting on how ridiculous this is in the 6th or 7th hour of this constant favor quests which doesn't make it ok. It feels lazy. "I'll help you if you do this...now this...great! Now let's do this! Ok. I have a friend. Go see them and do this and they'll help you. I have to go and can't." Get used to that. For all there is to do in RDR I've been focusing on the main missions simply because they already feel like side missions so I have no desire to do extra favors for extra goodies on the side and the game is pretty long which is good (10th hour right now) but they could have made the missions more story or main character oriented. The combat is good, this is a great shooter at it's core. You can also use a bullet-time system to mark enemies and do quick executions. You can fight on your horse. You'll lasso and tie enemies from afar. Occasionally you'll make important decisions. You'll enjoy horse riding from mission to mission although there comes a point where it takes too long and gets a bit old, so you'll probably switch to the instant travel option in the menu. There are some fun games to play, old movie shorts to watch, and some system to buy property for money but you'll never need it. I've never needed to worry about money, buy health or buy a weapon...but if you want to it's there. There's multiplayer in here too but it feels as unpolished and fun as GTA's multiplayer - so can decide on that for yourself. So is Red Dead Redemption for you? This is a game worthy of it's hype. The story is good, the voice acting is even better, the graphics are usually gorgeous and the gameplay is topnotch. It appeals to a mass audience and is a better package than most games last year. Is it worthy of the hype? Yes and no, for reasons I've noted. If you're interested in cowboys, love GTA or want a deeper action experience then give it a try. If you don't like games with a ton of excess fat that is labeled as "depth" or if you've had enough of the GTA sandbox-littered-with-favor-missions setup than you will not find much to enjoy here. While it is a better overall package than most games last year I'd have to give it an 8/10 at most due to some lazy structuring, extremely slow pacing and poorly implemented mechanics. Expand
  31. Oct 18, 2010
    0
    This is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extraThis is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extra side content in the game this is one that could hold you over for a while. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!