User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1725 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, stylish and engrossing. If you ever had the yearning to be a cowboy in the old west then Rockstar have got all the bases covered. From duels in the streets to poker in a bar in Mexico to watching the sun set ove rthe mountains there is every activity you could ever want to enjoy in the game. Story wise the tale of John Marston is engrossing and you feel deeply connected to the character throughout the game. This is one of Rockstar's best moments and one which has gameplay for many months to come. Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much, much better than GTA 4. Before anybody bashes me with this phrase, hear me out - it is simply a better game, it has that class and charm that I feel was lost after the GTA games on PS2. The graphics are very clean, the landscapes are fantastic (particularly at sunrise/sunset), a part of you feels like you're back in a classic Spaghetti Western when you play this, it's very authentic looking. The controls don't have a steep learning curve, the music is well done, even though I think this was the game's main weakness (I would have brought in Ennio Morricone for it), the characters are full of life (and if you have friends similar to Irish, it makes it all the more amusing), the side missions are mixed in difficulty and can happen anytime you're out on your horse or for a walk. Pure and simply, if you're interested in American History, Movies about the wild west, Graphic Novels about the wild west, dressing up like a Cowboy to a rodeo show, playing the hero or the antagonist, travelling around the south western USA and mexico, and have a 360 or PS3 available - this is a game that deserves a good look! Collapse Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    4
    This game is rated WAY TOO HIGH for what it is. The dialog is full of tired old moralizing and just about the time you're willing to accept that it's a shooting game pretending to have a moral compass you walk in on Reyes having sex. What??? Riding horses back and forth the map gets really old, and the story line is tiresome. "If you'll just do this one more mission we'll find the man your looking for..." and then again "if you'll just do one more we can find him..." Rockstar must be thrilled to have put out such a basket case of a game and still make as much money off it. I almost finished this long game, but couldn't believe how much more crap I had to do after I'd reached a point in the story where it should have ended! Long games do not equal good games! Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. Where the coyotes wail and the wind blows free. And when I die, don't bury me beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is the missing link between players and wild west, since there is no possiblity go back in the wild west, this game is the next best thing, and oh it's good.

    I'm big fan of western movies and games, this game
    makes the impossible to possible by offerring very deep and authentic feeling wild west for players to play, visit, travel, ride and live.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. This words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day."

    RDR looks pretty amazing on consoles and if there's coming PC version I think it will be also must buy.

    Gameplay is almost identical to GTA IV but there is few minor differences, like swimming that isn't possible in RDR. Shooting and hunting is probably the second best part in this game, but riding on sunset with fast horse and perfect music playing on background is absolutely the best part in whole game.

    At the end of one mission player had to ride to Mexico and there was perfectly fitting music track playing and sun is starting to set behind the horizon, oh my god it was amazing.

    "But we buried him there, on the lone prairie where the rattle snakes hiss and the wind blows free. In a shallow grave, no one to grieve beneath the western sky, on the lone prairie."

    Red Dead Redemption is true masterpiece and well executed piece of art. It's the only game that I have bough dlc packs and will keep buying. For everyone who is interested in wild west or western movies this is a must buy.

    "Oh bury me not on the lone prairie. These words came soft and painfully from the pallid lips of a youth who lay on his dyin' bed, at the break of day. On his dyin' bed, at the break of day."
    Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Despite a few bugs this game is seriously great!! Great world, great atmosphere.
  7. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is legendary!!!
    The truth is i was never really into the whole west thing and was extremely skeptical about RDR because of rockstars previous games ,mainly GTA. GTA got on my nerves because it always felt like the same thing, the only difference was location and story. But now rockstar has exploded my faith in them with one of the most beautiful,most innovative and the
    biggest games i have ever played!!I now love the west and all the cowboy stuff!!!This is one of those games that you will remember for the rest of your life!!YOU ROCKSTAR!!!LOL Expand
  8. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    This is not just GTA with horses. Red Dead Redemption isn't a good game, its a great game. Definitely feels like something worthy of game of the year, and is definitely Rockstar's best title ever. An open world western setting with tons of innovation and new ideas with great voice acting to go with great story telling. Graphically wise everything looks very good also and with tons of extra side content in the game this is one that could hold you over for a while. Expand
  9. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a game that gets everything right: The script, the acting, the atmosphere, the game mechanics and most importantly the emotional connection. There have been few games that have moved me quite like RDR. It's ending is a masterstroke of subtlety, which is something you rarely see from gaming. If you play the game as it was intended (like a hero and not a GTAIV thug), it has a contemplative, lilting tone that stays with you long after the credits have rolled. Red Dead Redemption is a true adult gaming classic; mature, well written and with a huge heart. Basically speaking, it's one of the best games that I've ever played. Expand
  10. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A true masterpiece. Everything from the story to the soundtrack is just incredible. There is so much content to indulge in and you can spend countless hours just exploring the beautiful landscapes. The multiplayer is a blast and is surprisingly deep. The gameplay is as smooth as ever and Rockstar's Engine truly shines. All of the downloadable content is great as well and shouldn't be missed.
  11. Jan 23, 2011
    8
    The game takes you to the beginning of the 20th century in the far west. It really takes you there. From the weather, the light, the plants, the animals, the people, the architecture, etc. You are there. The story has been worked at that same level of detail too, including many historical figures and events.

    The music is also amazing and really sets the tone.I haven't played the previous
    statements, but to me the gameplay is really good. The controls feel natural but at some points the game lacks some drama and becomes a bit repetitive.

    The graphics are quite good, but on the exception of the landscapes which are amazing, they are inferior to Uncharted 2 or Metal Gear guns of the patriots.

    The only thing that I really hated about this game was the ALIASING. It seems the game is not rendered at 720p or 1080p, but at some other inferior resolution which makes a constant annoying ALIASING...

    Although it has it's flaws, RDR is an amazing game.
    Expand
  12. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a solid Wild West Themed Sandbox game. The games structure is very similar to Rockstars other Sandbox game series, the Grand Theft Auto series in which RDR places John Marston (the person you play as) into a huge Wild West Sandbox environment and complete missions, earn cash and shoot your foes. The landscape and views look authentic and has a certain naturalness feel to it with loads of plants and live animals. The story is good, deep, fascinating and provides a good, meaty single player experience. The game (for the most part) plays like a first person shooter. Many missions see you fighting against the bad guys in engaging fire fights and RDR has a neat cover system along with a great slow-mo precision targeting system feature known as Dead-Eye which allows you to slow down time and target multiple targets then unleash hell on them with fire power. The gunplay and the game play itself is polished and uncomplicated to play due to clear instructions on where to go and an auto targeting system which allows you to quickly dispatch a group of outlaws. There are some decent variety in the missions that you'll undertake like escorting someone to safety by defending them against outlaws, tame horses, herd cattle from one place to another and more. There is a hint of RPG style game play in this game. I like the fact that you can earn money by scavenging for materials from plants or organs from dead animals and sell them to someone. The single player campaign is defiantly action heavy and bloody. The weapons at your disposal are plentiful and fun to use with bolt action rifles, pistols and a really cool lasso which can be used to take down criminals or targets without killing them. The most ideal mode of transport across the vast environment is the horse. Horse controls maybe a little bit fiddly at first but you'll get use to them. However, galloping sections where you are just riding with a NPC and discussing about various topics can get repetitious at times and I hate the fact that you have to hold down the X button to keep galloping at a consistent speed or else you'll slow down. What I like about this game is how Rockstar San Diego has captured the perception of the Wild West beautifully with the landscape, music, building design, sound design, and the character models and how they move and talk. Speaking of the sound design, the characters in this game are well voiced and the gun noises sound wonderful. What is always a strong point in Rockstar's sandbox games such as their Grand Theft Auto games is that there is an abundance of stuff to do. This game is no exception. There's loads to do even after completing the expansive single player campaign such as side jobs like being a Night Watchmen or helping civilians, scavenge for plant material and play mini games such as Horseshoes and Poker which are fun if a little annoying (especially Horse Shoes, can't say the same thing about Poker: I don't know how to play it!). The physics look convincing and realistic like falling off a cliff or dragging someone behind you (attached to the lasso) and watching them tumble and twirl while you gallop along with your horse. The game does get a little bit slow at the end and I don't like hunting helpless, innocent animals and skinning them but I guess it's just a game. When you skin animals, blood splatters across the screen which is an unnecessarily effect considering the perspective that you play the game. It would be acceptable in a first person shooter where you look through the eyes of your character but not in a third person shooter. RDR is accessible to anyone due to a generous checkpoint system and clear instructions on what to do but in turn it does make the game a little too easy. As a whole, RDR is a great Third Person Shooter with RPG elements that do not overcomplicate things. This Wild West game deserves to be in any action gamer's collection. Expand
  13. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    This game is a sigh that even games like GTA IV are now a thing of the past. Rockstar delivered a masterpiece that is worthy of GOTY for 2010. Plus, one of the best endings in recent gaming history!
  14. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    Open-World Western? Check. Arsenal of weapons at the users disposal? Check. Expansive, detailed, massive world? Check. Rockstar once again essentially raises the bar for the open-world genre. With enough missions and side quests to keep you busy for hours-upon-hours, a world where every inch begs to be explored, and a cast of memorable characters who follow an engaging, adrenaline-fueled plot, this game is simply put, phenomenal. Red Dead Redemption is a shining example of how to make a western game, and one no fan of the genre should miss. If your not convinced to buy the game yet, apparently you have yet to drag a helpless civilian by the feet behind your horse as you ride off into the sunset. Expand
  15. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    Disgusted that I paid for this junk. I have Gun for the PS2 and r.d redemption is just a rip off of it. Following people to your next mission bores me to tears and what makes it worse is that you have to listen to a conversation that dosent interest me at all. Graphics are very good, I'll give it that but of course they are...its on the PS3 for christs sake.......If you've never played Gun for the PS2 and you like keeping the X button pressed for long periods of time while you listen to someone rattling on about why they live in the wild west then be my guest. All you animal lovers out there will love this game as 80% of the time is spent staring at a horses arse jiggling up and down.....Money not well spent....... Expand
  16. ERB
    Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of the games in the PS3 console we will always remember.The game looks so real and the graphics in this game is beautiful.The world in this game huge and it is fun adventuring the whole world of red dead redemption.The horses in this game looks awesome and I love riding the horses in this game.It is fun!You can also go to bars and drink beer.After you drink so many beers your character will go drunk which is funny.The guns in this game is also cool and my favorite gun is the Mauser Pistol"The Mauser Pistol is a gun from Germany".There are just not one country here but there are two in this game.You can adventure America And Mexico.I'll give the graphics in this game a score of 3/3 and the world of Red Dead Redemption a score of 2/2.

    The game play in this game is fun.There is this new bullet time"Like Max Payne"which is called the Dead Eye.The dead eye allows you to not get any damage while Dead Eye is active.The Dead Eye also allows you to put an x marks on the enemy and when you shot with your gun the bullets are fired on where you put x marks on the enemy.The Dead Eye is so cool.It is fun playing in an open world game especially when you are in the Wild West.The game play is fun and I love It!The game play gets a score of 2/2.

    The most important thing in this game is the story.The story of John Marston begins when the law captured John's family and the law told him to kill the criminals whom they are John's formal gang mates and friends.The friends he had before are notorious criminals.Now John is forced to pick up his guns and kill who the law are asking him to kill.The story of Red Dead Redemption is interesting and the ending in this game is so touching that it really made me cry in a good way.I love this game Red Dead Redemption is a legendary game for the PS3.Thank you Rockstar for making this game.This game is incredible.We all love this game.I'm giving the story of this game a score of 3/3.Combine all the scores for this game and It gets a 10/10!This game is legendary and I recommend you people to buy this game now and try playing it.I promise you people you will love this game.Rockstar please make a sequel for Red Dead Redemption.I love this game.I love Red Dead Redemption.
    Expand
  17. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is an amazing game, but one can't help but notice that Rockstar is "copy-pasting" the GTA template too much on its games. I mean, seriously, you guys have too much talent to re-hash your previous work. Anyways, despite that, the game has great visuals (slight de-grade on texture resolution), an enganging story, and a very good multiplayer component. I would like to point out that RDR's characters are too stereotyped and the twist and turns of the story are predictable, especially when it comes to the ending. But, everything else is spot-on and amazing, most notably the world itself, the combat, and the controls. I loved RDR and I recommend it to anyone who loved Westerns or GTA, for that matter. If you hate either of those two things, then RDR is not for you. A 9.8/10. Expand
  18. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    rockstar takes the GTA formula and adds it to a western game and i feel they have improved it. i wasnt to impressed with GTA4 but this game did . it deffinitly captures that western feel with some nice graphics , solid voice acting , a ok story that can be intresting some times and dull other times. its a fun sand box game and im glad to see they fixed the whole police chasing stuff down to where they all arnt crazy maniacs chasing you down relentlessly non stop like in the GTA games . the game took me about 30 hours to finish and there is alot of bonus stuff you can do . there is a pretty solid selection of wepons you can use . the cover system is decent and i found the aiming abit of a chore and took me awhile to get use to it. the game is also alittle buggy and glitchy i didnt find any of it really game breaking . i had 1 freeze up and a few other things happen. all in all RDR was a real fun game i havent tried the online yet and want to down load the undead nightmare DLC but PSN is down but i have heard it alot of fun so looking foward to it. Expand
  19. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    What can i say, apart from, this game is just epic. When i played through the single player story missions, i could never keep on track for long, thanks to all the random side quests popping up, which distract you from the main missions. The old west is brought to life again in this frankly, epic game. The story mission is suitably long, although the ending is questionable on how good it is, the main single player campaign is very good. The only problems seen with the single player is the fact the game is quite glitched, and during a 6 hour bashing session of this game, there were around 1 glitch/ freeze per hour, which is bearable, however very frustrating when you're in the middle of a mission and end up restarting the ps3. This is the reason that the game, personally for me, is just kept off the 10/10 mark. Moving onto the multi player, the multi player is deep, and keeps you occupied well after the single player is completed, the attraction of getting better horses and guns keeps you interested, as well as the endless activities and things for you to do. This game is especially good when you have a few mates to make havoc with. Overall then, this game is a brilliant buy, i would definitely recommend it, as in my mind it is way above the quality of GTA 4, thanks to the endless tasks to complete, and the knowledge that the open plains on the map are always full of life gives a warm feeling to the game. I definitely recommend, it's an excellent buy! Expand
  20. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game reminds you why you play games! Great game, great story and one hell of a main character and awesome side characters who really grow on you. You really care about John Marston and he is very like-able, they did an excellent job on John Marston, on of the best protagonist ever created. The only thing that is a bummer is that is has no replay value. Ones you are finished, which will take you approx 40 - 50 hours if you are thorough, it is done. The story is told and time to shut the book and move on. Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    9.5 Amazing environments, fantastic controls, and incredibly addictive. Rockstar somehow keeps creating compelling characters because its one of the few gaming studios left that ACTUALLY KNOW HOW TO WRITE GOOD SCRIPTS. This is definitely one of the best games of the year so far.
  22. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    Perhaps the greatest sandbox game of all time. It's unlike Grand Theft Auto, as there's still so much to do after getting 100% completion. The graphics are incredible, and the soundtrack is amazing, too. The storyline is involving, but there's so much to do in the huge open world game that it may seem to get in the way.

    A fantastic game, my choice for Game of the Year 2010.
  23. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game with almost endless playability if you like the online. There are a few noticeable bad points to the game with prevent it from being a 10. Most notability the glitches which can be frustrating at times, also the multiplayer doesn't feel incredibly fun to play and competitive multiplayer can be quite boring. Although the game is redeemed with it's excellent story and the best 'open world' graphics a game has offered us yet. It certainly isn't for everyone, the first hour or so amounts to nothing more than cattle herding. But the rest of the game is very solid and although the pace never becomes 'intense', it does get quite brilliant towards the end. Finally, the world which the game is set is far more memorable and realistic than Liberty City of GTA IV. Unlike the crowded, drab world of GTA IV, (which was far from bad in itself), Red Dead manages a small collection of easily identifiable towns that have far more charm in them than Liberty City. Overall, It's not outright better than GTA IV, but certainly does Rockstar proud with a 'Game of the year' contender. Expand
  24. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    RDR is a very good game, but an overrated one. Being a Western probably gave it a few extra plus for many people and perhaps for me, too. But it's certainly not the 'huge achievement' that Rockstar have claimed (if Zoo editor Toby McCasker is to be believed and, having contrasted my experience of the game against the stellar mainstream reviews and score, I leaning towards his story a bit more now).

    My main gripe is that the game is often quite boring which, when put aside my feeling that the game is also too short, is quite an achievement: Rockstar created a short and partially boring game. Usually tedium comes with long, drawn-out games! The boredom is induced by the slew of horse riding courier-type missions throughout. Yes, I appreciate that it conveys the vast expanse of the West, but I didn't need to be slapped in the face with this every 5 missions or so. Luckily, the tedium is interrupted by some absolutely brilliant missions and some great cutscenes; just enough to save RDR from being a completely boring game, and instead turning it into a decent one. But I can't forget those horse riding missions. Other issues I have with RDR are: 1) It was set too late in history, and would have been better had it been in a more familiar Civil War setting; 2) The narrative pretty much restrained your role-playing into one of a bad guy turned nice guy - there was no chance to play the anti-hero, and very few choices afforded to the player, except outside of missions which didn't really affect the narrative in the same way that games like Mass Effect have managed (and Westerns are all about the anti-heroes!); 3) There was no 'bank job' mission (a Western without a bank job?!); 4) There was no Magnificent Seven/High Plains Drifter-style 'save a town from bandidos' side-story (perhaps more a personal preference, but if Rockstar are to pay homage to such films then you can't go without it).

    I've nit-picked a bit there, and have perhaps paid too much attention to what I didn't like about the game. Overall, I did really enjoy it and put a lot of hours into it, but I just feel very strongly that it didn't deserve the 9's and 10s it got, and that such inflated scores (and the Toby McCasker saga) leave me a little concerned about the credibility of mainstream games reviewers.
    Expand
  25. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a original thriller of Rockstar, is true ... His immersion, graphics effects, his soundtrack and epic love your way to practically all types of players.

    John Marston is a great character and justifies this in the wonderful storyline that the game provides. The missions are well balanced and many things are new at this game.

    It's amazing how Rockstar managed to
    faithfully reproduce the old-with this primacy. It's really one of the greatest games of all time.

    Since I have so much to write, my grade is 9 to why it could not be less than that. It's a review from Brazil, take care world ! =]
    Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead is a brand of its own, hosting a massive world of rustic locales, interesting npcs, and beautiful graphics. What it does best though is it captures the Western feel of cinema, something very few games have ever done right (if ever). A long game depending how you play, which is very ambiguous and up to the player. Whether your hunting, capturing a bounty, free roaming, or just killing innocents, Red Dead has something for everyone; the cowboys, and the cowboys at heart. Expand
  27. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, a GTA beater I don't know. If your looking for an interesting, new, different open world game then you could not go wrong with RDR. If your interested in cowboy movies and you have a small interest in computer games, then this will turn you in to a gaming addict, If your interested in computer games and have a small interest in cowboy movies then you will love this game. If your just interested in computer games, then there's a good chance that you will love this game anyway. Expand
  28. Sep 20, 2010
    9
    Read dead is a fantastic game, from fun addicting game play to amazing graphics. I had loads of fun playing this game; itâ
  29. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    I give this game a 10 out of 10 but I wish I can give it more. The game was a mixture of class, amazing graphics, perpetually interesting gameplay, and a great storyline.
  30. Oct 4, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I find this is better then Grand theft auto 4 on multiply fronts. For starters the environment is stunning and you will have to ride from town to town with the risk of wild animals attacking you giving a realistic edge to the game. Next there is more to do besides just missions, you can help random people who come up to you for help, you and also hunt for wanted people for a small payment, you can gamble as well with the risk of loosing money or you can completed challenges to improve your fame and honour levels which has many improvements. More fame means more people want help from you which rewards you with money. More honour means bigger discounts at stores and more pay from jobs. One favourite of mine is that you can shoot out both legs of your enemy stopping them from moving then pull out your lasso and tie them up. Now last but not least dead eye, you slow down time to get a better lock on your enemy. Still there are many things to discover if you bye the game, Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!