Red Dead Redemption PlayStation 3

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2598 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyV.
    May 20, 2010
    7
    What a game! Incredibly vast and lifeful, with a great single player story and a great multiplayer experience (IF you are part of a gang, if not becomes boring very soon). The problem (if you think so) is that in the end the gameplay and the overall style reminds too much GTA IV, so if you disliked previous Rockstar game RDR is not for you. The real reasons for not giving this game 9 or What a game! Incredibly vast and lifeful, with a great single player story and a great multiplayer experience (IF you are part of a gang, if not becomes boring very soon). The problem (if you think so) is that in the end the gameplay and the overall style reminds too much GTA IV, so if you disliked previous Rockstar game RDR is not for you. The real reasons for not giving this game 9 or even 10 are the performance and graphical differences between PS3 and Xbox 360 that makes this versione less appealing and polished. I played both versions and yes, the game works great on PS3 too but I think it's not fair to have this kind of bad treatment from Rockstar, especially because they never told anybody the differences before the first comparisons after the game shipping date. Expand
  2. zombieMouse
    May 18, 2010
    7
    I initially heard that the multiplayer was identical to the single player with 16 players. This is far from true. There aren't even civilians in the towns. There are no missions to partake in and the whole online experience seems very pointless. After I finish single player I don't see much replay value. Don't get me wrong though, I could easily see myself sink 80 hours I initially heard that the multiplayer was identical to the single player with 16 players. This is far from true. There aren't even civilians in the towns. There are no missions to partake in and the whole online experience seems very pointless. After I finish single player I don't see much replay value. Don't get me wrong though, I could easily see myself sink 80 hours into single player. But the AI pales in comparison to online multiplayer for any good online game. I had TOO high of expectations I guess. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    7
    This game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls asThis game is indeed very good. the production values are very high and i must say that this game looks amazing. The character models are very detailed and the games story is very well told and you are constantly meeting new characters ( who usually vary from normal to very odd) this is a plus point. the controls are also very good. the developers at Rockstar have kept the same controls as in GTA 4. but the actual missions are what let me down. in my opinion the game just gets gradually more and more repetitive. after abut an hour into the game I felt as though the game started to lack something special as the missions become a real chore and you keep having to do the same thing over and over again. go over, talk to this guy and follow him over to another place, where a gang of thieves will be waiting for you or just to meet a new character. and it stays almost the same throughout the game. it is a very good game and playing online in a party with friends is very enjoyable and is where the game stands out, but as a single player experience, it is very good but I felt that it could introduce a more varied set of missions in order to keep me interested in it. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played;Mafia II refuses to follow the crowd of open-world games by putting authenticity at the head of its agenda instead of sheer scale and off-the-hook action. Empire Bay is a fantastic embodiment of the 1940s/'50s; really sharp cinematography and mostly solid voice acting; well-built experience with a handful of notable moments. Most exciting moments in game are seen and not played; superficial narrative fails to explore briefly mentioned themes; streamlined campaign lacks side missions or exploration.
    Game duration 8 -10 hours depending how slow/fast you play
    Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Red Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what aRed Dead Redemption is probably Rockstar's most immersive and beautiful game to date but it is by no means perfect, basically GTA4 with horses. Lets start with the good; it's big, it's beautiful, capping people in the leg and watching the physics work their magic never gets old, the guns feel solid and powerful and for once in gaming we seem to have an accurate representation of what a gunshot wound to the head would actually look like. However the game does have problems, while almost every characters motivations and personalities are interesting, John Marston's, weirdly, isn't. While Marston's cause is a worthy one, he doesn't half go on about it, repeating the same story over and over to passers-by and anyone who'll listen, conscious or not. Also the game is just plain easy; the cover button seems to toggle god-mode and dead-eye (while visceral and satisfying) is just bullet-time in a dress. Also, bears shouldn't be able to take a shell to the head without flinching, they're bears not houses. In conclusion this is a good game hampered by small niggles, like a supermodel with no teeth... And Jack can jump in a **** black hole too Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    I think I hyped myself too much for this game add to that the fact that I do not enjoy western settings and you can understand my rating for this game. Overall it's a fine experience, the story is engaging and the game is fluid. I was a bit disappointed in the graphics department but it wasn't a big deal.
  7. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Really enjoyable, but mediocre experience. Too much horse riding, duel system is awful, dead eye feels useless, there is no real need to aim(the game has inbuilt aimbot), most of the missions are either repetitive or boring, story is not interesting, there are too many strange story related characters, you cannot really choose what to do(only in which order you do things), there isn't anyReally enjoyable, but mediocre experience. Too much horse riding, duel system is awful, dead eye feels useless, there is no real need to aim(the game has inbuilt aimbot), most of the missions are either repetitive or boring, story is not interesting, there are too many strange story related characters, you cannot really choose what to do(only in which order you do things), there isn't any choices that would affect the story or the way people see you, the performance is awful(runs 15-25fps and sometimes even drops around 5fps). I still gave it 7 because I sort of enjoyed it and there are not many western games. Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    7
    A brilliant narrative that plays with the players perspective, and sheds the wild west in a new light. It is proof that videogames are indeed art. Unfortunately it's not actually fun to play, with some of the most tedious mechanics in modern gaming. The section in mexico was especially a chore, with it's frequent backtracking. At the end there is a great annoyance as well, as aA brilliant narrative that plays with the players perspective, and sheds the wild west in a new light. It is proof that videogames are indeed art. Unfortunately it's not actually fun to play, with some of the most tedious mechanics in modern gaming. The section in mexico was especially a chore, with it's frequent backtracking. At the end there is a great annoyance as well, as a completely achievable obstacle assumes and forces the player's defeat. Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    Here is my simple and straight forward review; no bs. Pros:

    - Massive landscape and scope of game. Variety in landscapes (blistering hot desert to restless tundra) - Compelling characters: John Martson is by far the most compelling character this year and you can feel really connected to this man's struggles - Great Graphics: Presentation is A+, no sacrifices were made to make the large
    Here is my simple and straight forward review; no bs. Pros:

    - Massive landscape and scope of game. Variety in landscapes (blistering hot desert to restless tundra)
    - Compelling characters: John Martson is by far the most compelling character this year and you can feel really connected to this man's struggles
    - Great Graphics: Presentation is A+, no sacrifices were made to make the large free roam
    - Epic narrative: The story itself is the greatest aspect of this game
    - Variety of weapons, horses, activities - Original: No other game this year is like this one, best Western videogame ever made Cons:

    - Missions are REALLY repetitive and boring (follow guy on horse, kill some dudes, take reward, done). - Glitchy (falling off the map isn't exactly hard to do if you try) - Too much desert, the deserty landscape of this game althought different takes up like 60% of the map. Tall trees (snow part) is far too small compared to the rest of the map.
    - Dragging length; due to the repetitive missions, the singleplayer is a bit too long. There seems to be like 3 different instances were you thought you beat the game only to find out you didn't. - At one point you end up shooting birds to protect a barn and helping your son hunt deer. Not exactly the most exciting aspect of the game. This part should have been cut
    - Multiplayer is extremely boring; gamemodes and uninteresting, free roam has literally NOTHING to do other than beat the same gang hideouts over and over again - No replay value due to boring multiplayer and extremely long singleplayer

    Overall: Red dead is a rent and not a buy. The multiplayer is a waste of time and effort but the single player is a very compelling narrative but with boring and repetitive missions, the presentation is great as well. I wish I could give this game a 7.5 but I can't. So 7.
    Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2011
    7
    Loved the idea of being a cowboy, until I played this game, now I am happy I only had to be a cowboy for a bit. While its not bad, this game wasn't good either. Felt like most of my time was spent staring at the butt of a horse and a story that just kept on going. Even when I thought the story was done it jumped a few years forward, but it was a different character and felt really "meh".
  11. Mar 11, 2012
    7
    I expected this game to be much better. When I first played the game, i didnt like it at all, but now that i am giving it a second chance its actually a good game.Multiplayer is fun when you play with groups and most DLC are free.The campaign mode feels repetitive sometimes but gets better when you go further into the story.
  12. May 26, 2012
    7
    This game has an amazing soundtrack, great voice acting and an open world that feels real and alive. The story just isn't what people say it is, however. The game will do the fatal mistake of referencing things that happened "off-camera" a number of times instead of actually showing us. That is universally known in the film and book worlds as a way of cheaply avoiding to write more stuff.This game has an amazing soundtrack, great voice acting and an open world that feels real and alive. The story just isn't what people say it is, however. The game will do the fatal mistake of referencing things that happened "off-camera" a number of times instead of actually showing us. That is universally known in the film and book worlds as a way of cheaply avoiding to write more stuff. The parts with John's old crew come to mind here. The antagonists in this game (save for the two cops) aren't fleshed out at all, they game tells you why you should hate them in dialogue lines but doesn't actually show them doing anything bad on screen. I don't get why this game's story gets such high praise. Expand
  13. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    I might get myself into a storm of hate, but I really didn't appreciate this game as much as everyone else seems to do. Some aspects are really cozy, and I can remember hours of hunting game in tall grass in the evening sun, but other than that, its just a long transportation to a big finale. The game is as best in the very beginning of the game and in the end, leaving a huge gap in theI might get myself into a storm of hate, but I really didn't appreciate this game as much as everyone else seems to do. Some aspects are really cozy, and I can remember hours of hunting game in tall grass in the evening sun, but other than that, its just a long transportation to a big finale. The game is as best in the very beginning of the game and in the end, leaving a huge gap in the middle where things just turns boring for me. Expand
  14. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Red Dead Redemption's main story, the overall game play and quality of the characters are top notch. All the characters in the game are unique and deliver that sarcastic dark humor that existed in the GTA4 world. The game can be faulted on its outdated graphics, the time it takes to travel to and from a location and the constant mission retries to get the highest rating for the maximumRed Dead Redemption's main story, the overall game play and quality of the characters are top notch. All the characters in the game are unique and deliver that sarcastic dark humor that existed in the GTA4 world. The game can be faulted on its outdated graphics, the time it takes to travel to and from a location and the constant mission retries to get the highest rating for the maximum fame. The multi-player aspect of the game is entertaining with a number of game modes available to play with. Leveling up is a grind and with many legacy levels out there the player will lose interest quite quickly. There are a few online trophies that are difficult and very frustrating. Overall an enjoyable experience. Expand
  15. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    Pros
    1. Huge world that makes you feel like you're in the wild west.
    2. Excellent storyline and voice acting 3. Graphics off in the distance are excellent the changing weather against the landscape brings the world alive. Negative 1. I don't see the point in all the weapons when they are barely needed as they all do the same thing and none of the missions are challenging enough
    Pros
    1. Huge world that makes you feel like you're in the wild west.
    2. Excellent storyline and voice acting
    3. Graphics off in the distance are excellent the changing weather against the landscape brings the world alive.

    Negative
    1. I don't see the point in all the weapons when they are barely needed as they all do the same thing and none of the missions are challenging enough to make you feel like a need to swap through them much.
    2. The missions are repetitive and many can be very boring

    Overall a very good game, but don't believe the hype. It's good, but no more than that.
    Expand
  16. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    Beautiful, exciting and a game that keeps you going for hours and hours. Sadly quite buggy when it first came out, something that snapped you back to reality in no-time from the otherwise great immersion.
  17. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    As of the writing of this review, the online component of this game is completely broken. The servers are glitchy, the sessions are lost, other players are invisible...and the eternal loading. The single player was OK, but not worthy of the praise written in the other reviews. This game will get monotonous fast as the Wild West is more desolate than any other sandbox game. You haveAs of the writing of this review, the online component of this game is completely broken. The servers are glitchy, the sessions are lost, other players are invisible...and the eternal loading. The single player was OK, but not worthy of the praise written in the other reviews. This game will get monotonous fast as the Wild West is more desolate than any other sandbox game. You have been warned. Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    There's a lot of things to do in this game, but, a lot... a lot of that stuff is very repetitive and straight, for an open world game you don't have to work very much to do the sub-missions or advance through the story, at some point i just realized some missions didn't even tell where to go, it just got marked on the map.

    This is the first rockstar game i finish, but i'm very
    There's a lot of things to do in this game, but, a lot... a lot of that stuff is very repetitive and straight, for an open world game you don't have to work very much to do the sub-missions or advance through the story, at some point i just realized some missions didn't even tell where to go, it just got marked on the map.

    This is the first rockstar game i finish, but i'm very disappointed, i think it was the right choice to ignore grand theft auto all this time
    Expand
  19. Jun 10, 2016
    7
    Una decepción. Llegaba al Red Dead Redemption con las expectativas de encontrarme ante unos de los mejores juegos de la pasada generación y me he encontrado una decepción. El juego está bien, es notable y en su contexto es un buen juego. Quizá el gran apartado gráfico para 2010 jugara un gran papel a su favor, pero una vez aparcamos los gráficos (y su bajones a 15FPS en PS3) me encuentroUna decepción. Llegaba al Red Dead Redemption con las expectativas de encontrarme ante unos de los mejores juegos de la pasada generación y me he encontrado una decepción. El juego está bien, es notable y en su contexto es un buen juego. Quizá el gran apartado gráfico para 2010 jugara un gran papel a su favor, pero una vez aparcamos los gráficos (y su bajones a 15FPS en PS3) me encuentro una historia con la que es difícil empatizar desde el principio, un guión que no sale de lo previsible y unos personajes sosos sin ningún ritmo. El juego mejora algo a lo largo de la trama, pero para nada se merece que se le encumbre a obra maestra. Expand
  20. ysi
    Apr 6, 2017
    7
    I'm just a causal gamer and I do not like Western or the Wild West. So to me, it was an okay solid game. I appreciated its beauty and realistic feel. But the gameplay never felt compelling and addicting for a game. The story was dry. The missions were too easy. The fame and honor system didn't matter much and didn't make any sense to affect the story line or characters. This game created aI'm just a causal gamer and I do not like Western or the Wild West. So to me, it was an okay solid game. I appreciated its beauty and realistic feel. But the gameplay never felt compelling and addicting for a game. The story was dry. The missions were too easy. The fame and honor system didn't matter much and didn't make any sense to affect the story line or characters. This game created a beautiful world, but the story and gameplay is not on the same level. Expand
  21. JustinJ
    May 21, 2010
    6
    Hype over Substance. It seems to be a mainstay of the video game review industry the last few years, which has done nothing to dissuade the developers from buying into it as well. Red Dead Redemption is a prime example. The graphics are gorgeous in places, mainly the sweeping outdoor and city locations, while the textures can be flat and uninteresting with a muted palette in more confined Hype over Substance. It seems to be a mainstay of the video game review industry the last few years, which has done nothing to dissuade the developers from buying into it as well. Red Dead Redemption is a prime example. The graphics are gorgeous in places, mainly the sweeping outdoor and city locations, while the textures can be flat and uninteresting with a muted palette in more confined spaces. This is especially noticeable on the PS3, which is, uncharacteristically, the lesser of the two platforms graphically in the case of RDR. The gameplay is similiar in feel to GTA4, and the same problems that plagued that game and other "Sandbox" styled games are still prevalent here. Side-missions are varied, unlike in say, "inFamous," where the same exact 4-5 missions were recycled ad inifinitum throughout the game. But that doesn't mean they don't end up feeling the same. Each Bounty plays out in the same manner, every "Challenge" is merely a repetition of the previous rank with a new target, and the "Stranger" missions, while varied and interesting, are far too short to make up for the recycled mechanics in other parts of the game. Likewise, the large selection of mini-games may hold your attention at first, but with the exception of the well-done Texas Hold-'em poker tables, will probably be passed by after you've seen each of them once or twice. Overall, this is more a genre failing than a failing of the game itself. RDR is certainly a high-quality sandboxer, but the entire genre is in need of a facelift, and this coming from someone who has been a fan since before the name was even given. Red Dead Redemption is one of the most hyped and awaited games of the past year, and as such you can be certain that it will receive critical acclaim. But all you'll really find here is a polished version of a gameplay mechanic that is starting to feel its age, much as RPG's did in the mid 90's before Black Isle came along with Baldur's Gate to raise them to prominence once again. If you still love sandboxers, and don't mind the repetitive missions that serve essentially as an excuse to draw a games play-time out well beyond what the actual, unique content would warrant, then you'll find plenty to love in RDR. On the other hand... if the genre is starting to wear thin for you, even this new coat of polish isn't going to be enough to make you forget that you just did the same exact thing for the 40th time. Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    While this game blew me away with it's sheer size and seemingly limitless playability, it's techincal flaws really hampered what I feel could have been a close to perfect game. For one example, I had just finished using the gatling gun at Fort Mercer, one of the bandits had been shot off his horse and was suspended in mid-air and dead. Now my natural curiosity has me go over to theWhile this game blew me away with it's sheer size and seemingly limitless playability, it's techincal flaws really hampered what I feel could have been a close to perfect game. For one example, I had just finished using the gatling gun at Fort Mercer, one of the bandits had been shot off his horse and was suspended in mid-air and dead. Now my natural curiosity has me go over to the corpse and kind of chuckle at a minor game flaw. I walk near the corpse...and I DIE?? Really?? and that's just one of many bugs I found. As far as I am concerned, that is practically inexcusable to be in a $60 game. I can understand a glitch here and there...but dying after walking under a suspended in mid air corpse? Or having a wagon driver completely go **** for no reason and drive right over a cliff? A townsman running in place just propels himself into the sky? For shame Rockstar.....for shame Expand
  23. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    What an overrated void of nothingness. First of all this really is gta4 in the wild west. All of the games side quest or secondary activities are boring and useless except hunting, you play them to earn money yet you cant use money for anything which makes them pointless. The game is way too easy, i died very few times and the game is not long at all if you dont waste your time playingWhat an overrated void of nothingness. First of all this really is gta4 in the wild west. All of the games side quest or secondary activities are boring and useless except hunting, you play them to earn money yet you cant use money for anything which makes them pointless. The game is way too easy, i died very few times and the game is not long at all if you dont waste your time playing stupid, pointless, easy, shallow mini games (Arm wrestling what a joke!) or side quests. The game also makes the wild west look boring and dull and the ending just plain sucks. Expand
  24. Jan 25, 2011
    6
    Not that great. I am a fan of some sandbox games, but the genre is very saturated. Red Dead has an interesting premise but the landscape is far too boring. The endless desert is repetitive, there are few unique locations, and the "vehicles" do not make it better. The story was not great, and the graphics could use improvement. Pretty okay voice acting, though.
  25. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I liked the first hours. Let me begin by saying that I'm not a sandbox guy. I don't really like just doing stuff in the world, I never know what to do. I need missions and storyline. So based on that, I liked the first hours. But after a while I got bored, and by the ending I was just playing because I wanted to complete is, didn't pay off. GTA IV payed off at the end of the story, thisI liked the first hours. Let me begin by saying that I'm not a sandbox guy. I don't really like just doing stuff in the world, I never know what to do. I need missions and storyline. So based on that, I liked the first hours. But after a while I got bored, and by the ending I was just playing because I wanted to complete is, didn't pay off. GTA IV payed off at the end of the story, this one this not. Except for that, I had about the same experience, and GTA IV was never really a drag. Expand
  26. May 10, 2014
    6
    If GTA had only a few types of (slow) vehicles and one radio station, it would still feel more content-rich than RDR. That's the point of sparse westerns I guess, but I like sandboxes because they feel unpredictable and expanding as you unlock new content. Another thing is, RDR didn't give me that 'aha' feeling of seeing the world from a different perspective. More like seeing a differentIf GTA had only a few types of (slow) vehicles and one radio station, it would still feel more content-rich than RDR. That's the point of sparse westerns I guess, but I like sandboxes because they feel unpredictable and expanding as you unlock new content. Another thing is, RDR didn't give me that 'aha' feeling of seeing the world from a different perspective. More like seeing a different world with THE SAME (GTA) perspective. They also satisfy the psychological 'wrongedness' that many non-privileged people feel. In GTA the (virtual) material world is finally within one's grasp, and in that way it temporarily satisfies an irrational hunger for material wealth and the inferiority felt from not attaining it in real life. It can also serve as a reminder that material gain is ultimately an empty and meaningless thing, while real happiness is all about the journey to get there. Not saying that such desire should be cultivated. I think it's important to sort of 'starve' the ego and remind ourselves that the world never promised to be fair, and that we don't need much anyway. But for those who have not kept their ego in check, GTA is an unparalleled playground, and RDR lacks a similar effect since it's not a mirror of the world that wronged us. RDR reuses the same action gameplay for a dozen hours, and there are no motorcycles or planes to broaden the scope. Online shootouts work well in the open sprawling landscapes, but as of spring 2014, online is marred by glitches that Rockstars have been fixing for months. I wonder if they'll ever get around to it.

    As an introduction to Rockstar Games, or to third-person action, there's a lot of exciting content in this game. But for the seasoned gamer who has played several GTAs, the repetition of the mission style becomes very apparent. I had hoped for a few innovating missions, where the setting was used to do something that would have been impossible in GTA. But the game never really shows creativity in that area, filling instead most hours with riding through terrain (GTA driving minus the traffic!) and 'shooting gallery' action (on or off the horse) which almost plays itself thanks to the automatic targeting system (like in GTA V). The characters are memorable, a few of them among my favorite Rockstar characters ever. The game world is a marvel at times, even if you've played later open world games such as Skyrim or Assassin's Creed IV. But it also doesn't give much of a reason to explore it. No stunt jumps. No meaningful looting. No silly collectibles (except the skins of wild animals). It's completely straight-faced most of the time, and you know exactly what to expect of cabins, woods, towns etc. No surprises.

    In retrospect, the game went all-in on impressive assets and characters. That focus made it impressive next to its contemporaries. However, especially the former quality will always get competition when technology improves. Good gameplay can be timeless. Red Dead Redemption plays like it could have been simply thought out in the last century, and it barely shows hints of innovations in its genre. So it feels stuck there.

    If you've never played a Rockstar game before, you might add two points to the score. If you're crazy about westerns, you can safely add at least one point. But I'd recommend GTA V or GTA Vice City instead, or Skyrim or Assassin's Creed IV for similarly exotic game worlds.
    Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2012
    6
    This game,at least for me,was a disapointment .Unlike GTA,it is the same thing over and over and over.
    The controls are utterly bad and not like GTA.The missions are basically the same.You go to the sheriff,he tells you to help him go kill some people,you do that and then after a day or so,you go and do the same thing again.
    GTAIV and L.A Noire where fantastic games,absolutely amazing,but
    This game,at least for me,was a disapointment .Unlike GTA,it is the same thing over and over and over.
    The controls are utterly bad and not like GTA.The missions are basically the same.You go to the sheriff,he tells you to help him go kill some people,you do that and then after a day or so,you go and do the same thing again.
    GTAIV and L.A Noire where fantastic games,absolutely amazing,but this one was just a horrible game.
    Expand
  28. May 8, 2012
    6
    I will admit the game had its appealing moments the first time I played it.. But all it is, is Grand Theft Pony. Like all of rockstars games it's all the same as GTA with different themes.
  29. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    It's a good game. Good dialogs and actor playing, beautiful landscapes, interesting characters, tons, TONS of content. But there in one big flaw. There is almost no actual gameplay. You riding your horse through the desert... riding... riding... shooting sometimes. Rinding and shooting is not fun, because controlls are just terrible. All the missions are MMORPG-like. But after all this -It's a good game. Good dialogs and actor playing, beautiful landscapes, interesting characters, tons, TONS of content. But there in one big flaw. There is almost no actual gameplay. You riding your horse through the desert... riding... riding... shooting sometimes. Rinding and shooting is not fun, because controlls are just terrible. All the missions are MMORPG-like. But after all this - it's a good game. Great respect for developers. Expand
  30. Jan 17, 2013
    6
    I've said it before in my reviews and will say it again, a small lively open world is better than a massive empty one. Red Dead has a ok story with one fudging too big world. Its gameplay though is solid as a brick wall. I just wish, as with many games I have, it wasn't given as much praise. Why? I expected too much.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games. [Issue#206, p.86]
  2. Rockstar's skill in creating a believable, functioning world with a distinct, coherent and consistent atmosphere is peerless. The broad-brush vision is masterful.
  3. Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. This game is the perfect example of how a developer should work to create the best atmosphere and to represent a beautiful historical situation. The graphics, the gameplay elements and everything else is at top level. Buy Red Dead Redemption, now!