Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Volition and THQ's martian insurgency will continue in a fourth chapter in the franchise with expanded online play and enhanced destruction.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    95
    Honestly if not for some minor complaints Red Faction Armageddon would be a damn near perfect game. As it is, this is a strong contender for best game of the year for its fantastic mix of intense action, fun character customization that changes how you play the game, great graphics and all around fantastic gameplay experience. Even the minor flaws are easily ignored and most will likely not even notice them, as wrapped up in the game as they will be.
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    83
    That inherent, unapologetic, child-like fun is still present in Armageddon.
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Red Faction: Armageddon has weak points and highligts. The story isn't that great, the dungeon-crawling experience isn't that cool and in fights chaos reigns. On the other hand, it's damn fun to kick some alien ass and destroy everything you want.
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    73
    Armageddon is an unimaginative shooter, showing more creativity in Darius' tribal tattoos than in any of its combat scenarios. If you're looking for a memorable Red Faction experience, you're better off playing Guerrilla again.
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    70
    A back-step for the series. Not terrible by any means, Armageddon is nevertheless a huge disappointment.
  6. Bloated, Armageddon loses its luster...For our money, Armageddon needn't linger but rather leap at us with tooth and claw, tear, and then depart. [July 2011, p.78]
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Backwards sequel that sabotages or removes all the best features from the last game and wastes one of the best arsenals in gaming.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Worth every penny, as a long running fan of the Red Faction franchise I know for a fact the games are never "perfect", and are never going toWorth every penny, as a long running fan of the Red Faction franchise I know for a fact the games are never "perfect", and are never going to be everyones cup of tea - but what it does it does wonderfully. Nuff said. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    9
    A game that I did not expect much from the blew me away. From the first time I played the demo till finally finishing it this was an amazingA game that I did not expect much from the blew me away. From the first time I played the demo till finally finishing it this was an amazing experience. If you enjoy destroying this already a plus, good story in cinema style rush, in end I was wanting for more, DLC unfortunately did not deliver that need. This is a gem of a game for a good fun play through. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Red Faction: Armageddon is a very unique game it will offer around 15 hours of game play. The also offers a very detailed storyline and bigRed Faction: Armageddon is a very unique game it will offer around 15 hours of game play. The also offers a very detailed storyline and big replay value once the game has been beat. As for the multiplayer side of the game Infestation mode is fun when you have friends with you playing. If you're into a horde like attack and or defend game mode then enjoy. As for Ruin mode, which is online but as a single player mode. I feel like it should have had more than just the maps given and it grew boring once the top scores where beat. Hopefully in the future more is brought to the game as DLC. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    I have been a big fan of Red Faction right from the get go I love the new games on the current gen of consoles and would very much like theI have been a big fan of Red Faction right from the get go I love the new games on the current gen of consoles and would very much like the game to return to its mining roots in which the whole environment can destroyed a massive open world in which you can dig vast tunnels hidey holes in the mountains not just destroy building and a few bits of the environment. maybe the next game will go back to the open world exploration but bring in some flyings vehicles and some mining vehicles do something amazing with that setting and the rich history of the franchise also no more Masons maybe have the main character work under a Mason. Expand
  5. dpc
    May 30, 2013
    8
    Way better than many of the critics and users are saying. The visuals are outstanding, the weapons fun and the action is intense. The linearWay better than many of the critics and users are saying. The visuals are outstanding, the weapons fun and the action is intense. The linear part disappointed me at first I missed wandering around Mars doing what I wanted, but the gameplay is so good, I quickly got over it. Despite what you read, this IS a Red Faction game. The game makers tried something a little different and it worked. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    Reasonably enjoyable, but very different from RFG's open sand box. There's not really enough variety -- in enemies, locations, AI tactics --Reasonably enjoyable, but very different from RFG's open sand box. There's not really enough variety -- in enemies, locations, AI tactics -- to keep this interesting. Only the weapons were as rich and well-thought-out as I had hoped. The voice acting was very good, but the story underwhelming. I got this used, and the online multiplayer is close to dead in mid-2012, less than one year after release. I do like the co-op defense mode, but there should be more modes. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    This game is so repetitive...its just run..fire..run..fire...reload...run...fire..
    the enemy AI is weak and just annoying. While it does sport
    This game is so repetitive...its just run..fire..run..fire...reload...run...fire..
    the enemy AI is weak and just annoying. While it does sport some brilliant arsenal, you get pretty tired of shooting the same weak enemies. I really hoped for me but its a total let-down. better rented than owned.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews