Red Faction: Armageddon PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 58
  2. Negative: 6 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    ive played all the red faction games and they all at the very least have been a fairly decent game . RFA is pretty much the same. its much heavier on the action then the last RF game which is nice but its also alot shorter and i feel like there is less opertunity to exploite the fun of just causing total destruction like in other RF games. you will spend alot of your time killing theeseive played all the red faction games and they all at the very least have been a fairly decent game . RFA is pretty much the same. its much heavier on the action then the last RF game which is nice but its also alot shorter and i feel like there is less opertunity to exploite the fun of just causing total destruction like in other RF games. you will spend alot of your time killing theese bugs with a very nice varity of guns and there are some real cool ones as well. the story has you chasing a man named Hale who is up to no good . i wont say to much but there are some tie ins with the original RF game with the story. the game is about 8-9 hours long the level varity is all pretty much the same but there are some change up driving a few different vehicles which are fun. the online mode didnt thrill me much there isnt much new there and the 4 player co - op bug hunt mode is kinda fun for alittle while but so many games are adding it theese days that its nothing that will keep you to entertained for long .you can also upgrade your charicter with powers , improve your preformance , and raise your health with your scrape wich is kinda cool. RFA as is is surely worth a rental but personally i wouldnt want to run out and pay $60 for it which makes me glad i rented it . its a game that will give you a few days of fun maybe more if you really get into the online part. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    Red Faction: Armageddon is not a bad game. However, after the awesome story and open-ended mission structure of 2009's awesome Red Faction: Guerrilla! This game has been severely dumbed down compared to that game. The story is awful and the gameplay while fun is extremely linear! Still if you're looking for a game with some cool destruction to kill some time with and you can find this oneRed Faction: Armageddon is not a bad game. However, after the awesome story and open-ended mission structure of 2009's awesome Red Faction: Guerrilla! This game has been severely dumbed down compared to that game. The story is awful and the gameplay while fun is extremely linear! Still if you're looking for a game with some cool destruction to kill some time with and you can find this one for under $10 then by all means go for it haha! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    7
    Reasonably enjoyable, but very different from RFG's open sand box. There's not really enough variety -- in enemies, locations, AI tactics -- to keep this interesting. Only the weapons were as rich and well-thought-out as I had hoped. The voice acting was very good, but the story underwhelming. I got this used, and the online multiplayer is close to dead in mid-2012, less than one yearReasonably enjoyable, but very different from RFG's open sand box. There's not really enough variety -- in enemies, locations, AI tactics -- to keep this interesting. Only the weapons were as rich and well-thought-out as I had hoped. The voice acting was very good, but the story underwhelming. I got this used, and the online multiplayer is close to dead in mid-2012, less than one year after release. I do like the co-op defense mode, but there should be more modes. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    This game is so repetitive...its just run..fire..run..fire...reload...run...fire..
    the enemy AI is weak and just annoying. While it does sport some brilliant arsenal, you get pretty tired of shooting the same weak enemies. I really hoped for me but its a total let-down. better rented than owned.
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    6
    Initial review without finishing game: I didn't like this game at all. I only gave it a 5 rating because up until the point I stopped playing it I did not uncover a bug in the software. That for me pushed it above a negative rating and that alone. This is a boring game and bad software. First off I found the game boring. The single player campaign to me is nothing more than a piecedInitial review without finishing game: I didn't like this game at all. I only gave it a 5 rating because up until the point I stopped playing it I did not uncover a bug in the software. That for me pushed it above a negative rating and that alone. This is a boring game and bad software. First off I found the game boring. The single player campaign to me is nothing more than a pieced together tutorial of weapons so you are enabled to play online without learning everything there. The story is quite unspectacular as is the whole experience. The enemies were not that great the only thing that made them difficult was the amount that spawned and the chance of running out of ammo. For the tough areas, which were few and exact opposite of most of the game the save system really sucked. I wanted to presave an area so I didn't have to run around and collect stuff then try the area again, but no, the save goes too far back not where you saved it. On top of this idiocy, was the idiocy of repairing your destruction. This is just not fun. Destroy an area and rebuild it have it blown away, rebuild it have it blown away rebuild it ok now carry on. What a grand waste of time. Such a gimmick that people would find this interesting. This game tries to copy portions of other well known games but doesn't seem to do any very well. It seems so formulated like no ones heart was into making this. I definately think if you have played a sufficient amount of shooters this is one for sure you can skip. Its not terrible but its fairly close. What can I say nice about the game? Well, I like science fiction and some of the enemies were cool to look at. Sorry thats all I can come up with

    Review after finishing game: Ok, I bumped up the score to 6 because of new game plus features and some unlockables. After finishing this game I'm intrigued what went on with this game development. If you youtube Red Faction you can find an interview stating the development team is most proud of making non linear games and this one is totally linear. After playing the game it seems so uninspired, so linear, so mundane. Its basically "Babies first shooter". It makes me wonder if the team was forced to make this game after a buyout or something. The game seems like it was made for the developers own amusement and not as a commercial product to be sold. Anyway, new game plus interested me I was going to do through again at a harder level then got the after game bonus stuff and just decided it is just too much work making this game a challenge. You really have to try. This is a great Sci Fi shooter for casual gamers just getting into shooters. For experienced shooters I stand pat on my original review. What I should add is there is a fantastic inventory of weapons in this game but still the overall experience for me was that I had to put in too much effort to try to make this game fun and challenging. It just was not in the cards for me.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    82
    The newest addition to the Red Faction saga is a fast-paced summer shooter. It doesn't really require any brain activity and the bright colours, huge packs of alien enemies and destructible environments ensure, that this game is a perfect tool for venting pressure. [June 2011]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    70
    Armageddon is by no means a bad game, it's just a completely different one to what series fans will expect, or possibly want. Unfortunately, in returning to its underground roots, Volition has forgotten to capitalise on what their series does best: geo-modding the crap out of everything in sight - minimum restrictions. [August 2011 p80]
  3. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Red Faction: Armageddon has weak points and highligts. The story isn't that great, the dungeon-crawling experience isn't that cool and in fights chaos reigns. On the other hand, it's damn fun to kick some alien ass and destroy everything you want.