Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    93
    As the credits roll on this 11 hour journey, I’m pleasantly surprised to see such a great title come out of a brand new studio. The team at DONTNOD Entertainment have brought something unique to the table, giving us not only beautiful graphics and incredible sound, but also a new combat approach wrapped around a very engaging storyline.
  2. Developed by Dontnod Entertainment, Remember Me takes risks at every turn. Some of them expose the game’s many flaws, but other show the game’s strengths.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a gem that should not be overlooked especially as it's come this late in the current console cycle when publishers shy away from new things even faster than normal. Aside from being one of the best-looking games ever, it has a great soundtrack, interesting and fun if unoriginal gameplay, and a story that plays with slightly heavier themes than normal. You owe it to yourself to check it out.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    90
    Strikes the perfect balance between narrative exposition and gameplay. With expert pacing, the game offers an engaging cyberpunk story blended into a solid action-adventure that’s equal parts brawling and platforming. Remember Me utimately delivers the whole package—a very pretty, very pleasurable, very engaging gaming experience.
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    Remember Me reminds us why originality is the first quality of success. Memorable story script, enlightened art design, unique combat system: an action game that captures your attention, dedication and passion from the beginning to the end. After that, well, you are left with nothing other than a really, really good gaming memory.
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    82
    Remember Me offers some exciting action variety gameplay along with a great story. All puns aside, it is a very memorable game if you're interested in playing it for the overall experience and story.
  8. Jun 3, 2013
    82
    The gameplay is very much like Uncharted, only with no guns. In the future no one has guns, except the flying robots, who have some kind of energy cannons.
  9. Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  10. Jul 15, 2013
    80
    Remember Me has outstanding art direction, storytelling and sound design that help to compensate for gameplay that is a bit linear and gets stale late in the game. Sometimes style is enough even without too much substance.
  11. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    For a first shot, we can count it as a success. Remember Me is not flawless but mort of those flaws are due to the ip's youth or an excessive care. Good ideas not well used, features that are too limited in use or too rare, some repetitive things too, but that's pretty much all we can criticize the game for. The risk-taking brought by this new gameplay, a new context and a unique universe are wonderful. On the looks, the bet is won et we would even like to know a bit more about this strange Neo Paris. Maybe in another title? With such inspired graphics and creativity, we hope the sequel will follow on quite quickly.
  12. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a daring new action-adventurer by developer Dontnod Entertainment. The adventure of protagonist Nilin looks fresh and plays like a charm. A definite must-buy for fans of games of its sort.
  13. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Remember Me appropriately and effectively creates a functioning futuristic society that treats memories like we treat oil. This is admittedly preposterous and shouldn't work, but Dontnod’s art direction sells their fiction with confidence and creates an engrossing world begging for (and happy to provide) rampant absorption.
  14. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is an interesting game with a very good story and smart gameplay features. The superior lore Dontnod Entertainment has created with passion is deep and intense and offers the perfect frame for the story. A number of small technical issues can't ruin this great experience.
  15. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Remember Me manages to do something quite special – and rare – in big releases from major publishers: it innovates in a really meaningful way. The incredibly intuitive combo system takes a game that might be as frantically, impenetrably nuanced and complex as God of War or Devil May Cry and makes it as accessible as Batman: Arkham City.
  16. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Schlocky and silly in places, but potent and reflective in others, Nilin’s tale has bags of heart to play off against its flamboyant bosses and existential quandaries, all grounded by a charismatic female star. While the world building isn’t on a par with the best – hampered by a civilian population as robotic as its metal cohorts – a rich backstory and architectural detail make Neo-Paris a place worth visiting.
  17. Jun 3, 2013
    78
    The detailed world of Neo-Paris seems like it should be full of great stories, but the one Dontnod tells is uninspired. The environmental climbing sequences offer some simple fun, but the linear paths diminish any sense of exploration this otherwise would have achieved.
  18. Jun 18, 2013
    75
    The world and concept are Remember Me's redeeming factors. Even though the moments of excellent game play are broken up by generic and repetitive elements, the overall experience is definitely enjoyable.
  19. Jun 26, 2013
    74
    The least interesting bits make up the bulk. Still, Remember Me's world is hard to forget. [Aug 2013, p.63]
  20. Jun 3, 2013
    72
    Dontnod Entertainment has in Remember Me an important title due to the interesting plot, the high quality graphics and a pretty innovative combat system. However, there are some downsides in the form of small technical problems with cinematics, bad lip sync of the voice acting and, also, the game's fairly short duration.
  21. There’s so much potential at play in Remember Me that we feel compelled to belabour the cons to emphasise what could have been with the abundance of strong ideas, well-paced narrative beats and an intuitive game soundtrack. It gets more right than it gets wrong though, and it leaves us yearning for a sequel that addresses its unfortunate shortcomings. [July 2013, p72]
  22. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Fortunately, for all of the game's faults, its futuristic setting is rich and compelling, meaning that while the game won't linger in your memory forever, you definitely won't be forgetting it in a hurry.
  23. 70
    Remember Me is a good game, with several good ideas, but unfortunately these ideas have little ambition.
  24. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Remember Me is a good game loaded with intriguing ideas; here's hoping that its sequel, should we ever have one, rides these ideas to greatness.
  25. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    An inconsistently enjoyable experience. Its world provides an interesting glimpse into a could-be future, and the Memory Remix puzzles and Pressen system help offset its extreme linearity and stiff combat. There are enough good ideas here to keep you playing from start to finish, but Remember Me's rougher edges mean it'll fade from your memory far sooner than you might like.
  26. Visionary ideas unfortunately fall to a formatted medium. The game world is ambitious and brilliantly realised, but sadly the fighting and platforming can’t keep up. Still, Remember Me is fictionally fresh with a finger on the pulse.
  27. Jun 14, 2013
    69
    Remember Me aims high but sadly falls well shy of the intended goal.
  28. Jun 3, 2013
    68
    Remember Me is a game of discrepancies. You’ll encounter incredibly atmospheric scenes just to be followed by weak or boring moments. The art design is exquisite, but the linear levels hardly make you want to look around. The most interesting part, the memory manipulation falls short and is overshadowed by incoherent fighting. What could have been extraordinary, is something you won’t remember in a few weeks.
  29. Jun 24, 2013
    61
    A near miss in so many regards, Remember Me's lack of ambition is what ultimately hobbles it - with the balls to go bigger on some of its more original concepts, this could have been something truly special. [Issue#232, p.68]
  30. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    For a first time developer, Remember Me appears highly ambitious. And while it’s got some neat ideas it never quite does anything substantial with them, instead providing an enjoyable, if forgettable experience.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 100
  2. Negative: 10 out of 100
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain 10 because of graffiti everywhere 10 because of
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    The platforming starts out with a generic ledge shuffle, but progressively includes more and more tools your spammer can break weakThe platforming starts out with a generic ledge shuffle, but progressively includes more and more tools your spammer can break weak obstacles, tractor objects around to change the puzzle, and yank the energy out of one mechanism so you can dump it into another mechanism in order to advance the puzzle (kind of like carrying around a companion cube, if it was a blaze of glowing light wrapping your arm that could be fired from a distance). Using stolen memories is incorporated with all of these tools, so the gameplay you get in the second half of the game is far more developed than what you see in the pre-release trailers, which focus on the early levels.

    I’ve heard people complaining about how the game shows you what ledge to jump to, and I have to say so does every other game. Usually ledges are lit, colored or textured differently, or they just stand the hell out. Remember Me just uses a different mechanism. The game also tricks the player a few times; when I stop and really look around, I'll see another jump marker that was just off screen that I would have missed had I been simply following prompted jumps, and that other marker leads me to a powerup reward. And some markers fail under you, leaving Nilin to take a tumble a mechanism that isn't used frequently enough for you to come to expect it, which is good.

    Loved the combat, gaining moves as rewards for accumulating XP. Once you get a serious arsenal Nilin' will be stringing spectacular movements together into a buttkicking ballet that you can reinvent whenever you want by changing animation and effect (again, this a completely different animal in the second half of the game because you have so many more moves and abilities). Upon replay you can keep all of the moves you purchased in your previous run-through. More advanced enemies keep the difficulty interesting; I particularly like the guards whose electrified armor hurts you when you hit them, and the invisible buggers you have to reveal before you can take them on. You will use every tool you are given.

    And of course Nilin and Neo Paris look great, from the classic architecture to the sci fi archologies to the plates of rats the street vendors sell in the slums (I am playing on a powerful PC, so take that into consideration). The beauty is mostly to look at, not interact with, so if the inability to kick cardboard boxes around and stand on tables is a dealbreaker for you, then get used to disappointment.

    I was expecting a far worse game based on the reviews I've read, usually in the vein of "It falls short" (falls short of what? Of perfection? Of failure? Falls short of fun? Is it fun? It is fun, by the way). Upon playthrough I found that many statements in those reviews are factually incorrect. I don't mean a difference of opinion, but statements like "the game doesn't do this" when it actually does, as if they wrote the review after playing only an hour of it, or they based their opinion on the pre-release videos. What you see in the early game is just a platform on which the late-game is built. It's a little embarrassing actually, as if all these guys solemnly said "Halo is set on the Pillar of Autumn, and we feel this makes the game fall short".

    Dontnod is small and new and they've made a game bigger than themselves. It’s beautiful, it’s fun, and it does powerful things with its ideas. I say get it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    A great start to what hopefully becomes a more fleshed-out series. Although the game's most interesting and fun parts, the memory remixes,A great start to what hopefully becomes a more fleshed-out series. Although the game's most interesting and fun parts, the memory remixes, only appear a meager 4 times in the game, it's still a fun ride. The customized combat system keeps fighting from becoming stale, and the environment and music create a fantastic atmosphere.

    Although it might not be worth the full asking price, not many games are. Still, Remember Me is a fantastic game that should be enjoyed, short as it may be.
    Full Review »