Remember Me PlayStation 3


Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    For a first time developer, Remember Me appears highly ambitious. And while it’s got some neat ideas it never quite does anything substantial with them, instead providing an enjoyable, if forgettable experience.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 21, 2013
    A mess of interesting ideas inexpertly implemented, resulting in a horribly generic action game that fails to live up to its promise. [Aug 2013, p.68]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 12, 2013
    There’s so much potential at play in Remember Me that we feel compelled to belabour the cons to emphasise what could have been with the abundance of strong ideas, well-paced narrative beats and an intuitive game soundtrack. It gets more right than it gets wrong though, and it leaves us yearning for a sequel that addresses its unfortunate shortcomings. [July 2013, p72]
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    What’s most aggravating about Remember Me is that there’s a weapons-grade masterpiece buried somewhere inside it, and for all of its many flaws, it’s still difficult not to root for it.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    Remember Me is ambitious, often gorgeous and for the most part intriguing but is a game badly let down by design decisions and lacklustre gameplay.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    As terrible and overused as this statement is, Remember Me is definitely not worth remembering, from a gameplay perspective at least. It’s unpolished, unoriginal and can be found done much better in games before it.
  7. Games Master UK
    Jun 26, 2013
    The least interesting bits make up the bulk. Still, Remember Me's world is hard to forget. [Aug 2013, p.63]
  8. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    A near miss in so many regards, Remember Me's lack of ambition is what ultimately hobbles it - with the balls to go bigger on some of its more original concepts, this could have been something truly special. [Issue#232, p.68]
  9. Jun 14, 2013
    Remember Me aims high but sadly falls well shy of the intended goal.
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    Rather than having the lasting impact of a distinct, vital recollection, Remember Me plays out like a stressful fever dream requiring the player to forget it.
  11. Jun 3, 2013
    Dontnod Entertainment has in Remember Me an important title due to the interesting plot, the high quality graphics and a pretty innovative combat system. However, there are some downsides in the form of small technical problems with cinematics, bad lip sync of the voice acting and, also, the game's fairly short duration.
  12. Jun 3, 2013
    Remember Me is a game of discrepancies. You’ll encounter incredibly atmospheric scenes just to be followed by weak or boring moments. The art design is exquisite, but the linear levels hardly make you want to look around. The most interesting part, the memory manipulation falls short and is overshadowed by incoherent fighting. What could have been extraordinary, is something you won’t remember in a few weeks.
  13. Jun 3, 2013
    As it stands, Remember Me is a series of mediocre gameplay ideas stapled to a pretty, hollow shell.
  14. Jun 3, 2013
    Fortunately, for all of the game's faults, its futuristic setting is rich and compelling, meaning that while the game won't linger in your memory forever, you definitely won't be forgetting it in a hurry.
  15. 70
    Remember Me is a good game, with several good ideas, but unfortunately these ideas have little ambition.
  16. Jun 3, 2013
    Remember Me is a good game loaded with intriguing ideas; here's hoping that its sequel, should we ever have one, rides these ideas to greatness.
  17. Jun 3, 2013
    An inconsistently enjoyable experience. Its world provides an interesting glimpse into a could-be future, and the Memory Remix puzzles and Pressen system help offset its extreme linearity and stiff combat. There are enough good ideas here to keep you playing from start to finish, but Remember Me's rougher edges mean it'll fade from your memory far sooner than you might like.
  18. Visionary ideas unfortunately fall to a formatted medium. The game world is ambitious and brilliantly realised, but sadly the fighting and platforming can’t keep up. Still, Remember Me is fictionally fresh with a finger on the pulse.
  19. Jun 2, 2013
    I’d love to spend time in this world sampling its fiction and tasting some of its ideas, but unfortunately I can’t say the same for the game, which is very forgettable.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 102
  2. Negative: 10 out of 102
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain 10 because of graffiti everywhere 10 because of
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    The platforming starts out with a generic ledge shuffle, but progressively includes more and more tools your spammer can break weakThe platforming starts out with a generic ledge shuffle, but progressively includes more and more tools your spammer can break weak obstacles, tractor objects around to change the puzzle, and yank the energy out of one mechanism so you can dump it into another mechanism in order to advance the puzzle (kind of like carrying around a companion cube, if it was a blaze of glowing light wrapping your arm that could be fired from a distance). Using stolen memories is incorporated with all of these tools, so the gameplay you get in the second half of the game is far more developed than what you see in the pre-release trailers, which focus on the early levels.

    I’ve heard people complaining about how the game shows you what ledge to jump to, and I have to say so does every other game. Usually ledges are lit, colored or textured differently, or they just stand the hell out. Remember Me just uses a different mechanism. The game also tricks the player a few times; when I stop and really look around, I'll see another jump marker that was just off screen that I would have missed had I been simply following prompted jumps, and that other marker leads me to a powerup reward. And some markers fail under you, leaving Nilin to take a tumble a mechanism that isn't used frequently enough for you to come to expect it, which is good.

    Loved the combat, gaining moves as rewards for accumulating XP. Once you get a serious arsenal Nilin' will be stringing spectacular movements together into a buttkicking ballet that you can reinvent whenever you want by changing animation and effect (again, this a completely different animal in the second half of the game because you have so many more moves and abilities). Upon replay you can keep all of the moves you purchased in your previous run-through. More advanced enemies keep the difficulty interesting; I particularly like the guards whose electrified armor hurts you when you hit them, and the invisible buggers you have to reveal before you can take them on. You will use every tool you are given.

    And of course Nilin and Neo Paris look great, from the classic architecture to the sci fi archologies to the plates of rats the street vendors sell in the slums (I am playing on a powerful PC, so take that into consideration). The beauty is mostly to look at, not interact with, so if the inability to kick cardboard boxes around and stand on tables is a dealbreaker for you, then get used to disappointment.

    I was expecting a far worse game based on the reviews I've read, usually in the vein of "It falls short" (falls short of what? Of perfection? Of failure? Falls short of fun? Is it fun? It is fun, by the way). Upon playthrough I found that many statements in those reviews are factually incorrect. I don't mean a difference of opinion, but statements like "the game doesn't do this" when it actually does, as if they wrote the review after playing only an hour of it, or they based their opinion on the pre-release videos. What you see in the early game is just a platform on which the late-game is built. It's a little embarrassing actually, as if all these guys solemnly said "Halo is set on the Pillar of Autumn, and we feel this makes the game fall short".

    Dontnod is small and new and they've made a game bigger than themselves. It’s beautiful, it’s fun, and it does powerful things with its ideas. I say get it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    A great start to what hopefully becomes a more fleshed-out series. Although the game's most interesting and fun parts, the memory remixes,A great start to what hopefully becomes a more fleshed-out series. Although the game's most interesting and fun parts, the memory remixes, only appear a meager 4 times in the game, it's still a fun ride. The customized combat system keeps fighting from becoming stale, and the environment and music create a fantastic atmosphere.

    Although it might not be worth the full asking price, not many games are. Still, Remember Me is a fantastic game that should be enjoyed, short as it may be.
    Full Review »