User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 330

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    This game is very underrated, in my opinion. The combo system is really unique in that you build your own combos with 4 different types of attacks that are all very useful depending on the situation. The memory remixes are really cool and I wish there were even more of them. The story was pretty cool and has a nice message at the end.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    Remember Me from Dontnod Entertainment is the french developers first game, and I can say with certainty that Dontnod will become a leader in innovating games.

    Non spoiler story:

    Remember Me is a fantastic game set in the Cyberpunk theme of Neo-Paris, a city built after a European Union Civil War in 2066. Humanity has become addicted to a new form of technology that allows the
    sharing and downloading of memories.

    You play as a woman with a form of amnesia that if I explained more would ruin the story. Suffice to say that a lot of people want you dead.

    Gameplay:

    Gameplay reminds me of the Tomb Raider without guns, along with great memory based puzzles. Before you think "boring" and stop reading you should know that the memories are other peoples. You have the ability to alter a persons memories in a genius puzzle that lets you tryout different outcomes to what could have happened and warping your targets perception if his or her own reality. You can only do this a few times during the story which is a shame but it makes a great change of pace from the combat.

    Combat:

    Speaking of combat, you can unlock moves during the game and arrange them in any order you like giving you that ability to make your own combos! Enemies are varied and will keep you on your toes as you try to figure out how to best them.

    As you go on other abilities become available and give you more puzzling and can also play a role in combat, but as I try to write spoiler free reviews I'll leave that up to you to discover!

    No toilet breaks!:

    If you have a day sick in bed (like me) you will beat it in a day but you can't stop playing to do so.

    Graphics and sound:

    With the exception of one hard boss fight that has some repetition, the voice acting is well enough for the characters, with the best acting going to the main character. It is a beautiful game to look at from the grimy under city to the richer upper city and small extras in the environment really bring out the immersion.

    Out of Ten:

    Graphics 9

    Sound 8

    Gameplay 9

    Collectibles 7

    Over all 9.5
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Remember Me is an awesome game. It’s sometimes frustrating with it's difficulty, but it also transports you to an amazing world with striking designs, a deep culture, and interesting characters. The game might rely a little too heavily on “been there, done that” elements of play, but when it breaks from the norm and it does so often it hands players power and a sense of freedom in experimentation. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I had only seen this game just a few months before release and I was extremely excited for it. I was a bit nervous I was going to be let down do to the mixed reviews, but I followed my instinct and I was right. I loved this game. it has a beautiful flow to it, which you dont see to often in games. The remixes are evenly spaced out and work well with the story snd gameplay. Combat and Boss fights are very fun, not too tough on nornal mode. Creating your own combos with different "Pressens" (Damage, Health Regen, Special Cooldown, and One more) worked extremely well for me. BOTTOM LINE, Im extremely tough to satisfy when it comes to games, but the Story, Gameplay, Remixes, Collectables, and Graphics gave me truly an awesome expirience. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I've been watching Remember Me for a while and when it came out I got it the second day after release. My first thoughts were beautiful graphics and it gave me that Mirrors Edge, Total Recall, iRobot feel right away, which isn't a bad thing at all. Im always looking for games that are different and unique, I've been playing games from atari 2600 til now and everything in between and though this might not be the best game its surely freshing and nice to play something a little different and new. I won't spoil anything so I'll keep it short

    1.Graphics 9.5/10
    2.Gameplay 8.0/10
    3.Combat system 8.5/10
    4.Fun factor 9.0/10
    5.Music 10/10

    Pros: The highlights of the game are the music and the memory remixes, where u play through memoires and alter different things about it to change the out come, its all real time FWD: Pause, Play, RWD type and I've never seen anything like it.

    Cons: The only down fall this games has to me is that its not open world, not even close, but thats not enough to keep people from playing it and if they continue the series thats something they can improve on making a good game a great game.

    Looking for something new and different try it at least.
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    There are two components to a story that absolutely hook me for the ride: 1)I have to want to develop an empathy with the character and, 2) obviously, the story. Despite the tragic frustration and borderline insult of not being allowed to explore the wonderfully sculpted world the game is framed within (it's incredibly well done, which makes the inability to explore the huuuuuuuge #1 con on this game)and the eventual tedium of being told by little jittering arrows where to go at every leap and turn, those two personal requirements of mine were handily and, to me, very satisfyingly met.

    Nilin is great...for me, the voice acting was so deftly maneuvered with inflection and emotion I couldn't help but become deeply involved in the character and her progression in reclaiming her past. I also found her deliberation of the objectives and motive set to her by the character Edge to be refreshing; if she would not have been at least suspicious or questioning of the instructions and directives set to her by an unknown agent, I would have been at least dubious of her mission and subsequent actions and, therefore, less willing to buy into the story. Knowing she was conflicted allowed a bit of personal insight and empathy with the character in the sense of what was unfolding.

    And I have to maybe sidestep a bit on my second requirement: the story itself was, maybe, just ok (perhaps a tad better), but the concept behind the storyline is what I view as still worthy of high marks. The groundwork and foundation of the context of the story was provocative and well-conceived, all the while being quite believable. The ability to manipulate memory was, to me, the most underutilized and most cathartic element to the game but, ya know, with as magnificent as the limited time was in this aspect, I think it must have taken a considerable amount of time to piece together the x's and o's to make this work so I suppose I can see why there wasn't wall-to-wall memory re-writes. Altogether though, the concept was very much appreciated in this land of rampant point-and-shoot fps for a guy who, while he enjoys some time in that certain genre of games, really aches for something different and substantive. And, hey, for me, Remember Me has got it.

    If DONTNOD can take some constructive critisism on their effort here, I really really really hope they consider employing some of it into a very soon-to-be-released follow-up. I would be very eager...so just do it, ok?
    Expand
  8. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    What seems to be common from many reviews is the expectations that many people had going into the game, and either finished disappointed, or didn't finish at all. I will say that though Capcom's Remember Me isn't the best game ever, probably not even close, it is a unique experience in more ways than one, keeping my attention throughout the game.

    Pros:

    Visuals This game is
    beautiful. Every piece of the world and each character is incredibly detailed. The graphics do not make the game, but Capcom puts it to good use with one of the last new IPs of the current generation. The atmosphere of Neo-Paris is gorgeous, between the slums and the high end side, each area has it's own unique style, and probably one downside is that you don't get to explore Neo-Paris more than you do.

    Combat Though not the strongest portion of the game, it's concept works, and works well. The meat of the combat system is creating your own combos. Now this doesn't mean you spend hours in a menu configuring buttons trying to come up with the best attacks. There are actually four preset button combinations, each consisting of either Square or Triangle (or X & Y for the Xbox 360). Along with that, there are four different modifiers called "Pressens", which allows you to power up each press of the button. The more experience you gain throughout the game, the more Pressens you unlock, allowing you to mix and match different types of modifiers within a single combo. For example: The most simple combo is Square, Square, Square. While the first press cannot be modified, the next two can, with modifiers such as stronger attacks or regaining health with each successful hit. Included with the combos are what's called "S-Pressens", which are power ups that help you gain a slight edge. These add a bit more strategy for when you face the tougher enemies.

    Remixing Memories Possibly the best part of the game. These portions allow your character Nilin to jump into somebody's memory, alter certain portions of said memory, and force them to remember something that didn't actually happen. The general idea of remixing memories is to manipulate someone into either having regrets, changing what they believe in, or completely forgetting a life-altering event. Though there aren't too many of these sequences, each moment is fun and makes you think. Each remix gives you a certain objective, and you must alter some or all options in order to get the result you want. Very cool concept in my opinion, though would loved to have seen more.

    Plot I won't spoil anything, but the story was interesting, unique, something different than the usual zombie outbreaks or military operations or what have you. It's an idea that was thought out, and used effectively.

    Cons:

    Voice Acting The only thing that doesn't drive the story as great as it could is the voice acting. Many games have that one "voice in your head" guide that tells you what to do and where to go. This is no exception, and like other games, this voice gets annoying along the way. Other characters just don't seem to fit in with the personalities that the game sets for them. This doesn't go for every character, fortunately, just enough to want to tell a few people to hush every once in a while.

    General gameplay When you're not fighting or remixing, you're running, pressing, or climbing. The latter isn't too eventful. Platforming in this game is far from great.

    Story length/Replayability It's a short game, and understandably so given the plot. Without a multiplayer portion in the game, Remember Me gives a great campaign experience, though not too much of one. And that's it. You may want to replay it to retrieve missing collectibles to learn more about the history of the city and the organizations involved. But the story is linear at best. Unless you're looking to get your platinum trophy, you may be trading in the game days after you begin playing.

    Completion The great story is hindered by it's flat ending. There's a moment where I'm left wondering about certain characters you met earlier in the game and if they achieved what they really wanted.

    Overall: I think this will be a sleeper hit. The concepts are unique, the visuals are gorgeous, and there are little things throughout the game that made me appreciate the design of the world and the characters. I personally do not believe it deserved IGN's 5.9 rating, and it's not 9 or 10 worthy. But it's a hell of a game and a pretty incredible experience. I recommend giving it a try, even if you decide to wait til it's on sale or the price drops. Or rent it. Whichever you prefer. Go with your gut!
    Expand
  9. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Remember Me is what's missing in gaming today. Original art direction inspired by a raft of Sci-Fi greats from, most obviously, Bladerunner, to the best of anime. With an original customisable combo system and a balance of story and action which keeps the pace of the game spot on, this is action gaming at it's best.
    Big props to Dontnod for massive first effort. Hopefully we can see more
    of this world again soon. I predict that, like Bladerunner, although this release has been overshadowed by some big name games and studios that Remember Me will become the cult hit it deserves to be! Expand
  10. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    This game should not pass by as unknown, as it turned out to be innovative and very good—not a hit, but damn close to it. I can tell there is someone on this design team DONTNOD that worked on Heavy Rain.
    Starting out with its strengths, I’ll say that story-wise, it draws a little inspiration from Total Recall with the “memory” thing, but then takes it somewhere way beyond that into its
    own territory. I’m not finished with it yet, but nearing the end, and its getting more & more interesting.
    Gameplay-wise, the fighting gets progressively better as she learns more and more combos. When executed correctly, they are very rewarding. It gets interesting to work with, in that there is healing and hurting combos, to name a couple. On another level of gameplay, the Memory Remix is fun to adjust, like altering memories by literally changing them, almost like going in and literally changing the past.
    I only have one complaint: the camera can go haywire if you back into a wall or item while fighting. But other than that, a couple of the boss fights I found to be very original. I give this game an 8 or 9 easy. Don’t let it pass you by if you’re into sci fi or beat ‘em ups with innovation.
    Expand
  11. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    This game is something fresh and new,it goes the extra mile to be unique even though there is some lent elements from genres as Assassins Creed and Batman it still manages to do what the developers wanted it to achieve.

    Combat is fluent and fun and the different combos are genius and forces the player to adapt according to their situation. It might not be as fluent as other games
    fighting systems aka Batman AC & AA but still fun and enjoyable yet posing a nice learning curve. Visually the game is stunning and Neo-Paris is brought to life in a stunning manner,sound and score is just as stunning. Music is dramatic and tense where it has to be and flows nicely together when it's needed,voice acting is another thing,the actors managed to capture the essence of each character and bring them to life in a memorable way.

    Too me this is one of those diamonds in a rough and definitely worthy to be one of 2013's best games.
    Expand
  12. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    AMAZING! I don't care what these reviewers say, this is an awesome game! Gorgeous graphics, good action, great music, and just a lot of fun. I say buy it. If you're a fan of Ghost in The Shell, this is a must have. Pick up the game and download the soundtrack from itunes. It is worth every penny!
  13. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game surprised me. I started playing it with low hopes, but now, I can't keep my controller down. I love everything about this game. The game world is fully realized and its beautiful to look at. The storyline is unique and keeps me entertained. The gameplay is fun with the pressen and power ups. I enjoy the linearity of the game because I feel there is a story to tell and they want to keep on that one path. No probs for me because the story is great. Overall, a fun game! Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    WOW. Most amazing game. So deep and emotional. Big Kudos to the developers. This game is a real piece of art and will be remembered forever.

    The mechanics could need some work, that is true. But if the outcome is this impressive I don't care for a little clumsiness.

    It's such a shame that the usual reviewer seems to be to stupid to 'get' this game. This is an instant classic.
  15. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Excellent industrial design, great music and an unusual, interesting history.

    -Limited exploration
    -Linear
    -Lack of branching story line
    -Capcom's inevitable marketing practices e.g DLC
    -Very slow start
  16. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    If you play games because you want to be immersed in a world, then you cannot miss this one. Visually It is absolutely incredible. It's strengths far outweigh its weaknesses.
  17. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Coming off a stellar release season of "The Last of Us", "Tombraider", and "Bioshock" I was desperately looking for a game that might come close to the production values of those games....I am happy to tell you that, "Remember Me" is that game!! The story and the main character of Nilin is so compelling you are delighted to help her get justice against this futuristic evil corporation. The Paris of the future will overwhelm you with its gorgeous despair. It's refreshing to get know her through memories, and the combat system becomes second nature as your progress in combat and game play....Each chapter is a delight with visual surprises and more compelling challenges,,, It is fun without frustration....Please get this one. you'll enjoy!! Expand
  18. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This is the best game so far in 2013 both story and gameplay is perfect for me.This game could be better if only Console exclusive imo.Nilin is great character both personality and looking,voice acting is superb, music is great (main menu and xmb menu) other musics is okay.The control is perfect for console version,
    I really hope tis game is not gonna milk like AC,COD. This is a
    masterpiece there is no need sequels.Finally a new game without nudism,XXX scenes,romantic plot and boobfest.This is a true masterpiece. Expand
  19. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    In a post Assassins Creed Batman Arkham city gaming environment people have given this game flack for the lack of open world game play. But not everything needs to be that grandiose to be entertaining. The game has a fantastic narrative and the world is visually stunning and only more so being backed by a fantastic soundtrack. The only problem that I found with the game was that the combat was lacking a certain amount of fluidity (hence the rating of 9)

    But the game is definitely worth a playthrough, I do hope the I.P gets revisited later one down the line.
    Expand
  20. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Aside from criticism garnered from reviews, I think Remember Me is one of the most interesting new IP's in this gaming generation. Although there could have been more of an open setting in my opinion, the actual world design of this game is one of the best i've seen. The ideas behind the memory-mechanic are overshot by the design of Neo-Paris, which is a fascinating ideal. Although the story itself may seem cliché, I think that again it stood up to standards. I hope that Capcom and DOTNOD continue this IP into a second game with Nilin as the protagonist. One last point is the music, the melding of classical and electronic is perfect and reflects the mood of the game. More of the same please! Expand
  21. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    This is one of those times where I didn't listen to major reviewers, and I'm very glad I didn't considering how awesome this game turned out. My only gripe is that the game is too short--I didn't want it to end. The camera can be weird at some points as well. Other than that the game is good. Great combat, addictive soundtrack, good pacing, and perfect blend of cinematics and gameplay. It's like batman and uncharted had a baby. Expand
  22. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Just finished Remember Me. Damn.. what a game. I still can't believe the reception for it has been so lackluster. The game has it's faults, but giving this game a score of anything below a 6? Really?
  23. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Setting is great. There's a few nits (like how in Neo-paris, everybody is british) but it captures a cyberpunk like feel without being the bleak grey landscape occasionally spiced up. The game world seems artifically claustrophobic though, and I found myself guessing when I was going to be ambushed pretty accurately by following this rule "large room..must be a fight scene". Background music reminds me of blade runner, so it had a great ambience to it without being distracting.

    Platforming: I didn't mind it, but there was a schizophrenic feel to it. for a game that spends a lot of time showing me exactly where to jump and move (via orange arrows pointing each step of the way) there were a number of twitchplay jumps that felt like they were put in just to irritate people. Early in the game, walkthrough tutorials are provided for very very basic puzzles (drop a wall between you and the drone so it cant see you!) while later QTE style chase sequences will probably require you to just die and reload a couple of times to get the pattern. This is not an Open world assassins creed type game, you are on rails. Not a bad thing, but something you should expect.

    fighting: the combos give a lot of customizing, but if you're just a button masher you're going to make the fights harder on yourself than they need to be. There is a very specific flow and timing to combat, so regardless of what order you press your 2 buttons for combos, you'll need to master the identical combat timing for your 3 button combo that your 8 sequence combo will take. The combat sequences themselves are pretty run of the mill, with the boss character Madame being especially annoying if you don't have your combo timing down.

    Remixing- this was my favorite part of the game, and while I can see how unfeasible it would be to end EVERY encounter with it, I sure wanted more control of using it, more potential targets for using it and even some more consequence and outcomes. Everything else in this game is something I could get in a different game, but the remixing is the truly distinct part. I played through a number of hours just waiting to use this mechanic and to see if it really mattered to the outcome. Nope, linear.

    Story -is pretty good. There's a beginning a middle and ending. There is foreshadowing and misdirection. There is a twist beyond some sort of total recall swipe. Edge is a bit of a cliche, but most of the characters have something ditinct going for them.

    Replayability- out of the box I don't know if Im going to bother with another playthrough for 'perfect remixes'. If DLC comes out that beefs up the memory remixing aspect of the game I can see myself going back in, but it's otherwise pretty linear.
    Expand
  24. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Like some have said the game feels a mix of Tomb Raider/Prince Of Persia/Assassins Creed/Uncharted though unlike Lara this character fights well with or without weapons. The controls for the combat system get some getting used to but after a few fights it gets pretty easy to do and with the navigation help getting lost is hardly possible. The graphics are astounding especially when you do jobs and are leaping from buildings or climbing across the walls half the time it's almost hard to tell the difference when you're in a cutscene and when you're playing. The voices for the characters is pretty good though there are one or two that didn't quite fit still that doesn't hurt the gameplay. Unlike RE5&6 which sadly were somewhat disappointing for me this game will have you playing for hours without knowing it. Expand
  25. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    The look, story and concepts are amazing. The platforming is a little clunky, but pretty fun when you are moving fast. The combat system is rhythm based and it works, with patience. It voice acting is hit and miss. It's great getting new IP's and I hope this one sells well so we get a sequel. Much like the improvements from Assassin's Creed 1 to 2 (The first game was great but flawed, and 2 fixed all the mistakes.), I can imagine the sequel coming out on Next-Gen machines and being a must-buy.

    I consider this a must buy if you are a fan of something beautiful and different than the shooty games.

    The parts that needed polish are not enough to detract from what feels like a new sci-fi epic, reminiscent of Blade Runner and other Philip K. Dick stories, and 1984. I give it 5 breath-of-fresh-air Stars.
    Collapse
  26. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Now I'll admit this game popped up on my radar in a bit of peer pressure as some friends really loved the look of it but the first gameplay shown didn't have me sold. But they a few days later another gameplay was released involving a helicopter fight of sorts that's when i started my own love for it. It was passed up by many gaming companies for its female protagonist which i think is quite a silly reason. Now the gameplay is a bit linear(keeps it from a perfect score cause i really want to explore this world more, but i cant bring it down to 8 or 7 just because of that because they DID introduce a world i want to explore and my own enviousness of the world shouldn't affect the game it's self) Now the story is solid.

    If had to I'd give it a 8-5 to 8-7 if there was a story graph above on this rating thing. I say 8ish because it is a bit of a obvious scifi title and the story is a bit deep ya kinda have to be open to sci fi in general to really appreciate i as such I've graded accordingly so that linear, fighting gamers will know what they get into when considering it. The combo building is a bit blah at first but i really liked it and as someone who loves remember combos as it makes me feel like im learning stuff mid-gameplay amount my own memory skills. As a fan of the open world genre of games it IS a bummer that i cant do that here. The fighting combo remembering makes me remember how Sleeping Dogs caught me by surprise as a great game as well. I feel like a bad-A$$ beating people up as Nilin

    Sounds are just top notch, the voice acting is about at English dub anime levels where they sound they could fit the character well but a part of you thinks they could have played it a little less or in some cases a bit more dramatic. Nilin's actress is top notch i will say. Now the game sounds are also great i often play with headphones to not to annoy a tenant i share a wall with and i was thoroughly enthralled with the game and fully immersed.

    Now lasting appeal does get an 8 as that its about an 8 hour campaign that once again is very straight forward. But the game is still a great addition to my collection and i will have something to trophy hunt on till i get The Last Of Us in 10 days. The graphics are beautiful and i didn't notice many graphics bugs and if there were any they certainly didn't catch my eye or ruin the game.

    Now full-disclosure I WAS spurred to do this because the so many reviews about this(IGN specificly god how i dislike them) were just so unfair so it may be closer to a 4 to 4 and a half but there are no halves and even 4 seemed like a dumbed down score. Honestly i preordered this read reviews last and was like OH GOD I made I HUGE mistake. Then i got it today, started playing it and had NO clue why this was was happening the game is so good and so great. The reviews had me believing that it was horrid filth with its bads far outweighing the good and thats just not true. All and all I really suggest you play this game please don't let the big name game reviews be the ones you go to for your game news. Trust yourself and trust your instincts I think you'll be pleasently surprised, I know I was
    Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    First Impressions are a big thing to me with games. In the first ten minutes of it this game immediately hooks you as you feel like you're really thrown into Nilins' situation. (main character)
    I only got to play it for about 45 minutes this morning but from what I can tell, the game play is very much a cross between the new Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia.
    The fighting system is rather
    unique in itself, as a dodge can break up a combo that was being executed, and the combos themselves are ones YOU make up and program in, as opposed to having to memorize them.
    As far as graphics and sound go, I'd absolutely say a 10 on both in my opinion. They're smooth and sleek with a LOT going on in the background on most levels.

    In the end if you like a game where you can scale walls and buildings like Tomb Raider, have a fighting system like Prince of Persia where you can actively dodge, and a badass story line where social media gets way out of hand, you'll definitely enjoy this.
    Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Remember Me is an action/melee/platformer in every sense of the word. I've had a fun time playing this game and thought I'd break down my thoughts of why this is so.

    Combat: I really like the customization feature of being able to select different moves (Pressens) with different benefits (power, regen, chain, and cooldown) and pick what combos are most comfortable for you personally as
    a player to pull off. You will learn additional moves as you go along, however the way this is done here is far from rpg-style gameplay; so do not expect that going in. You cannot button mash your combos as the game requires that you properly time yourself from one hit to the next. This, I think, has lead to a perception that the controls are unresponsive because the timing window from one hit to the next is very small. But, once I got the rhythm of a combo down I rarely had a problem finishing it. You fight a lot of multiple enemies, placed in arena-like portions of the map. Enemies tend to group up and their attacks will break your combos, so it is important that you plan ahead, gain space on individual enemies, dodge, and look for vulnerable openings. Sometimes, this is easier said than done as some enemies can leap from walls, block attacks, and so forth. If you just jump into a big group and start swinging or get yourself cornered, you'll get floored pretty quickly on any difficulty. Your special S-Pressens and your arm-mounted Spammer can also be great assets in the right situations; allowing you to turn robots on their masters and stun enemies for periods of time. All in all, the combat requires you to pay attention, be creative, memorize the rhythm of your combos, and think.

    The World: NeoParis is an atmospheric and beautiful place. It really is a sight for the eyes. Familiar Parisian landmarks and architecture are spread throughout a world of flying drones, cables, slums, and futuristic skyscrapers. It is, unfortunately, linear. Not a great deal of open-world happens here. However, your objectives are always clear and helpful orange arrows give you tips on where to leap or climb to next. The game does hold your hand when it comes to directions and some gamers may feel it insults their intelligence which I can completely respect. I found the directional prompts useful largely because I didn't want to spend forever hanging from a pipe wondering where to go or what to do next. The non-enemy, non-essential NPCS do not interact with you very much. Some are busy in conversation with other NPCs, others talk to themselves, and some will give you a "I don't have time to chat" in one version or another. As long as you don't have a strong desire to be a social butterfly with NPCs, this means very little.

    Collectibles: Like them or hate them, there are a few different collectibles to find in the game. Some, like the Mnemist Memories, give you information and backstory. Others, like SAT Patches, boost your health after every group of five that you find (which you'll occasionally get hints for via holo-screens). Despite being a linear game, collectibles are cleverly hidden around piles of trash, in building crannies, and sometimes behind shutters that you can open with your Spammer. I personally love to find stuff so having multiple collectibles was a great experience for me.

    Voice Acting/Characters: Overall, not bad. The only hiccups I noticed is that Nilin's lips don't always sync properly when talking to Edge over the comm in her ear. The dialogue itself wasn't Shakespearean, but it was pretty well done, clearly heard, conveyed believable emotion for the most part, and suited it's purpose. Nilin is the only person in the game that really gets fleshed out as a character, but the devs did a nice job of making her a complex individual that is both driven yet also conflicted. It doesn't help of course that she has lost her memory right from the get-go and has to slowly work it back; forcing her to question herself and her decisions particularly during cutscenes.

    Memory Remixing: This is a truely unique feature. You are able, at set parts of the game, to change the events recorded in someone's memory....or even accidentally glitch-out their memory. It basically works like a puzzle: You have to find the right things to change in the right order to get the desired result and complete your objective. Though you don't get these opportunities often enough, as has been one of the recurring criticisms, it's a very enjoyable part of the experience.

    Achievements: If you're an achievement getter, prepare to be challenged. As a forewarning, snagging all of the achievements does require multiple play-throughs. But for the size of a game like this, it's not all that taxing.
    Expand
  29. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    having actually beaten the game and enjoyed it, it's definitely much more linear than Uncharted. it's corridor after corridor after corridor. Uncharted doesn't do that and i've completed 2 & 3.
    It's level design is extremely similar to Enslaved. but Enslaved is far worse. the Linearity also hurts with the game's lack of collectibles.
    unquestionably though this is the second most linear
    game i've ever played. beautiful graphics, good story, and solid game play. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Most under rated game in a LOOOOOOOONG time... It is very disappointing to see so many people hating on a game that at least tries to innovate. How many AAA new IPs do you expect to see if you treat the ones that do come out like this?
  31. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This game is highly underrated. The story kept me interested, the combat was really fun, boss battles wer entertaining. Voice acting was pretty good (Edge was kind of crappy), but really I don't think this game deserves the crap I've read about it. People are too critical.
  32. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game truly is amazing. The graphics look like next generation. The character is very interesting and immediately draws the player into the game. The backgrounds are amazing and playing the memory parts are fun as well. The control can be frustrating, but there really is nothing like his game. It's gameplay is based on combos and jumping as well as climbing. The game is a lot of fun and gamers will enjoy it. The game story is like Inception, THX-1138, and the game Mirror's Edge as far as jumping and climbing with lots of combo action. I highly recommend this title. The price has dropped significantly. Expand
  33. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic, One of the best stories i've ever seen in an action game. The Cyberpunk visual, the soundtrack blends fantastic with the story, and the gameplay mechanic is innovative.
    If you like a game with a superb story, cyberpunk visual, with the right challenge dose, this is the game for you!
  34. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    Sometimes I'm looking for a linear experience. One where I don't have to search every garbage can and pile of rubble. Remember Me had a great path laid out and though at times it was tedious, I didn't mind climbing and joking across alleys. The music was spectacular and I especially liked the memory manipulation remixes.

    Combat was fun with a decent amount of enemy types, a slightly
    limited combo system made for a lot of repetition in parts. But combos can be written with modules for a nice variety of specializes and some replayability.

    The art design was spectacular with a fun robot cyberpunk like dystopian future. A bit like a future Assassin Creed title with fair imagination and a good mystery to unravel. I've recommended this toy friends who enjoy naughty dog titles and bioshock, along with friends of the card game netrunner.

    Finding some of the hidden add ons was occasionally a chore but mot that big of a deal. the game can be enjoyed without them. Looking forward to more from this developer.
    Expand
  35. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    The look, story and concepts are amazing. The platforming is a little clunky, but pretty fun when you are moving fast. The combat system is rhythm based and it works, with patience. It voice acting is hit and miss. It's great getting new IP's and I hope this one sells well so we get a sequel. Much like the improvements from Assassin's Creed 1 to 2 (The first game was great but flawed, and 2 fixed all the mistakes.), I can imagine the sequel coming out on Next-Gen machines and being a must-buy.

    I consider this a must buy if you are a fan of something beautiful and different than the shooty games.

    The parts that needed polish are not enough to detract from what feels like a new sci-fi epic, reminiscent of Blade Runner and other Philip K. Dick stories, and 1984. I give it 5 breath-of-fresh-air Stars.
    Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    For a first time developer, Remember Me appears highly ambitious. And while it’s got some neat ideas it never quite does anything substantial with them, instead providing an enjoyable, if forgettable experience.
  2. Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    50
    A mess of interesting ideas inexpertly implemented, resulting in a horribly generic action game that fails to live up to its promise. [Aug 2013, p.68]