User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 387 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 387

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    Despite being a flawed game it is surprising to see a game of such vision come from a new developer as their first game. There are countless triple-A developers who don't release titles with this sort of originality. There are some truly great and compelling ideas at work here, but unfortunately the core gameplay doesn't hold up.

    By far my favorite part about this game is it's world and
    Despite being a flawed game it is surprising to see a game of such vision come from a new developer as their first game. There are countless triple-A developers who don't release titles with this sort of originality. There are some truly great and compelling ideas at work here, but unfortunately the core gameplay doesn't hold up.

    By far my favorite part about this game is it's world and story. It's fantastic to see a strong female protagonist in gaming again. It's still far too rare that we get to see one anymore, especially one this likable. The characters and story are incredibly well written and backed by a nice soundtrack and top-notch voice acting. The graphics are also very well done. It's not always the prettiest game out there, but it can still hold it's own against other games on the system. The graphics really bring the world to life and make it one you want to explore, which is why it is disappointing that everything is so linear.

    So while presentation and setting are top-notch, the gameplay is sadly lacking. There are some truly genius moments and mechanics here. The sequences where you remix memories are a blast and there are some truly great puzzles. Customizing combos with different effects and abilities is just plain genius and something I would like to see in more games. Unfortunately despite the really good and cool things here the majority of the gameplay is comprised of lackluster combat and platforming. the whole game plays out as a linear brawler, and while customizing combos is cool the actual combat isn't. It's entertaining on a basic level, and it can get pretty entertaining when you are juggling several different enemies that each require a different strategy to take out, but for the majority of the game it is just mindless button mashing against dull enemies. Platforming is unfortunately worse. It's stiff, slow, and just no fun. The platforming borrows from better games like Uncharted, but ultimately doesn't feel as fluid or fun.

    The game is sadly flawed. There are some truly genius ideas here that I would like to see expanded upon in a sequel or another game with better combat and platforming systems. Still, despite my disappointment with the overall game I have to say I think it is a flawed gem and DONTNOD Entertainment has impressed me with this one. They are definitely a developer I am going to be keeping my eye on, because it's clear they have some excellent as well as original ideas and know how to tell a good story.
    Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    An underrated game, DontNod Entertainment has created a beautifully crafted sci fi adventure. The detail to this world is mezmorizing. While the combat can get repetitive, I enjoyed the unique craft your own combo system and special powers. Its an astonishing accomplishment that such a game can arise from a first time developer with no previous triple A games under their belt.An underrated game, DontNod Entertainment has created a beautifully crafted sci fi adventure. The detail to this world is mezmorizing. While the combat can get repetitive, I enjoyed the unique craft your own combo system and special powers. Its an astonishing accomplishment that such a game can arise from a first time developer with no previous triple A games under their belt. Everything about the game is solid...not amazing, but gets the job done so it doesnt infere with unraveling the story which is the focus of the game. Remember Me works very well as a cinematic gameplay experience. The platforming, puzzles, and combat fit nicely into the game. The main attractions of this game no doubt though are the amazing environments crafted within this sci fi world. Remember me is a game that gets better and better as it progresses, with the combat becoming more fun as you unlock new powers. While the story didn't blow me away, going through it certainly was fun. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a linear cinematic story-driven gameplay experience! Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    7
    There is never enough of high quality intelligent sci-fi titles in a video game industry and this is certainly one of them. I feel it draws the inspiration from some sci-fi classics such as P.K Dick's Total Recall and that's always a good place to draw inspiration from. At first it doesn't look like much, the start of the game is really slow, ugly environments of dirty slums, clunkyThere is never enough of high quality intelligent sci-fi titles in a video game industry and this is certainly one of them. I feel it draws the inspiration from some sci-fi classics such as P.K Dick's Total Recall and that's always a good place to draw inspiration from. At first it doesn't look like much, the start of the game is really slow, ugly environments of dirty slums, clunky movement controls, it's very linear, but it gets better soon by the time you start exploring the streets of Neo-Paris. I love the world design and the atmosphere designers created here and it's all perfectly fitted with a really good electronic soundtrack that supports the atmosphere with all the various glitches, distortions, breakbeats and so on, I'm always happy to hear a good music work in games. The story is also really good, although it sinks into cliche quite often, especially characters and the "bosses", not to mention the boss fights are extremely annoying. The combat is a standard button masher ala Arkham Origins with the added option to mix your own combos, it worked fairly well for me. There are also some nice new ideas such as the memory remixing, where you can change the outcome of someones memories, really cool idea and even though the implementation into the gameplay was rather simplistic and only a few times in the game it was a nice addition. I had problems with some of the game design decisions such as constantly closing the path behind you, so you cannot go back and explore the previous parts of the level, which made searching for all the collectibles pretty annoying as you had to replay the entire level from the start. Another bad decision is the fact you cannot skip cut scenes and dialogs, especially in additional playthroughs it's extremely annoying to watch everything again and again. Make no mistake - this is not another Deus Ex with free world to explore, character to customize and level up to your liking, quests to do, paths to choose from or choices to make, I understand that people expecting this must have been disappointed and I would certainly welcome these upgrades in a potential sequel, this game is very linear and it's basically a platformer/combat button masher, very simplified, but still, the world design, atmosphere, music and some ideas such as memory remixing make it a really good sci-fi title that's definitely worth playing through. 7/10 Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    An interest concept and plot marred by lackluster gameplay and execution. Had there simply been more freedom, the game would be a contender for game of the year.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    Very cool, very sexy game. Lovely hero and setting. The Neo Paris of 2084 is gorgeous (it's a shame we don't get to explore it though). Remember Me is a very (VERY) linear game with a fake idea of liberty. You never choose your path, it's always predetermined (with an occasional turn here and there just to pick up collectibles). The graphics are beautiful (though not the best thisVery cool, very sexy game. Lovely hero and setting. The Neo Paris of 2084 is gorgeous (it's a shame we don't get to explore it though). Remember Me is a very (VERY) linear game with a fake idea of liberty. You never choose your path, it's always predetermined (with an occasional turn here and there just to pick up collectibles). The graphics are beautiful (though not the best this generation has seen) and the soundtrack is very atmospheric. The memory mix mini-game is very original too. It has a Blade Runner feel to me with the slums built around skyscrapers and stores with information shown on digital ads. Actually, this is a very nice game. My only complaint about it is about fighting. It's a CHORE... they should have double checked the fighting in this game before releasing it... it really doesn't fit. Especially when you face enemies that hurt you if you touch them. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2014
    2
    The game has a very interesting plot about the future technology of downloading others' memories into our brains. The memories themselves have become the next drug of choice and is controlled by an evil corporation. You'll play the agent to take them down. It has good graphics with its cutscenes, but poor voice acting. But, graphics are only icing on the cake of a good game. You can putThe game has a very interesting plot about the future technology of downloading others' memories into our brains. The memories themselves have become the next drug of choice and is controlled by an evil corporation. You'll play the agent to take them down. It has good graphics with its cutscenes, but poor voice acting. But, graphics are only icing on the cake of a good game. You can put icing on a stale piece of bread, and it's still not cake you're eating. This game is not good because of the actual gameplay. The combat is a button mashing combat of the Japanese genre. Your running and jumping is very unnatural as you look like a speedy cartoon instead of having more realistic animated movements. It's has very linear simple path that you have to follow in a Neo-Paris, that mimics games of the sidescrollers of thePS2 era rather than the more open worlds of the PS3 era. So with the poor voice acting, boring linear progression, and weak combat, this game is one of the worst games that I have played in a while. Congratualations Capcom. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed this game, although it does have a few things keeping it back. What I enjoyed, contrary to alot of reviews, I enjoyed the combat and gameplay of the game, good variety of enemies; the create your own combos was misleading however, you're not creating any combo like I thought(uppercut, spinning wheel kick, headbutt, etc.); but rather hits that would either effect health, focusI enjoyed this game, although it does have a few things keeping it back. What I enjoyed, contrary to alot of reviews, I enjoyed the combat and gameplay of the game, good variety of enemies; the create your own combos was misleading however, you're not creating any combo like I thought(uppercut, spinning wheel kick, headbutt, etc.); but rather hits that would either effect health, focus points and whatnot. I enjoyed looking for sacromechs and sat patches, some are well hidden and a challenge; but even that does'nt change the fact this game is linear as heck; it feels linear with the arrows pointing you where to go next; it is the game's way of saying there's nothing to see just keep the story going ( a lot of the game feels like it's in a tunnel, very small areas to explore and a straight line from start to end). the story was good and kept me intrigued; very mysterious, the remix gameplay was innovative and something new to me which was good. Bottomline, a good linear game. Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Remember Me is a unique game that controls well, has sharp visuals, great sound and a good story. The combo creation is a cool way to spice up the fighting and it works well. The levels are well designed and the platforming is done very smoothly. This game reminds me of a cross between Prince of Persia and Wet, which for me is a good thing. The game is way better than some of the criticsRemember Me is a unique game that controls well, has sharp visuals, great sound and a good story. The combo creation is a cool way to spice up the fighting and it works well. The levels are well designed and the platforming is done very smoothly. This game reminds me of a cross between Prince of Persia and Wet, which for me is a good thing. The game is way better than some of the critics rated it and even though it is relatively short it is fun. Expand
  9. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    first of all let me say DAT ASS

    ok now for the review. its a pretty cool game with some neat ideas and a very beautiful art style to match. The combat is fun in that you can create your own combos even though you only get four combo sets in the game. the enemies are also punch sponges as in they just want go down easily. i was expecting the combat to be batman arkham city-esque but
    first of all let me say DAT ASS

    ok now for the review. its a pretty cool game with some neat ideas and a very beautiful art style to match. The combat is fun in that you can create your own combos even though you only get four combo sets in the game. the enemies are also punch sponges as in they just want go down easily. i was expecting the combat to be batman arkham city-esque but sadly it doesn't match up at all. its still fun and pretty enjoyable but not great or as fluid as i hoped. another downside is that this amazing city of neo paris is begging to be explored but is hardly exploited at all. i would have love to explored the city in a hub world or something. I like awesome games even if they're linear but this is TOO linear even though the game has a pretty long campaign. that's it. there are no incentives to warrant another playthrough even if it does have a new game plus feature. the best things about this game though are the memory remixes which are truly unique and incredible. basically you play god changing things in these memories to get a different outcome which is fun to watch and figure out. i wish there were more but sadly there are only four. overall it is a good game and i enjoyed. not worth $60 though because of little to no replay value but good for a rent and those who like a good story. i hope it gets a sequel on next gen or something because i would really like to come back to this amazing world.
    Expand
  10. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This is the best game so far in 2013 both story and gameplay is perfect for me.This game could be better if only Console exclusive imo.Nilin is great character both personality and looking,voice acting is superb, music is great (main menu and xmb menu) other musics is okay.The control is perfect for console version,
    I really hope tis game is not gonna milk like AC,COD. This is a
    This is the best game so far in 2013 both story and gameplay is perfect for me.This game could be better if only Console exclusive imo.Nilin is great character both personality and looking,voice acting is superb, music is great (main menu and xmb menu) other musics is okay.The control is perfect for console version,
    I really hope tis game is not gonna milk like AC,COD. This is a masterpiece there is no need sequels.Finally a new game without nudism,XXX scenes,romantic plot and boobfest.This is a true masterpiece.
    Expand
  11. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    A good game and beautiful background music
    Fees are very soft and beautiful
    Fighting close to Batman on ps3+xbox360+wiiu
    The girl in the game are good and climb walls like Lara Craft
  12. Nov 20, 2013
    4
    No maps, not guiding system, not that you need one for every game but this game was frustrating to navigate. Story had promise but in the end was quite bland and character was very stereotypical tough female, nothing likeable about her. The visuals are ok but nothing great and the combat is horrible. Its not an awful game, but painfully average and underdeveloped.
  13. Jan 30, 2014
    5
    The isn't bad, but also isn't great. It is fine. It did what it wanted to do in a decent way. The game is short even if you are targeting platinum on PS3
    The Memory Remix idea is cool. I wished I had few more of those gameplay. Combo crafting system is also nice. I liked it.
    I hated the camera. I always do with this type of games (melee games). Graphics aren't facinating at all. There
    The isn't bad, but also isn't great. It is fine. It did what it wanted to do in a decent way. The game is short even if you are targeting platinum on PS3
    The Memory Remix idea is cool. I wished I had few more of those gameplay. Combo crafting system is also nice. I liked it.
    I hated the camera. I always do with this type of games (melee games). Graphics aren't facinating at all. There was no impressions on character facing. And I had that feeling that all enemy faces are identical.
    I didn't like the idea of copying BioShock story surprise at the end. At some point it was obvious and predictable.

    Finally I played the game as it's part of PSPlus free game library at some point. But I won't recommend to buy the game. Simply because similar games did way better than this one.
    Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    I'm glad I continued through this game. It was a struggle to get into, the initial levels were uninteresting and boring for me, the fights were not challenging and the combo system was awkward.
    However as I progressed out of the slums into Bastille, the game really improved in a visual way - the design became far more futuristic, artistic and interesting, the fights became far more
    I'm glad I continued through this game. It was a struggle to get into, the initial levels were uninteresting and boring for me, the fights were not challenging and the combo system was awkward.
    However as I progressed out of the slums into Bastille, the game really improved in a visual way - the design became far more futuristic, artistic and interesting, the fights became far more exciting and challenging, and the faux 'exploring' wasn't such a big part of the level design.

    As I progressed through Episodes 1-3 I found the game's extremely linear nature and overly-simplistic climbing mechanics to be very off-putting. Coming straight from the Assassin's Creed franchise - with incredible free-running and fluidity, to a button-mashing style type of fighting and extremely on-rails climbing design (jump to the left, to the right, climb vertically up, drop down - every path is highlighted to you with yellow symbols, and 99% of the other routes you would take are blocked by invisible walls) I wanted to stop playing the game immediately. The only hook was the plot, which seemed incredibly interesting and had some depth to it.

    Once in Episode 4 the game becomes far more close-knit, with very simple - yet beautiful - level design,so you 'feel' limited in where you can go. Before Episode 4, as everything is mostly outside, the invisible walls, and closed off gameplay seemed very disappointing There was also far too much climbing around buildings. Where after Episode 3, climbing, exploring, while still present became a hugely reduced gameplay design as the spaces were far smaller visually, which reduced the disappointment of not being able to go through walls (as they were actual walls instead of just invisible boundaries to a visually large open space).

    I still wish the combo building element of the game was slightly better, I found the long combos quite pointless, as it's impossible to fight a single enemy for as long as needed to chain each attack before an incoming fireball or hit comes which has to be dodged. Sometimes you can dodge and land next to another enemy to continue the combo, but more often than not, the enemies are all stood together in a ball and things are still being fired at you, so you will be lucky to get an additional hit or 2 before having to jump out of the ball of enemies and lose the combo. The one part of the combo builder that was interesting, is that I found customizing the short combo and the first halves of the long combos with different types of Pressens allowed me to use one combo for health, one for cool-downs and another for high damage. It's very easy to lose health in this game once you get deeper into the game, so being able to recover some with a few hits of one combo made the huge battles more doable and enjoyable. While some battles will result in you relying on your Sensen moves a lot, so a cool-down combo helped me a lot.
    Really though, the boss fights were the best part of this game for me. Each fight was interesting and different enough to be fun, with great visual designs, and plenty of challenge.

    I liked the few puzzles within the game, I found them a little easier than they could've been. I found the Remembrane parts of the game fine, and thought these could have been incorporated into puzzles more often.
    The music of this game was great, but I found I had to reduce the sound effects just to be able to hear it, the default levels didn't seem to compliment the music well.

    The plot is what really kept me hooked, I found it very interesting, and just wish more time was given to the exploration of what the consequences of the ending would mean before the last Episode. If there was a not-too-cheesy way to cover this in a sequel, which fixed the issues I had above, I'd be all over it.
    Expand
  15. Oct 7, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 7.5 Gameplay: 7.5 Fun: 8 Controls: 8.5 Ease to Learn: 9 Story: 8 Length: 8 Re-play: 6 Audio: 9 Bugs/Glitches: none. Story sometimes got confusing, and gameplay got repetitive and got boring after a while.
  16. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    I have revised my score down to an 7 from a 10. Here's why. Confusing interface for setting up fighting chains. Non-standard, oversimplified save function which caused me to lose about an hour of gameplay. If you could save at will and then see a list of your saved games, as is true in 99.9% of all game titles, this would not have happened. Underuse of the cool memory replay feature. WhatI have revised my score down to an 7 from a 10. Here's why. Confusing interface for setting up fighting chains. Non-standard, oversimplified save function which caused me to lose about an hour of gameplay. If you could save at will and then see a list of your saved games, as is true in 99.9% of all game titles, this would not have happened. Underuse of the cool memory replay feature. What makes this game unique is underused and much more common platforming and fighting is overused. The linearity is too extreme. I don't want a game to highlight the next place I have to run or jump as if I'm playing a tutorial that never ends. Most of all I'm peeved about losing an hour of gameplay. They should put into place a normal save/load feature. Why anyone would not use such a standard feature is incomprehensible to me. I also see that I have already played 18% of the game. Given that I've only been at it for two hours (one of which I now will have to replay thanks to the save/load snafu) that means this is only a 10 hour game. That's not long enough for a full priced game.

    Before I encountered these problems I wrote the below, which is still true, but qualified by the above.

    So far so good. The person who said this is unoriginal compared to Cyberpunk 2077 must be from the future since Cyberpunk 2077 isn't set for release until 2015.

    Remember Me takes place in a dystopian future Paris circa 2084 (a hundred years after 1984, get it?). In this way it's like the movie, Renaissance (which I recommend), except the setting is where the similarity to Renaissance ends; in this game, memories have been downloaded from people and are sold. People are addicted to them. Nice premise.

    The acting is fine, the graphical depiction of futuristic Paris past its prime, and the gameplay (so far reminiscent of Arkham Asylum, Tomb Raider, and Uncharted) has been splendid.

    But the real enjoyment is in manipulating the memories of others to help achieve your goals. That is pretty original and there are many ways to manipulate memories in a way that doesn't work at all, so it is something of a challenge. The mechanism for entering and winding memories backward and forward works very well. This is a significant element of the game and sets it apart.

    The only negative is the poor explanation of how to create combos. I've created a few but am now sure how. That definitely needs to be explained more clearly.
    Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2013
    6
    Remember Me was one of those games I was interested in playing from the beginning. Since I first saw it in an entry in Game Informer, I wanted to play it. Unfortunately, upon receiving the game, I actually felt disappointment, and the reason why is because Remember Me is one of those games that comes so close to being great, but just barely misses the mark.

    The story is by far one of
    Remember Me was one of those games I was interested in playing from the beginning. Since I first saw it in an entry in Game Informer, I wanted to play it. Unfortunately, upon receiving the game, I actually felt disappointment, and the reason why is because Remember Me is one of those games that comes so close to being great, but just barely misses the mark.

    The story is by far one of the more interesting and complex things to grasp in this game. Somehow, in the future, memory has been made manipulable. In the future, painful memories can be deleted, relived, but most importantly remixed. Unfortunately, the head company, Sensen, has used memories to dictate the world. Sensen can use memories to control you or destroy you to turn you into the dreaded creatures known as Leapers. The only ones standing up to Sensen are the Memory Hunters. That is who you are.

    You're Nilin, a memory hunter who was captured and had all of her memories, literally sucked out of her, save for her name. After finding out who you are, you're immediately thrown back into the action, and are tasked with taking down the corporation. The story is one of the aspects of the story I'm on the fence on. The story keeps you interested throughout, but fails to deliver any shocking twists. Also, getting Nilin's memories sucked out of her seems like a pivotal point of the story, but is immediately thrown out the window when she's told who she is and what she does for a living five minutes later. There was one awe aspiring moment that stuck with me, but other than that I wasn't impressed.

    The best aspect of this game is the graphics. They're topnotch, with well detailed characters and careful use of color to make something as simple as a doctor's lab coat pop. Everything from the broken down slums to the Skyscrapers is beautifully done.

    The best part of gameplay is when you get to remix memories. Remixing memories is going into a specific memory of an individual to manipulate the events of the memories in slight ways which lead to a different memory altogether. These were well done, and made remixing the memories more of a puzzle, instead of a follow the directions kind of event. Luckily, the game doesn't stop you if you choose the wrong item. Instead, it allows you to see what exactly you're chosen manipulations lead to. Remixing the memory shows a great change in attitude, as well as grief over a memory that technically never happened. This shows a great amount of care thrown into these remixes, which only makes it all the more depressing that they only showed up four times in the story.

    Now, is the saddest part of Remember Me; the combat. It's loosely based on the Batman Arkham series, allowing you to fly from enemy to enemy, see incoming attacks, and vault over enemies to avoid them. However, this is where the concept is flawed. The combat is based on a combo type system, with the strongest part of the combo usually at the end. However, the combo can only be continued on one enemy, so if another enemy comes to hit you, your only option is to vault over the enemy you're attacking, and then continue the combo. This is hindered by three flaws. First is that Nilin is surprisingly slow in combat, so her evade isn't responsive, leaving you to take a hit because Nilin didn't react fast enough. Second, if you do manage to make Nilin evade, the combo will only continue if Nilin vaults over her enemy. Half of the time, Nilin will simply perform a dodge roll, even if you moved your analog stick directly toward your enemy. Lastly, after you perform a vault, you have to continue hitting the same enemy you were before, but, Nilin rarely hits the same enemy, even if you're moving pointing your joystick directly at him. This is only added by the consistent attacks from enemies, causing you to only get one hit before you have to evade again, which isn't very easy because of the before mentioned flaws. This ultimately leaves you with a lot of unfinished combos, making combat a chore.

    Next is the enemies. Leapers are extremely annoying because they leap on walls then jump down to attack you. However, the prompt for their attack doesn't stick out, causing you take an unexpected hit multiple times. You can shoot them down, but this just leaves you open for attack for ground enemies and takes way too long. Also, the electric armored enemies are a burden. The only way to take these guys down effectively is with two specials. After use they have a recharge time of over a minute. Attacking with bare fists causes damage, but sometimes that is the only way to take down two enemies, ultimately leaving you with low health.

    In a nutshell, Remember Me is a flawed experience with a few good ideas and moments in the otherwise lackluster story, has great graphics, but an almost broken form of combat. Because of it, Remember Me ends up being a game with great ideas, but overall a consistently frustrating and aggravating experience.
    Expand
  18. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    WOW. Most amazing game. So deep and emotional. Big Kudos to the developers. This game is a real piece of art and will be remembered forever.

    The mechanics could need some work, that is true. But if the outcome is this impressive I don't care for a little clumsiness.

    It's such a shame that the usual reviewer seems to be to stupid to 'get' this game. This is an instant classic.
  19. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    A game of remarkable beauty, intriguing storyline, and so much potential just crushed by its own boring gameplay. This game is definitely worth the playthru, but sadly doesn't live up to the level of expectations it easily could have. Emphasizing the games uniqueness such as memory remixing, deep storytelling, or exploring of their vast, stunning, gritty world would have made this gem aA game of remarkable beauty, intriguing storyline, and so much potential just crushed by its own boring gameplay. This game is definitely worth the playthru, but sadly doesn't live up to the level of expectations it easily could have. Emphasizing the games uniqueness such as memory remixing, deep storytelling, or exploring of their vast, stunning, gritty world would have made this gem a diamond. Instead, because of the stale fisticuffs gameplay that has been tried a billion times before, and an emphasis on forcing players to travel through linear corridors like Final Fantasy XIII, you have a scuffed piece of silver: still nice to look at, but nothing special.

    All it needed was a little polish and a little extra care to go that extra mile and be truly unique. This, sadly, was not given.
    Expand
  20. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    The game is okay, it is pretty boring to be such a famous title. It could get better. Trust me, I am a fan of these kind of games, so it is not dead at all.
  21. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    blurp this game sucks first of its short its not worth 60 or 50 or even 40 the combat is meh it can be fun with the combo system that you first need to learn. between combat you are platforming an this sucks its like cool combat than platforming kil platform kill platform boring story and kill platform kil. bosses are meh nothing special. the details in the lineare city of neo paris areblurp this game sucks first of its short its not worth 60 or 50 or even 40 the combat is meh it can be fun with the combo system that you first need to learn. between combat you are platforming an this sucks its like cool combat than platforming kil platform kill platform boring story and kill platform kil. bosses are meh nothing special. the details in the lineare city of neo paris are great but you can explore nothing of it
    this game is not worth buying i got this with ps+ so its free but stil this is not a 50 dollar game
    Expand
  22. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    AMAZING! I don't care what these reviewers say, this is an awesome game! Gorgeous graphics, good action, great music, and just a lot of fun. I say buy it. If you're a fan of Ghost in The Shell, this is a must have. Pick up the game and download the soundtrack from itunes. It is worth every penny!
  23. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Anyone remember an old Playstation 1 game called Oni? It featured a female "cyberterrorist" fighting waves of enemies with specified fighting and shooting moves, in a futuristic (but very sterile) setting. I kept thinking of that old title while playing Remember Me. Granted, the gameplay is more advanced and the selection of your combo buttons adds great variety. And, the graphic detailsAnyone remember an old Playstation 1 game called Oni? It featured a female "cyberterrorist" fighting waves of enemies with specified fighting and shooting moves, in a futuristic (but very sterile) setting. I kept thinking of that old title while playing Remember Me. Granted, the gameplay is more advanced and the selection of your combo buttons adds great variety. And, the graphic details of Neo-Paris are among the most beautiful I've seen on the 'ol PS3. But I got a sense of deja vu (in a game centered around memories?...hmmm...) in the climbing and scripted elements ala Uncharted, the fighting similar to Batman and Sleeping Dogs, the boss fights, etc. The unique timeshift feature does stand out, and any game nowadays that isn't a sequel gets an extra point (sad that we have to applaud originality, like it's some rare occurence). So, a good to very good game that comes short of being great to excellent. Expand
  24. Feb 20, 2014
    2
    Two word review: Depressingly Linear.

    More than two word review: The game is quite pretty. There's lots of eye candy, especially in the environmental design. Nearly all of the game's levels look unique and polished to perfection. But a good looking game is not necessarily fun to play, and that's where the game falls short. To start, the cutscenes are unskippable. I really
    Two word review: Depressingly Linear.

    More than two word review:

    The game is quite pretty. There's lots of eye candy, especially in the environmental design. Nearly all of the game's levels look unique and polished to perfection. But a good looking game is not necessarily fun to play, and that's where the game falls short.

    To start, the cutscenes are unskippable. I really shouldn't have to go into detail as to why this is a big deal. It's been stated and re-stated by players everywhere. Modern developers should not be making mistakes like this.

    Second, the combat is entirely unsatisfying. I once read a review by Yahtzee Croshaw that talked about Fruit Ninja and what made it so fun. He said:

    "There's the streak of the blade, a splatter animation, a juicy sound effect, a lingering juice decal on the backboard, the two spent halves dropping out of sight ... they all fire off together in such a brief moment you don't even acknowledge them, but you'd notice if any of them were to go away. Oh yes. They're what make it fun."

    A lot of those effects are missing from the combat in Remember Me. When you press the punch button, LinLin, or whatever her name is, lunges forward awkwardly. That's it. The enemy who was attacked barely moves. The sound of the impact is drowned out by the ambient noise. You may as well have spit on him. Compare this to Arkham City, where the every broken bone and blackened eye is sounded off beautifully, and punches can stagger enemies or send them flying. A lot of the fun of the combat comes from the feeling that you're accomplishing something with every button press. Remember Me's combat fails to do this.

    But then there's the combo customization, one of the game's gimmicks. The concept sounds cool, right? Mix and match punches and kicks in any way you want? Too bad that's not what the game actually features. Actual player input as far as what move is used and when is minimal. Opening moves are unchangeable. Button triggers are unchangeable. Combo length and animations used are unchangeable. What you can change is whether you'll heal or reduce ability cooldowns when a punch hits. Assuming you've progressed far enough down the line that the developers let you "unlock" it, of course. Basically, the gimmick is at best, a misleading truth, and at worst, a blatant lie. No customization to be found here, move along.

    Finally, and worst of all, the game has some of the most depressingly linear gameplay I've ever seen. Remember A Link to the Past? How at the very beginning of the game you couldn't go some places because you weren't armed and hadn't found your uncle yet? But then after the basement dungeon, you could pretty much go anywhere, with more and more of the already huge world (and later, worlds) opening up to you? Remember Me is basically one long intro level. The whole game is littered with unclimbable walls, unopenable doors, and people who you can't talk to. It's basically a walking forward simulator, with some climbey bits thrown in as a thin disguise. I even got to one point in the game where I could clearly see an arrangement of bricks that could be climbed on to reach my goal, but because they weren't the one arrangement of bricks the developers chose to be part of the single path, I couldn't do anything with them.

    The game's story is decent, and the music is decent as well, but really, this game has two outstanding qualities: that it looks great and that it plays like rubbish. Its high scores are a testament to the shallowness of the gaming community.
    Expand
  25. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    I don't have much to ass that hasn't been said. It's VERY pretty, the concept is great, and I SO wanted to get into the world.

    Unfortunately, it's far too linear, holds your hand WAY too much, and doesn't let you explore that mazing world that's been setup.

    GREAT concept...poor execution.
  26. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    What the game does right is the start of the story. Interesting beginning, fun combat and quick first memory change. You think the game is gonna be great well not really. Combat after a while gets boring.For my playthroug the first two combos I've made at the beginning where the same till' the end. What's the point of having so many possibilities if what you chose at the start will get youWhat the game does right is the start of the story. Interesting beginning, fun combat and quick first memory change. You think the game is gonna be great well not really. Combat after a while gets boring.For my playthroug the first two combos I've made at the beginning where the same till' the end. What's the point of having so many possibilities if what you chose at the start will get you to the end?
    Boss fights are ok'ish. The last boss is a bit disappointing to easy to fast on medium.
    The cyberpunk setting and graphic style was what I liked.
    If it had an open world, maybe some side quest it would have been a good game. Not worth full price. If you can get a used one for less then 6£ then try it out.
    Expand
  27. Jun 5, 2013
    6
    Ima sci-fi fan. I'm perfectly fine with my purchase, even if the game isn't the greatest. It's a linear platformer, with some interesting sci-fi concepts. The story is convoluted and apparently dystopian France is filled with cliche American NPCs. Capcom's influence is heavy handed and really makes you wonder just how much of Dontnod's original vision survived. But whatever, the game isIma sci-fi fan. I'm perfectly fine with my purchase, even if the game isn't the greatest. It's a linear platformer, with some interesting sci-fi concepts. The story is convoluted and apparently dystopian France is filled with cliche American NPCs. Capcom's influence is heavy handed and really makes you wonder just how much of Dontnod's original vision survived. But whatever, the game is lucky to exist at all. The combat is fun at times but it's also a chore. I do like this game, I'm just trying to be honest. Expand
  28. Nov 27, 2014
    10
    Put it in french and it's a cult classic.

    The visual and audio presentation is amazing, the story is amazing and the fighting is amazing.

    It feels like a kung fu movie where you direct the action and decide the attacks.

    It's a ten
  29. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    Repetitive but rewarding, Remember Me contains an amazing story, amazing visuals and sound track, which makes this game to be a big surprise, in a good way.
  30. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Well this game was very disappointing. Graphic are great, music is fine as well.

    The bad, Story is full of broken plot holes and dumb twists that don't make sense. Character and voice acting are very bad and make you cringe throughout. Combat system in terrible, if you don't add damage to a combo button you cant kill anything, you will just heal or decrease a timer and beat down for
    Well this game was very disappointing. Graphic are great, music is fine as well.

    The bad, Story is full of broken plot holes and dumb twists that don't make sense. Character and voice acting are very bad and make you cringe throughout. Combat system in terrible, if you don't add damage to a combo button you cant kill anything, you will just heal or decrease a timer and beat down for ever.
    The platforming are highly glitchy. The maps are dull. Don't buy.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    60
    For a first time developer, Remember Me appears highly ambitious. And while it’s got some neat ideas it never quite does anything substantial with them, instead providing an enjoyable, if forgettable experience.
  2. Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    50
    A mess of interesting ideas inexpertly implemented, resulting in a horribly generic action game that fails to live up to its promise. [Aug 2013, p.68]