Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 358 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The setting is Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last remnants of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what seems to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the turn of the 21st century. The citizens have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a few people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to infiltrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    93
    As the credits roll on this 11 hour journey, I’m pleasantly surprised to see such a great title come out of a brand new studio. The team at DONTNOD Entertainment have brought something unique to the table, giving us not only beautiful graphics and incredible sound, but also a new combat approach wrapped around a very engaging storyline.
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    74
    The least interesting bits make up the bulk. Still, Remember Me's world is hard to forget. [Aug 2013, p.63]
  5. 70
    Remember Me is a good game, with several good ideas, but unfortunately these ideas have little ambition.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    69
    Remember Me aims high but sadly falls well shy of the intended goal.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    50
    As it stands, Remember Me is a series of mediocre gameplay ideas stapled to a pretty, hollow shell.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 94
  2. Negative: 9 out of 94
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of
    the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Most under rated game in a LOOOOOOOONG time... It is very disappointing to see so many people hating on a game that at least tries to innovate. How many AAA new IPs do you expect to see if you treat the ones that do come out like this? Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    If you play games because you want to be immersed in a world, then you cannot miss this one. Visually It is absolutely incredible. It's strengths far outweigh its weaknesses. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    The game has solid graphics, good sound and voice acting, and a fresh setting. The futuristic version of Paris looks at times stunning, however, there are al lot of similar hallways and rooms you encounter during your journey which dampen the overall looks. The story is interesting with a couple of twists and the memory-remixing sections are pretty cool. The combat and its combo-creating idea is not bad, but it is not perfectly executed. The enemies require too much hits to take down and the animations are not as smooth as for example in Assassin's Creed. Nevertheless, this is a very good game which should be played by anyone who is looking for a new experience apart from all the modern shooters and action games. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    Very cool, very sexy game. Lovely hero and setting. The Neo Paris of 2084 is gorgeous (it's a shame we don't get to explore it though). Remember Me is a very (VERY) linear game with a fake idea of liberty. You never choose your path, it's always predetermined (with an occasional turn here and there just to pick up collectibles). The graphics are beautiful (though not the best this generation has seen) and the soundtrack is very atmospheric. The memory mix mini-game is very original too. It has a Blade Runner feel to me with the slums built around skyscrapers and stores with information shown on digital ads. Actually, this is a very nice game. My only complaint about it is about fighting. It's a CHORE... they should have double checked the fighting in this game before releasing it... it really doesn't fit. Especially when you face enemies that hurt you if you touch them. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    I will admit I was excited for this game. I felt it would have been a create mix between Assassin's Creed (for the climbing and going after high valued targets seemed to be indicative of this), Batman Arkham Asylum/City (the fighting style seemed to resemble this), and Deus Ex: Human Revolution (for the futuristic aspect and the environment interaction with the HUD).Before I begin into the negatives of this game, let me point to some of the more positive of the game.

    -The voice acting is wonderful. Whenever the first cut scene played, it truly bought into the story of the three people who told the viewer of how wonderful the memory technology was and the elderly woman's story and voice acting made me feel as if that was a real person.
    -The story created a desire for me to go forward and find out what was around the corner. Although the names Capcom gives some of their characters breaks the illusion of this game being a game about survival, sabotage, kickin' in faces, and being public enemy number one.
    -Being able to create your own combos was such an interesting ideal that it warrants being a positive; however, the execution was a bit underwhelming.
    -Remixing memories was such an enjoyable trail-and-error aspect.

    Now that I have got that out of the way. Here are some of the things I felt (and you may feel) made the game lesser than what it could have been.

    -It leads you by the hand... Forcibly. I played on the hardest difficulty (Memory Hunter) and was still bombarded with an icon that tells me where to go when I am climbing with no discernible way to turn this off. It is as if it did not even trust you find your way, to make your own mistakes when climbing to a location, or Capcom felt that did not do a good enough job on some of the camera angles that they felt that it would be necessary to put an icon at every ledge you should go to.
    -Do you like the thrill of exploring (even in linear games) and finding upgrades for yourself? It is as if the game thinks you have around two brains cells and gives you an image of where an upgrade (for health and focus) is NEARBY. I can understand that they wanted to stick with the whole memory idea and this was another way of introducing their idea, but if you are anything like me, I prefer to make my own mistakes and explore to find collectibles without assistance even if I look in some of the most inane spots to achieve this, you will not enjoy this feature.An apt comparison is Metro Last Light. It took me 12 hours to beat a 7 to 8 hour game because the game created a desire for me to go an explore. I saw buildings in the distance or rooms away from where my OPTIONAL objective locator told me was the right way to go and thought to myself "Is ammo in there? What about another weapon? Journal entry?"
    -I would have loved for an OPTIONAL breadcumb device like in Dead Space to show me where I should be going beyond climbing up. In Dead Space and Metro games bringing up that device caused me to want to explore. I would see "Hey, I need to go here. There is a strong chance that I might not be able to return to this area, so let me explore the other doors." However, in Remember Me, the game although forcibly shows you where to go when climbing, it does not allow to check where your current objective is. There has been multiple times where I have forgone exploring another doorway because I thought it may be where I should go. Turns out it was not and whenever I went through the other doorway, I could not return to the previous location.

    The game was alright, but not worth the $50. I would really wait until the game is on sale.
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    0
    Remember Me brings in a a lot of new and innovative ideas, but unfortunately those new concepts and ideas take up about 5% of the actual gameplay. The majority of your time spend playing this game will be spent in one of two modes. Either you will be leaping from ledge to ledge for 45 minutes like Prince of Persia without any action scenes, or you will be in the action scenes, in which case you will be spending 45 minutes fighting using what essentially feels like the Batman combat system, only before it was ever beta tested and ironed out.

    The shining, unique, and engaging parts of this game are so few and far between that it becomes a chore to muscle through all of the other experiences of the game, most of which you have seen a better version done elsewhere.

    It's all really another rather unimpressive installment in the Square Enix name.
    Expand

See all 94 User Reviews