Remember Me PlayStation 3

Remember Me Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 408 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The setting is Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last remnants of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what seems to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the turn of the 21st century. The citizens haveThe setting is Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last remnants of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what seems to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the turn of the 21st century. The citizens have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a few people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to infiltrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Jun 2, 2013
    93
    As the credits roll on this 11 hour journey, I’m pleasantly surprised to see such a great title come out of a brand new studio. The team at DONTNOD Entertainment have brought something unique to the table, giving us not only beautiful graphics and incredible sound, but also a new combat approach wrapped around a very engaging storyline.
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    80
    Moments like convincing a police officer to commit suicide because you made him think he murdered his girlfriend prove that Remember Me belongs in the top league of video games. Too bad that Dontnod does not fully capitalize on these moments by limiting your options when remixing memories. [July 2013, p.86]
  4. Games Master UK
    Jun 26, 2013
    74
    The least interesting bits make up the bulk. Still, Remember Me's world is hard to forget. [Aug 2013, p.63]
  5. 70
    Remember Me is a good game, with several good ideas, but unfortunately these ideas have little ambition.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    69
    Remember Me aims high but sadly falls well shy of the intended goal.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    50
    As it stands, Remember Me is a series of mediocre gameplay ideas stapled to a pretty, hollow shell.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 104
  2. Negative: 10 out of 104
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain 10 because of graffiti everywhere 10 because of
    10 because is art
    10 because is cyberpunk
    10 because of the lights and darkness and rain
    10 because of graffiti everywhere
    10 because of the innovations in gameplay
    10 because we have to support indy games
    Interactive movie from a great director!
    You need to exprerience it
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Most under rated game in a LOOOOOOOONG time... It is very disappointing to see so many people hating on a game that at least tries toMost under rated game in a LOOOOOOOONG time... It is very disappointing to see so many people hating on a game that at least tries to innovate. How many AAA new IPs do you expect to see if you treat the ones that do come out like this? Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game truly is amazing. The graphics look like next generation. The character is very interesting and immediately draws the player into theThe game truly is amazing. The graphics look like next generation. The character is very interesting and immediately draws the player into the game. The backgrounds are amazing and playing the memory parts are fun as well. The control can be frustrating, but there really is nothing like his game. It's gameplay is based on combos and jumping as well as climbing. The game is a lot of fun and gamers will enjoy it. The game story is like Inception, THX-1138, and the game Mirror's Edge as far as jumping and climbing with lots of combo action. I highly recommend this title. The price has dropped significantly. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    remember me is a game that play's very well. And every sci-fi fan should play it. The story keeps you going till the end of the game andremember me is a game that play's very well. And every sci-fi fan should play it. The story keeps you going till the end of the game and dosent make You tired. The combo system is Fun and tactical. Remember me is a great new game which offers a good story, a rare to find combat system, boss fights, action and graphics. I was lookin out to this game the same way after playing the demo for mass effect 2. I wanted to know what happens next! Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Anyone remember an old Playstation 1 game called Oni? It featured a female "cyberterrorist" fighting waves of enemies with specified fightingAnyone remember an old Playstation 1 game called Oni? It featured a female "cyberterrorist" fighting waves of enemies with specified fighting and shooting moves, in a futuristic (but very sterile) setting. I kept thinking of that old title while playing Remember Me. Granted, the gameplay is more advanced and the selection of your combo buttons adds great variety. And, the graphic details of Neo-Paris are among the most beautiful I've seen on the 'ol PS3. But I got a sense of deja vu (in a game centered around memories?...hmmm...) in the climbing and scripted elements ala Uncharted, the fighting similar to Batman and Sleeping Dogs, the boss fights, etc. The unique timeshift feature does stand out, and any game nowadays that isn't a sequel gets an extra point (sad that we have to applaud originality, like it's some rare occurence). So, a good to very good game that comes short of being great to excellent. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2015
    6
    I recently bought this game because I liked the look of it and because I thought that it must be better than the score the critics have givenI recently bought this game because I liked the look of it and because I thought that it must be better than the score the critics have given it (I enjoy discovering underated gems) but I've just struggled to keep playing this to the end of episode 6 and I've had enough now, I can't suffer the fighting anymore. The astounding graphics and the cyberpunk theme are right up my street and this was driving me through the game but eventually the types of enemies, the ridiculously lengthy cooldown periods of the S-Pressen fighting moves and the shutting off of the level behind you as you move through the checkpoints ultimately killed the game for me. Why would the developers think that I would enjoy fighting multiple invisible enemies that only became visible when illuminated by an unreliable spotlight in the corner of a room, or force-field clad guys who duplicate the damage you inflict on them back to you. The game gives you the tools to deal with these enemies (S-Pressens) but then largely neuters them with 3 minute waits between uses. Ultimately fighting boils down to endlessly cartwheeling around the screen trying to find an isolated enemy that you can hit to reduce the cooldown of the S-Pressen that you want to use and then you use it and then you repeat the process.

    Finding all of the items hidden throughout the levels is important because they're either required to enhance your abilities (lengthen health and focus bars) or they add entries to your journal documenting everything within the game but if you reach a point within a level where there are multiple routes to explore and you take the main story route and reach the next checkpoint then a barrier is closed behind you or a ledge becomes unclimable barring you from returning to explore the unvisited areas where the hidden items are located forcing you to replay the entire level again. The episodes get longer and harder and contain more hidden items as you progress and I couldn't tolerate replaying any episode further than episode 3 so ultimately this results in an ever increasing accummulation of missing important items that really starts to frustrate. I tried playing it with a visual walkthrough open on my PC connected to the same monitor as my PS3 and switching back and forth between the two but it doesn't stop you missing items because you can still accidentally trigger the next waypoint which shuts off the level behind you and continuously switching in and out of the game ruins the atmosphere and immersion.

    Episode 6 introduced the concept of withdrawing the energy from of a mechanism and injecting it into others to activate them but there became a lot of these and some required activating through glass so you had to look through all the windows and glass doors just in case there was a mechanism somewhere which I felt got in the way of what I wanted to get from the game.

    I didn't particularly like the memory remixes either because it required rewinding a scene over and over changing something and then changing something else and then changing multiple items and so on.

    I think that the critical score that this game received is too generous. I think that it's far too punishing to the player to warrant a score in the 70s. I feel for the developers because this is a thing of beauty and I was reminded of Blade Runner a few times whilst playing it which I really love. I don't know what happened to this game but they created something very special and then added many irritating things to it and I feel sad about that.
    Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    This game is It is incredibly liner and the game play is exactly like enslaved. Today i bought it for £20 and tomorrow im getting rid of it.This game is It is incredibly liner and the game play is exactly like enslaved. Today i bought it for £20 and tomorrow im getting rid of it. Worst game i have ever played! Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers