User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 193

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    not even HD! This is not a good game and its just upscaled. WOO. Another way for capcom to make more money. So not worth it. Do we see the REAL games in need of getting a hd rerelease get one like RE:outbreak,RE2, and RE3? No? Then why does this game with OK graphics allready get one? I dont get it.
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. BuyOverrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    When Resident Evil 4 first released back 2005, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was ok part just thanks to Ada Scenes along with Wesker Scenes,
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 6/10
    Total: 7/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  4. Oct 24, 2015
    3
    I loved RE4 when it first came out on gamecube. i still have my copy in fact. but this supposed "HD" port is just crap. the graphics aren't much better then the gamecube version is... in fact, if you use an S-video to connect your gamecube to a TV, then the gamcube version of RE looks exactly the same as this "HD" port, beyond the un-updated graphics however, is the other even worseI loved RE4 when it first came out on gamecube. i still have my copy in fact. but this supposed "HD" port is just crap. the graphics aren't much better then the gamecube version is... in fact, if you use an S-video to connect your gamecube to a TV, then the gamcube version of RE looks exactly the same as this "HD" port, beyond the un-updated graphics however, is the other even worse problems... t Leon's aim of the laser pointer on his guns is jittery, like leon downed a case of redbull before he started his rescue mission and it's waaaaay to hard to get through.. i completed RE4 on gamecube on all the difficulty settings with no problem but this port has no ability to choose your difficulty like the original did. The japanese version has the difficulty options still but Capcom USA removed them from the US version for untold , probably dumb reasons and has made the game unplayable. The unnamed default difficulty must be Hard mode, cause even for an RE veteran ,like myself, i couldn't even get past the village part where you first encounter the large group of infect spanish villagers after using your binoculars..(the part where the chainsaw guy can be encountered if you go into the wrong building).. i gave up after dying 5 time in a row because it was too frustrating. i can't recommend skipping this game enough. .you wanna play RE4, get the gamecube version instead. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    80
    This is Resi at its peak. Shame that it's a straight port, though. [Dec 2011, p81]
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    93
    Still brilliant. [Issue#210, p.99]
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    82
    This game is still one of the best games ever. Scary, memorable and revolutionary. Therefore it's a shame that the HD in the title doesn't at all translate itself into a noticeable graphical upgrade.