User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 193

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    I'm a huge fan of RE4. But I must say I was expecting a little more from CAPCOM. The game looks, feels and plays great (just like it did back in its time) but I really don't see a major visual overhaul. Sometimes, it feels like I'm playing the old PS2 version. So, in my opinion, if you have the original RE4 and a PS3 with backwards capability, there's no need to download this one.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    It's pretty much just the original version, which will stand the test of time for sure, but this just seemed too underdeveloped to even be considered a re-release.
  3. Aug 18, 2016
    7
    This video game is a great RPG game witch includes some fun horror. The graphic's didn't really improve, but does that really matter? No! (well, kinda). But what really matters is that its fun!
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    If you've played RE4 before then you basically know what to expect here. It's a decent port of what was a great game. I say port because that's exactly what it is...it's a version of RE4 emulated to run on current gen hardware...it's not very 'HD' as the title would suggest. That's not really a bad thing though as this was one of the best looking games from last gen, so even with basicIf you've played RE4 before then you basically know what to expect here. It's a decent port of what was a great game. I say port because that's exactly what it is...it's a version of RE4 emulated to run on current gen hardware...it's not very 'HD' as the title would suggest. That's not really a bad thing though as this was one of the best looking games from last gen, so even with basic hardware smoothing the game looks pretty good in most places. It's nice to see how the game was intended to look when it originally came out. On the down side there is no move support which I was actually disappointed with as I thought that was one of the things the PS3 version was supposed to get. I played the Wii version and actually found for once the motion controls were better than with a standard controller...point & click aiming was a breeze. The fact they didn't include this just makes this feel like even more of a rushed port. Lastly I do find the price is a bit high. $20 asking price for something that has already been released on so many platforms just seems like a huge cash-in attempt. $10 might have been too low but $15 would have been better. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    Das Spiel ist wesentlich länger als vermutet. Habe zum durchzocken knappe 15 Stunden gebraucht und wurde durchweg relativ gut unterhalten, nicht zuletzt wegen der Aufrüst-Motivation im Shop. Das typische Survival Horror Feeling ist allerdings fast nicht mehr vorhanden. Es gibt nurnoch ganz wenige Stellen wo es einen gruselt wie z.B. die Stellen mit den Viechern die nur mit Infrarot-SensorDas Spiel ist wesentlich länger als vermutet. Habe zum durchzocken knappe 15 Stunden gebraucht und wurde durchweg relativ gut unterhalten, nicht zuletzt wegen der Aufrüst-Motivation im Shop. Das typische Survival Horror Feeling ist allerdings fast nicht mehr vorhanden. Es gibt nurnoch ganz wenige Stellen wo es einen gruselt wie z.B. die Stellen mit den Viechern die nur mit Infrarot-Sensor auf dem Sturmgewehr zu besiegen sind. Ansonsten ist das ganze Spiel durch und durch ein Actionspiel mit zäher Steuerung. Im großen und ganzen ist Resi 4 kein schlechtes Spiel denn Abwechslung ist geboten, obwohl ich mir mehr Horror und weniger Action gewünscht hätte, finde es wurde von der Presse dennoch ziemlich überbewertet. Es wundert mich nicht, dass Capcom gerade ratlos verusucht zu analysieren, warum Resi6 so zerrissen wurde wo es sich doch nur unwesentlich von Resi 4 und 5 unterscheidet. Für das nächste Resi wünsche ich mir aufjedenfall den Schritt zurück zu den Wurzeln. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    80
    This is Resi at its peak. Shame that it's a straight port, though. [Dec 2011, p81]
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    93
    Still brilliant. [Issue#210, p.99]
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    82
    This game is still one of the best games ever. Scary, memorable and revolutionary. Therefore it's a shame that the HD in the title doesn't at all translate itself into a noticeable graphical upgrade.