User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 199

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Notice the HD in the title. Forget it was ever there, and if you actually buy this game, that's quite easy to do. Regardless of the graphics having little to no improvement (It's hard to tell actually) , this port of Resident Evil 4 is just as grand as the original was back in its lifetime. It's the same enjoyable horror game and arguably, "one of the greatest games of all time." AlthoughNotice the HD in the title. Forget it was ever there, and if you actually buy this game, that's quite easy to do. Regardless of the graphics having little to no improvement (It's hard to tell actually) , this port of Resident Evil 4 is just as grand as the original was back in its lifetime. It's the same enjoyable horror game and arguably, "one of the greatest games of all time." Although that statement is subjective, RE4 has shown the quality to make me agree. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Resident Evil 4 é na minha opinião o melhor jogo da franquia e um dos melhores jogos que já joguei,esqueça os gráficos,este jogo é da geração passada,um jogo não é feito apenas de gráficos,RE4 é muito mais que isso,Leon esta em seu auge,personagem muito(Translate from Portuguese into English)Resident Evil 4 é na minha opinião o melhor jogo da franquia e um dos melhores jogos que já joguei,esqueça os gráficos,este jogo é da geração passada,um jogo não é feito apenas de gráficos,RE4 é muito mais que isso,Leon esta em seu auge,personagem muito carismático,meu personagem preferido da franquia e o de muitos fãs também,só o final que não é tão bom,Jack Krauser foi muito mais desafiador do que o Osmund Saddler,mesmo assim é um dos jogos que mais vezes zerei até hoje,esta entre os melhores já criados. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    It is the same game that I played and loved, some people expect a little to much out of these HD collections. Yes, the developer does it for a quick buck, they are in the business to make money after all. It is not a remake, Tomb Raider Anniversary is a Remake! It is a re-textured and up-scaled version of the original and it looks great.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    This is one of my favorite games of all time and this HD remix does an admirable job of bringing this classic title to modern consoles. I was a little disappointed that Move controllers were not incorporated since it seems this would have been relatively easy to do with a Wii version already available. The HD graphics certainly won't blow you away, but they are a marked improvement overThis is one of my favorite games of all time and this HD remix does an admirable job of bringing this classic title to modern consoles. I was a little disappointed that Move controllers were not incorporated since it seems this would have been relatively easy to do with a Wii version already available. The HD graphics certainly won't blow you away, but they are a marked improvement over the original Gamecube and PS2 versions (both of which I have). I got this with the Playstation Plus discount and that makes it a particularly great value. The only reason I've deducted a few points is the graphics aren't quite up to modern standards and the controls feel particularly loose and twitchy. Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    The "HD" part of the game looks like a DVD with an HDMI cord... Also, I think this is a problem for all PSN games: 1. No platinum trophy 2. Not enough trophies... You can get 100% in two playthroughs... The game is good, this port is not....
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This is the same incredible game that changed the way we play TPS and everyone knows, I only bought the GC version 6 six years ago so this edition was a good deal, the HD graphics (which they're not really HD, although mostly everything looks better than before) and the extra content.

    So this lazy HD(up scaled) port has the same intense action and is really enjoyable, but as an overall
    This is the same incredible game that changed the way we play TPS and everyone knows, I only bought the GC version 6 six years ago so this edition was a good deal, the HD graphics (which they're not really HD, although mostly everything looks better than before) and the extra content.

    So this lazy HD(up scaled) port has the same intense action and is really enjoyable, but as an overall product is not that great, is an 9.5 game in a 7 package, so this is why I gave it a 8; the poor port(the cut scenes of separate ways look horrible and overall looks bad comparing it with other HD ports like MGS or Team Ico), the lack of any extra content(the ps2 extras are good but no enough) and the price (19.99 dls really?) prevent this port to be the ultimate version... maybe in 2 years we see the HD HD remake
    Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2016
    8
    Made me glad I waited 10 years to play on from the lake area and overcome the rest of the game. The performance on PS3 is impossible to complain about, the gameplay shines through without obstructions. Even in 2016, it is hard to find an action game with as many ideas as RE4. Pretty much each room presents an idea or a specific challenge, whereas many other games will have one idea perMade me glad I waited 10 years to play on from the lake area and overcome the rest of the game. The performance on PS3 is impossible to complain about, the gameplay shines through without obstructions. Even in 2016, it is hard to find an action game with as many ideas as RE4. Pretty much each room presents an idea or a specific challenge, whereas many other games will have one idea per level and slightly change up the idea. With RE4 there's no boring expectation of the next challenge, and there's so much change that higher difficulties are equally unpredictable on the second playthrough. Expand
  9. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It has great graphics and the weapons look and sound gorgeous. It brought the series of resident evil in a good direction with new aiming mechanics and camera view. It has lots of replay value. If u love survival horror buy this game. You will love it.
  10. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This game is Fantastic. Takes all the great elements of the Resident Evil series, but actually puts you behind the character and changes the crazy controls the first three had. Story and game play are terrific.
  11. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Like I said Resident Evil 2 and 4 are tied for the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Do I care that it's not in "HD" no I don't. Whoever thinks this game isn't worth it, they either have mental problems or I don't know what the flaws are in this game. This game is graphically good. Leaves your adrenaline flowing and so many questions pop in your head while playing this game. The bossesLike I said Resident Evil 2 and 4 are tied for the best in the Resident Evil franchise. Do I care that it's not in "HD" no I don't. Whoever thinks this game isn't worth it, they either have mental problems or I don't know what the flaws are in this game. This game is graphically good. Leaves your adrenaline flowing and so many questions pop in your head while playing this game. The bosses are good. They're are may bosses to get through, but Sadler is your main guy to be after. Everyone should know that an RPG takes a boss out in one hit, but if you want to be legit in my opinion, don't do that. That literally ruins the game in my opinion if you just do that. Ashley Graham. Most annoying thing ever in this game. She always gets kidnapped or trapped, but that's what keeps the game going. I mean it's predictable to when she's going to get kidnapped, but I still enjoy it. Only thing I hate in this game is the puzzles! I suck so bad at puzzles. I will literally sit there and just quit sometimes haha. I like how you have the setting is in every chapter. Even the sub chapters are awesome. I also like how you get to play as Ada when you beat the game, and the Chicago typewriter is spectacular! Leon Kennedy has shown you that he was matured and packed on a lot of muscle and just when you think he has seen everything, he hasn't, especially towards chapters 2-3 to the end basically. This game deserves to be higher than what users are giving this game. I love this game. Graphics are great. Gameplay is fantastic. Characters are genius Ashley. She's really stupid and annoying. I like how you could upgrade your weapons and brief case. That was a major plus in the game. Love the merchant. The way the story was set up was just flawless in my opinion. Expand
  12. Feb 7, 2015
    9
    Resident Evil 4 has one hell of a legacy behind it. Often considered to be the best of the whole franchise and being credited as one of the third person shooters that revolutionized the whole genre, RE4 has some serious hype behind it, and after playing it for the first time ever nearly a decade after it came out, it's clear to me why this game is so famous.

    The game stars Resident
    Resident Evil 4 has one hell of a legacy behind it. Often considered to be the best of the whole franchise and being credited as one of the third person shooters that revolutionized the whole genre, RE4 has some serious hype behind it, and after playing it for the first time ever nearly a decade after it came out, it's clear to me why this game is so famous.

    The game stars Resident Evil's most beloved protagonist Leon Kennedy, who has recently transferred from a cop to working directly under the order of the president, and his first order of business is to rescue Ashley Graham, a young girl that has been kidnapped by a cult known as the Los Illuminados. Kennedy heads to the third world village to find out that the residents of the town aren't exactly friendly, and Kennedy must do everything use everything in his skill set to rescue her.

    The gameplay isn't the traditional third person shooter where a crosshair is centered in the screen and the screen moves with it. Instead, RE4 employs a laser at the end of every gun to allow for exact precision when firing your shots, and after playing the game, you'll know exactly why this is important. Every standard grunt thrown at you has a weak spot, typically centering in the head or the legs, and hitting this weak spot with a gun stuns your enemy, leaving them open to a devastating melee attack. It's a good system and the melee attacks usually have a wide range of attack, allowing you to hit multiple enemies with one good strike, and since RE4's main idea of difficulty is throwing a whole crowd of enemies at you, this system helps to take them out quickly.

    It also helps to conserve ammo, which is a primary objective of any survival horror game worthy of the genre. The inventory management is more of a grid with items taking up a certain amount of space depending on their size and importance. Powerful weapons take up more room and it's up to you to manage your inventory effectively. If you run out of ammo or die due to a lack of healing items, it's your own fault.

    Even though the main enemies are just grunts, there's a large variety of enemy types. There's a giant ogre that requires you to be fast on your feet and requires more bullets thrown at it rather than hitting a weak spot. There's invisible bugs that are require less damage but are harder to hit, and there's also the legendary one-hit kill, chainsaw wielding maniac that RE4 is legendary for. There's also some boss fights, with some being really well-designed and the others being a bit boring, but the overall variety of enemy's helps keep gameplay fresh. Any gameplay can get repetitive so RE4 actually throwing different enemies requiring new tactics keeps things from getting stale.

    The only real flaw with gameplay are the enemies that throw things at you. Shooting their projectiles is easy enough but becomes impossible when the enemy throwing things is hidden by a dense crowd, and with the lack of a dodge ability and the stiff tank controls preventing any quick movement, these attacks start to feel cheap.

    The biggest problem this game has is easily Ashley herself. Her A.I. isn't badly programmed but is instead just badly designed. Commanding her to follow or stop is easy, but having her duck when you're aiming in her general direction becomes a hazard as you try to take out enemies going for her. Instead or running like she should, Ashley will stay planted, often getting herself killed. For a girl that's supposed to come off as feisty, independent and smart, this design only makes you shake your head as her stupid mistakes.

    Mistakes aside, the gameplay is still fun, and these gripes don't bog down the experience. The story itself feels simple and easy to follow, with the only complaint centering around Ada Wong and her side of the events. Ada has her own little campaign, and it's supposed to show that more was going on than originally intended, but by the time the game ends, these loose threads don't seem to amount to anything. Playing as Ada is still fun and feels like well made DLC before DLC was even an idea.

    Another big surprise is the amount of replay value present here. Along with new game plus and a new difficulty mode, Ada's campaigns, Mercenaries mode with multiple characters, hidden weapons and outfits that can change the gameplay, RE4 has a ton of content to keep you coming back to it, on top of the 15 hour campaign.

    Overall, RE4 is still a great third-person shooter that holds up as one of the best games of the sixth generation. Although I don't believe it's perfect like most fans and reviewers would claim, I couldn't help but stare in awe at how amazing this game is, and how great it must've been during it's prime. RE4 was an amazing game that was well worth the purchase price, and is still one of the greatest third person shooters ever made.
    Expand
  13. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    O Jogo muito bom o gráfico, historia e tudo mais também o jogo está mais dificil comparando as outras versões e também mais macabro que eu curti bastante
  14. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    I played Resident Evil 4 on Gamecube.And the Wii edition.This is actually my favorite edition.It has better graphics,gameplay is still awesome.And adds some other stuff too.Its actually pretty cheap as well so why not get it.Its by far one of the best in the series.(Next to Resident Evil 2)
  15. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    GREAT game with a mix of action and survival horror that drive you to beat the game many times to fulfill your greed for more new idea and great gun play experience a lot of movies and brilliant decision to make
  16. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    The High Definition graphics really improves the gameplay and with all bugs and glitches from ps2 version eliminated, makes it a almost perfect game. Resi 4 fans will love the HD version and definatley recommend for those who have never played
  17. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This is the game that changed the entire videogame industry back in 2005 on GameCube. Easily the best of the Resident Evil series (although closely followed by RE2), there is no excuse to miss out on this game now that it's at budget downloadable version
  18. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    RE4 was one of the most influential games of the last 10 years and still holds it's own against todays best action shooters. One word of warning though - this remake doesn't offer anything new except the HD graphics so anyone who already has the Gamecube or PS2 version may want to think very carefully about buying this. Still, it's a bona fide classic and a must buy if you missed out theRE4 was one of the most influential games of the last 10 years and still holds it's own against todays best action shooters. One word of warning though - this remake doesn't offer anything new except the HD graphics so anyone who already has the Gamecube or PS2 version may want to think very carefully about buying this. Still, it's a bona fide classic and a must buy if you missed out the first time around. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    If you've played RE4 before then you basically know what to expect here. It's a decent port of what was a great game. I say port because that's exactly what it is...it's a version of RE4 emulated to run on current gen hardware...it's not very 'HD' as the title would suggest. That's not really a bad thing though as this was one of the best looking games from last gen, so even with basicIf you've played RE4 before then you basically know what to expect here. It's a decent port of what was a great game. I say port because that's exactly what it is...it's a version of RE4 emulated to run on current gen hardware...it's not very 'HD' as the title would suggest. That's not really a bad thing though as this was one of the best looking games from last gen, so even with basic hardware smoothing the game looks pretty good in most places. It's nice to see how the game was intended to look when it originally came out. On the down side there is no move support which I was actually disappointed with as I thought that was one of the things the PS3 version was supposed to get. I played the Wii version and actually found for once the motion controls were better than with a standard controller...point & click aiming was a breeze. The fact they didn't include this just makes this feel like even more of a rushed port. Lastly I do find the price is a bit high. $20 asking price for something that has already been released on so many platforms just seems like a huge cash-in attempt. $10 might have been too low but $15 would have been better. Expand
  20. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Scary, amusing and exciting videogame, that makes you jump of your chair and scream in fear, is totally a recommended game, it pairs with the Resident evil of the Gamecube, which is the best resident evil of all time.
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    I'm a huge fan of RE4. But I must say I was expecting a little more from CAPCOM. The game looks, feels and plays great (just like it did back in its time) but I really don't see a major visual overhaul. Sometimes, it feels like I'm playing the old PS2 version. So, in my opinion, if you have the original RE4 and a PS3 with backwards capability, there's no need to download this one.
  22. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  23. Aug 19, 2015
    10
    It goes without saying that Resident Evil 4 is still the best resident evil video game ever came out in the saga. It represents the perfect mix between the survival horror stile typical of the first chapters of the series and the new action style of the followers. The protagonist is great, the enemies are charming and the atmosphere is chilly and gothic. If you played a couple of residentIt goes without saying that Resident Evil 4 is still the best resident evil video game ever came out in the saga. It represents the perfect mix between the survival horror stile typical of the first chapters of the series and the new action style of the followers. The protagonist is great, the enemies are charming and the atmosphere is chilly and gothic. If you played a couple of resident evil video games and you enjoyed them, then you must play this one. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    This is where the game lost it's "survival horror gameplay" + Interesting plot + Puzzles. The best part of this game is the atmosphere which it did not lose from previous titles... but there is barely any story in this game. The worst part is how it became a shooter but retained the "RE" as a name. As an adventure game with another name, it would have been PERFECT.

    Regardless, this
    This is where the game lost it's "survival horror gameplay" + Interesting plot + Puzzles. The best part of this game is the atmosphere which it did not lose from previous titles... but there is barely any story in this game. The worst part is how it became a shooter but retained the "RE" as a name. As an adventure game with another name, it would have been PERFECT.

    Regardless, this is the last title of the series which I enjoyed even if I felt they screwed up royally on having good characters with background stories. If they had done this at least, I would've forgiven the more action-oriented style. But the only reason the action style worked in RE4 is because Shinji Mikami's "touch" was still in the series so it was nostalgic.
    Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    not even HD! This is not a good game and its just upscaled. WOO. Another way for capcom to make more money. So not worth it. Do we see the REAL games in need of getting a hd rerelease get one like RE:outbreak,RE2, and RE3? No? Then why does this game with OK graphics allready get one? I dont get it.
  26. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. BuyOverrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    It's pretty much just the original version, which will stand the test of time for sure, but this just seemed too underdeveloped to even be considered a re-release.
  28. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    Das Spiel ist wesentlich länger als vermutet. Habe zum durchzocken knappe 15 Stunden gebraucht und wurde durchweg relativ gut unterhalten, nicht zuletzt wegen der Aufrüst-Motivation im Shop. Das typische Survival Horror Feeling ist allerdings fast nicht mehr vorhanden. Es gibt nurnoch ganz wenige Stellen wo es einen gruselt wie z.B. die Stellen mit den Viechern die nur mit Infrarot-SensorDas Spiel ist wesentlich länger als vermutet. Habe zum durchzocken knappe 15 Stunden gebraucht und wurde durchweg relativ gut unterhalten, nicht zuletzt wegen der Aufrüst-Motivation im Shop. Das typische Survival Horror Feeling ist allerdings fast nicht mehr vorhanden. Es gibt nurnoch ganz wenige Stellen wo es einen gruselt wie z.B. die Stellen mit den Viechern die nur mit Infrarot-Sensor auf dem Sturmgewehr zu besiegen sind. Ansonsten ist das ganze Spiel durch und durch ein Actionspiel mit zäher Steuerung. Im großen und ganzen ist Resi 4 kein schlechtes Spiel denn Abwechslung ist geboten, obwohl ich mir mehr Horror und weniger Action gewünscht hätte, finde es wurde von der Presse dennoch ziemlich überbewertet. Es wundert mich nicht, dass Capcom gerade ratlos verusucht zu analysieren, warum Resi6 so zerrissen wurde wo es sich doch nur unwesentlich von Resi 4 und 5 unterscheidet. Für das nächste Resi wünsche ich mir aufjedenfall den Schritt zurück zu den Wurzeln. Expand
  29. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    When Resident Evil 4 first released back 2005, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was ok part just thanks to Ada Scenes along with Wesker Scenes,
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 6/10
    Total: 7/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  30. Oct 24, 2015
    3
    I loved RE4 when it first came out on gamecube. i still have my copy in fact. but this supposed "HD" port is just crap. the graphics aren't much better then the gamecube version is... in fact, if you use an S-video to connect your gamecube to a TV, then the gamcube version of RE looks exactly the same as this "HD" port, beyond the un-updated graphics however, is the other even worseI loved RE4 when it first came out on gamecube. i still have my copy in fact. but this supposed "HD" port is just crap. the graphics aren't much better then the gamecube version is... in fact, if you use an S-video to connect your gamecube to a TV, then the gamcube version of RE looks exactly the same as this "HD" port, beyond the un-updated graphics however, is the other even worse problems... t Leon's aim of the laser pointer on his guns is jittery, like leon downed a case of redbull before he started his rescue mission and it's waaaaay to hard to get through.. i completed RE4 on gamecube on all the difficulty settings with no problem but this port has no ability to choose your difficulty like the original did. The japanese version has the difficulty options still but Capcom USA removed them from the US version for untold , probably dumb reasons and has made the game unplayable. The unnamed default difficulty must be Hard mode, cause even for an RE veteran ,like myself, i couldn't even get past the village part where you first encounter the large group of infect spanish villagers after using your binoculars..(the part where the chainsaw guy can be encountered if you go into the wrong building).. i gave up after dying 5 time in a row because it was too frustrating. i can't recommend skipping this game enough. .you wanna play RE4, get the gamecube version instead. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 6, 2012
    80
    This is Resi at its peak. Shame that it's a straight port, though. [Dec 2011, p81]
  2. Play UK
    Nov 27, 2011
    93
    Still brilliant. [Issue#210, p.99]
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    82
    This game is still one of the best games ever. Scary, memorable and revolutionary. Therefore it's a shame that the HD in the title doesn't at all translate itself into a noticeable graphical upgrade.