Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    100
    In case you haven't heard: Resident Evil 4 is kind of a big deal. With its quick pacing, intriguing narrative and unbelievable graphics, this is one of Capcom's best games. This $20 PlayStation 3 port improves the visuals, adds leaderboard support and introduces trophies into the mix. Come see why Resident Evil 4 remains the best survival horror game ever made!
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    90
    Resident Evil 4 is a 10 out of 10 game. This repackaging of the game is not a 10 out of 10 product. If you already own Resident Evil 4 on the Wii, there is absolutely no reason to buy it here other than the HD-ness, which did nothing for me.
  3. This set new standards in creating exhilarating set-pieces and pacing. [Nov 2011, p.96]
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    83
    Unless you absolutely need to have a moderate-looking HD version, you'd be better off with the Wii iteration because it includes multiple control setups and all the same extra features.
  5. This is Resi at its peak. Shame that it's a straight port, though. [Dec 2011, p81]
  6. Sep 26, 2011
    80
    There is no reason why you shouldn't buy Resident Evil 4 HD if you've never played it before or don't already own a previous release. It's almost the definitive version of the game, but not quite.
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil 4 is a brilliant game, but that's exactly why Resident Evil 4 HD is such a disappointment. This is no definitive version or director's cut (wouldn't that be something), but a criminally half-baked attempt to winkle a little extra cash from the still-beating heart of a classic. Resi 4 deserves better than this; Resi 4's legions of devoted fans deserve better than this; and Capcom should be much better than this.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This is the game that changed the entire videogame industry back in 2005 on GameCube. Easily the best of the Resident Evil series (althoughThis is the game that changed the entire videogame industry back in 2005 on GameCube. Easily the best of the Resident Evil series (although closely followed by RE2), there is no excuse to miss out on this game now that it's at budget downloadable version Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Scary, amusing and exciting videogame, that makes you jump of your chair and scream in fear, is totally a recommended game, it pairs with theScary, amusing and exciting videogame, that makes you jump of your chair and scream in fear, is totally a recommended game, it pairs with the Resident evil of the Gamecube, which is the best resident evil of all time. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story isResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Resident Evil 4 é na minha opinião o melhor jogo da franquia e um dos melhores jogos que(Translate from Portuguese into English)Resident Evil 4 é na minha opinião o melhor jogo da franquia e um dos melhores jogos que já joguei,esqueça os gráficos,este jogo é da geração passada,um jogo não é feito apenas de gráficos,RE4 é muito mais que isso,Leon esta em seu auge,personagem muito carismático,meu personagem preferido da franquia e o de muitos fãs também,só o final que não é tão bom,Jack Krauser foi muito mais desafiador do que o Osmund Saddler,mesmo assim é um dos jogos que mais vezes zerei até hoje,esta entre os melhores já criados. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This is the same incredible game that changed the way we play TPS and everyone knows, I only bought the GC version 6 six years ago so thisThis is the same incredible game that changed the way we play TPS and everyone knows, I only bought the GC version 6 six years ago so this edition was a good deal, the HD graphics (which they're not really HD, although mostly everything looks better than before) and the extra content.

    So this lazy HD(up scaled) port has the same intense action and is really enjoyable, but as an overall product is not that great, is an 9.5 game in a 7 package, so this is why I gave it a 8; the poor port(the cut scenes of separate ways look horrible and overall looks bad comparing it with other HD ports like MGS or Team Ico), the lack of any extra content(the ps2 extras are good but no enough) and the price (19.99 dls really?) prevent this port to be the ultimate version... maybe in 2 years we see the HD HD remake
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    This is where the game lost it's "survival horror gameplay" + Interesting plot + Puzzles. The best part of this game is the atmosphere whichThis is where the game lost it's "survival horror gameplay" + Interesting plot + Puzzles. The best part of this game is the atmosphere which it did not lose from previous titles... but there is barely any story in this game. The worst part is how it became a shooter but retained the "RE" as a name. As an adventure game with another name, it would have been PERFECT.

    Regardless, this is the last title of the series which I enjoyed even if I felt they screwed up royally on having good characters with background stories. If they had done this at least, I would've forgiven the more action-oriented style. But the only reason the action style worked in RE4 is because Shinji Mikami's "touch" was still in the series so it was nostalgic.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    not even HD! This is not a good game and its just upscaled. WOO. Another way for capcom to make more money. So not worth it. Do we see thenot even HD! This is not a good game and its just upscaled. WOO. Another way for capcom to make more money. So not worth it. Do we see the REAL games in need of getting a hd rerelease get one like RE:outbreak,RE2, and RE3? No? Then why does this game with OK graphics allready get one? I dont get it. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews