Resident Evil 5 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 648 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 648
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil series is the reason why I bought my first PS 1,.. and i'm falling in Love with the story and characters ever since,.. Killing zombies never stop amusing me...
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação
    agora é um bom jogo de ação ?
    Bom a jogabilidade é boa Os Gráficos são excelente O designer é bonito E as historia é boa
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação
    agora é um bom jogo de ação ?

    Bom a jogabilidade é boa
    Os Gráficos são excelente
    O designer é bonito
    E as historia é boa
    Trilha sonora um pouco ausente
    Claro tem seu defeitos alguns bugs leitura facial da boca
    A jogabilidade poderia ser muito melhor por causa de ser muito travo
    Não poder mirar e andar ao mesmo tempo um mode esquiva e uma movimentação Mais fluida e o pios de tudo a inteligência artificial da Sheeva muito ruim No geral é um péssimo residente evil mais um bom jogo de ação e eu recomendo a todos que joguem...
    Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sou um grande fã de Resident Evil,mas me decepcionei com este jogo,ele não é ruim,pelo contrário é muito bom,mas depois de ter jogado o RE4 esperava muito mais de uma continuação,esse jogo só supera o RE4 em gráficos e no chefe final,Albert Wesker sempre será o vilão(Translate from Portuguese into English)Sou um grande fã de Resident Evil,mas me decepcionei com este jogo,ele não é ruim,pelo contrário é muito bom,mas depois de ter jogado o RE4 esperava muito mais de uma continuação,esse jogo só supera o RE4 em gráficos e no chefe final,Albert Wesker sempre será o vilão n°1,mas mesmo assim ele só aparece lá pro final do jogo,aquela transformação dele ficou muito ruim,seria muito melhor ele na forma humana,nem o final foi digno,Wesker merecia muito mais,gráficos muito bons,mas a criatividade na construção de inimigos foi muito baixa,praticamente todos os chefes do jogo tem o mesmo ponto fraco,não precisa nem pensar muito pra descobrir como derrotá-los,na verdade não há segredo nem estratégia,é só atirar nos seus pontos fracos que são bem visíveis,modo co-op nunca deveria existir em Resident Evil,Sheva mais atrapalha que ajuda,sempre que ia atirar em algum inimigo ela atirava ao mesmo tempo no mesmo,quando ele morria eu sempre dava um tiro em falso errando e diminuindo a precisão,odeio quando agarram o Chris e demora muito pra ele se soltar só pra dar tempo da Sheva chegar e livrá-lo,inventário muito pequeno,este jogo é 100% ação,"zumbis" com armas de fogo?ridículo.Repito é um bom jogo,fiz tantas críticas porque como fã esperava muito mais desse jogo,5 anos depois e recebemos o que considero o pior jogo da franquia que pertence a cronologia (os paralelos todos foram ruins) Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2011
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a good third person shooter that is definitely a creepy and eerie experience. The graphics are sharp, dark and help capture the scary feel (without actually being too scary) of the game. The character models are nicely rendered with great facial animations. One thing I find really unsettling (in a good way) is the appearance of the Uroboros Virus that attacks people andResident Evil 5 is a good third person shooter that is definitely a creepy and eerie experience. The graphics are sharp, dark and help capture the scary feel (without actually being too scary) of the game. The character models are nicely rendered with great facial animations. One thing I find really unsettling (in a good way) is the appearance of the Uroboros Virus that attacks people and infects them. It's icky to look at and I shiver when I see it slither across the ground. It's a horrifying sight when it bursts out of infected hosts skins and takes over their bodies but at least it's not too scary and it looks right for a Resident Evil game. The level design is a tad too linear but at least there's a good variety of environments like open streets and pathways instead of boring corridors. The game play is a typical third person shooter with some puzzle solving and item collecting to do along the way like gold, ammo and artefacts that can be sold for money to use to upgrade your weapons of buy weapons. This is not an action heavy title and the game is slower paced in comparison to other third person shooters like Uncharted: Drakes Fortune and Gears of War. To add to the tension, there is ammo supplement is limited so you'll have to make sure that every shot counts. The infected slowly come towards you ready to attack and eat you alive and this gives you plenty of time to aim your gun and try to get a headshot. There is variation in the enemy design which keeps things feeling fresh so you don't face the same enemy's over and over again. The thing that got me annoyed at first were the controls (why do you have to aim and press X to reload rather than one simple button to reload?) and the fact that you can't move while aiming and shooting. This maybe a survival game and there maybe things trying to kill you but they'll always be someone with you to keep yourself from wetting your pants. Sheva accompanies Chris (you) during game play and this turns Resident Evil 5 into a rather nice Co-op game. When you haven't got a friend to play with, the A.I takes over the role of controlling Sheva. The A.I maybe a little bit dumb but at least it gives you a helping hand if you're in trouble. You can even swap items with one another like ammo, first aid spray or herbs. Resident Evil 5 provides you with a range of arsenal to help you deal with the infestation like the usual assault rifles, grenade launchers and pistols. Resident Evil 5 isn't that scary but there seems to be a few "What the hell is that?!"Â Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    I spent 10 hours in single player and more than 30 in mercenaries mode. This second mode definitely keep the rate higher. Single for 7 and multi for 9 give right and honest rating.
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 4 represented a departure of the series from its survival horror roots for a more dynamic action approach. Now Capcom has proved they are set in their choice, as Resident Evil 5 trades in even more scares in exchange for gunfights. Forget the tenebrous atmosphere, forget the unknown groans from the dark: in RE5 zombies come at you running in broad daylight. Graphics areResident Evil 4 represented a departure of the series from its survival horror roots for a more dynamic action approach. Now Capcom has proved they are set in their choice, as Resident Evil 5 trades in even more scares in exchange for gunfights. Forget the tenebrous atmosphere, forget the unknown groans from the dark: in RE5 zombies come at you running in broad daylight. Graphics are superb and the soundtrack and voice acting are pretty good. The story is also well written, mixing new elements with old characters for what was supposed to be the ultimate Resident Evil experience. I say ''was'' because while RE5 is undeniably a good game, it has little what the Resident Evil name used to mean in it. The camera angle is set to give you no idea of what is behind you, but that matters little because even if you are surprised from behind, there will be so much action going on in front of you all the time that you will not care. Controls are also sluggish and mechanical, and for the action game Resident Evil 5 decided to be that is very frustrating. RE5 is a good game and definitely worth your time, but if you expect to see a survival horror game you will be disappointed. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil 5 takes a lot of flak but it's an amazing game. It was one of the best games to come out back in 2009 and it still holds up. Graphics are still some of the best on the PS3. Co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy and the AI isn't terrible. There is a lot of tense moments and many memorable enemies. The story was also fantastic. The sounds in this game are definitely some ofResident Evil 5 takes a lot of flak but it's an amazing game. It was one of the best games to come out back in 2009 and it still holds up. Graphics are still some of the best on the PS3. Co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy and the AI isn't terrible. There is a lot of tense moments and many memorable enemies. The story was also fantastic. The sounds in this game are definitely some of the best in gaming. It may not stick to the typical Resident Evil formula but it stands alone as a great title regardless. Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This is a co-op master piece, with so much replay value and DLC modes to keep you playing for months, the environments are Amazing for a 3 year old game and the detail put in to everything little things is very noticeable..
    If your playing solo the AI player isn't a hindrance for possibly the first time in any game I've ever played and being able to customize their equip is very helpful..
    This is a co-op master piece, with so much replay value and DLC modes to keep you playing for months, the environments are Amazing for a 3 year old game and the detail put in to everything little things is very noticeable..
    If your playing solo the AI player isn't a hindrance for possibly the first time in any game I've ever played and being able to customize their equip is very helpful..
    my only real qualm with this game is the controls, slow movement and still fire and Melee will have you getting smashed by giant monsters all through out this game..

    The gold edition is now $20 AUS, definitely worth getting.
    Expand
  9. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is generally a good game, but some elements can be really annoying. I've played the previous parts of Capcom production and I know about the most characteristic features of RE's. But, guys, we have 2010, not 1997. Can't I shoot when I'm moving? What the hell? And the final boss... So simple, but only if you know ONE and the ONLY ONE right way to defeat him. I died aboutResident Evil 5 is generally a good game, but some elements can be really annoying. I've played the previous parts of Capcom production and I know about the most characteristic features of RE's. But, guys, we have 2010, not 1997. Can't I shoot when I'm moving? What the hell? And the final boss... So simple, but only if you know ONE and the ONLY ONE right way to defeat him. I died about fifteen times, because I tried to push the stone too early. Oh, come on - give me some freedom! I'm not a casual player, but sometimes RE 5 is quite too hard. The first boss is bulletproof, so it's better to run than shoot (of course, you have to die three or four times to know that). And the last thing: the game isn't scary. Not at all. It's survival-action, at the most, not survival-horror., But generally it's a good production, which can bring a lot of satisfaction and maybe a little of irritation too. Expand
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Even though this doesn't quite deserve to be called a Resident Evil game, due to the fact that almost nothing in this game resembles the past ones, I still found it rather enjoyable. It's so fast-paced, and will leave you on your toes. I especially enjoyed the downloadable content, particularly, "Lost In Nightmares", since it returned to the roots of the game.
  11. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    EN: Lacks almost all the survival horror elements that made Resident Evil so famous, but as an action game, and that's what RE5 is about, RE5 does just great and provides some really awesome moments, like the Irving boss battle, the Licker's return and a long-waited reunion between Jill, Chris and Wesker.

    PT-BR: Não contem quase nenhum dos elementos de survival horror que fizeram de
    EN: Lacks almost all the survival horror elements that made Resident Evil so famous, but as an action game, and that's what RE5 is about, RE5 does just great and provides some really awesome moments, like the Irving boss battle, the Licker's return and a long-waited reunion between Jill, Chris and Wesker.

    PT-BR: Não contem quase nenhum dos elementos de survival horror que fizeram de Ressident Evil um sucesso, mas como um jogo de ação, e disso que RE5 se trata, RE5 vai muito bem e proporciona alguns momentos realmente incríveis, tais como a luta contra o boss Irving, o retorno dos Lickers e o tão esperado reencontro entre Jill, Chris e Wesker.
    Expand
  12. May 2, 2014
    8
    I want to start this review off by saying that I know this is not the traditional Resident Evil game. Up until this point in the franchise, Resident Evil was considered to be a survival horror franchise where you fight zombies. However, RE5 changes the formula, shifting from a horror centered experience to a more action based one, to the disappointment of many hardcore fans. However, thatI want to start this review off by saying that I know this is not the traditional Resident Evil game. Up until this point in the franchise, Resident Evil was considered to be a survival horror franchise where you fight zombies. However, RE5 changes the formula, shifting from a horror centered experience to a more action based one, to the disappointment of many hardcore fans. However, that doesn't make Resident Evil 5 a bad game. To the contrary, Resident Evil 5 is actually a very solid action shooter, with survival elements mixed in.

    The gameplay is similar to that of Resident Evil 4, in which case you stand still as you aim a laser to help you land critical shots on your enemies. Stun an enemy with a good shot, and you can close the distance to land a satisfying melee attack on him. This formula keeps up throughout the game, for the most part, and is very fun to play around with, but the lack of any change ups in the gameplay can really cause the game to drag in the last few chapters.

    The survival elements included in the game mainly pertain to item management. Limiting your inventory to 9 inventory slots is a good initial start, but I'm disappointed that there were no opportunities to expand it. What makes this particularly annoying is the melee vest and the bullet proof vest take up inventory slots, which doesn't make sense because they're actually just upgrades for your armor.

    One problem the game does have to a point is the lack of mobility. There's no way for you to move while aiming, and because of this, enemies can easily close the distance between you and them. However, to be fair, almost all of the zombies in the game are slow, and sprint only a few feet a time. This gives you a nice window to get away, and this is especially true with the tougher but slower enemies, so the game manages to find a balance between your lack of mobility and the zombies, even if it doesn't feel like it.

    Despite the gameplay being addictive as it is, it can get really frustrating at some points. Certain enemies you face in the story take an unnecessarily long amount of time to kill, which often drains your ammo to ridiculous levels, which is so frustrating when one of the key elements of the game is to conserve ammo. Often these enemies do not adaquetley replenish what you have lost, making boss fights, sub-boss fights, and horde encounters frustrating.

    The most frustrating point of this game is easily your AI controlled counterpart Sheva. Now the AI is competent when performing basic functions, but not in any advanced ones. Sheva rarely goes to melee a stunned enemy, and often she leaves you out to dry whenever you're grabbed by an enemy. Sheva constantly wastes ammo throughout the game, often attacking enemies even when they take no damage, and Sheva can actually die. In one particular sequence in the first few hours of the game, I had to start over four times because Sheva failed to out run the masked chainsaw wielding goon that was chasing us, even though I managed to put distance between me and him with no problem. If you have an online account, or better yet, a friend to play with you, I highly recommend you play that way instead of dealing with the AI, because it's just not dependable.

    The most disappointing of this game however is the story. The story is very minimal, with a limited amount of cutscenes compared to all the action. Sheva is very disappointing as a character. Without any personality development or any emotional moments between Sheva and Chris, the bond between them seems unusual, and Sheva comes off as a very boring character that you'll have no attachment to. To be fair, Chris would probably have been considered a boring character too, if it weren't for the fact that he's already a character from the franchise.

    However, the biggest blunder in the story is the way the zombies are portrayed. Throughout the game, I saw enemies wielding crossbows, dynamite, melee weapons, drive vehicles, and they even used guns and boy armor later in the game. You don't even get eaten when they kill you, you just get beaten to death. The game tries to justify by saying that these aren't zombies, but are instead another enemy all together, called the majini, but that's the problem right there. In a zombie franchise, why is it that I went through the whole game without killing a single zombie. I killed majini, giant monsters, a superhuman, and even a huge troll, but no zombies.

    Come on.

    Despite my complaints, the game is ultimately a very fun and addictive experience, but the negatives do bog it down. A boring new character, minimized story, flawed gameplay, annoying AI and a stupid concept hold this game back from achieving the true greatness that the Resident Evil franchise was known for. It doesn't even hold a candle to the greatness that was Resident Evil 4. All these problems ultimately make the game good but disappointing.
    Expand
  13. JohnGarcia
    Apr 20, 2009
    9
    Great game!! Addictive with plenty of replay value. Once you get past the fact that there is no run and gun you begin to like it because it gives the game a more tactical feel. You have to stop and shoot at the right place and time. It makes you work together more.
  14. benk
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    Large, engaging battle sequences, online co-op mode, solid story-telling, and an amazing atmosphere make this a through evolution of the Resident Evil franchise. The game suffers a bit in off-line AI-controlled co-op - which takes away more than it adds to the experience.
  15. KyuuDMC
    May 28, 2009
    9
    Sorry GameFocus but we're talking about the Versus patch not the whole game.
  16. YannickH
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 sure didn't brought the same feeling that came along with Resident Evil 4, but sure showed that teamwork is a must in a survivor horror action game. For those cry babies who whines about the fact that the you can' t shoot and run at the same time, leave THAT game ALONE. If you can't survive without having to move, don't play this game. All of the Resident Evil 5 sure didn't brought the same feeling that came along with Resident Evil 4, but sure showed that teamwork is a must in a survivor horror action game. For those cry babies who whines about the fact that the you can' t shoot and run at the same time, leave THAT game ALONE. If you can't survive without having to move, don't play this game. All of the previous Resident Evil games were like that. What were you expecting? Something new? How stupid can you be to think that? You're as the same people who said that Street Fighter IV was poor game. If you REALLY had played the previous titles of either Street Fighter or Resident Evil, you wouldn't have give poor rating to these games. Resident Evil 5 was packed with awesome action and a great story. The RE4 and RE5 never meant to be real horror games. Why? The angle of the camera. Now you can fully see your enemies. RE5 maybe didn't beat RE4, but still made proud its predecessor. Expand
  17. DaveC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game rocks, I dont really understand why does everyone has to complain about the control settings and the lack of run-and-fire system, you simply dont need it, to have a great time playing. I would like to clarify that this is a CO-OP game, everyone that complains its because they dont have a good friend to play with. Great voice acting, great history, supeb enemies, well balanced This game rocks, I dont really understand why does everyone has to complain about the control settings and the lack of run-and-fire system, you simply dont need it, to have a great time playing. I would like to clarify that this is a CO-OP game, everyone that complains its because they dont have a good friend to play with. Great voice acting, great history, supeb enemies, well balanced difficulty and lots of unlockable items. Expand
  18. GinoC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    The game was good and its different set of controls from other games out there. If I wanted a FPS game then I would have bought and FPS game. Resident Evil is like Resident Evil and that what I was expecting from resident eviil. Gears of Wars2 was not that good and it got raves reviews it was boring and the story was lame. Resident Evil was fun to play and that to me is what I pay my The game was good and its different set of controls from other games out there. If I wanted a FPS game then I would have bought and FPS game. Resident Evil is like Resident Evil and that what I was expecting from resident eviil. Gears of Wars2 was not that good and it got raves reviews it was boring and the story was lame. Resident Evil was fun to play and that to me is what I pay my money for. FPS shooters are good when you are in the mood to play it. I notice all this bias towards resident evil what gives ? Expand
  19. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Resident Evil 5 não é um game de terror. Não possui aquela ambientação sombria do anterior. Contudo, a inclusão do Co-op (Splitscreen ou online) deram uma nova cara à famosa franquia. Jogar com amigos é excelente, o game possui um ótimo servidor. A história é ótima e fecha elementos de outros games da série, com direitos a algumas surpresas inclusive. A jogabilidade é uma evolução de RE4,Resident Evil 5 não é um game de terror. Não possui aquela ambientação sombria do anterior. Contudo, a inclusão do Co-op (Splitscreen ou online) deram uma nova cara à famosa franquia. Jogar com amigos é excelente, o game possui um ótimo servidor. A história é ótima e fecha elementos de outros games da série, com direitos a algumas surpresas inclusive. A jogabilidade é uma evolução de RE4, adaptada com a troca de itens em tempo real, o que foi uma grande novidade. Seus modos extras valem muito a pena e são jogados até hoje! A Capcom não fez uma revolução como no quarto game, e por mais que o jogo não esteja no mesmo nível do seu antecessor, ele continua sendo o melhor RE lançado originalmente para PS3 até agora. Expand
  20. MikeG
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    Great game, especially for 2ppl friends online coop. I don't find any videogame scary and this wasn't an issue for me. beat the game 3 times and still want to play. The AI partner is much smarter than James leads to believe,btw all of James complaints were on display during the demo, why would you buy and review a game if you dont like the demo? Unlock infinite ammo on a magnum, Great game, especially for 2ppl friends online coop. I don't find any videogame scary and this wasn't an issue for me. beat the game 3 times and still want to play. The AI partner is much smarter than James leads to believe,btw all of James complaints were on display during the demo, why would you buy and review a game if you dont like the demo? Unlock infinite ammo on a magnum, give it to AI and see how many enemies he leaves for you to shoot, or don't give AI a gun and do the work yourself.AI never dies on me, even in pro mode.Thank you capcom for not making another generic 1st/3rd person single player shooter, there's enough of them out there for James to play. Expand
  21. binamram
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    this the best resident evil game by far. the graphics and gameplay are utterly brilliant and so is the online co-op. I bought this game for £20 and now I think to myself, what a bargain!
  22. AshleyR
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 was great! I played the full game in 3 days, on co-op mode and it was seriously addictive and just as i expected. I'm a huge fan of the series, and thought it would be hard to top RE4, but the co-op for RE5 really did it. I totally disagree with any other reviewers who said it was 'tired'. It's anything but.
  23. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 10 - Perfect. RE5 is the best example of 3rd-person shooting in recent memory. The stop-and-pop mechanics may annoy some, but in reality it makes the shooter more accurate (real cops/soldiers don't run-and-gun!). The melee is fun, and the Co-op is some of the best ever. Add in the excellent bonus Mercenaries mode, and RE5 has great replayability.
    Story: 9 - Amazing. RE5 makes
    Gameplay: 10 - Perfect. RE5 is the best example of 3rd-person shooting in recent memory. The stop-and-pop mechanics may annoy some, but in reality it makes the shooter more accurate (real cops/soldiers don't run-and-gun!). The melee is fun, and the Co-op is some of the best ever. Add in the excellent bonus Mercenaries mode, and RE5 has great replayability.
    Story: 9 - Amazing. RE5 makes you care about Chris's quest. Though it starts slightly slow, it quickly gains momentum, resulting in an action-packed and twist-filled ending.
    Graphics: 10 - Perfect. RE5 has some of the most beautiful graphics on any system.
    Sound - 10 - Perfect. When the tone requires, the music can be moody, creepy, thrilling, or sad. The sounds of Majini (non-zombies/infected) chill the blood when heard in the dark when you have few shots left...
    Overall: 10 - Perfect. Need a co-op game? Resident Evil 5 is perfect for you.
    Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Controls got much better than RE4. It's a HARD GAME (THAT'S WHAT REAL PLAYERS LIKE). Chris Redfield is Tougher than Rambo and Sheva is Tougher than Lara Croft! Graphics are AMAZING (I don't believe they made so much on just 720p). The gameplay is long, the multiplayer is good and the Minigames are very interesting. The only bad thig is that the RE series lost the "Horror" title. Now it'sControls got much better than RE4. It's a HARD GAME (THAT'S WHAT REAL PLAYERS LIKE). Chris Redfield is Tougher than Rambo and Sheva is Tougher than Lara Croft! Graphics are AMAZING (I don't believe they made so much on just 720p). The gameplay is long, the multiplayer is good and the Minigames are very interesting. The only bad thig is that the RE series lost the "Horror" title. Now it's more a good survival "Action" game. A Must-Have for sure. Collapse
  25. GrantZ
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is the perfect survival horror, many people reading this won't think it is scary. I think it is, sometimes. I got attacked with my friend with a chainsaw, and we both sat there screaming. It was the funniest thing ever. Graphics are amazing. And Sheva is the perfect partner. Also towards TYLER H, a loser. The story is epic, it follows on from REmake, and completely Resident Evil 5 is the perfect survival horror, many people reading this won't think it is scary. I think it is, sometimes. I got attacked with my friend with a chainsaw, and we both sat there screaming. It was the funniest thing ever. Graphics are amazing. And Sheva is the perfect partner. Also towards TYLER H, a loser. The story is epic, it follows on from REmake, and completely misses out outbreak and 4, mainly cos their stories were crap. The story had enough twists, and introduced Jill Valentine again, which was my favourite moment in a videogame EVER. Buy this, or your console will throw itself out your window in disgust. Expand
  26. StuartI
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    Game Of The Year candiate from me -- awesome game, amazing presentation, enjoyable from start to finish if you can just accept that it's different from the others. Fantastic action game.
  27. THEREALDEALDUDE
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    LISTEN UP U FU*K FACES I AM PISSED TO HERE BULLSHIT THAT THIS GAME IS BAD WTF U TALKING ABOUT THIS GAME IS THE 2BD MOST SOLD RE GAME IN LESS THAN A MONTH AND IN A YEAR OR SAW IT WILL BE THE MOST SOLD THIS WAS MY FIRST RE GAME AND I LEARNED THE HISTORY NOW I BOUGHT UMBREALLA CHRONICLS RE1 RE4 DEAD AIM OUTBREAK 1 AND OUTBREAK 2 AND CODE VERINONCA AND I HAVE TO SAY I LIKED RE5 MORE BUT I DIDLISTEN UP U FU*K FACES I AM PISSED TO HERE BULLSHIT THAT THIS GAME IS BAD WTF U TALKING ABOUT THIS GAME IS THE 2BD MOST SOLD RE GAME IN LESS THAN A MONTH AND IN A YEAR OR SAW IT WILL BE THE MOST SOLD THIS WAS MY FIRST RE GAME AND I LEARNED THE HISTORY NOW I BOUGHT UMBREALLA CHRONICLS RE1 RE4 DEAD AIM OUTBREAK 1 AND OUTBREAK 2 AND CODE VERINONCA AND I HAVE TO SAY I LIKED RE5 MORE BUT I DID LIKE RE 4 TO
    BUT ONE THING IS THAT U DIDT LIKE THEY CHANGED THE THEME OF THE GAME FROM SCARY TO HORRAR THE QUESTION IS DID THEY SUCCEED THE ANSWER IS YES THEY MADE RE5 INTO AN ACTION GAME DO PEOPLE PLAY IT YES ITS PACKED AND ONE THING IS U NEED TO UNDERSTAND IS JUST BECUASE THE THEME CHANGED DOESNT MEAN SHIT AND WTF U TALKING WHO CAN WALK AND SHOOT IN CALL OF DUTY CAN U DO THAT NO SO SHUT THE HELL UP AND FOR THE LAST FREAKIN TIME COMPARE DEAD SPACE TO SOMETHING ELSE LIKE RE3 OR ALONE IN THE DARK
    RE4 RE5 ARE ACTION GAMES NOT HORRAR UNDERSTAND AND WTF THE PLOT IS WEAK ITS REALLY GOOD THE BEST I HAVE SEEN THE ONLY GAME OF RE THAT I DONT OWN IS RE 2 AND RE3 AND TH DARKSIDE CHRONICLS CO OP IS GREAT BUT THEY SHOULD GIVE U A CHOICE NOT TO PLAY WITH A PATNER WHY COULDT THEY JUST PUT CO-OP ONLINE AND OFFLINE 2 STORIES LIKE RE1 ITS WOULD MAKE MORE REPLAY VALUE I PLAYED THE CHAPTER LIKE 20 TO 30 TIMES FOR THE TRPOHIES AND VERSUS GETS A BIT BORING BUT IS FUN SO SHUT THE FUCK UP YES I SAID FUCK LOOK FOR THE LAST TIME IF U THINK THIS IS A HORROR GAME ITS NOT AND THATS WHY ITS MUCH MORE FUN DEAD SPACE IS A HORRAR GAME BUT IT SUCKS MONKEY SHIT FOR ME I LIKED IT BUT COME ON NO ONLINE NO COOP NO SPLIT SCREEN ONLY A SMALL SET OF WEAPONS UNLESS DLC
    Expand
  28. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    8
    When in RE4 a chainsaw wielding maniac came running at you you would soil your pants. When in RE5 a chainsaw wielding maniac comes running at you...you pull out a bazooka and blow his brains out. The scares were few but the explosions often. This didn't make it a bad game necessarily, in fact it was an incredible shooter and offered alot of amazing set pieces, it just strayed from When in RE4 a chainsaw wielding maniac came running at you you would soil your pants. When in RE5 a chainsaw wielding maniac comes running at you...you pull out a bazooka and blow his brains out. The scares were few but the explosions often. This didn't make it a bad game necessarily, in fact it was an incredible shooter and offered alot of amazing set pieces, it just strayed from the frights id expect from a RE title and instead focused on the thrills. Expand
  29. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the best Resident Evil ever, the best action game, horror game, the final is amazing with Wesker, I love Jill and Chris again, the so emotional scene. I really hope that RE6 be better and GOTY 2012.
  30. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  31. May 22, 2013
    9
    You play this game so you can see Chris Redfield punch the out of a boulder. 'Nuff said. Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah~
  32. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    One of the Best games this Gen!! My 2nd favourite game in the resident evil franchise/series (Resident Evil 4 is the Best).. I dont why people hated Resident Evil 5! I know it wasnt like old Resident evil games.. But still it was a GREAT game.. I really liked the story.. Tbh One of the best games this gen! I rate it 10/10 (well deserved)
  33. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    This games graphics was very good,the setting of the game was awesome also the bosses were good, The fact that you cant run and shoot simultaneously sucked, the ending could have been better , co-op was fun, there should have also been more variety of gameplay, the characters were cool. Overall a game worth playing and owning.8.5/10
  34. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I dont care about what people say resident evil 5 is an awesome game, i know Resident evil 4 was better! But i still think RE5 was a great one of the best this gen, cant wait for Resident Evil 6
  35. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    RE5 offers more action with an intriguing story and extremely gorgeous graphics. Be immersed in the depth and detail in all the levels which has always been a trademark for the series. Quick time events play more in the game this time around. For those who have not played the last few titles in the series, the controls can feel wacky at first but thanks to multiple control schemes itâ
  36. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Really, really good game. I don't understand the negativity of this, but each to their own. People saying it's no longer 'horror' need to understand that previously (IE - Resi 1-3), you were alone in dark places fighting a virus in a secluded environment, shut off from the rest of the world. But now the virus is all over the world, so it's less frightening as you're aware you're not theReally, really good game. I don't understand the negativity of this, but each to their own. People saying it's no longer 'horror' need to understand that previously (IE - Resi 1-3), you were alone in dark places fighting a virus in a secluded environment, shut off from the rest of the world. But now the virus is all over the world, so it's less frightening as you're aware you're not the only one experiencing it, combine that with the fact you have a partner, also takes away the scares. The virus, like games has evolved and you're no longer one of only a few experiencing it. It is one of my favourite games on the PS3 to date, as it takes you back to the Resident Evil world once more, just with a different outlook. My one & only gripe is sheva is more of a hinderance than a help. Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a good game and has a good online and so it's a game worth of buying im my opinion,his antagonist (Wesker) is one of the most deadliest Resident Evil character ever,this Resident Evil puts an end to the antagonist that appeared in the first episode of Resident Evil as a "hero"...But the game itself as a horror game was poorly edited !
  38. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 5, have one of the best storyline, in the Resident Evil franchise, i love play it, but the lack of puzzles and terror, this become an adventure exhausting.
  39. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I love this game

    Good graphics
    Good story
    Gameplay not bad
    Better than resident evil 4
    I love versus on this game (dlc)
    Good coop

    And my favorite character is chris redfield
  40. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    Just I love it. Many people complain about "I love Re4 but this try the same than RE4" Is so stupid! is oviously than RE5 have the same charactersitics, besides RE4 is who change all the curse from the resident evil saga right?
  41. BarryP
    May 7, 2009
    8
    I picked this up £10 cheaper than the RRP and I am content with my purchase. It's definitely not the best in the series in terms of raw gameplay and innovation, but it's not a bad game either like some have suggested. Though I have to admit the addition of online/splitscreen co op has saved Capcom from embarrassment due to the fact it's pretty much the same as RE4 but I picked this up £10 cheaper than the RRP and I am content with my purchase. It's definitely not the best in the series in terms of raw gameplay and innovation, but it's not a bad game either like some have suggested. Though I have to admit the addition of online/splitscreen co op has saved Capcom from embarrassment due to the fact it's pretty much the same as RE4 but with better graphics. The controls really aren't as bad as people make out, either. The only conflict with regards to that is the default mapping, where run is (x) and turning the right analogue stick (seeing as you use your right hand for both). I haven't changed the controls yet but I think I would be better off if run was one of the top buttons (like L1 or R1). I am also one of the dislikers of having to stop and aim/shoot especially giving that I have played so many games in the last 2-3 years where running and shooting is common. I agree with one of the critics that pointed out that Capcom have tried to keep some old fundamentals but have also tried some new stuff which I find a little baffling. I have only played co op mode but overall it was a nice experience and requires some team play (exchanging items with one another and correspondence of puzzles) so I believe an 8/10 is well justified. Expand
  42. DavidA
    Mar 21, 2009
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a great return to a great franchise. But it's also taken a completely different turn with the whole game being in co-op mode where you can either play by yourself and the AI controls sheva (you partner) or with a friend with you or over the network. The only bad thing about this game is the it's quite repetitive on the game play, example: You enter an area, Resident Evil 5 is a great return to a great franchise. But it's also taken a completely different turn with the whole game being in co-op mode where you can either play by yourself and the AI controls sheva (you partner) or with a friend with you or over the network. The only bad thing about this game is the it's quite repetitive on the game play, example: You enter an area, and a scene occurs showing you a a blocked passage way and a button. No zombies about anywhere, so you tread forward and press the button, then suddenly about 20 zombies will come out of nowhere. It's all pretty much resident evil 5 is. But with the introduction of figurines and bonus features, the game is endless. Bonus features allows you to unlock figurines, unlock a game filter where you can change the look of the game, unlock costumes for your characters, as well as get infinite ammo. The best thing about this? There are certain criteria you need to accomplish, it's like an in-game trophy (ps3) collection which prizes. Expand
  43. ChrisL
    May 17, 2009
    8
    I have never played any other Resident Evil games before, but I know that they're usually horror games. Unlike what I expected, this game is not horrific at any point, yet very bloody with lots of gore. I've only tried this game in co-op and it's actually pretty fun. There are a few flaws that really annoys you in the gameplay. For example, the inventory of items you can I have never played any other Resident Evil games before, but I know that they're usually horror games. Unlike what I expected, this game is not horrific at any point, yet very bloody with lots of gore. I've only tried this game in co-op and it's actually pretty fun. There are a few flaws that really annoys you in the gameplay. For example, the inventory of items you can carry around is very limited. Even the ammunition takes up place of the 9 spots you have in it. So throughout the game (probably except for the beginning levels), you find yourself unable to grab items because you're out of room even if you have a partner who can carry it for you. Another flaw is that during "aim mode", you can't move. Now that I think of it, you can't move if you're doing an action not just shooting. You can't move when reloading, you can't move when healing, etc. It really slows down the gameplay and makes your character REALLY slow. Although the game does have a bit of challenge at times. Now for the storyline. It's complete crap. It's about these two people try to stop a villain from taking over the world. I've seen that billions of times and I'm tired of it. The story can't grab the gamer's feelings into it. Even if the main character dies, no one will care. The lines of the story is very corny and awkward at times. The two main characters are always asking: "What the hell is this?", "What the hell is going on?", "What is this place?". It gets boring after awhile. And all that garbage about if this whole thing is worth fighting for, I fought all the "zombies" and I still don't know. In the end, this game is extremely fun if you have a friend you could tag along with. Otherwise, you might as well go read book. Expand
  44. ShammySham
    Mar 13, 2009
    8
    Many people have complained about the controls. It's true that the controls seem broken, but at the same time the controls are functional once you understand the way the game plays out. Using the knife on certain enemies like the dogs is near to impossible. This is why you have a partner. Whether you have a sensible partner or not can make or break your gaming experience, but either Many people have complained about the controls. It's true that the controls seem broken, but at the same time the controls are functional once you understand the way the game plays out. Using the knife on certain enemies like the dogs is near to impossible. This is why you have a partner. Whether you have a sensible partner or not can make or break your gaming experience, but either way the thing capcom does right is make this game a fun experience via network game. The split screen becomes more of a headache unless you own the 60+" tele. For the gamers like myself that have a 32", it is barely visible enough to be playable. I'm sure there are many faults to find in this game, but I think the positives far outweigh the negatives here. Expand
  45. FrancisM
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Love this game although the ending was disappointing in the sense of I can't look forward to the same villainin the next game which isnt as good as some would thing a series long antagonist getting killed is cracked up to be... otherwise Co Op is genius and you can play the ame over and over to unlock everything
  46. granth
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    It may not be the survival horror game that everybody thought it would be, but Resident Evil 5 should not be put down just because it became an action/horror hybird. The game was amazing, though some parts were frustrating. The co-op is some of the most fun I have ever played. It had stunning graphics, many many bosses of a wide variety, action sequences that could rival any game. The It may not be the survival horror game that everybody thought it would be, but Resident Evil 5 should not be put down just because it became an action/horror hybird. The game was amazing, though some parts were frustrating. The co-op is some of the most fun I have ever played. It had stunning graphics, many many bosses of a wide variety, action sequences that could rival any game. The only people who truly do not like this game are people who really wanted to be scared out of their witts. You can tell that the developers were trying to appeal to more people than horror fanatics. The only thing stopping it from a 10 is that there aren't as many weapons to unlock, and some parts can get frusterating. Expand
  47. kukkupöö
    Apr 14, 2009
    8
    If you have played res4, definitely start with veteran-diffficulty setting. It gives enough challence, so you really have to relay on your partner. (wich is your friend, of course, not that stupid a.i.) After beating veteran you unlock professional-mode which is ridiculously hard and almost impossible to clear(for me and my friend, that is) The game was very enjoyable and it gave for me If you have played res4, definitely start with veteran-diffficulty setting. It gives enough challence, so you really have to relay on your partner. (wich is your friend, of course, not that stupid a.i.) After beating veteran you unlock professional-mode which is ridiculously hard and almost impossible to clear(for me and my friend, that is) The game was very enjoyable and it gave for me and my friend some good laughs and screams, but there are few things that bugs me: 1)Resident Evil 4 was not a horror game, but it had weird twisted atmosphare that made it feel lika Resident Evil game. Maybe because the original director from the other games was not involved in this project, that cool chilling atmosphere is gone and that's the main thing that pisses me off. 2)Another thing is the devolution of the inventory box, compared to resident evil 4 of course. This time you have only nine blocks to use. If you want to wear a bulletproof vest and that another combat vest you can't just wear them, but they take two blocks of your pocket space leaving only seven for herbs, weapons and ammunition. That's just stupid if you ask me! :D 3) There's not many new or interesting characters in the game, and Chris aint as charismatic character as leon was. 4)Too much over the top slo-mo kung-fu action sh*t. That's just my opinion, but I think it takes away realism from the game. Anyway With Gears Of War2 Resident Evil 5 is one of the best co-op action game for the current system. Expand
  48. CodyBaker
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    I was beyond satisfied with this stunning conclusion of the resident evil series. With more than 5 million copies sold within just a few months (surpassing sales of gears of war 1 & 2), most resident evil fans around the world consider this the best in the series (my favorite will always be the gamecube remake of the original and resident evil 4 but this one comes damn close). Although I was beyond satisfied with this stunning conclusion of the resident evil series. With more than 5 million copies sold within just a few months (surpassing sales of gears of war 1 & 2), most resident evil fans around the world consider this the best in the series (my favorite will always be the gamecube remake of the original and resident evil 4 but this one comes damn close). Although some people bitch about the controls because they expect too much out of the gameplay so they just give up like losers. Another thing a few people complain about is the story arc; this is ONLY because the people who do complain about it are confused, they're just dissapointed that this is the end of the series, or they're just too fucking retarded to understand the substance of this masterpiece and have NO taste in brilliant storytelling WHATSOEVER, they should TAKE THE TIME to actually get to know the story arc before judging it like inexperienced dumbasses. Me, my friends, and 5 million people around the world finally got to experience the end of the resident evil series and we enjoyed every plotline revolving around it. The graphics in this game are the best I've seen yet, Africa never looked so beautiful, and not to mention how incredibly realistic the characters looked, especially the environments. Also, not only is Sheva sexy as hell but she is useful; while only a few people complain how "useless" they think she is, that's only because when people play the game as Chris, they just stand there and expect Sheva to do all the work because they're just too damn lazy...or scared to do anything, she's there to HELP you, not do EVERY LITTLE THING for you. And another thing, the 3rd greatest villain in videogame history (behind ONLY Liquid Ocelot and Xahenort), Wesker, the main antagonist of the entire series is the ultimate badass and the final boss at the climax before the end; his evil is resolved as well as the main villain behind EVERYTHING that happened throughout the ENTIRE resident evil series, Lord Ozwell E. Spencer, appears in resinend evil 5 and finally dies at the hands of Wesker (this is Spencer's first, final, and ONLY appearence). Over all, I give this game a 9.5 out of 10, just about everything in this game is epic. The ONLY thing that I would consider a dissapointment is that my 3rd favorite villain in all my years of videogaming, Wesker, dies; as the resident evil series' main antagonist, I guess it had to be done, at the hands of both Chris and Sheva. Resident Evil 5 is a truly memorable experience. Expand
  49. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    Resident Evil 5 was, undoubtedly, the most anticipated game of 2009. It was in development for a long time and gamers were eagerly waiting for it, thanks to the success of the masterpiece RE4. So, now that its been out for while, reception for it-by critics and gamers-has been positive, but they were dissapointed that it didn't live it to the hype and expectations that was bestowed uponResident Evil 5 was, undoubtedly, the most anticipated game of 2009. It was in development for a long time and gamers were eagerly waiting for it, thanks to the success of the masterpiece RE4. So, now that its been out for while, reception for it-by critics and gamers-has been positive, but they were dissapointed that it didn't live it to the hype and expectations that was bestowed upon it. So, is that true? Yes, yes it is. RE4 was practically perfect. RE5, on the other hand, isn't. It has many flaws that weigh the game down, but thankfully, Capcom has enough 'pros' to keep the quality of the game at a even-keel. RE5 is too familiar to RE4. The gameplay is exactly the same, and the inventory system and A.I. are actually worse than RE4's; there's no horror element to the game, although it does make you tense when you play co-op; the story is good, but its not as varied and exciting as RE4's. But, despite those flaws, the game is still a blast and it is amazing throughout most of the game. The Co-Op is suprisingly, the best component of this game. It's one of the best Co-Op offers around here in the gaming world. The campaign will take you about 12-16 hours to complete on any difficulty, but I would like to note that this game loses a lot of its luster and charm when playing single-player. The A.I. is pathetic (Sheva, I look at you), the inventory system is a hazzle, especially if Sheva will use a herb for any messly wound (Stupid **** so be sure to put most of the important stuff like Herbs, Ammo, Weapons on your side and leave the retarded **** with only a pistol and a sub-machine gun. The end battle and the ending itself are very, very, very dissapointing. It felt rushed and unnecessary. And last, but not least, the characters are ok at most. The only one worth seeing is Albert Wesker. Wesker shows the world ehy he is one of the greatest villains in history. His voice, his stance, his goals, etc; Wesker makes this game entertaining and if it wasn't for him, the game would've fallen apart. I recommend this game to everyone (mostly hardcore RE fans). RE5 is a great game and at times, it not only matches the quality of its predescessor, but surpasses it. It's a shame it couldn't be as innovative, inventive, original and breath-taking as RE4, but with Wesker and Co-Op, it almost gets to that level of excellence. A 9.4/10. Expand
  50. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    RE5 it's just a good ol action game. I would prefered it if they labeled the game as a new IP. It lost some of it's RE roots. Just see when RE6 comes out. Nobody will know what it them. In a horrible way.
  51. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Starting the series with RE5, I can easily say I am very impressed. The only reason not to get this would be if you hate shooters. True, it's not as scary as it's previous entries but it has amazing replay value. All of the DLC is absolutely worth it. Let's break it down:

    Graphics:9/10 You really can't say anything bad about the graphics. Maybe not flawless, but excellent. The only
    Starting the series with RE5, I can easily say I am very impressed. The only reason not to get this would be if you hate shooters. True, it's not as scary as it's previous entries but it has amazing replay value. All of the DLC is absolutely worth it. Let's break it down:

    Graphics:9/10
    You really can't say anything bad about the graphics. Maybe not flawless, but excellent. The only disappointment that I have was that the console versions can only produce limited amount of enemies at a time, but technology will advance, so I'm not too upset.

    Gameplay:9/10
    The gameplay is amazing and is addictive. Everything you could want from a game like this. Except you can't run and gun...I don't really care if you can or not but that's up to you. And, no, of course it's not like old style Resident Evil. It is more of a TPS now mixed with the horror element.

    Sound:7/10
    Voices sound cheesy. Real cheesy. But other than that the sound is great.

    Replay Value:10/10
    Absolutely addicting! You will be drawn into this game from the start and there are a variety of difficulty levels that will keep you playing the story mode. The mini game Mercenaries is the best. Mercenaries Reunion is not nearly as good as Mercenaries but still loads of fun. Versus is the competitive side of RE5 and , in my opinion, is almost as fun as Mercenaries. Lastly, there are the DLC stories that will keep you busy for at least another ten hours. Overall, the game is one of the best games I have ever played. It's midnight and I am tired so my review is not as detailed as it should be but take my word for it and buy it/
    Expand
  52. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is probably the best game ever made. It is like Resident Evil 4 with more action, more replayability, and better graphics. Resident Evil is beyond cool. If you like gun management, exploring, collecting treasure and killing zombies look no further. The only thing I hated about this game was its price. Compared to Resident Evil 4, the DLC is a complete ripoff. RE4 was two games, AdaThis is probably the best game ever made. It is like Resident Evil 4 with more action, more replayability, and better graphics. Resident Evil is beyond cool. If you like gun management, exploring, collecting treasure and killing zombies look no further. The only thing I hated about this game was its price. Compared to Resident Evil 4, the DLC is a complete ripoff. RE4 was two games, Ada Wong story. This is like 1.5 games and even more expensive. If RE6 gets too chincey I won't play it, but so far this is the best Zombie Killing experience and the best game on PS3. Expand
  53. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Once again another Resident Evil rises and tries to take over the forth but can it be better than. Resident Evil 5 puts you in the footsteps of Chris Redfield a S.T.A.R.S member from the first game and his new partner Sheva with a funny british accent. The gameplay is the same as the the forth game, with the laser point and some what hard puzzles. The annoying is playing alone with theOnce again another Resident Evil rises and tries to take over the forth but can it be better than. Resident Evil 5 puts you in the footsteps of Chris Redfield a S.T.A.R.S member from the first game and his new partner Sheva with a funny british accent. The gameplay is the same as the the forth game, with the laser point and some what hard puzzles. The annoying is playing alone with the computer as your partner is going to be hard because most of the time its in the way and it keeps taking your ammunition when needed and be abused also has to die when its not the right time. But playing is fun just two dudes messing with a bunch of zombies. Problems have been going on with this game, they say its racist, I don't mind its just you don't see that many games like that. A good game still waiting for the next one to come out. Expand
  54. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Replaying this again but in the PS3 , there's really not much of a difference and plays significantly like a dated PS2 game. Of course, the co-op is the key of success here and much of the content it's very basic. Though in my opinion this is really the perfect game to play with a buddy.
  55. May 21, 2011
    9
    Let me start with saying that I never took a interest in the Resident Evil series... never. Somehow when the series started I was into LucasArts games... adventures... Star Wars... many years later I got a quick peek at the PC... and I was sold! The graphics and face animations... the cut-scene quality... the voice acting... the adrenaline shock from the first majini encounter... ButLet me start with saying that I never took a interest in the Resident Evil series... never. Somehow when the series started I was into LucasArts games... adventures... Star Wars... many years later I got a quick peek at the PC... and I was sold! The graphics and face animations... the cut-scene quality... the voice acting... the adrenaline shock from the first majini encounter... But playing on PC, there was never the option for me to do some Co-Op. A few months later my PS3 arrived and I had to get that sweet gory game for it. Since then passed something like 2 and a half months and I was still doing Co-Op damage in it.
    One thing I have to notice first... I really had the impression, that there were more enemies in the PC version... so that would be one minus point... but I didn't really count them, so whatever!

    First impression... the whole thing begins with an amazing cut-scene, featuring some of the best "for game" cinematic's I came across... the camera movement, the angles the editing... it is simply a good movie between the levels with amazing production values... why only a good movie? Well, the plot isn't that great and the dialogs are sometimes idiotic... but the voice-cast is so amazing that you can easily forget that the last line you heard is actually pretty stupid! The voice-cast and the facial animations... which are really outstanding... the eye movement, the eyebrows, the lips it is simply a joy to simply watch them two main heroes!

    So now lets talk about our main protagonists... Chris Redfield... as much as I love the way he was animated, I am not quite a fan of his muscularity... I mean the guys looks like a descended of Donkey Kong himself, just watch his ears! But besides that he is quit a likable character. On the other hand we have his always present female sidekick, which is simply anatomically perfect, no over sized silicon breasts (like most of the female characters designed for games), a beautiful face and as Chris a likable character.
    But what Sheva really offers is "an excuse" for the possibility to play the whole single player campaign in Cooperative mode with friends on-line! Of course there are in game button assigned commands to communicate within game, but a headset is definitely the way to go! I would especially recommend the original PS3 headset from Sony!
    The replay value in Co-Op mode is extremely high, when you got some folks to play with. People say the single player experience vs. the Co-Op experience is radically different... maybe, but the Co-Op is in my opinion the more fun way to play. Gathering the treasures and emblems and trophies together really is much more rewarding and you have to really work together to go through some game points to not waste amo or healing stuff. The difficulty level is somewhat unbalanced sometimes, you start with a very tough set piece followed by some easier points along the way, then you get to another hard point and so on and so on... but that is not really a complaint, more an observation about the games pacing.
    A minus point is the engine, which on one hand offers stunning graphics, but on the other hand really narrows your movement options. You can't jump over any given ledge, the game has to allow you this, the cover system is OK, but why do they reload before going back to cover after shooting, leaving you literally out in the open for counterattacks? Some might not like the fact, that you can't run and shoot, but this too isn't really that bad... one has just to rethink his game strategy.
    So if you like games which offer a spectacular presentation, but no really strong plot or dialogue (but perfectly voice acted and featuring likable characters), which offer amazing graphics and a ton of fun instead of a complicated game engine, then this one is the right one for you... for weeks, if not months!
    This game has some cons, but the pros definitely out wage them... so this is a 10 in 10 for me! The DLC are also worth the purchase!
    Expand
  56. May 18, 2012
    8
    the game is not bad but its not great either i just dont get it re4 is one of my favorite games ever how is re5 worse all they had to do is new story then its perfect already they didn't have to change anything just a new story why did they add so much nonsense
  57. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    This game is great but it could have been a perfect 10 if not for the stupid people complaining it was racist. The beta version would have been a fans dream but of course it was called racist just because there were AFRICANS in it. Still though it was a awesome game and i still loved every second of it
  58. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    Good action to two players. Excellent game. It only not better because A.I. from partner is very low when not controlled for a human player. But the action is good. The combat have a intense rythmn. I recommend this game for action fans.
  59. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Right ok.... resident evil 5 its gotten really strong reviews by the looks of it but to its a good 3rd person shoot but a bad resident evil game i know im gonna get alot of hate for this but this is my review and when u take resident evil 5 and put it up to resident evil 1,2,3 and even 4 its really bad thats the only proplem i have with it oh and it capcoms gonna make it a shooter...can weRight ok.... resident evil 5 its gotten really strong reviews by the looks of it but to its a good 3rd person shoot but a bad resident evil game i know im gonna get alot of hate for this but this is my review and when u take resident evil 5 and put it up to resident evil 1,2,3 and even 4 its really bad thats the only proplem i have with it oh and it capcoms gonna make it a shooter...can we atleast be able to movie and reload,shoot ? i mean come on now. for a shooter 8/10 for a resident evil game 6/10 id recomend it to all people who like shooters and id have to recomend it to resident evil fans coz it ends a big story in the games.Oh and NO PEOPLE THIS IS NO SURVIVAL HORROR GAME! its a 3rd person shooter. Expand
  60. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Good game, compelling story, excellent graphics, good a.i., original setting, fun to play with a friend, my only complaint would be that you can't move while aiming. Other than that it's an excellent game for killing some zombies.
  61. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is one of my all time favorite games. It gives you the first person shooter game. With a side of scary, horror. While at the same time has a good story plot to follow. I have been following all the Resident Evil games, and find it to be my favorite out of all the Resident Evil games out so far.
  62. May 18, 2012
    8
    awesome game. story was good. game play was fun. graphics was good. game was pretty epic. I just still can't get over the fact you can't move when slashing someone with a knife, that was a bummer.
  63. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I purchased the Gold edition of this game and I think it makes a big difference. The normal campaign has 2 flaws: The AI is horrible and the game isn't scary. Sheva had no business in the game at all, if they made the inventory like re4, made Chris isolated, made the game occur at night, and had maybe traps waiting for you like in re4 to make you more aware of your surroundings, thenI purchased the Gold edition of this game and I think it makes a big difference. The normal campaign has 2 flaws: The AI is horrible and the game isn't scary. Sheva had no business in the game at all, if they made the inventory like re4, made Chris isolated, made the game occur at night, and had maybe traps waiting for you like in re4 to make you more aware of your surroundings, then maybe the game would have been better. Lost in nightmares is actually really good. Especially when playing with a friend. Desperate escape is OK.

    Verses mode is fun for awhile but not amazing.
    Expand
  64. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Very entertaining game and co-op is very fun! But it is not a resident evil game. It is more like a action than a horror game but it is still a great game.
  65. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Like the fourth game the fifth is great. Albert Wesker is such a great villain. My only problem with this game was the AI on your partner, couldn't really rely on it to do anything.
  66. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    The visuals are simply brilliant, the game creates enormous tension. One factor is the constant threat of enemy hordes, the other with an interesting story along with surprising twists and locations.
  67. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    One of my best game ever played on console. A balaced game with really cool animated characters. The game on the release for its year was outstanding. I played this game 24/7. The controller wasn't perfect but still really good.
  68. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    the perfect game for you and your best pal, not for playing alone. Great story, graphics and good shooting action. For those who say RE its not what it used to be, it had to evolve, and they did it very well.
  69. May 25, 2013
    8
    RE5 isn't better than RE4, but... It definitely is a true RE sequel. Chris Redfield has been my favorite RE character, 2nd to Leon, since Resident Evil 1! The ally A.I. is stupid and doesn't seem to help out a lot, so make sure you're playing co-op with a friend. Either way, its a great RE game from beginning to the exciting boss fight at the end (not spoiling it)!
  70. May 26, 2014
    9
    While the complaints regarding this game are fully understandable, I actually liked it a lot. Imperfect but nonetheless enjoyable, RE5 has good co-op and an excellent storyline that features plenty of different scenery. It was fun to me even though it was clearly more action-oriented than horror-oriented (something many fans will view unfavourably). And Capcom's classic high-quality voiceWhile the complaints regarding this game are fully understandable, I actually liked it a lot. Imperfect but nonetheless enjoyable, RE5 has good co-op and an excellent storyline that features plenty of different scenery. It was fun to me even though it was clearly more action-oriented than horror-oriented (something many fans will view unfavourably). And Capcom's classic high-quality voice acting is still there! Expand
  71. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação
    agora é um bom jogo de ação ?
  72. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay, just like in Resident Evil 4, is a radical departure from previous installments. The series has taken a huge step forward in action, but a huge step backward in horror. It is played in a refined over-the-shoulder perspective, similar to Resident Evil 4. No longer do you feel the thrill of escaping zombies, fighting for your life, and hoping you have enough ammunition
    Gameplay:
    Gameplay, just like in Resident Evil 4, is a radical departure from previous installments. The series has taken a huge step forward in action, but a huge step backward in horror. It is played in a refined over-the-shoulder perspective, similar to Resident Evil 4. No longer do you feel the thrill of escaping zombies, fighting for your life, and hoping you have enough ammunition to survive. Instead, the gameplay is solely focused on action. Ammo is plentiful, there is no incentive to fear enemies, and the atmosphere is not frightening. The reason for this stems from always having partner with you throughout the entirety of the game. If you were expecting a horror game, steer clear away from this game.

    Story:
    Chris Redfield, now a member of the BSAA, is dispatched to an African territory in order to find a terrorist who is trying to sell a BOW. He is partnered up with Sheva Alomar, a BSAA agent who is also a local. Upon their arrival to Kijuju, they find that the citizens have been infected by a parasite.

    Graphics:
    Resident Evil 5 still holds up graphically! It's better looking than some games that have come out recently in the 8th gen era! Character models are well-made, the lighting is amazing, and enemies have a creative design. Cut scenes are impressive and the overall aesthetic of the game also allows you to become immersed in the action.

    Verdict:
    If you're expecting a survival horror game, you will be very disappointed. This is an action game first and foremost. It's a shame, however, this is not a bad game. I would consider this a great action game, but a terrible Resident Evil game. If you're willing to look past the fact that the series has taken a turn towards the action genre, you can have an enjoyable time playing this game.
    Expand
  73. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Although I viewed this as a step back from the excellent atmosphere of Resident Evil 4, the game is really good and I enjoyed every moment I had with it.
  74. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    This game goes from a 7/10 for single player to a 10/10 for co-op. I have never had so much fun playing a co-op game in my last 10 years of gaming. Enjoy!
  75. Jul 25, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not better than RE4, but still one of the best. Being able to have co-op online and offline was fantastic. I enjoyed playing with other people. Chris and Sheva fighting for their past, and friends really seemed touched up the story. Bumping into Jill was totally unexpected. Wesker seemed like a beast. From mind controlling Jill, to moving fast, to trying to take over the world. He felt like the best boss. The plot actually feels good coming from 4. Expand
  76. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Non sarà un survival horror,ma rimane comunque un gioco epico,con una storia che dire bella è dire poco e con un gameplay spettacolare.Da non perdere se siete amanti degli action.Uno dei migliori titoli del genere.
  77. Dec 19, 2014
    8
    I never played another resi game, so this was my first encounter with this franchise and i really enjoyed it! First i had some problems with the controls but after that it became a great action game! Less a survival horror game to be honest. Only the battle with the endboss left me a little bit speechless (not in a good way...).
  78. Oct 7, 2015
    9
    What can I say, I liked this game! Been a fan since day one in the Resident Evil series back in the 90's and even I was able to set the bias aside and appreciate this game for what it was meant to be, not trying to approach it like it's the 90's again and Res2 is just coming out. Gave it a nine though, because I do feel it's a step below RES4 which is the first game to start the seriesWhat can I say, I liked this game! Been a fan since day one in the Resident Evil series back in the 90's and even I was able to set the bias aside and appreciate this game for what it was meant to be, not trying to approach it like it's the 90's again and Res2 is just coming out. Gave it a nine though, because I do feel it's a step below RES4 which is the first game to start the series down this new path. A diffident must play! Expand
  79. Nov 30, 2015
    8
    um bom jogo, contém uma ótima história, uma ótima jogabilidade que vem evoluindo dês do 4, uma ótima trilha sonora e trouxe algo totalmente inovador pra série, o modo cooperativo pra vc pode salvar o jogo com o seu amigo, além de dar pra salvar o jogo até online, outra coisa que eu gostei muito também foi do modo mercenários que continuou presente no 6, só uma coisa que me eu não gostei, oum bom jogo, contém uma ótima história, uma ótima jogabilidade que vem evoluindo dês do 4, uma ótima trilha sonora e trouxe algo totalmente inovador pra série, o modo cooperativo pra vc pode salvar o jogo com o seu amigo, além de dar pra salvar o jogo até online, outra coisa que eu gostei muito também foi do modo mercenários que continuou presente no 6, só uma coisa que me eu não gostei, o jogo esta carente de terror, se tem 10% de terror tem muito, um jogo da série survival horror virar jogo de ação é meio frustrante. recomendo o game apenas para pessoas que curtem jogos de ação. Expand
  80. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Large, engaging battle sequences, online co-op mode, solid story-telling, and an amazing atmosphere make this a through evolution of the Resident Evil franchise. The game suffers a bit in off-line AI-controlled co-op - which takes away more than it adds to the experience. Expand
  81. Feb 21, 2016
    8
    esse jogo foi muito bom, sendo o primeiro a dar pra jogar dois jogadores, o primeiro a ter um modo online, trouxe o modo mercenaries, teve ótimos personagens, o melhor vilão da franquia, ótima trilha sonora. mas falhou em uma coisa, se você olhar pro resident evil 5 como um jogo de ação e aventura ele é ótimo, mas se for olhar como um jogo de survival horror o que era pra ser ele é fraco.esse jogo foi muito bom, sendo o primeiro a dar pra jogar dois jogadores, o primeiro a ter um modo online, trouxe o modo mercenaries, teve ótimos personagens, o melhor vilão da franquia, ótima trilha sonora. mas falhou em uma coisa, se você olhar pro resident evil 5 como um jogo de ação e aventura ele é ótimo, mas se for olhar como um jogo de survival horror o que era pra ser ele é fraco. cade o terror? o jogo é ação quase o tempo todo. Expand
  82. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  83. May 16, 2016
    8
    very good title of the saga Resident Evil where we cris an African adventure where you will have a large number of weapons, history, music, with a variety of bonus games that will give you a great number of hours, but it takes away renowned franchise because it has the Ambienta resident sagas such as changing the jugabiliadad removed from the four traditional game mode of the previousvery good title of the saga Resident Evil where we cris an African adventure where you will have a large number of weapons, history, music, with a variety of bonus games that will give you a great number of hours, but it takes away renowned franchise because it has the Ambienta resident sagas such as changing the jugabiliadad removed from the four traditional game mode of the previous titles to innovate it is good and valid but I prefer the gameplay of the previous sagas Expand
  84. Mar 19, 2012
    0
    Controls got much better than RE4. It's a HARD GAME (THAT'S WHAT REAL PLAYERS LIKE). Chris Redfield is Tougher than Rambo and Sheva is Tougher than Lara Croft! Graphics are AMAZING (I don't believe they made so much on just 720p). The gameplay is long, the multiplayer is good and the Minigames are very interesting. The only bad thig is that the RE series lost the "Horror" title. Now it'sControls got much better than RE4. It's a HARD GAME (THAT'S WHAT REAL PLAYERS LIKE). Chris Redfield is Tougher than Rambo and Sheva is Tougher than Lara Croft! Graphics are AMAZING (I don't believe they made so much on just 720p). The gameplay is long, the multiplayer is good and the Minigames are very interesting. The only bad thig is that the RE series lost the "Horror" title. Now it's more a good survival "Action" game. A Must-Have for sure. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    Perhaps Resident Evil 5's most remarkable achievement is how it deftly straddles the line between the franchise's sometimes endearing, sometimes frustrating, legacy gameplay mechanics while incorporating more contemporary action adventure elements like enhanced interaction and exploration of environments and a decidedly more shooter-like control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.38]
  2. GamePro
    90
    Hardcore fans may be disappointed by the departure from the traditional survival-horror roots but trust me, the game delivers enough thrills that you probably won't care. [Apr 2009, p.68]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    In too many ways this is identical to the last game. That's not necessarily a bad thing - "RE4" is one of the greatest games ever made because it rewrote the rules for action games, setting a template for everything from "Dead Space" to "Dark Sector." Because of that this is still a damn near essential purchase. It's just a shame that the lack of evolution means it occasionally feels like it's lagging behind the very competitors it inspired. [Mar 2009, p.80]