User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 473

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    7
    Resident Evil 5 was my most wanted game since i finished RE4 . well lets get the negative things out of the way . the game doesnt take many chances and instead keeps pretty much to the path RE4 layed out which might have been not a bad thing if RE4 didnt come out 5 years before hand . making the gameplay feel abit dated also why cant you move and shoot still? i mean dead space and silent hill let you do this , capcom cant get the message apperintly . the game doesnt inspire much horror like its prevous games its more of just action action and more action which for some may be great for others they feel what made the series so great was kinda lost. Your partner AI is just HORRABLE . i swear i screamed and yelled at my tv at all the dumb things sheva did made me wana shoot her . the story doesnt feel like it adds any thing new it feels more like its a revenge story to get wesker and thats about it . why the hell is chris so buff i swear i think he;s gona have Roid Rage at any second.

    now for the good . CO-OP that doesnt suck like outbreaks . the co-op feature is the best reason to buy this game playing with a friend is just a blast . boss fights are still fun and exciting , LOTS and LOTS of guns ., the graphics are amazing . the controls felt ok to me i didnt have much of a issue like some did. fast paced action that rarely lets up . Now for a game that took 5 years to make i expected more out of capcom but its still a fun game if you have a buddy to play with if not then the game just isnt gona be as fun . Sheva shoulda been left out and clair or Leon shoulda been brought in .All in Alll RE5 isnt a bad game but it sure isnt a great game eather.
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2010
    6
    This game had a huge hurdle to leap over after Resident Evil 4, and it doesn't make it over. It doesn't even try to. Let me describe the good things about this game because it will be over really quickly. The graphics look amazing. Everything from enemies to the environment are quite detailed and that's nice. That's about all that's really outstanding for this game. Everything else is either mediocre or just plain bad. The level design seems to be much more vertical then Resident Evil 4, meaning instead of a wide area to play in, now you are in a narrower area but can climb to all these floors. What is truly outstandingly bad about this game is the AI companion, Sheva. Her AI is absolutely atrocious. I'm not going to discuss too much about her poor herb mixing abilities (I have two green herbs and a red herb. I know, I'll make Green+Green and leave the Red), her mediocre shooting abilities, or her inability to help you chain combos. I will talk about her general combat tactics, which are just bad. There is a level where you are in a cross shaped corridor. Naturally, a sane person would go to the end of one of the crosses and funnel enemies inside, but Sheva insists on standing in the middle and take hits from all sides, no matter how much you call her over. Another instance is facing an enemy with a minigun. The strategy is to take cover and shoot when he's not shooting. However, she ignores cover and constantly goes to pick up a green herb and gets herself killed. When I injure the enemy and open up a window for a melee combo, she stands there and does nothing. I'm writing this because I've retried this part about two dozen times and still hasn't gotten past it. I know it may be biased to say this, but if the character's AI is that bad, there's something wrong there. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    3
    First, I will admit that I have not really played the game too much. I bought it on release and played through the first 3 chapters. I remember when RE4 came out and was excellent on the GC, so I was pretty excited about this game. Major disappointment. 5 years after RE4 and we get this game? The controls are god awful for the environments they place you in. The teammate mechanic is just horrid if you do not have an actual person playing with you. It is the exact same game as RE4 with the new "buddy" system. RE4 was excellent because it was released in 2004. This game is terrible and overrated for using the exact same game with a ridiculous story and poor gameplay 5 years later. My only gripe about RE4 was the lack of scares and horror. This game just verifies that Capcom would rather try and make a Gears Of War clone (Gears is terrible as well btw) than stick to its roots with a survival horror. Stop making Resident Evil. Let us enjoy the old games, and not have to endure another new crap movie either.... IGNORE THE 10 FROM THE ORIGINAL REVIEW Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    One of the Best games this Gen!! My 2nd favourite game in the resident evil franchise/series (Resident Evil 4 is the Best).. I dont why people hated Resident Evil 5! I know it wasnt like old Resident evil games.. But still it was a GREAT game.. I really liked the story.. Tbh One of the best games this gen! I rate it 10/10 (well deserved)
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Gameplay: 10 - Perfect. RE5 is the best example of 3rd-person shooting in recent memory. The stop-and-pop mechanics may annoy some, but in reality it makes the shooter more accurate (real cops/soldiers don't run-and-gun!). The melee is fun, and the Co-op is some of the best ever. Add in the excellent bonus Mercenaries mode, and RE5 has great replayability.
    Story: 9 - Amazing. RE5 makes
    you care about Chris's quest. Though it starts slightly slow, it quickly gains momentum, resulting in an action-packed and twist-filled ending.
    Graphics: 10 - Perfect. RE5 has some of the most beautiful graphics on any system.
    Sound - 10 - Perfect. When the tone requires, the music can be moody, creepy, thrilling, or sad. The sounds of Majini (non-zombies/infected) chill the blood when heard in the dark when you have few shots left...
    Overall: 10 - Perfect. Need a co-op game? Resident Evil 5 is perfect for you.
    Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2011
    3
    this game sucks. it was one of my first ps3 games and i had a huge hype on it. But, its terrible! things are difficult, all the things you do or at least try to, are hard, complicated, it's not a natural thing, i felt like a dumb robot while playing this game. I can't be unfair and talk just about the bad things, so, sounds, graphics and the atmosphere created by the game are awesome, i have to admit. it's a pity that all the visual aspects are hidded by the stupid and poor gameplay. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Controls got much better than RE4. It's a HARD GAME (THAT'S WHAT REAL PLAYERS LIKE). Chris Redfield is Tougher than Rambo and Sheva is Tougher than Lara Croft! Graphics are AMAZING (I don't believe they made so much on just 720p). The gameplay is long, the multiplayer is good and the Minigames are very interesting. The only bad thig is that the RE series lost the "Horror" title. Now it's more a good survival "Action" game. A Must-Have for sure. Expand
  8. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    Cara Sobre Resident Evil 5 Sinceramente todos sabem Era um game de Survival Horror mais eu no vou ficar aqui enchendo o saco como todo mundo fica vamos analisar uma coisa virou um game de ação agora é um bom jogo de ação ? Bom a jogabilidade é boa Os Gráficos são excelente O designer é bonito E as historia é boa
    Trilha sonora um pouco ausente
    Claro tem seu defeitos alguns bugs leitura facial da boca
    A jogabilidade poderia ser muito melhor por causa de ser muito travo
    Não poder mirar e andar ao mesmo tempo um mode esquiva e uma movimentação Mais fluida e o pios de tudo a inteligência artificial da Sheeva muito ruim No geral é um péssimo residente evil mais um bom jogo de ação e eu recomendo a todos que joguem...
    Expand
  9. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    what is going on here? what the? who in hell call this game a Resident Evil game?
    no horror, no puzzles and no atmosphere! why? what is wrong?
    why converting a true horror/puzzle game into pure action?!! WHY?
    whay happened to keys? The door is locked? no problem just blast the d**n thing! problem solved, and everybody is happy! THE HELL!!
    what happened to REAL puzzles like Planet 42
    anyone?
    I won't recomend this for a real horror/puzzle fan.
    Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2013
    1
    this game sucked so hard and wasn't even scary. When they tried making it scary it was funny! Horror games aren't supposed to be that way! Resident Evil 5 is such a bad game I don't understand why everybody says it's so great, sure the co-op was pretty cool but the gameplay sucked, the story sucked, the game sucked.
  11. Dec 10, 2013
    1
    When Resident Evil 5 first released back 2009, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was BS there was no good part, Series is even more Dead thanks to making Wesker out of Character with this Release.
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 0/10
    Total: 2/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  12. Feb 7, 2011
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a good third person shooter that is definitely a creepy and eerie experience. The graphics are sharp, dark and help capture the scary feel (without actually being too scary) of the game. The character models are nicely rendered with great facial animations. One thing I find really unsettling (in a good way) is the appearance of the Uroboros Virus that attacks people and infects them. It's icky to look at and I shiver when I see it slither across the ground. It's a horrifying sight when it bursts out of infected hosts skins and takes over their bodies but at least it's not too scary and it looks right for a Resident Evil game. The level design is a tad too linear but at least there's a good variety of environments like open streets and pathways instead of boring corridors. The game play is a typical third person shooter with some puzzle solving and item collecting to do along the way like gold, ammo and artefacts that can be sold for money to use to upgrade your weapons of buy weapons. This is not an action heavy title and the game is slower paced in comparison to other third person shooters like Uncharted: Drakes Fortune and Gears of War. To add to the tension, there is ammo supplement is limited so you'll have to make sure that every shot counts. The infected slowly come towards you ready to attack and eat you alive and this gives you plenty of time to aim your gun and try to get a headshot. There is variation in the enemy design which keeps things feeling fresh so you don't face the same enemy's over and over again. The thing that got me annoyed at first were the controls (why do you have to aim and press X to reload rather than one simple button to reload?) and the fact that you can't move while aiming and shooting. This maybe a survival game and there maybe things trying to kill you but they'll always be someone with you to keep yourself from wetting your pants. Sheva accompanies Chris (you) during game play and this turns Resident Evil 5 into a rather nice Co-op game. When you haven't got a friend to play with, the A.I takes over the role of controlling Sheva. The A.I maybe a little bit dumb but at least it gives you a helping hand if you're in trouble. You can even swap items with one another like ammo, first aid spray or herbs. Resident Evil 5 provides you with a range of arsenal to help you deal with the infestation like the usual assault rifles, grenade launchers and pistols. Resident Evil 5 isn't that scary but there seems to be a few "What the hell is that?!"Â Expand
  13. Jan 5, 2012
    0
    i did not like this game at all you cant move while attacking which leaves you open to attack every time you want to kill something and when you look around the camera is too sensitive and this can not be changed as well everything you do in this game feels unnatural and clunky i played the first chapter and gave up because of the bad gameplay
  14. Jul 3, 2011
    1
    No no no, this game has something wrong. It's difficulty level. I cant even get past the first mission after many times on the freaking easiest mode. WTH! No hope for this game, too difficult. i have trade this game for batman. much better.
  15. Jul 6, 2012
    1
    Incredibly disappointing!! I spent $10 on this game and it's not worth $1. The controls and item management are pathetic and the co-op creates the most frustrating gaming experience I've had in years. Your partner wastes ammo, can't kill anything, and is generally useless. Avoid at all costs!!!!
  16. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    I spent 10 hours in single player and more than 30 in mercenaries mode. This second mode definitely keep the rate higher. Single for 7 and multi for 9 give right and honest rating.
  17. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  18. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil 5 takes a lot of flak but it's an amazing game. It was one of the best games to come out back in 2009 and it still holds up. Graphics are still some of the best on the PS3. Co-op is a lot of fun with a buddy and the AI isn't terrible. There is a lot of tense moments and many memorable enemies. The story was also fantastic. The sounds in this game are definitely some of the best in gaming. It may not stick to the typical Resident Evil formula but it stands alone as a great title regardless. Expand
  19. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    its not bad but its still same old game they just redesign resident evil 4 with 5 same old story parasite enemy if they could of down it same way they brought out the trailer would been perfect
  20. May 28, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil series is the reason why I bought my first PS 1,.. and i'm falling in Love with the story and characters ever since,.. Killing zombies never stop amusing me...
  21. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    Resident Evil 5 is the most overrated game I have ever played. So dull with little moments to really keep you hooked. Controls are also incredibly awkward.
  22. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    Not much of a RE fan so i decided to give RE5 a try.

    Story- Chris Redfield goes on a mission to investigate Africa and whats going on there. He meets his new partner Sheva Alomar to help out in the situation.

    Gameplay- Basically a 3rd person shooter from capcom but its not the old survival horror as it use to be. in fact it goes to action. You can fill your slots and A.I up to 9
    items with ammo, Guns, and Healing items.
    you can upgrade your guns later in the game to be more damaging for example. Co-op can be fun sometimes but there will be times when your online partner can be a dick that will annoy you which leads to kicking him out of the game. Mercernaries is introduced where you or a partner can score a high amount on the amount of enemies you defeat and can increase the score by picking up special items to boost your score. Only problem i have is when the A.I will use up their ammo and suddenly heal themselves even if your at full health. another one is which weapon you would want to use over because if you find an awesome gun then the old gun you use will rarely be used and you'll give to your A.I partner to use for the duration of the game.

    Overall- RE5 is an okay for a Resident evil game but taking it as a action theme of it may lead to not being a survival horror series as it used to be if capcom keeps doing this as their route
    Expand
  23. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    This is a co-op master piece, with so much replay value and DLC modes to keep you playing for months, the environments are Amazing for a 3 year old game and the detail put in to everything little things is very noticeable..
    If your playing solo the AI player isn't a hindrance for possibly the first time in any game I've ever played and being able to customize their equip is very helpful..

    my only real qualm with this game is the controls, slow movement and still fire and Melee will have you getting smashed by giant monsters all through out this game..

    The gold edition is now $20 AUS, definitely worth getting.
    Expand
  24. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is generally a good game, but some elements can be really annoying. I've played the previous parts of Capcom production and I know about the most characteristic features of RE's. But, guys, we have 2010, not 1997. Can't I shoot when I'm moving? What the hell? And the final boss... So simple, but only if you know ONE and the ONLY ONE right way to defeat him. I died about fifteen times, because I tried to push the stone too early. Oh, come on - give me some freedom! I'm not a casual player, but sometimes RE 5 is quite too hard. The first boss is bulletproof, so it's better to run than shoot (of course, you have to die three or four times to know that). And the last thing: the game isn't scary. Not at all. It's survival-action, at the most, not survival-horror., But generally it's a good production, which can bring a lot of satisfaction and maybe a little of irritation too. Expand
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    5
    Okay, let me start out by saying I am a fan of the resident Evil series, but this game does it no justice.
    The game plays slowly and the story doesn't have much development, you're put straight into the action. Also, the difficulty must not have been tested or something because the first boss is nearly impossible on NORMAL. Just to beat the game I had to set it to "Easy", which even then
    I had some troubles. It doesn't even deserve to be in the Resident Evil series. Expand
  26. May 23, 2013
    5
    This game does not seem like an actual Resident Evil game. There are no puzzles or thrill to this game whatsoever. This game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil franchise. This is simply an action game and nothing else. The farther you get into the story the more boring it gets as it really does not develop. The golden package was an improvement but without it this game is simply laughable. Expand
  27. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    EN: Lacks almost all the survival horror elements that made Resident Evil so famous, but as an action game, and that's what RE5 is about, RE5 does just great and provides some really awesome moments, like the Irving boss battle, the Licker's return and a long-waited reunion between Jill, Chris and Wesker.

    PT-BR: Não contem quase nenhum dos elementos de survival horror que fizeram de
    Ressident Evil um sucesso, mas como um jogo de ação, e disso que RE5 se trata, RE5 vai muito bem e proporciona alguns momentos realmente incríveis, tais como a luta contra o boss Irving, o retorno dos Lickers e o tão esperado reencontro entre Jill, Chris e Wesker. Expand
  28. Oct 14, 2013
    3
    With story and dialogue written near the intellectual level of The Room, poor characterization, exposition dumps of the laziest kind, and quicktime events of increasing scale to the point where the final boss can only be defeated by them, Resident Evil 5 is a mess of a game. Using similar mechanics to Resident Evil 4, a good game, RE5 proves that good mechanics can be used poorly, when the game plays like the tense horror game RE4 was and RE5 is not. With the changes RE5 does make, you get one of the worst inventory systems I've seen in a while, and an AI partner with little purpose past accommodating the multiplayer craze. Even when playing coop with a real person, the actual "coop" in this game is forced and unnecessary. When RE5 tries to rip off RE4, it fails, and when RE5 tries something new, it fails again.

    I can only recommend this for laughter's sake, as the campaign, when played with a friend, will provide many opportunities for mocking remarks and enjoyment in the lackluster qualities seen above. Otherwise, don't bother.
    Expand
  29. Oct 30, 2013
    1
    ...The worst way to copy a greatest hit (RE4) this is a horrible game...¡¿Where the hell are the SURVIVAL HORROR PUZZLES Even is so easy and the graphics are so basic... i don't know why this game is called "Resident Evil 5"
  30. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    Resident Evil 5 was, undoubtedly, the most anticipated game of 2009. It was in development for a long time and gamers were eagerly waiting for it, thanks to the success of the masterpiece RE4. So, now that its been out for while, reception for it-by critics and gamers-has been positive, but they were dissapointed that it didn't live it to the hype and expectations that was bestowed upon it. So, is that true? Yes, yes it is. RE4 was practically perfect. RE5, on the other hand, isn't. It has many flaws that weigh the game down, but thankfully, Capcom has enough 'pros' to keep the quality of the game at a even-keel. RE5 is too familiar to RE4. The gameplay is exactly the same, and the inventory system and A.I. are actually worse than RE4's; there's no horror element to the game, although it does make you tense when you play co-op; the story is good, but its not as varied and exciting as RE4's. But, despite those flaws, the game is still a blast and it is amazing throughout most of the game. The Co-Op is suprisingly, the best component of this game. It's one of the best Co-Op offers around here in the gaming world. The campaign will take you about 12-16 hours to complete on any difficulty, but I would like to note that this game loses a lot of its luster and charm when playing single-player. The A.I. is pathetic (Sheva, I look at you), the inventory system is a hazzle, especially if Sheva will use a herb for any messly wound (Stupid **** so be sure to put most of the important stuff like Herbs, Ammo, Weapons on your side and leave the retarded **** with only a pistol and a sub-machine gun. The end battle and the ending itself are very, very, very dissapointing. It felt rushed and unnecessary. And last, but not least, the characters are ok at most. The only one worth seeing is Albert Wesker. Wesker shows the world ehy he is one of the greatest villains in history. His voice, his stance, his goals, etc; Wesker makes this game entertaining and if it wasn't for him, the game would've fallen apart. I recommend this game to everyone (mostly hardcore RE fans). RE5 is a great game and at times, it not only matches the quality of its predescessor, but surpasses it. It's a shame it couldn't be as innovative, inventive, original and breath-taking as RE4, but with Wesker and Co-Op, it almost gets to that level of excellence. A 9.4/10. Expand
  31. Aug 24, 2010
    2
    Resident Evil 5 is simply an atrocious game. It tries to follow on from the change in the series that RE 4 brings by being more action based. But it overshoots the mark horribly and becomes a linear zombie shoot-em-up. It gets rid of all the exploring, save for one small part in the game, and all tension that remained in 4 is now long gone. Almost all enemies are the same and just charge at you from the start to the end of every level making the game boring and monotinous. All the puzzle solving has been lost too and all the "puzzles" are just, release-the-zombies switches.
    While the controls remain the same this fails to accomodate for the increase in enemies charging at you hence shooting even becomes a pain. The plot then brings all previous Resident evil storylines together into a mash-up that makes no sense with the primary focus being world domination via poisoning the world and is just plain retarded. I've never been a fan of the "world domination" evil plan because it makes no sense your just making yourself in charge of the entire world which is an awfull lot of work. In this case Wesker plans on turning the world into zombies under his command, so he's making himself ruler of the world, a world of mindless zombies.....which is just plain retarded. All the boss fights are repetitive too, there all big bosses that you just point your gun at and shoot so even there boring. All in all it's a horrible game and a terrible take on the survival horror genre I hope capcom learns from this god-awful mistake.
    Expand
  32. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    RE5 it's just a good ol action game. I would prefered it if they labeled the game as a new IP. It lost some of it's RE roots. Just see when RE6 comes out. Nobody will know what it them. In a horrible way.
  33. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Starting the series with RE5, I can easily say I am very impressed. The only reason not to get this would be if you hate shooters. True, it's not as scary as it's previous entries but it has amazing replay value. All of the DLC is absolutely worth it. Let's break it down:

    Graphics:9/10
    You really can't say anything bad about the graphics. Maybe not flawless, but excellent. The only
    disappointment that I have was that the console versions can only produce limited amount of enemies at a time, but technology will advance, so I'm not too upset.

    Gameplay:9/10
    The gameplay is amazing and is addictive. Everything you could want from a game like this. Except you can't run and gun...I don't really care if you can or not but that's up to you. And, no, of course it's not like old style Resident Evil. It is more of a TPS now mixed with the horror element.

    Sound:7/10
    Voices sound cheesy. Real cheesy. But other than that the sound is great.

    Replay Value:10/10
    Absolutely addicting! You will be drawn into this game from the start and there are a variety of difficulty levels that will keep you playing the story mode. The mini game Mercenaries is the best. Mercenaries Reunion is not nearly as good as Mercenaries but still loads of fun. Versus is the competitive side of RE5 and , in my opinion, is almost as fun as Mercenaries. Lastly, there are the DLC stories that will keep you busy for at least another ten hours. Overall, the game is one of the best games I have ever played. It's midnight and I am tired so my review is not as detailed as it should be but take my word for it and buy it/
    Expand
  34. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    This game is brilliant. I spent most of my summer holidays playing co-op in the story. There is so much to do and you barely ever get bored. Howver i hate the fact that you cant aim and move at the same time. I feel that the online modes aswell are utterly hopeless i find it easy to kill other zombies, but against other players. The controls are not responceive enough, and in the single player it can feel quite chlaustrophobic. However its so much fun running around killing zombies with infinate ammo guns. Expand
  35. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    This games graphics was very good,the setting of the game was awesome also the bosses were good, The fact that you cant run and shoot simultaneously sucked, the ending could have been better , co-op was fun, there should have also been more variety of gameplay, the characters were cool. Overall a game worth playing and owning.8.5/10
  36. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    As a start I have to say that RE5 was not a horror game.Resident Evil 5 is a co-op action game with a pretty bad AI and bad controls.But I still think this is a pretty good game.Why?Well, the co-op is very fun,i love the mercenaries mode, and the boss fights in this game were pretty cool(Except the El Gigante boss,it was just stupid).There is also many different weapons and enemies in this game, and you actually get to kill Albert Wesker.But I still hope that the next Resident evil game is a horror game, not an action game.These new Resident Evil games just feel like something compleatly different than the old RE games. Expand
  37. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    This is probably the best game ever made. It is like Resident Evil 4 with more action, more replayability, and better graphics. Resident Evil is beyond cool. If you like gun management, exploring, collecting treasure and killing zombies look no further. The only thing I hated about this game was its price. Compared to Resident Evil 4, the DLC is a complete ripoff. RE4 was two games, Ada Wong story. This is like 1.5 games and even more expensive. If RE6 gets too chincey I won't play it, but so far this is the best Zombie Killing experience and the best game on PS3. Expand
  38. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Once again another Resident Evil rises and tries to take over the forth but can it be better than. Resident Evil 5 puts you in the footsteps of Chris Redfield a S.T.A.R.S member from the first game and his new partner Sheva with a funny british accent. The gameplay is the same as the the forth game, with the laser point and some what hard puzzles. The annoying is playing alone with the computer as your partner is going to be hard because most of the time its in the way and it keeps taking your ammunition when needed and be abused also has to die when its not the right time. But playing is fun just two dudes messing with a bunch of zombies. Problems have been going on with this game, they say its racist, I don't mind its just you don't see that many games like that. A good game still waiting for the next one to come out. Expand
  39. Sep 8, 2011
    5
    Until Bioshock,Resident Evil 4 was the finest video game ever made.Resident Evil 5 doesn't even try to surpass the previous title.Cannot.Run.And.Shoot.Most sequels at least try to top the game before it.CAPCOM didn't even try.Your A.I partner is surely a joke...Don't give the **** any ammo.A bitter disappointment and unworthy to be called Resident Evil.
  40. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    Re5 is RE4 with all the fun drained out. Remember the terrible plot that the first RE game led? It was terrible, and so was the game, this game makes the mistake of continuing it. The AI is terrible, the monsters are glitchy, Item Management is just AWFUL! This is a Survival-Horror! It's all about item Management and RPG elements! Your partner is a bland,annoying,and thick as a brick **** who always follows you like a creepy six year old.
    Arguably just better than the 1st game, but the 1st game was **** so this is ****.
    Seriously! I was running form my partner when she came running over to me with a "Large Red Herb" and several "Mega Healing sprays" when I only had a little scar that could of been healed by a "Little Green Herb" or "Minor Health Spray."

    Get someone to play wiht you anyway you can, Co-Op for Online, But it's hard to use the INV in this game even if you do have an actual person as your partner!

    Online is too laggy, the AI is thick, and it continues the plot of the original.

    This series was doing so good with RE4's report to the PS3! Now they've just **** up, BACK TO THE START!
    Expand
  41. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Replaying this again but in the PS3 , there's really not much of a difference and plays significantly like a dated PS2 game. Of course, the co-op is the key of success here and much of the content it's very basic. Though in my opinion this is really the perfect game to play with a buddy.
  42. May 21, 2011
    9
    Let me start with saying that I never took a interest in the Resident Evil series... never. Somehow when the series started I was into LucasArts games... adventures... Star Wars... many years later I got a quick peek at the PC... and I was sold! The graphics and face animations... the cut-scene quality... the voice acting... the adrenaline shock from the first majini encounter... But playing on PC, there was never the option for me to do some Co-Op. A few months later my PS3 arrived and I had to get that sweet gory game for it. Since then passed something like 2 and a half months and I was still doing Co-Op damage in it.
    One thing I have to notice first... I really had the impression, that there were more enemies in the PC version... so that would be one minus point... but I didn't really count them, so whatever!

    First impression... the whole thing begins with an amazing cut-scene, featuring some of the best "for game" cinematic's I came across... the camera movement, the angles the editing... it is simply a good movie between the levels with amazing production values... why only a good movie? Well, the plot isn't that great and the dialogs are sometimes idiotic... but the voice-cast is so amazing that you can easily forget that the last line you heard is actually pretty stupid! The voice-cast and the facial animations... which are really outstanding... the eye movement, the eyebrows, the lips it is simply a joy to simply watch them two main heroes!

    So now lets talk about our main protagonists... Chris Redfield... as much as I love the way he was animated, I am not quite a fan of his muscularity... I mean the guys looks like a descended of Donkey Kong himself, just watch his ears! But besides that he is quit a likable character. On the other hand we have his always present female sidekick, which is simply anatomically perfect, no over sized silicon breasts (like most of the female characters designed for games), a beautiful face and as Chris a likable character.
    But what Sheva really offers is "an excuse" for the possibility to play the whole single player campaign in Cooperative mode with friends on-line! Of course there are in game button assigned commands to communicate within game, but a headset is definitely the way to go! I would especially recommend the original PS3 headset from Sony!
    The replay value in Co-Op mode is extremely high, when you got some folks to play with. People say the single player experience vs. the Co-Op experience is radically different... maybe, but the Co-Op is in my opinion the more fun way to play. Gathering the treasures and emblems and trophies together really is much more rewarding and you have to really work together to go through some game points to not waste amo or healing stuff. The difficulty level is somewhat unbalanced sometimes, you start with a very tough set piece followed by some easier points along the way, then you get to another hard point and so on and so on... but that is not really a complaint, more an observation about the games pacing.
    A minus point is the engine, which on one hand offers stunning graphics, but on the other hand really narrows your movement options. You can't jump over any given ledge, the game has to allow you this, the cover system is OK, but why do they reload before going back to cover after shooting, leaving you literally out in the open for counterattacks? Some might not like the fact, that you can't run and shoot, but this too isn't really that bad... one has just to rethink his game strategy.
    So if you like games which offer a spectacular presentation, but no really strong plot or dialogue (but perfectly voice acted and featuring likable characters), which offer amazing graphics and a ton of fun instead of a complicated game engine, then this one is the right one for you... for weeks, if not months!
    This game has some cons, but the pros definitely out wage them... so this is a 10 in 10 for me! The DLC are also worth the purchase!
    Expand
  43. Apr 29, 2011
    4
    The game was average at best. Let me start by saying this is my first Resident Evil purchase. I was not into the previous games and cannot compare to them. Pros- co-op is fun, graphics are decent, somewhat scary. Cons- clanky controls, and got boring fairly fast. Its playable in co-op, but I guess I was just disappointed in it considering the franchise has so many followers. If the other games are similar, frankly I find the franchise boring and overrated. Expand
  44. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the best Resident Evil ever, the best action game, horror game, the final is amazing with Wesker, I love Jill and Chris again, the so emotional scene. I really hope that RE6 be better and GOTY 2012.
  45. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    I've never been a fan of the Resident Evil series. I've always found the controls to be clumsy and awkward and the animations and gun mechanics to be extremely slow and cumbersome. Resident Evil 5 continues this long tradition of just simply dated game-play and an even more laughably moronic and cliched storyline than before. What starts off as a rather fascinating and engaging few chapters set in Africa quickly turns into generic set-pieces in abandoned labs and caves where you fend off wave after wave of inexplicably slow moving enemies with rocket launchers, grenades and large pointy sticks. Throw in the occasional (and always unexpected) quick-time cut-scenes, which when failed usually result in instant death as well as almost constant gimmicky boss fights (one after the other after the other, which all revolve around repeating a strategy until it becomes tedious) and you've got Resident Evil 5 in a nutshell. The major fault with this game isn't its control problems or horrible story, but merely the fact that the series has always been built around these hallmarks and Capcom still haven't done anything to fix them. The scenario is literally threatening to the entire planet and they send two people in to stop it? Why is Wesker acting like he's from The Matrix? Why am I fighting cigar chomping Zombies with mini-guns? You'll find yourself asking questions like these time and time again. Resident Evil fans are going to love every minute of this, but those of us who don't think the sun shines out of Chris Redfield's ass and enjoy coherent gaming, are going to find it a real kick in the nuts. There's just too many annoyances with this game to call it a classic. However, truth be told you do get a chock load of content and replay value. Expand
  46. Jul 30, 2011
    2
    this is undeniably one of the absolute worst sequels in history. furthermore, it was the let down of the century behind metal gear solid 2. the original metal gear solid was absolutely unreal. second to hardly none and absolutely decimated everything in the 90's. the second game: raiden. case closed. while resident evil 4 wasnt quite as groundbreaking as metal gear solid, it was phenomenal nonetheless and without question one of the best video games ever made. therefore, you would expect a lot from the follow-up game. and how epically disappointing it was. not only was it about as scary as a kitten snuggling with a chipmonk, but the side-character sheva is annoying beyond reason, the co-op defeated the entire purpose of the resident evil series, the weapon upgraded system was horrendous, the story was written by a chimpanzee with down syndrome, and the game itself was very boring. out of 100, i could barely give this game a 20. epic piece of **** Expand
  47. Oct 2, 2012
    1
    The Gold edition may be a compllete package, but the controls are simply unplayable. I have never come across a game where the left and right sticks have no connection. You move and look separately, and aiming and button layout couldn't be any worse or less logical. Capcom have clearly intentionally made them this aweful and clunky. No sane mind can make controls this bad. Gameplay isn't good either. It's extremely linear, has hideous graphics and nothing in this game is really appealing, satisfying or motivating for you to play it further. Not that you could play it due to the controls. Expand
  48. May 18, 2012
    8
    the game is not bad but its not great either i just dont get it re4 is one of my favorite games ever how is re5 worse all they had to do is new story then its perfect already they didn't have to change anything just a new story why did they add so much nonsense
  49. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    This game is great but it could have been a perfect 10 if not for the stupid people complaining it was racist. The beta version would have been a fans dream but of course it was called racist just because there were AFRICANS in it. Still though it was a awesome game and i still loved every second of it
  50. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Resident evil 5 proves that capcom really isn't interested in scaring gamers like previous R.E Titles did so long ago...but is that a bad thing? yes & no! Yes because this is why resident evil games were always loved, & was always highly anticipated by gamers everywhere. And no because this represents a NEEDED change to the series. So if you love the 1st five R.E( R.E0- R.E CV) but hated R.E4 Then you should pass on R.E5(if you never played R.E5 or hated the demo or hate the direction R.E has taken but rate it poorly..stop trolling) because it plays just like R.E4. First the good: like R.E4 its about action as this game gives you plenty of explosions & QTE scenes! the enemies are a little quicker & even more challenging which is a plus & all boss fights are epic! The graphics: holds up pretty good even as my review is late on this game lol good lighting & shading..great water physics,even destructible environments such as walls,Windows etc! the story: Its pretty good especially when wesker is introduced later as the main Villain & brings what seems to be an end to possibly the greatest video game villain ever created! the controls: work fine but seems like they were designed for a fps instead of a 3rd action game but are manageable & precise. there's lots to do here as Mercenary mode returns & also extra mercenary mode plus two new modes:Desperate escape & lost In nightmares as this mode attempts to win over the Survivor horror fans capcom turned their back on lol but falls flat because its too short & sadly kinda boring. The bad:it plays just like R.E4 so I was a bit disappointed by this as it felt all to Familiar! I mean its good they used R.E.4 formula but failed to improve on it as co-op is really the only new feature here which is good but if you play alone(NOT RECOMMENDED) the CPU player just sucks!! You can't buy or upgrade weapons during missions, & the inventory box is horrible as the amount of boxes easily gets filled!! Probably the worst aspect of R.E5 is the fact that the survivor horror theme is all but dead but as I stated earlier its clear that capcom isn't going to return the R.E series back to survivor horror but instead throw in small(& I mean small)scars in favor for large explosions...7/10 Expand
  51. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    Good action to two players. Excellent game. It only not better because A.I. from partner is very low when not controlled for a human player. But the action is good. The combat have a intense rythmn. I recommend this game for action fans.
  52. Apr 20, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 4 represented a departure of the series from its survival horror roots for a more dynamic action approach. Now Capcom has proved they are set in their choice, as Resident Evil 5 trades in even more scares in exchange for gunfights. Forget the tenebrous atmosphere, forget the unknown groans from the dark: in RE5 zombies come at you running in broad daylight. Graphics are superb and the soundtrack and voice acting are pretty good. The story is also well written, mixing new elements with old characters for what was supposed to be the ultimate Resident Evil experience. I say ''was'' because while RE5 is undeniably a good game, it has little what the Resident Evil name used to mean in it. The camera angle is set to give you no idea of what is behind you, but that matters little because even if you are surprised from behind, there will be so much action going on in front of you all the time that you will not care. Controls are also sluggish and mechanical, and for the action game Resident Evil 5 decided to be that is very frustrating. RE5 is a good game and definitely worth your time, but if you expect to see a survival horror game you will be disappointed. Expand
  53. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Right ok.... resident evil 5 its gotten really strong reviews by the looks of it but to its a good 3rd person shoot but a bad resident evil game i know im gonna get alot of hate for this but this is my review and when u take resident evil 5 and put it up to resident evil 1,2,3 and even 4 its really bad thats the only proplem i have with it oh and it capcoms gonna make it a shooter...can we atleast be able to movie and reload,shoot ? i mean come on now. for a shooter 8/10 for a resident evil game 6/10 id recomend it to all people who like shooters and id have to recomend it to resident evil fans coz it ends a big story in the games.Oh and NO PEOPLE THIS IS NO SURVIVAL HORROR GAME! its a 3rd person shooter. Expand
  54. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I dont care about what people say resident evil 5 is an awesome game, i know Resident evil 4 was better! But i still think RE5 was a great one of the best this gen, cant wait for Resident Evil 6
  55. Jun 19, 2012
    6
    Quoting TheSpoonyOne:"Betrayaaal!". That's what I felt during my painful playthrough with this game. Resident Evil 5 strips away the "survival horror" becoming a generic tps with bad controls. By the time I was using cover based shooting against zombified soldiers with guns I realized how high the shark has been jumped. While the plot of resident evil 4 was bad, b movie bad with cliché villains, that game had a decent gameplay that distracted the player. Here the plot is bad because it is pretentius, somehow the writers attempted to be serious and failed. Even if I take the game on his own I still can't reccomend it because of clunky controls, annoying AI partner and the "generic" feel that surrounds the game. I understand that Capcom wanted to cater on the call of duty crowd and please the then-new xbox users but, for the love of god, create a new ip don't make this franchise a zombie Expand
  56. Mar 10, 2012
    6
    This game was a disappointment. After spending years listening to a friend go on and on about Resident Evil, I decided to give this game a go. I found that this game was both a poorly made game and a poor choice for my first foray into the RE franchise. While the story was both nonsensical and actually enjoyable (at moments), the overall game was a chore to get through. The stop and fire combat worked, but was not as fun as I have found other games (Metal Gear Solid 2+3, RE:Revelations, RE4) to have. Combined with the clumsy co-op system that (while playing single player) makes me want to lose my mind, making the game very hard to enjoy. There were enjoyable aspects however, mainly certain levels of the game and a couple of boss battles stood out, making the game more enjoyable than it could've been. However, overall, I find this game mediocre more than anything. The gameplay systems work, but are far from perfect, and the story is pretty stupid, though there are moments of cheesy fun (which is the allure of the series). For that reason, I give this game a 6/10. Leaning more on the decent side of mediocre than the bad side. It has its merits, but it was not for me. Expand
  57. May 22, 2013
    9
    You play this game so you can see Chris Redfield punch the out of a boulder. 'Nuff said. Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah~
  58. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Good game, compelling story, excellent graphics, good a.i., original setting, fun to play with a friend, my only complaint would be that you can't move while aiming. Other than that it's an excellent game for killing some zombies.
  59. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is one of my all time favorite games. It gives you the first person shooter game. With a side of scary, horror. While at the same time has a good story plot to follow. I have been following all the Resident Evil games, and find it to be my favorite out of all the Resident Evil games out so far.
  60. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    RE5 offers more action with an intriguing story and extremely gorgeous graphics. Be immersed in the depth and detail in all the levels which has always been a trademark for the series. Quick time events play more in the game this time around. For those who have not played the last few titles in the series, the controls can feel wacky at first but thanks to multiple control schemes itâ
  61. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    A step backwards from RE4 IMO. The Resident Evil formula is now strictly action (more so than RE4). The game feels like a military game and now boasts a CO-OP mode. You can play online or via computer controlled AI. Visually the game looks great, but the storyline and gameplay doesn't do it for me here. However, the game is far from bad and the online CO-OP experience is a pretty fun addition to the series. Expand
  62. May 18, 2012
    8
    awesome game. story was good. game play was fun. graphics was good. game was pretty epic. I just still can't get over the fact you can't move when slashing someone with a knife, that was a bummer.
  63. Jun 1, 2012
    6
    Although a lot of the suspense and thrills that made Resident Evil what it was is withering away with each sequel, the action packed co-op gameplay was enough to sell me. Just don't expect an Oscar-winning story, lol. [Graphics: 9. Excellent gory details and a lot of different enemy templates keeps the game looking fresh.] [Sound: 9. Lots of creepy voices, menacing growls, gunfire and explosions consistent with the action.] [Voices: 8. Pretty good for the most part. Some times enunciation and the amount of passion in the voices can be lacking.] [Gameplay: 9. VERY awesome co-op gameplay, which is something I've waited a long time for in a Resident Evil game. The excitability of killing in RE4 is combined with exchangeable inventory (you can swap weapons and items with your partner) makes for a satisfying multiplayer. Even without a second person, you can swap with an A.I. controlled partner that responds quite well.] [Content: 7. The main game is fun, if only for one run through. The challenge modes will also test your skills.] [Story: 2. The only tough pill for me to swallow. Resident Evil went from isolated, suspensful survival-horror to a cliched, predictable and almost cartoony Matrix-style action flick. The only plus side are the files you can read up if you have any spare time, which goes into the history of Resident Evil even before the events of Raccoon City.] [Replay Value: 5. Up in the air for this one. I had a blast playing with a friend during the story mode, but it was only fun enough for one outing. The Challenge mode didn't interest me for very long, even with the additional costume unlocks. Could be someone else's cup of tea, however.] Expand
  64. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I purchased the Gold edition of this game and I think it makes a big difference. The normal campaign has 2 flaws: The AI is horrible and the game isn't scary. Sheva had no business in the game at all, if they made the inventory like re4, made Chris isolated, made the game occur at night, and had maybe traps waiting for you like in re4 to make you more aware of your surroundings, then maybe the game would have been better. Lost in nightmares is actually really good. Especially when playing with a friend. Desperate escape is OK.

    Verses mode is fun for awhile but not amazing.
    Expand
  65. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    The Resident Evil games has lost their charm and Capcom has completely forgotten the roots of the serie. This is cheap generic run and shoot with Co-Op. The puzzles in this game are so easy, they offer no challenge, they are just lengthly. I miss the zombies, the enemies in this games can handle automatic weapons. The chapters are also incredibly boring.
  66. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Very entertaining game and co-op is very fun! But it is not a resident evil game. It is more like a action than a horror game but it is still a great game.
  67. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Sou um grande fã de Resident Evil,mas me decepcionei com este jogo,ele não é ruim,pelo contrário é muito bom,mas depois de ter jogado o RE4 esperava muito mais de uma continuação,esse jogo só supera o RE4 em gráficos e no chefe final,Albert Wesker sempre será o vilão n°1,mas mesmo assim ele só aparece lá pro final do jogo,aquela transformação dele ficou muito ruim,seria muito melhor ele na forma humana,nem o final foi digno,Wesker merecia muito mais,gráficos muito bons,mas a criatividade na construção de inimigos foi muito baixa,praticamente todos os chefes do jogo tem o mesmo ponto fraco,não precisa nem pensar muito pra descobrir como derrotá-los,na verdade não há segredo nem estratégia,é só atirar nos seus pontos fracos que são bem visíveis,modo co-op nunca deveria existir em Resident Evil,Sheva mais atrapalha que ajuda,sempre que ia atirar em algum inimigo ela atirava ao mesmo tempo no mesmo,quando ele morria eu sempre dava um tiro em falso errando e diminuindo a precisão,odeio quando agarram o Chris e demora muito pra ele se soltar só pra dar tempo da Sheva chegar e livrá-lo,inventário muito pequeno,este jogo é 100% ação,"zumbis" com armas de fogo?ridículo.Repito é um bom jogo,fiz tantas críticas porque como fã esperava muito mais desse jogo,5 anos depois e recebemos o que considero o pior jogo da franquia que pertence a cronologia (os paralelos todos foram ruins) Expand
  68. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Like the fourth game the fifth is great. Albert Wesker is such a great villain. My only problem with this game was the AI on your partner, couldn't really rely on it to do anything.
  69. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    The visuals are simply brilliant, the game creates enormous tension. One factor is the constant threat of enemy hordes, the other with an interesting story along with surprising twists and locations.
  70. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    One of my best game ever played on console. A balaced game with really cool animated characters. The game on the release for its year was outstanding. I played this game 24/7. The controller wasn't perfect but still really good.
  71. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    the perfect game for you and your best pal, not for playing alone. Great story, graphics and good shooting action. For those who say RE its not what it used to be, it had to evolve, and they did it very well.
  72. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Really, really good game. I don't understand the negativity of this, but each to their own. People saying it's no longer 'horror' need to understand that previously (IE - Resi 1-3), you were alone in dark places fighting a virus in a secluded environment, shut off from the rest of the world. But now the virus is all over the world, so it's less frightening as you're aware you're not the only one experiencing it, combine that with the fact you have a partner, also takes away the scares. The virus, like games has evolved and you're no longer one of only a few experiencing it. It is one of my favourite games on the PS3 to date, as it takes you back to the Resident Evil world once more, just with a different outlook. My one & only gripe is sheva is more of a hinderance than a help. Expand
  73. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    This game is good, but not great for sure. There was not much horror like in the previous games of this series and i'm not a big fan of horror shooting games but this one was not bad at all. I liked the enemies and the weapon upgrade system and liked the background and art of the game. The good graphics and decent story and the addiction of modes like co-op multiplayer made me give a score of 7 which is good but not great like i said before. Expand
  74. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil 5 is a good game and has a good online and so it's a game worth of buying im my opinion,his antagonist (Wesker) is one of the most deadliest Resident Evil character ever,this Resident Evil puts an end to the antagonist that appeared in the first episode of Resident Evil as a "hero"...But the game itself as a horror game was poorly edited !
  75. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    Played this game alone. This game is not bad, however I find it pretty boring sometimes, and sometimes illogical and "one way only" to be played (e.g. you have only one way to kill the boss, I guess it was better to have "smart way" and "long way") which sometimes is quite frustrating. Other than that it's a fun game to play, I guess it's much better to be played in coop on-line, sine AI is somewhat dumb, esp. on boss fights. Expand
  76. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Even though this doesn't quite deserve to be called a Resident Evil game, due to the fact that almost nothing in this game resembles the past ones, I still found it rather enjoyable. It's so fast-paced, and will leave you on your toes. I especially enjoyed the downloadable content, particularly, "Lost In Nightmares", since it returned to the roots of the game.
  77. May 21, 2013
    6
    This game appears to be great, but I played for just 1 hour in the PSN+ timed trial. Nice graphics, interesting story, but... why the hell you can't walk and shoot? Terrible gameplay. This game with Uncharted mechanics would be perfect! They used a overpast gameplay... You can't run, jump, shoot, make a parkour, etc. So sad...
  78. May 25, 2013
    8
    RE5 isn't better than RE4, but... It definitely is a true RE sequel. Chris Redfield has been my favorite RE character, 2nd to Leon, since Resident Evil 1! The ally A.I. is stupid and doesn't seem to help out a lot, so make sure you're playing co-op with a friend. Either way, its a great RE game from beginning to the exciting boss fight at the end (not spoiling it)!
  79. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Although more action-centred than horror-centred, Resident Evil 5 is engrossing and has a certain je ne sais quoi that makes it quite enjoyable to play. Its storyline is certainly an excellent adventure. However, Capcom could still work on its characters' dialogue...
  80. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 5, have one of the best storyline, in the Resident Evil franchise, i love play it, but the lack of puzzles and terror, this become an adventure exhausting.
  81. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 5 out of 10, Controls: 6 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 4 out of 10, Value: 6 out of 10

    A game that seems to have everything going for it but was just far too clunky and dumb for me to get any real enjoyment out of it.
  82. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Me parece uno de los mejores juegos de la historia en playstation,por los siguientes motivos,la trama te engancha desde el principio hasta el final,es bastante jugable y buenos graficos,muy divertido y bastante largo,no mas que el 4 pero ya es mucho pedir,aun asi me parece un juegazo imprescindible y que debes tener si o si y que te encantara si te gusto el resident evil 4,simplemente es un juego que te marcara y que no podras dejar de jugarlo. Los fallos son: el sonido,por no estar traducido a español pierde mucho,si las voces fueran españolas mucho mejor Expand
  83. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    I love this game

    Good graphics
    Good story
    Gameplay not bad
    Better than resident evil 4
    I love versus on this game (dlc)
    Good coop

    And my favorite character is chris redfield
  84. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Although I viewed this as a step back from the excellent atmosphere of Resident Evil 4, the game is really good and I enjoyed every moment I had with it.
  85. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    This game goes from a 7/10 for single player to a 10/10 for co-op. I have never had so much fun playing a co-op game in my last 10 years of gaming. Enjoy!
  86. gleepglop
    Mar 14, 2009
    0
    The controls make this game fall short of being a 90+ game. If I want to conserve ammo in typical survival horror fashion and take out a solitary zombie with a melee weapon I have to run up to it and then stand there in place swinging until the zombie is stupid enough to walk into me. Either that or get hit by the zombie... If they patch the controls to be more reasonable the game will be a lot better. I don't think it would even hurt the gameplay mechanics. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Perhaps Resident Evil 5's most remarkable achievement is how it deftly straddles the line between the franchise's sometimes endearing, sometimes frustrating, legacy gameplay mechanics while incorporating more contemporary action adventure elements like enhanced interaction and exploration of environments and a decidedly more shooter-like control scheme. [Mar 2009, p.38]
  2. 90
    Hardcore fans may be disappointed by the departure from the traditional survival-horror roots but trust me, the game delivers enough thrills that you probably won't care. [Apr 2009, p.68]
  3. In too many ways this is identical to the last game. That's not necessarily a bad thing - "RE4" is one of the greatest games ever made because it rewrote the rules for action games, setting a template for everything from "Dead Space" to "Dark Sector." Because of that this is still a damn near essential purchase. It's just a shame that the lack of evolution means it occasionally feels like it's lagging behind the very competitors it inspired. [Mar 2009, p.80]