User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1176 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    What happen to this series??? what was one of the best game series of all times has just become a shell of its former self. This doesn't feel like Resident Evil, feels more like Gears of Wars or, in Chris's story, like Call Of Duty. It doesn't have the same feeling of horror and despair like in the earlier games; Especially during Chris's story where you just feel overpowered. The worst part I think its the repetitiveness especially during the "boss" fights were you will kill it only for it to come back with a different form, and its all the same with all the "bosses". I hope that Capcom listen to the complaints of the gamers and bring back the horror next time, or this will probably be the last nail in the Resident Evil franchise coffin. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Just gonna give you the Cliff notes on what I think about it: DOES NOT DESERVE A 0.8!!! Yes, I did enjoy Resident Evil 5, and if you liked that game, you'll like this one more. Each campaign is about 75% of what Resident Evil 5 was...and there's 3 of them. Mercenaries you don't have to pay for. Agent Hunt Mode I haven't tried out, but just some more cushion for the pushin' once I get through a campaign.
    I say it's worth it, but hopefully Capcom can improve for Resident Evil 7 by giving more chills and easing up on the thrills.

    That's all I've got to say, cause I've gotta study for my mid-term now.
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    It ain't resident evil game but it is a good game. Leon's and Ada's campaigns are the best ones but the other ones are awful. This classic survival horror game has turned in to action shooter game. It is a fun ride but not so entertaining as the old RE games.
  4. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    this game does not deserve such a low user score from what i played this game is a big improvement over number 5 such as leons campaign, it feels like a nice nostalgia trip as it constantly reminded me of 2 and 4. also jakes campaign is also really enjoyable sure it is not resident evil scary or action on par with uncharted but the set pieces were entertaining and story really good. on the downside though chris redfields campaign fails in several levels i thought both him and his partner were not entertaining as a duo and quite irritating not grinder and whatever his face bad but just not great, also if this was the most action heavy part why on earth did they still make ammo conservation vital there should have been a decent load of ammo available but because there was not it was overall very tedious as with jakes campaign there is not that much javo to defeat and his hand to hand is awesome i just felt this one was unnecessary overall this game is worth the money as there is a lot of content included there is also a lot of things i did not point out but they are probably already mentioned. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    0
    What a horrible game I bought it used but had to give it back and fortunately got my money back. What makes it bad? the poor design, the story itself is just boring, Konami should seriously bringing back the old days where you had puzzles and the game was really a survival horror not somewhere where you basically have infinite bullets just lots of action and 0 plot. Pathetic.
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    Tuve la oportunidad de jugar esto!!! Es decir Resident Evil 6, que de Resident Evil solo tiene eso, su nombre!! CAPCOM prometió TERROR, TENSIÓN Y POCA MUNICIÓN. Promesas que no se cumplieron. En cuanto a jugabilidad, hay que decir es demasiado horrible, aspectos como la colocacion de la camara, que en entornos o interiores pequeños o estrechos se pega tanto a tu personaje que hace imposible ver lo que tenemos a nuestro alrededor. Físicas Inexistentes, puedes deslizarte sobre una mesa o escritorio lleno de cajas, libros, latas, comida, etc, Y estas ni se mueven, ni se inmutan, tu personaje solo las traspasa, Otro aspecto totalmente negativo es el combate cuerpo a cuerpo, que esta totalmente desbalanceado puedes matar a cuanto zombies y enemigos quieras de esta manera. Municiones por doquier, en todas partes consigues Balas y si a eso le sumas que la mayor parte del juego vas a lo TEKKEN haciendo agarres y lanzando Patadas pues las Balas te Sobran. DONDE ESTAN LOS PUZZLESSS???? Dios mio!!! DONDE ESTA EL SURVIVOR HORROR??? Destrozaron una Excelente Saga!!! Esto no es un Resident Evil, es un Call of Duty en tercera persona!!!! En cuanto a los Gráficos, ATROZ, ESPANTOSO!!! Totalmente comparable con el RE4 y no con el RE5 no se que hizo CAPCOM con su excelente motor gráfico usado en RE5, aquí tenemos TEXTURAS CUTRES, UN BORDE PIXELADO QUE RODEA A NUESTRO PERSONAJE EN LAS CINEMÁTICAS, ILUMINACIÓN EXAGERADA. En fin un Desastre. Lo único bueno de este Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    I almost didn't buy this game based off the user reviews, but how stupid would that have been, being such a fan? I'm glad I did buy it. It's a good experience, and though it has its problems, it's better than 5, and still more of a horror than 5 was. Sure it's over the top, and sure it's very action-oriented, but didn't everybody see this coming?
  8. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i liked the game i think its much better than re5 love the controls and layout and also free on disc dlc cnt wait for that this game got hates because they dont like change **** the reviews and play the game yourself. cant wait for the new installment hopefully i will see Albert Wesker. overall love the game and love the agent hunt mode Expand
  9. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    re 6 is a very excellent game.but is very hard in the beginning until you start to unlock skills.cause of this you need to usw a little strategy in order to survive the game.leons campaign is a lot like re 4,chris like an army 5 but more of a war point the story,as for jake it a lot like re3.there are some qte in the game but as many as you think.the controls for the game have very improved over re 5.but there are some minor issues such as hugging a wall when you don`t want and the camera tends get a little off.other than those issues this game is pretty solid.and fun to play.if you really want to like this game try not to compare it to other in the series. Expand
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resident evil 6 was not what I was hoping for I have been playing this series since it started and I loved resident evil 4 but missed the fear in the older game that I have not since in years. when I played the DS game I saw some of the scary elements I missed and was hopeful capcom was back on track sadly this is not the case. This a is VERY long game and visually is great as is the story but that is as good as it gets.Game play is tricky and the camera is questionable at best the tag line for this game is NO HOPE LEFT and for this series that maybe true Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Wow I'm really surprised that this game has gotten so many bad reviews. Having played most of the RE franchise myself (not just 4-5) I can see how understand the disappointment this game is for you. But it doesn't mean that it deserves a 0. It has flaws: no puzzles, yes RE is known for its puzzles and that gives it a slower and terrifying pace, go here retrieve emblem, open door, find key. Puzzles were pretty much how you interacted with the stage and it made the maps feel bigger because of the backtracking. However this new game is straightforward with little or no puzzles. Now sometime that I really enjoyed in RE 4 was weapon customization and it was trashed on RE 6 for a skill set. I don't enjoy this because instead of improving your weapons and choosing from a machine gun with a lot of power but little ammo, or a lot of ammo and piercing... you can buy the skills and equip them (up to three at a time and make combinations up to six that can be changed at any time) While you could argue that all of the elements of customization are there, it just isn't the same as upgrading your favorite weapon. This brings me to the interface... I thought that RE 5 did a good job in which you could assign weapon to a d-pad location and quickly change from one to the other... However having to scroll through all weapons was horrible! Sometimes, in a panic I ended up using magnum bullets simply because I thought I had scrolled enough to my handgun... That is not acceptable! However the game isn't all bad. I enjoyed the storyline. While it wasn't the mindblowing storyline of past franchise, its pretty interesting. I really liked that each scenario connects with the others and you can see the full story play out as they all interact come together. I would have enjoyed perhaps a more detailed account on jake, him being Wesker's son and all. Perhaps a full game featuring Jake would have been better, but sadly that wasn't the case. Bosses were well detailed and sufficiently hard. Sometimes it was annoying that it wasn't really clear whether they were taking damage or not and I felt that I was doing nothing half the time, until they collapsed and died... and then it was like Oh... there dead.... Zombies were interesting, I don't see why people are bashing on the J'avo I thought it was pretty cool how they transformed were they received trauma. And I thought that the zombie that called out to other zombies in the Leon scenario was pretty neat too. Overall tons of new zombies tons of strategies to kill them.

    Now onto the greatest thing about the game. People you have been asking it for a long time! Run and shoot. The game allows you to shoot and reloead while moving. Heck you can even jump back and keep shooting. You can roll and slide. You can tackle enemies! Instead of pressing the square button like in RE5 you have a combat bar and you can hit the zombies with your fist and legs and perform special attacks with R1. Overall, yes it was flawed. Several key elements didn't come together as we hoped. Perhaps the three scenario took away from the game. Instead they should have done a single complete campaign featuring a slower pace and plenty of puzzle. The elimination of the weapon upgrade is unforgivable and the weapon interface horrible. However give credit were credit is due, the game is still enjoyable and while it can't cater to everyone it's an average game. Give it a chance and play it through before opting not to buy simply because of bad reviews.
    Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    Stupidest game ever Capcom mad orac and now re6. Both complete fails! I liked re4 but it got worse from there, now u can't even buy new guns!!!! I hope they dont make another one cause I'm not getting it. Total wast of my money and weekend. There now just rushing more re out to get money and they are getting worse! Take my advice, don't even rent!!!!!!!!!
  13. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    Well I am not going to write a long review for this game as basically I only played it for a few hours. Picked it up cheap and decided to try it, but not for me to be honest. My gaming time is limited so I generally only pick up the very best games, I am not a person who plays every release. However I played and enjoyed many Resident Evil games on the ps1/ps2 so decided to try this. I obviously knew that the game had changed a lot from what it was, more action based and less of a survival horror like the old days.

    Personally this game was not worth my time. Clunky controls, bad camera angles, poor graphics, terrible voice acting and storyline (it really did seem unbelievably bad). I would not buy this game back for 10p. If I was given it for free I would not play it. Games are supposed to be entertainment but this is just a frustrating and boring game. Shame as the old RE games were great. Simply not worth my time, this is not entertainment.

    Overall it has to be a 0/10
    Expand
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Made by zombies for zombies

    p.s. if you have a brains you will not play it
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    First of all i need to say that i'm not a big fan of the Resident Evil series and the gameplay or story. This game have some potential and has a lot of action but the story split in 4 was not a good idea. I think it would be better one story but big like in the previous game (RE5). The controls where good better than the previous title but just that. The graphics where basically the same where darker, i enjoyed more the previous game graphics. The story was just decent, like in any post apocalypse game. There are a lot of games and this series and there is much that beat this one, Resident Evil 4 or 5 are good (only 2 i played until now) but this one was fun because of the split-screen mode of mercenaries.If you wanna have some fun in split-screen killing zombies this might be good, but you will not get hours of fun for sure because the rounds are fast and get repetitive. Expand
  16. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    A fun action game with a load of content. One of the best couch coop games I've played in a while. While the story is a bit goofy and the quick-time events can be really cheap at times, I would recommend it to any fans of the later Resi games.
  17. Feb 19, 2013
    2
    I used to think Resident Evil 5 was the worst resident evil game out there until I played Resident Evil 6, it seems Capcom likes to use the same material with a little drop of melodrama and over-used catchphrases again and again, Resident Evil 6 hits a serious roadblock when it comes to staying with the story and instead has more plot holes than any other game I have played in my life, I was glad that I was able to return it for its full price when I did, unfortunately I can't return my wasted time playing it Expand
  18. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    I really give it an 8.5. While it's no RE4, or Dead Aim, this is still a damn fine game. Leon's Campaign is classic RE for fanboys, Jake's is fresh, Ada's is EXCELLENT, and Chris' is a revamped RE5, which was a damn good game as well. The move and shoot definately does this game justice. For the ones down on this game: making the same game over and over and over (Final Fantasy) gets stale QUICKLY. If you're not ok with change, gaming is NOT for you. Expand
  19. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    The most exciting resident evil since resident evil 3 and 4. The gameplay is awesome, and Leon's campaign is outstanding! The perfect game to play online or multiplayer. The new skill's style is great to replay the game to unlock them all. The graphics are great the most part of the game. Sometimes it is not good but as the whole Resident Evil 6 brings us a great experience, clashing the four campaigns and turning it in one of the best Resident Evil. Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    I give it a 5 out of 10 & that's only cause of Mercenaries mode which is the best Mercs mode in the series. RE6's campaigns are lackluster at best. The plot is dull & quite predictable. This game is a rent, not a buy. I played and finished all campaigns in less than 3 days, after completing the campaigns I went to Mercs mode where I found more replayability than in the actual game. What made the Mercs mode in RE6 so fun was the fact that you now have more of a strategy fo all enemy types. You can now roll, dodge, do combo attacks & tackle attacks that either stun or knock the enemy off it's feet; like previous Mercs mode this is best played with a partner.

    Now... the campaign is no different than 4 & 5 with the exception of the new control mechanics, aside from that the AI partner is more helpful unlike in RE5... but the enemy AI is some of the worst I have seen, like standing in the line of fire & doing nothing at times. Survival horror is non-existing in this nor the past two numbered installments. It's an action game with monsters in it & nothing else. Rent the game first, wait for the next installment & pray for the best. Anyone telling you otherwise is more than likely.
    Expand
  21. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    I would have given this a 9 or 10 if not for those annoying QTEs (quick time events) that leads to your unexpected deaths. But still, this is a must game for every RE fan out there like me who started playing this game since the '90s.
  22. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    Resident Evil 6 was not an awful game but it was not great either. Leon and Ada's campaign was the only interesting campaign. Chris and Jake's gets boring by the minute. There wasn't so much head up display which was good. Multiplayer was completely a waste of time money and it really brings this game down. The multiplayer game is not long enough and once your shot its hopeless. Not disspointed with game but im not that happy either Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    very good game the best in its history, certainly better than 5 parts. 5 in comparison with the part of the nous dire moments. did the normal control, there are movements that are not even in shooters such as tackle. Each campaign is special. Zombies were unusual. Best game!!!
  24. ERB
    Feb 19, 2014
    8
    This game is good but not as good as Resident Evil 4 or most of the games of the series but still it is good. So Capcom made Resident Evil 6 have more action but sometimes the action gets repetitive and boring where before Resident Evil was dark and scary and now they made this game not scary and full of repetitive and boring actions. I should say The game play is still a slightly above average but It is in my judgement that the game play is stupid. The story in this game is brilliant. It is interesting that you have 7 characters in this game that you can play each. You can also play as Ada Wong! She is like one of the hottest video game female characters ever made. What is good about the story is that they have a different story and different ending but there story is all connected. Which is why it is good! The graphics are above average and the zombies in Resident Evil 6 looks awesome especially The boss battles and I have to admit that the boss battles are well done and very exciting. The only problem in this game is the boring and repetitive action but still there are tons of content in this game. Now It has come to It's final verdict and this game is an 8/10 game. This game is a great game. A must buy for fans for this franchise and anyone new to this game should also be able to enjoy this game. You must buy this game and play it. Don't be scared It is fun. Expand
  25. May 11, 2013
    7
    The poor average user score is due to the fact that this isn't the Resident Evil the old-school fans know and love anymore. It is an action game that retains a survival component...but the horror aspect is all but gone. The game is a solid 7/10. It has flaws in the dialogue and story. But at the end of the day. I still feel the RE franchise has made a positive step story-wise and that there has been a positive improvement in the control scheme from 4 and 5. For $20 (or less) CDN/US this game was worth every penny. I would probably be a bit more bitter if I had of spent 50-69$ on this game...but I paid a 1/3 of the price of regular newly released full title blockbuster games. I haven't bought all the dlc. Just the extra mercenaries maps for the $5 bundle. I wasn't overly impressed at first....but if you enjoy the mercenaries 'enough' they can be worth the purchase. If you weren't a hardcore mercenaries fan to begin with, don't bother. I might say pickup rooftop, since it is a small and fun map. I'm still waiting hopefully for story based dlc like lost in nightmare and desparate escape. If you haven't played it already. You can pick up the gold edition of re5 for pretty much the same price or maybe cheaper. re5 gold edition was a solid 9/10. Expand
  26. May 15, 2013
    9
    I grew up playing Resident Evil games, but actually started out with a demo of Resident Evil 2 from a magazine on the original PSX when I was way too young for these type of games (still the best of the series from my point of view).
    After reading the reviews for this game and playing the demo, I really believed it to be a bad game and to be avoided which for me was quite a let down since
    I've seen some other memorable game series from my youth decay like putrid Zombies (I'm pointing at you Final Fantasy). Resident Evil 5 was fine but it did leave a bad after taste, it tried too hard to be a fusion of Resident Evil 4 and modern action games (that sell so well, lets remind ourselves companies are in it for the money) and failed at it. So if that seemed to be the general direction of the series I really did not want to keep playing it, or so I thought.
    In comes Resident Evil 6. I gotta say, the initial impression was indeed horrible given the high standards we all have for blockbuster video games. Way too many QTEs and cut scenes (everyone seems to want to imitate Michael Bay movies now, explosions everywhere at the beginning), the controls seem weird (completely different from past Resident Evils) the environments kind of break the atmosphere when you try to interact with them (like chairs that seem glued to the ground, or boxes made of concrete in every corner, corpses that are invulnerable until they decide to come to life just as you pass by them, etc...), technical issues, etc... The horror was kinda gone as well (apart from some scares at very specific moments) and as been ever since the previous game (having a partner in game really breaks the tense atmosphere that comes with isolation). But even taking all of this into account, I found myself playing for hours on end and not even noticing the time passing, and that doesn't happen for me unless it's a really good game (the last recent one with such an effect was probably Red Dead Redemption). There is something about this game which makes it unlike any other Resident Evil but still relatable given the characters and some pretty good voice acting (together with some cheesiness which reminds me of the great and memorable B movie like dialogs of the original Resident Evil). Sure the story as become incredibly ridiculous (ever since 4 it's been kind of a mess), and it does not really feel like your playing a Resident Evil game, but it does play great and it's a very enjoyable ride. If you let yourself immerse in the game for what it is you'll find a deep melee system, a highly maneuverable character that can dodge attacks and counter, customizable skills, and a lot of fun as a co-op game. Sure the multiplayer is quite broken, and the game does have it's limitations, but it's such a fun lengthy game when you get down into it. You should just ignore most reviews that whine about it not being Resident Evil like and enjoy it for what it is, a great action movie like game with Zombies in it.
    To me, as it goes with games with Resident Evil on the name, it's miles better than Resident Evil 5 and on par with Resident Evil 3 on my scale (with the top 3 being Resident Evil 2, 1 and 4).
    Expand
  27. May 17, 2013
    0
    O pior jogo da série ,perdeu o gênero de survival horror ficou muito ruim a camera e os personagens como Leon que parece com Dante do Devil May Cry .Tá na hora da Capcom fazer um Reboot do jogo, Deixa-lo bem do estilo survival Horror.
  28. Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Une immondicité video ludique. Je n'éprouve même pas l’envie de me justifier je pence que tout a été dit dans ses autre commentaire. 0/10 sens aucun hésitation.
  29. Sep 27, 2013
    6
    Let me start off by saying i love RE4, in fact its my favorite game of all time. I thought RE5 was a great game, but this one ooh man did they f it up. RE6 by far has the worst gameplay i have ever seen. Although the cutscenes do look amazing. Jakes campaign is really out of place in this game it seems every time you encounter a boss you have to run towards the camera wich makes it difficult and really annoying, Jakes campaign at best is decent. Leons campaign is a bit better but it was still decent. Adas campaign had more puzzles and was more interesting than Jakes or Leons. The best campaign in RE6 by far is Chris, his campaign feels very Call of Duty like, and that actually makes it pretty fun. Overall this game is decent, i was really hyped for this game but from the moment i saw the giraffe logo on the box i knew i was goin in for a huge dissapointment. Expand
  30. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    ..Definitely RE series are going down .This game looks like more like a CoD game than a RE game ¡¿WHY ARE UPGRADES?! That's the most stupid new "innovation" uhhh whatever this is a another ordinary "shooter" game...DON'T SPEND YOUR MONEY IS THIS "GAME" just a honest review.
  31. Feb 9, 2014
    4
    (Old school Resident Evil fan) This again is another poor action game by Capcom using the Resident Evil name as the main selling point. Resident "Hollywood" Evil doesn't know whether it's coming or going anymore and this game is proof. Ok graphics boring story terrible enemies Capcom has really lost the plot. Quick time events plague the game as do waves of enemies who are just bullet sponges.
    This game will be in the bargain bin now anyway so it won't hurt your wallet too much but I still wouldn't waste my time on this game unless your a hardcore Resident Evil fan like myself.
    Expand
  32. Mar 6, 2014
    4
    It's awful done. Still here, crap. Look sadly Capcom a k a crapcom ditched survival horror completely. Instead it's an action failure. Zombies are .... not even zombies just people with zombie looks and the rest are B.O.Ws that are easy to kill, oh and mercenaries that are dumb and easy. 4 campaigns both short and boring. Yes 4 there's a bonus campaign. Just don't buy it please don't buy it.
  33. Feb 16, 2014
    1
    The finishing touch , the conclusion to a previously epic series... Thank you Capcom for destroying everything!! I honestly feel stupid for even giving this a 1/10 but I refuse to give it any higher than that... played for 30 mins... and I had to turn off my PS3.

    Everything about this game is horrible! If you liked this game, you either never had a PS1 or you never played the game
    when you DID have one until RE1,2 became obsolete!

    This game feels like Gears of War mixed with Deadspace mixed with ...well dog crap!

    Only an ignorant person would be enchanted by its BIG BANG effects and its Whirlpool of Super cool bad ass invincible Leon Kennedy strutting around like a Mega God who is Furious! "Hey babe...im not gonna let this happen! I'll kick their asses, don't worry" (that's literally what his attitude lol... how can you take this game seriously as a survival horror??).

    lol, helicopters flying everywhere, man swinging on a rope and double-kicking zombies while shooting a machine gun and landing with a ninja roll and finishing with a pause saying "That's how it's done" man....

    This would ALL be fine if they gave this game ANOTHER name and didn't spit on their TRUE FANS.

    I would've bought this series every title for the rest of my life. That's how loyal your "niche" fans are. I can't believe you disrespected us by releasing that statement about us being "too mature" to play your RE games... What a disgrace.

    Shinji Mikami, the originator of the series left after RE4 which is how this game turned out for the YOLO generation.

    Go pick up Evil Within when it comes out. If you have any self-respect and want Survival Horror with a game made FOR LOVE and not ONLY for money.
    Expand
  34. Jun 4, 2014
    2
    Well, i am sad because the Resident evil franchise come to this, this embarasing title, the worst resident evil game ever made like operation racoon city, the franchise is coming to an end. I really miss the old days, when resident evil means "horror".
    This garbage looks like a call of duty game with zombies. ugly and repetitive as hell. This is worst than downpour, because downpour at
    least preserves some horror. But this one is incredible bad, the Leon campaign is the only one that tries to recreate the true "horror" but it fails.
    Stay away from this game and pray for Mikami, hope he have made a good job with Evil Within, but i don't know, the real survival horror is dead.
    Expand
  35. Mar 31, 2014
    1
    You do not want to be friends with anyone that gives this giant flop of a game anything above a 5. I say so again, do not get close to anyone who thinks this game is good. They might actually like it, but they like sh** then. Because that is what this game is, sh**. Stepping on Goombas in the old NES Mario games is funner and more thrilling than any retarded boring enemy youll find in RE6. There is absolutely no scares, but ofcourse even the fanboys know this. This game is beyond scripted, think youll get caught by the giant monster(forgot his name) that chases you? Hahahahahaha, hahahahah, LOL, ROFL, it will never happen. It is just a tease, a tease that happens quite a lot. Lame plot, incredibly lame main villain. More QTE's than enemies. Leon is now a little bitc**, nothing like the awesome-O he was in RE4. Mercenaries is ****** easy now. I tried to like it, but this game sucks really really bad. Oh yeah and the enemy AI? There is none! Expand
  36. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    OK, I just played through the Chris campaign of this game, and have to say, Resident Evil 6 is actually a very enjoyable and fun game. I can't think for the life of me why people are giving it 0-4 and scores like that. I understand that the game deviates from its survival horror roots, and that gameplay may be a little too similar to other games like CoD, but I don't think that makes RE6 a bad game at all. I am now going to play through the Leon campaign and am highly looking forward to it as I've heard pretty good things about that part of the game.

    Because of bad ratings this game is actually pretty cheap to pick up, and I recommend anyone with spare cash lying around to pick this game up. Just bear in mind that parts of the game aren't like older Resident Evil games, but you'll still have fun while playing. I would go as far as saying that RE6 is one of the most underrated games I've ever played. I've certainly played games that are overrated e.g. the first Assasin's Creed. Pick this one up.
    Expand
  37. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    HELLOY HELLOY THIS IS ADEPT.
    This game worst ever, best game for maslyat. Dont play it. Sonyblyadi huynu nakoldovali.
    CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY
  38. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    Story line of this is very good and bound reminiscent impressions from RE2, RE4 and RE5, productplay is different, but it is mainstream now. Also quality of video/audio and programming - perfect.
  39. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. i just do not get all those negative 1 point ratings. the game is awrsome. hours of gameplay. i am at 20 hrs now and i still have a lot to go. co-op is spectacular. graphics, story line are great. this is still survival horror game.....just do nor play it in easy mode. capcon put a lot of effort into this game and it shows. great title.
  40. Aug 23, 2013
    8
    I had a very good time enjoying the whole game and chasing the platinum trophy.
    It's less obscure, more modern, maybe less scary but well... it's like many AAA games where visual effects and gameplay are become key elements. Still, the storyline is really good and the Resident Evil franchise evolves in a cool direction. You can't contain such universe in isolated cities forgot by the rest
    of the world forever and need to look at the next step. The survival is less about small dark rooms but about massive plague contagion. I liked it! Expand
  41. Jun 9, 2014
    3
    Aún con sus altísimos valores de producción, gráficos geniales y abultado contenido, termina emapachando los constantes tiroteos, explosiones, saltos imposibles, descarrilamientos y mutaciones. No tiene el equilibrio jugable de otros grandes juegos como tomb raider o the last of us, es simplemente acción, acción y más acción sin descanso hasta saturar. El juego en si no es horrible, pero si echas un vistazo atrás y recuerdas las sensaciones que ofrecían los primeros Resident evil, es como para echarse a llorar y no parar. Expand
  42. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Ever since 4, (which while I do agree it's a good game, I think it's far from perfect) every other RE game has gotten a ton of backlash for not being 4. It's ridiculous. 5 was a great game (my personal favorite) and yeah 6 has flaws but it's not horrible by any means. I had fun with it, especially playing it with my friends via splitscreen or even online sometimes. Mercenaries mode is a blast, maybe even better than 4 and 5's. The story has some issues. Graphics are good as usual. The gameplay in some ways is good and then in others is bad. Honestly if you like resident evil just give it a try and go in expecting it not to "mind blowing" like 4 or 5 because, yeah it is the weaker of the three for sure. Expand
  43. Dec 4, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. este es un buen juego, pero le falta algo mas que creo que en versiones anteriores estaba presente hablo de matar y destrozar zombies a diestra y siniestra en este juego no es tan fácil hablando de juegos tipo shooters creo que se quedo corto y el modo de juego comparándolo con el resident evil 5 a mi parecer era mejor que esta ultima versión actual que con su modo de ver el personaje moverse no están buena si tiene tecnología en juego buenos gráficos y la historia que muestra es buena claro despues de tantos años jugando resident evil la historia me gusta pero el modo de juego creo que lo cambiaron no se si por los desarrodadores del juego como tal en motor de movimento pero creo que se desviaron del camino con el publico que tenian que suplir principàl mente nosotros los viejos jugadores de resident evil... claro resalto y destaco la historia es bien como plantearon la historia pero no me gusto el modo de movimiento del personaje aunque tampoco que cuando juegas sientes que vas bien hasta que sales del juego y tienes que empezar de nuevo el capitulo es frustrante ya que si lo juegas en el modo mas difícil te cuesta por que tienes que combatir contra zombies entre golpes tiros y demás tácticas que uses para avanzar en el juego aparte los gráficos creo que pudieron ser mejor y también pudieron hacer un mapa abierto tipo gta eso le abría dado una tremenda innovación al juego Expand
  44. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Resident evil 6 is a great game. And who ever gives it a zero or hate on it, its cause they hate change.... i mean you coldnt see this coming after 5? I mean in my opinion this was a trillion times better than 5. resi 5 was a action game that gave you no ammo, and you cant even move while aiming your gun. but resi 6 gives everything people are asking for, and then people are gonna get mad. you cant have it both ways Expand
  45. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Alright....its understandable people want what made resident evil so bloody good back however I'm sick of people sh*tting all over this game because it is not what they want.Resident evil 6 is a great game step up from Resident evil 5, however it is not the perfect blend of survival horror and action (we can wish) but it does have a pretty good story...well story'S seeing as you play through 4 different campaigns (no that isnt a spoiler seeing as capcom desided to show Ada's campaign before the game was released) but yes Leon,Chris,Jake and Ada. all different and all crossover witch i thought was pretty cool. Leon's campaign feels more like a blend of resi 2,4 and 5 and that's a good thing seeing as its the best campaign.Then Chris...now his campaign actually shocked me..it was not terrible..it was actually pretty well done,even the story witch was abit weird seeing as it cut from the past to the present but you understand whats going on so it isnt confusing.Then there is Jake....people seem to hate on this one the most because you can use hand to hand combat more and because of this..people on it "how are you ment to use hand to hand combat on guys with guns"...ok seriously? first of all in Jake's campaign you seem to forget he has a bunch of gun's and weapons to use you dont have to use have to hand but there is a point in his campaign were you will have no choice..now its only a short bit but there i agree, it does get alittle frustrating but once you get used to it its actually not that bad.Finally Ada's campaign...its pretty much alot like resident evil 4 you have simple puzzles,creepy setting and awkward gameplay because resident evil 6's gameplay can be very awkward at times but capcom have sorted that (kinda) with the camera witch was pretty bad and annoying but not anymore it can still be pretty f*cking annoying but better then it was. So resident evil 6...better then 5 but one up from the worst in the series isnt good.Bring back more of the horror,more of the puzzles and you will see a change in everyone's scores capcom.However review the game as a game dont compare it to what resident evil was. Expand
  46. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    Please, RE fans, it's not a survival horror game, I know, I wish it was too. It doesn't deserve a zero. Stop being spoilt little brats. Insulting Capcom won't bring about a 'real' survival horror RE7 .
    Anyway, this game has a massive 4 campaigns all of which are very fun and enjoyable( I found Jake's campaign to be slightly lacking), and all have co-op support. Series favourites return,
    including some from far back in the series. OvTheWoods was right about one thing, Capcom aren't exactly action game developers, as the controls still remain clunky for this outing.
    The other modes like Agent hunt and Mercenaries are fun little distractions, but the campaigns are the real deal.
    Overall, we can see Capcom have drifted away from classic RE, sorry fellow fans, but get over it, it's not coming back.
    Expand
  47. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    its ok but its not survival horror anymore it is way too action heavy and the only real good campaign is the Leon campaign hell its not as bad as operation raccoon city
  48. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    This game has a great story and great gameplay its not the best game ever but why does have a mixed or average critic and user score? I mean seriously just because the and cover system sucks does not mean its a bad game.
  49. May 23, 2014
    7
    After playing through Resident Evil 6, I have some mixed feelings about it. Even though, it definitely isn't the high point in the series, and made some mistakes in design, I can't help but feel that some of the anger towards it is misplaced. However, that doesn't mean the game doesn't have it's problems.

    First thing to point out is the new aiming mechanic, which uses a cross hair. The
    cross hair is absolutely terrible, and is the worst way to aim in the game, considering the laser dot in the middle moves independently of your controls. Switch to the traditional aiming mechanic, or the laser sight. It is way better.

    Next is the fighting mechanics. This game changes the previous formula for melee by adding the ability to punch and kick without having to stun the enemy first. If you liked the old mechanic, you can still execute a nice melee attack on an enemy you've stunned. Although, the default amount of stamina you have feels too small at times.

    The biggest change to the game is all of the extra movement you now have. Unlike past games where you were rooted to the spot while aiming, you now have the ability to move and aim simultaneously. Along with this, you're not restricted to turning with the camera like you were in 5. Now, your character and the camera move independently from each other. Also added are the abilities to slide, take cover, and dodge, and even aim while lying down. Overall, the new mechanics function, but at times, they feel a little clunky, especially since most of these movements are mapped to the same buttons. I like the new direction the game is taking with this movement, but they need to be perfected.

    The story is definitely what I have the most mixed feelings about. The game is split into four campaigns, following the stories of Leon Kennedy, Chris Redfield, Jacob Muller and Sherry Birkin, and then Ada Wong. I actually liked this whole concept of playing four different campaigns, and they're not too short either, with each one taking 5-6 hours to complete, adding up to over twenty hours of gameplay. However, the campaigns end up being more action and less story than even Resident Evil 5, so the story does suffer in some ways. The first two chapters of each campaign usually do end up being the weakest in story, but the story truly hits it's strength in the later chapters, when the campaigns start to intertwine, and the characters meet. That's when the stories truly hit their stride. Aside from that, the campaigns are pretty weak, being overly simplistic in story. Luckily, the few story bits in the campaigns are pretty impressive for the most part, even if some plot points in the story feel weaker than others.

    Another weak spots for the campaigns are the levels. Some levels are absolutely amazing with awesome action and great sequences. Others are kind of blah, and others are absolutely infuriating, filled with bad sequences, fighting way too many enemies and filled with unnecessary grinding. This is one of those games where you'll have so much fun, and then absolutely hate it in five minutes.

    Another bad aspect is the tutorial. It does a good job of giving you the basic knowledge, but only gives you the good techniques through hint messages during loading screens. Some of these tips are essential to the game though, meaning you're not going to be proficient at this game for a good while.

    The graphics for the most part are good. Character models are well done, and I was always impressed whenever I saw the grime and sweat off of a character's face. However, some textures in the game look really rough up close, meaning some parts of the game look absolutely great while other parts are on the opposite end of the spectrum. Another problem is that the game is too dark. This is due mostly in part to the game intentionally blacking out parts of the game in an attempt to create shadows, which means that even on the brightest settings in the game and you're tv, the game still isn't illuminated well enough.

    Another thing I want to address is the hate this game gets. Resident Evil 6 is not a bad game, but it goes further from the tradition that the Resident Evil franchise has set, which is ultimately why it upsets fans. RE6 tried to make everyone happy, by giving horror based and action based campaigns, but ultimately it isn't enough. In itself, the game isn't bad, but it's hated for the lack of quality and tradition past Resident Evils have. I personally don't mind, but I know some do.

    Overall, the game is good with some huge flaws holding it back from living up to the standards set by RE4 all those years ago. If you hated five for the direction it took, don't play this game, considering the game goes down that same path. However, I can't recommend this game to newcomers, considering how unfriendly it is to newcomers. But, in itself, RE6 is an enjoyable and sometimes frustrating experience. So, if you're a hardcore fan, you may want to check it out.
    Expand
  50. May 10, 2014
    8
    This game has its problems, but I cannot deny the fact I feel like this is a better game then Resident Evil 5. I enjoyed this game quite a bit. First, the game is eerie. It's not to the same degree of creepiness like resident Evil 4 and prior, but it has it's moments. Visual wise, it looks great. Environments are well detailed and looks incredibly nice. Enemy and character designs are very well done and I cannot deny that they look very nice. Resident Evil is known for it's sound effects and this game is no exception. All he snarls and shouts are very good and you can tell where they are. Now for gameplay; It has its problems but also it's good points. The game offers drop-in, drop-out co-op and this can help you quite a bit in some the hard parts. If you don't want to play with a human, the partner AI is competent, which I am grateful for. The individual four campaigns play differently. This makes the gameplay, as well as the story, feel a little unfocused. Leon's campaign plays like Resident Evil 4. His campaign is the strongest and it has some moments that do startle, albeit being mostly jump scares. Jake's campaign plays like a runner game, i.e. there's a monster and you escape from it. I didn't mind this one too much, it wasn't too special, but I like the fact they brought Sherry back from Resident Evil 2. Chris' felt as the weaker one and felt scattered in terms of story. It plays like any generic third person shooter in the vein of Gears of Wars. Due to that, it plays too generic. The story is scattered and can be confusing at times because it jumps between two timelines. Ada's story is the second best campaign. It plays like a stealth game and it's a little harder. Quick Time Events are reintroduced, but I feel like the number is overstated. There are a number of them but they come up at times when you would have the controller in hand. Now for the story. Since Capcom killed off Wesker, you should expect a strained story. This is also due to it being split among 4 campaigns that messes with it's canon frequently. Basic gist, a new virus has been created. After the virus is tested on a university campus in the US, the race is on to stop the person behind the attack. Overall, I liked the game. It`s got it`s problems, but I was able to look past them. 7.6/10. It is definitely closer to the weaker end of Resident Evil and it terms of the RE games released as of late, Resident Evil Revelations is a stronger game. But I still like this game. I would recommend hat you buy this game used or at a discounted price, because it will be hit or miss for many people. Expand
  51. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    It´s a good game, but for a numbered title of the franchise, that make part of chronology of Resident Evil, this is a worst of all.
  52. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    i loved re6. i got it from play staion store for full 69.99 and it was well worth it with all dlcs. one of the most grapgical games iv played. hate when im away from the ps3, pc just dont run all these game man. i miss this re6. havent played it in about a half year, and i miss it bad.
  53. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    En primer lugar quiero dejar claro que el titulo en realidad de Resident Evil es Biohazard, que significa peligro biologico, sobre virus y contagios, ¿acaso quereis que todos los resident evils sean de ir por un pasillo interminable buscando una llave para abrir una puerta y seguir avanzando por otro pasillo hasta que encontremos otra puerta a la cual no podemos avanzar? ¿con zombis que no podemos matar y salir corriendo? esa epoca ha pasado a la historia, el juego avanza con nuevos retos, o ¿que esperais? ¿que capcom saque el mismo juego cada 4 años? nadie lo compraria, no digo que el 5 sea un buen juego porque no lo es, pero el Resident Evil 4 era un juegazo, lo querais ver o no y el 6 es otro juegazo, a quien le guste que lo disfrute y a quien no le guste que siga jugando en 2D recorriendo pasillos huyendo y buscando llaves. La jugabilidad es excelente, al principio te resulta dificil manejarlo pero una vez te acostumbras es una maravilla, por fin puedes esquivar, rodar por el suelo, luchar...etc La trama, de lo mejor del juego, entre ellas, la de Chris (te marcara) y la de León esta muy bien lograda aunque al final se vuelve ésta algo monótona. Los gráficos no son nada del otro mundo, pero estan muy bien, hay texturas que parecen el Resident Evil 4, pero bueno...al fin y al cabo no te fijas en eso...aun asi aqui decae bastante. El sonido es de lo mejor del juego, sobretodo en momentos puntuales de tensión y en las escenas cinematrográficas a lo Hollywood, el doblaje al Español es excelente, uno de los mejores doblajes que he visto hasta hoy dia. Innovan bastante respecto a la quinta entrega (cosa no dificil) el modo historia (que consta de cuatro) te costara pasartelo en unas 30 horas en normal. Conclusión: Resident Evil 6 posiblemente sea uno de los mejores de la saga (para mi personalmente el mejor) terror no tiene, algunos putnos crean tensión, pero no esperes un survival porque no lo es, mas bien es un shooter en tercera persona pero de acción y aventuras (tipo Uncharted) El modo historia de León mezcla survival con acción, el de Chris mezcla acción pura con shooter, el de Jake mezcla tensión y accion y por último el de Ada seria mas bien acción con puzzles, el juego es un juegazo que debes tener si o si, te encantara si te va el genero acción. Expand
  54. Jan 3, 2014
    2
    What caveman creates an FPS game in this century and doesn't allow you to change the button layout? The R1 and L1 buttons are horrible as trigger buttons, only a sadist would take a game like this and force a binary set of options for all controls.

    This is idiocy.
  55. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Funny that Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5 have better ratings here. Resident Evil 6 is best next-gen RE franchise. Great graphics, great controls. Best next-gen RE!
  56. Jun 23, 2014
    5
    I felt compelled to sign up for metacritic so I could put my views across. It's current mixed score of 5.3 is probably fair. As a Resident Evil game, it fails on so many levels. Capcoms insistence on co-op removes any chance of there being the classic RE tension that enveloped the early games, the amount of QTE is way over the top,. When I was playing the game I thought to myself that I was playing COD:B.O.W edition and I see some similar thoughts in other reviews. Even stripping away the Resident Evil name, as a game on its own 2 legs, it still is poor due to most of the reasons I mentioned above, alongside such other reasons as splitting the story over 4 campaigns, forcing you to replay certain sections of the game in 2 different campaigns. Yes some of the 0 reviews are just people taking their hatred for the game and it's destruction of the RE legacy too far but those giving it anything above a 7 to 'balance out the score' are just as bad. A 5 is a fitting score likely Expand
  57. Oct 15, 2014
    4
    im a huge RE fan and RE4 is my fav game all the time i played RE6 for more than 60 hours and i platinumed RE6 i bought it in the hope of having a real survivor horror exp in leon campaign and it was good but in overall RE6 lost it identity greedy capcom trying to please everyone reaosn why i call it greedy as a survival/horror game it deserves 4/10 and as an action game 7/10
  58. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Uno dei migliori videogiochi mai creati.Con una campagna sensazionale ed un gameplay ottimo se pur non ai livelli del secondo e del quarto capitolo.Un capolavoro.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    55
    Capcom continues to thumb its nose at long time series fans. Not only have they abandoned any pretense of tension and fear, they've dredged up tired old storylines and shifted the game solidly into Gears of War territory. Let the series die!
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    50
    It's expanded beyond any plausible scientific explanation, with what is left being a cumbersome, grotesque mish-mash of disparate elements, barely strung together and about as subtle as a hammer to the thumb.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    Resident Evil takes another step towards the action genre, and by doing so loses even more of the atmosphere from the beginning of the series. It's an ok action game, but the lack of focus is the real problem. Probably not for fans of the first games.