Resident Evil 6 PlayStation 3

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1316 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2017
    5
    Game is a mess....I only gave it a 5 because Leon and Chris's confrontation was pretty epic and it was good seeing Sherry return after so many years. Other than that..JUST BAD.
  2. May 13, 2017
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Right away, I'm going to say, my score for this based on being solely an action game and well after the controls were patched. Like it or not, survival horror is a part of the action genre in gaming; so yeah. With that said, Resident Evil 6 takes four different approaches to how you play: Third Person Shooter, Traditional Survival Horror, Stealth and then combination of the three with melee-focused combat. (The latter being Jake's story)

    Chris' portion will have you spitting lead at other weapon totting C-Virus soldiers, which adds the bigger and badder BOWs for him to face. Despite it getting tiresome, the BOWs do tend to break up the monotony of the game's improved cover system, still giving the scenario that Resident Evil feel.

    The pluses do outweigh the minuses in this, kept me going through an above par portrayal about comradery, with his unit. Sure, the amnesia part could of been omitted, as it really seemed to only be present for one chapter and was gone the next, never really developing into any meaningful, plotwise.

    Leon's scenario tends to be everyone's favorite scenario here, (Considering, he is probably the most liked character in the series.) as we get to experience a truly intense experience of being in the middle of a city-wide outbreak. In all honesty, Resident Evil 6 could've just been an expanded version of Leon's story, as it stayed intense and challenging for most of the game. Aside from a few bad cliches with the usual with the scheming bad guy near the end, It's the high point of the game.

    Jake's story isn't bad either and focuses more on the chemistry between him and Sherry Birken. (All grown up!) Admittedly, they were a good pair to play with, and makes for some memorable moments, especially when going against Ustanack (RE6's Nemesis-like monster)

    Last, is Ada's campaign, which is used to fill in the gaps where all of the unanswered questions were during the other stories. In regards to the story elements, they do shed light on many of the unanswered questions, BUT overall her campaign is boring and really doesn't match into its own thing. Not only that, the stealth portions were pointless and felt forced. (Which is said because they could've been made to be cool.

    In regards to the newer control scheme, it does take some getting used to and shows serious improvement, after Capcom patched the game!

    Overall, the game packs 4 character scenarios that intertwine well, in the same fashion as Resident Evil 2. But loses its balance with all of the different gameplay approaches it tries to accomplish. Sure, they are ironed out well, but lose sight of what matters, THE HORROR ASPECT. The monsters are creepy and scary at times. But you have to really get behind the fact that Capcom was doing just too damn much with this one. (WHICH I DID) Also, multiplayer adds The Mercenaries (can be played solo) and a few newer modes to gameplay formula for the MP prortion.

    As for its rating as a part of the Resident Evil series, its a 5. It lacks any sort of terrifying moments,
    Yet it keeps the fighting tense and confined enough to keep that feeling of dread and need to look over your shoulder. Sure it's got a LOT of content, but Resident Evil isn't about the costumes, extra content and nick-nacks you acquire. It the very definition of SURVIVAL HORROR, which this lacks in almost every way.

    I enjoyed playing the game, but felt it left me empty overall, in terms of it being the continuation of the main story.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    8
    "Oh it is just not resident evil, I don`t want change" just shut the **** up. Everyone who gives this game a lower score then 5 has no ide of what a bad game is and yes it is diffrent but in a good way. resident evil 6 looks fantatsic, sound is pretty solid, controls are resident evil, the story is interging with 3 campaigns and the old resident evil caracters. I get if you don`t like this"Oh it is just not resident evil, I don`t want change" just shut the **** up. Everyone who gives this game a lower score then 5 has no ide of what a bad game is and yes it is diffrent but in a good way. resident evil 6 looks fantatsic, sound is pretty solid, controls are resident evil, the story is interging with 3 campaigns and the old resident evil caracters. I get if you don`t like this game, it no perfect by any means but it is not a bad game either, far from. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2017
    1
    Un jeu loin des codes initiaux de la série (pas de stress, musiques insipides et non représentative du jeu, scénario qui part dans tous les sens niveau chronologie et surtout en "cohérence de jeu", personnages quasi inexistants, etc etc), mais qui se paye aussi le luxe d'être une pâle copie de tous les autres, et de ne rien apporter de neuf.

    Niveau gameplay, c'est le néant : Inventaire
    Un jeu loin des codes initiaux de la série (pas de stress, musiques insipides et non représentative du jeu, scénario qui part dans tous les sens niveau chronologie et surtout en "cohérence de jeu", personnages quasi inexistants, etc etc), mais qui se paye aussi le luxe d'être une pâle copie de tous les autres, et de ne rien apporter de neuf.

    Niveau gameplay, c'est le néant : Inventaire non intuitif, système de fight plus proche d'un Street Fighter qu'autre chose, et indigeste de nombreuses fois (passage en scooter des neiges, caméra qui bouge style bateau en pleine tempête, système de couverture qui se veut nouveau mais déjà fait et surtout qui bug à fond pour ne citer qu'eux). Bref, là dessus il n'invente pas l'eau chaude, en plus d'avoir une technique de conception qui fait mal à voir parfois...

    Un jeu réservé aux bourrins qui se fichent de l'histoire de la série, et veulent juste de l'action brute. Mais même là, d'autres jeux sont au dessus et de loin.

    Je mets 1, juste pour le contenu énorme. Mais la quantité ne fait pas la qualité, comme on dit...
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2017
    8
    While it doesn't benefit the storytelling and sometimes it contradicts the law of physics, it still has more surprises that you've expected. Better visual effects, amazing action parts and a long game to enjoy, although it's redundant. I don't think this is a masterpiece, but it's a fun ride to hitch. Memorable characters as Sherry, Chris, Ada and Leon will make this video game worth it.While it doesn't benefit the storytelling and sometimes it contradicts the law of physics, it still has more surprises that you've expected. Better visual effects, amazing action parts and a long game to enjoy, although it's redundant. I don't think this is a masterpiece, but it's a fun ride to hitch. Memorable characters as Sherry, Chris, Ada and Leon will make this video game worth it. Oh, one more thing, After playing RE6 I was starving for more zombies! (80%) Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2016
    3
    Has any game franchise done more with less than Resident Evil? It started as a somewhat interesting survival horror game on the PlayStation, complete with clunky controls and a Capcom trademarked story that was both hilariously convoluted and embarrassingly simple. From there it spawned a bunch of mediocre sequels and spin offs, peaked briefly with Resident Evil 4, before quickly devolvingHas any game franchise done more with less than Resident Evil? It started as a somewhat interesting survival horror game on the PlayStation, complete with clunky controls and a Capcom trademarked story that was both hilariously convoluted and embarrassingly simple. From there it spawned a bunch of mediocre sequels and spin offs, peaked briefly with Resident Evil 4, before quickly devolving into the convoluted mess that is Resident Evil 6. The newest installment tries to be a mixture of both the original game and the more modern third person shooters of today, and ends up being the worst of every world.

    The basic premise of Resident Evil 6 is that there are 4 separate campaigns to play through, allowing you to see the zombie apocolypse of the month from 4 different viewpoints. That's the theory anyway. In practice, the campaigns are all so short that about half the cutscenes in the game are shared between them. Another thing that sounded much better in theory was making the campaigns have a different feel, i.e. one being a more traditional survival horror, one being a more traditional third person shooter, etc. In practice, however, there is basically no difference between them all. Long time series mainstays such as Chris Redfield, Leon Kennedy, and Jill Valentine make their usual appearances. The most interesting character is Ada Wong, who hovers around all the other characters like Batman, protecting them when they find themselves in yet another perilous situation. Her campaign is supposed to tie all the stories together, but really all that happens is you reach the end, press a button, and get talked at for 5 minutes.

    If the impenetrable story didn't already turn you off of Resident Evil 6, the gameplay certainly will. All the characters are so stiff to try and steer around the levels, frequently continuing to move even after you let go of the thumbstick. After all their years of zombie hunting they still haven't grasped the concept of moving while aiming, and there is a laughably poor attempt at a cover system. Capcom keeps these things in Resident Evil games for tradition I suppose, but games intentionally ignoring good design choices in favor of tradition just makes them all the more frustrating. This all happens, of course, when the game begrudgingly allows you to actually play it. Control is taken from the player so often so that the camera can pan to something the game is so proud of, or so that characters can talk at you over your headset, or so the game can throw one of it's hundreds of quick time events at you, that the actual time spent playing Resident Evil 6 is probably close to about 3 hours.

    The quick time events deserve special mention, as they often come completely out of nowhere, and flash on the screen for about a quarter of a second. They really couldn't be implemented any worse. And if all this wasn't bad enough, the game thinks that ramping up the stakes is to simply throw the same giant monsters at you about 5 different times, often after you've convincingly killed them previously. The characters never seem to learn to completely obliterate a monster after they've downed it, always being content to just continue on their way. They never seem surprised or concerned when the same baddie later confronts them for the umpeenth time however, and if they're not concerned about it I just don't see why I should be either.

    The best games are made when player and game co-exist harmoniously. The game allows the player to freely explore it's worlds, and the player uses the tools given to enjoy the journey. Resident Evil 6 hates it's players. During the brief moments when it remembers it's a game and not some cheaply made horror/comedy film, it gives players stiff and dated gameplay to fight the same monsters over and over and over again. The only way Resident Evil 6 is even remotely worth playing is in co-op mode with a friend, that way you can both laugh at the sheer awfulness of it all. Trying to play it solo will do nothing more than bring you to tears.
    Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2016
    8
    Ok We all no that at this point Capcom were not trying to focus on Survival horror but wanted to continue on the silly fun of RES 4 but I don't no what It is but I could not put this game down I completed the four times on all the difficulty's sometimes it was just silly fun. Yeah I don't like everything in the game so calm down, Chris's Campaign is by far the worse campaign in a RES gameOk We all no that at this point Capcom were not trying to focus on Survival horror but wanted to continue on the silly fun of RES 4 but I don't no what It is but I could not put this game down I completed the four times on all the difficulty's sometimes it was just silly fun. Yeah I don't like everything in the game so calm down, Chris's Campaign is by far the worse campaign in a RES game ever it's so boring and cheap but I do like Roger Craig Smith's performance then again everybody does a pretty good chessy performance I also hate Ada's Co-op because it's just single player but they put co-op on for no reason really.
    The extra content is an absolute blast as well the game mode Onslaught is just way to awesome and still stays at 60 FBS.
    Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2016
    6
    The story is almost 10/10, but weak cutscenes and everything seems very unfinished and unpolished specially Leon and Helena campaign. Seriously you dont wanna waste your money if not falls under 20€-15€
  9. Mar 10, 2016
    10
    Este jogo é incrível! Eu recebi e ainda não posso parar de jogar. Os gráficos são tão detalhadas para um game e é desafiador, mas divertido e terá que jogar por horas! A história é complexa e profundamente pensado. O melhor jogo que eu já joguei de forma
  10. Mar 7, 2016
    8
    Fazer um review de Resident Evil 6 não é uma coisa fácil, se eu fosse definir RE6 eu definiria como uma "Montanha-Russa" por que eu definiria assim? É um jogo que de um lado temos quem diz que é horrível e do outro quem diz que é ótimo, quem está certo? Eu diria que ambos, de certa forma. Para começar, digo que é óbvio que as notas para o game variam de pessoa pra pessoa, cada um tem suaFazer um review de Resident Evil 6 não é uma coisa fácil, se eu fosse definir RE6 eu definiria como uma "Montanha-Russa" por que eu definiria assim? É um jogo que de um lado temos quem diz que é horrível e do outro quem diz que é ótimo, quem está certo? Eu diria que ambos, de certa forma. Para começar, digo que é óbvio que as notas para o game variam de pessoa pra pessoa, cada um tem sua opinião certo? Mas acho meio que um vacilo dar a Resident Evil 6 uma nota 0 ou notas abaixo de 3. Eu entendo que existem motivos para não gostar do game, mas odia-lo? Acho que os que irão odiar são apenas os fãs dos jogos clássicos da franquia que com certeza dirão que RE6 não é terror, depois de RE4 e RE5, claro que Resident Evil 6 não seria um game de horror... Bom, vamos a Review então!

    Resident Evil 6 é um jogo de ação em terceira pessoa da Capcom, a mesma empresa responsável por toda a franquia Resident Evil. O jogo é dividido por campanhas, cada campanha possui dois personagens principais que necessitam ajudar uns aos outros durante a jogatina, cada campanha possui sua própria história, ou seja, seu início, meio e fim. Uma coisa interessante é que as campanhas se cruzam e é dessa forma que o enredo de RE6 é contado. Apesar de ter tendência a confusão, esse lance de cruzamento entre campanhas, na minha opinião, foi bem pensado e bem executado. Agora falando um pouco mais das campanhas em si, temos 3 campanhas principais, nessas campanhas temos as seguintes duplas de personagens: Leon e Helena (Nova Personagem), Chris e Piers (Novo personagem), Jake (Novo personagem) e Sherry Birkin, e após concluir cada uma das campanhas, liberamos a campanha de Ada, que adiciona algumas coisas interessantes a história. Como puderam notar, a trama de RE6 envolve personagens de peso e trás também personagens novos, ou surpresas como a Sherry, que é a garotinha encontrada por Claire em Resident Evil 2. Além das campanhas se cruzarem e funcionarem em dupla, também é possível jogar em Co-op que para ser sincero é muito divertido e considero inclusive uma experiência superior a de se jogar sozinho, se possível, dê preferência para o Co-op Online, sua experiência será muito melhor com o game.

    RE6 possui alguns inimigos interessantes como o Ogroman, Whoppers e o Ustanak (Acho ele fenomenal) mas em compensação há inimigos que são muito sem graça e apesar de existir uma variedade, não despertam tanto interesse, como os J'avos que são habitantes infectados pelo C-virus e que muitas vezes se transformam parcialmente em "animais", os zumbis também não são interessantes, possuem vários tipos mas são bem genéricos e nem um pouco assustadores... falando em genérico, talvez esse seja o problema de RE6, é um jogo muito "inflado" digamos assim, tem muito conteúdo mas nem tanta qualidade. Vou dar um exemplo, sua jogabilidade é muito diversificada, podemos Andar, Correr, Pular, Rastejar, Entrar no modo cover (Que achei bem mal feito), Dar Coronhada, Aplicar QTE's para eliminar inimigos, Dar voadora e Esquivar (Uau!). Mas apesar dessa gororoba toda, quando se aprende todos os comandos, jogar Resident Evil 6 se torna muito divertido! Digo isso pois apesar de ser genérico, ter gráficos muitas vezes mal feitos e ambientações nada agradáveis (Para mim, esse é o ponto mais fraco do jogo) RE6 ainda assim é divertido, por incrível que pareça...

    Então, ao meu ver, RE6 é um daqueles jogos que você fica na dúvida entre "Amar ou Odiar", no meu caso, eu nem amei e nem odiei, eu fiquei literalmente meio a meio, não diria que é um Jogaço e nem diria que é um Lixo, mas apesar de ter ficado meio em dúvida, acho que darei uma nota positiva para RE6, eu o descreveria como: "Um game com boas ideias, porém mal executadas". Vale a pena jogar? Sinceramente, somente jogando para saber responder isso. Como eu havia dito antes, Resident Evil 6 é como uma montanha-russa, tem altos e baixos, basta saber se você vai vomitar ou ficar tranquilo enquanto estiver em um de seus "Loops".

    Nota Final: 8.3/10 (Ótimo)
    Expand
  11. Feb 25, 2016
    9
    The best way to enjoy this game is playing with a friend. Awesome cooperative campaigne. The fact that you need to carry madicine and use your munitions wisely makes it interesting for me like all the RE. All the campaignes are connected wich make you realize what happen better. I recomend it, specially if you have someone to play with.
  12. Feb 24, 2016
    8
    o resident evil 6 foi um ótimo jogo, ele recupera um pouco o terror que o 5 perdeu. o resident evil 6 tem partes com muito suspense o que é fundamental para um jogo de survival horror. porém, ainda não recuperou o terror completamente, mas já é um começo. o jogo trás uma ótima jogabilidade, boa história e um ótimo multiplayer. sem falar que o modo mercenaries continua, esse modo de jogo éo resident evil 6 foi um ótimo jogo, ele recupera um pouco o terror que o 5 perdeu. o resident evil 6 tem partes com muito suspense o que é fundamental para um jogo de survival horror. porém, ainda não recuperou o terror completamente, mas já é um começo. o jogo trás uma ótima jogabilidade, boa história e um ótimo multiplayer. sem falar que o modo mercenaries continua, esse modo de jogo é muito bom. Expand
  13. Jan 31, 2016
    6
    Story: 6/10
    Resident Evil is known for its ridiculous plotlines, ranging from being chased by a giant mechanical Napoleon lookalike to crashing landing a bomber into a volcano. Resident Evil 6 is no exception and is definitely the most ambitious game to date, filled with cinematic set pieces set across the globe, feeling more like a Call of Duty entry rather than Resident Evil entry.
    Story: 6/10
    Resident Evil is known for its ridiculous plotlines, ranging from being chased by a giant mechanical Napoleon lookalike to crashing landing a bomber into a volcano. Resident Evil 6 is no exception and is definitely the most ambitious game to date, filled with cinematic set pieces set across the globe, feeling more like a Call of Duty entry rather than Resident Evil entry. Although the scale of the plot is impressive it also takes away from the classic creepy plotline of the original games. Due to the downfall of Umbrella and the death of Albert Wesker, Resident Evil 6 introduces Neo-Umbrella and a host of new villains and BOWs. However these characters feel more like replacements for beloved Resident Evil enemies rather than new ones.
    Unlike previous entries, Resident Evil 6 explores characters beyond quirky one liners and their zombie killing abilities. This is only really evident is Chris and Pier’s campaign which features flashbacks of a traumatized Chris after the loss of his men although this is a refreshing change of storytelling for the Resident Evil series it felt dragged and frankly annoying.

    Visuals & Sound: 7/10
    Capcom has made a huge effort to restore Resident Evil to the dark creepy atmosphere that made the series such a success. They manage to achieve this in Leon’s campaign which maintains a creepy atmosphere for the majority of the game. This is not the case in Chris’s and Jake’s campaigns which tend to focus on large gun battles in well lit areas far more than Resident Evil 5. As I mentioned earlier Resident Evil 6 is filled with huge cinematic set pieces that could rival Uncharted. At times large set pieces and sequences such as driving a motorcycle at helicopter or attacking a battleship with a jet seem too big for the game itself and unnecessary.
    Like its predecessors Resident Evil 6 is filled with gigantic boss battles and questionable enemy designs. These range from terrifying to ridiculous with some end game bosses almost laughable. This mainly concerns the J’Avo which are able mutate and evolve after taking damage to a body part. These mutations cause them to generate new limbs turnings them into insects and giant moths.

    Gameplay: 6/10
    Resident Evil 6 continues with the third-person over-the-shoulder perspective introduced in the Resident Evil 4 although allowing the player to move while aiming such as in The Mercenaries game for the 3DS. Characters movement speed has also been sped up significantly allowing players to sprint in standard gameplay. This is a welcomed addition to the series although the movement seems overly loose and inaccurate. Thankfully they have replaced the dreadful inventory system used in Resident Evil 5, allowing characters to select and use items easily while in combat.
    Button-mashing has returned but is now more frequent and frustrating than in past games. The button sequences are triggered when a player is grabbed by an enemy or when performing an action such as accessing a control panel. The weapon and aiming system remains unchanged but you can no longer upgrade guns as in Resident Evil 5. Weapon damage is now upgraded in the perk system which allows the user to select 3 perks at a time to improve their character and weapons. These perks are purchased using skill points which are picked up as items during the game. Although I appreciate the idea I prefer the old upgrading system used in Resident Evil 4 & 5. The idea of picking up skill points as item rather than simply earning them by completing a chapter is a terrible idea especially considering harder difficulties were every bullet and shell is essential.

    Extras & Multiplayer: 7/10
    Resident Evil 5 had huge replay value featuring a lengthy cooperative campaign with chapter select, mercenaries and a semi-descent multiplayer. Capcom have taken this to a whole new level adding four full campaigns, mercenaries and new game mode called Agent Mode. This allows players to join other player’s games as a zombie and your goal is to kill them similar to versus mode in Left 4 Dead although not a good due poor controls. Mercenaries mode remains the same as past games but only 3 maps are included with an additional 3 as a pre-order bonus which is disappointing. Like Resident Evil 5, this game seems too focused on cooperative play making the game quite boring when playing alone. However from what I have played of Ada’s campaign it seems like a good singleplayer experience with a classic Resident Evil.

    Enjoyment: 6/10
    Overall I was disappointed with Resident Evil 6 having been a huge fan of the series. This was due to frustrating gameplay and long and tedious chapters although the drop in and out system was handy. Despite my disappointment Resident Evil 6 was a descent game but it wasn’t a Resident Evil game.

    Overall Rating: 6/10
    Expand
  14. Jan 14, 2016
    8
    Such a great game! Intriguing story full of interesting characters. Great action, very dark atmosphere and for me the QTE's was fun to play. Very enjoyable experience overall, but so different than old RE games so orthodox fans of the series may feel different. As for me this one is my favourite next to Code Veronica X.
  15. Dec 17, 2015
    10
    Best campaign trowel Ada Because have stealth game play
    generally best than Resident evil 5 because have different campaign and The New version MT Framework 2 Graphically it's good
  16. Dec 9, 2015
    2
    Boring over the top action. Lots of Quick time events and interactive action cut scenes. In the running for worst resident evil game ever made. I spent 20 hours or so in this game hoping it would get better. But after leon's campaign it got worse to the point of sheer disbelief. Go play revelations 2 instead. Much better game!
  17. Dec 2, 2015
    5
    RE6 é uma mistura de vários erros em um jogo só, tudo é muito confuso, e por isso o game escorrega em vários aspectos. A ideia de ter várias campanhas foi legal, mas a maneira que foi feita não. A Capcom fez um jogo para atrair fãs antigos e novos, algumas partes do game são FPS, outras tem terror e sustos. Porém, esta proposta se perde ao longo da aventura. A jogabilidade de correr eRE6 é uma mistura de vários erros em um jogo só, tudo é muito confuso, e por isso o game escorrega em vários aspectos. A ideia de ter várias campanhas foi legal, mas a maneira que foi feita não. A Capcom fez um jogo para atrair fãs antigos e novos, algumas partes do game são FPS, outras tem terror e sustos. Porém, esta proposta se perde ao longo da aventura. A jogabilidade de correr e atirar foi uma boa novidade, mas deixou o game muito fácil, até mesmo no profissional. Os zumbis são simplesmente patéticos! Os personagens tem uma péssima mania de tropeçar nos cadáveres, o que é irritante conforme jogamos. O gráfico parece inferior ao visto no seu antecessor. Os QTEs estão presentes, e em um número absurdo, prepare-se para cansar seus dedos de tanto apertar botão quando for agarrado. Nem o Co-op é tão divertido quanto RE5. Se a Capcom fizesse um jogo com um foco só, em vez de misturar ação com terror, o resultado poderia ter sido melhor. Expand
  18. Nov 30, 2015
    9
    resident evil 6 foi um ótimo jogo, percebe-se que ele tenta recuperar o terror que foi perdido no 5, uma coisa que eu gostei muito é que o game é dividido em 4 modos sendo eles, 2 de terror que são meus favoritos o do leon e da ada. e 2 modos de ação que não me agradaram por ser de ação que é o do cris e do jack, o game apresenta uma ótima jogabilidade, além de uma ótima história, ótimoresident evil 6 foi um ótimo jogo, percebe-se que ele tenta recuperar o terror que foi perdido no 5, uma coisa que eu gostei muito é que o game é dividido em 4 modos sendo eles, 2 de terror que são meus favoritos o do leon e da ada. e 2 modos de ação que não me agradaram por ser de ação que é o do cris e do jack, o game apresenta uma ótima jogabilidade, além de uma ótima história, ótimo multi-player tanto online como local. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Are these reviews or gripes about it not being "survival horror"?? You are trying to "survive" and there are zombies everywhere... The game's controls are not broken or anything. I spent most of the game with very low health. I didn't even die playing through RE0. There are enough monsters to keep it overwhelming but one thing I don't like is that they give you so much ammo... It is really easy to conserve if you are used to games like this.(Even the other RE games)... The melee attacks are fun and remind me of Uncharted... And I don't think it matters if they want to keep going with this cinematic action style because the game does slow down with some puzzles(just like the other games)... There are no Zelda reviews complaining about the game not being an overhead view... RE6 is still good... When they want to break the controls like some of those 3D Sonic games is when I am going to stop playing.. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2015
    6
    In my opinion, a review of 5 might as well be a review of 0.

    So, I'm giving this a 6 lol.

    It's not great.

    Definitely go buy The Evil Within instead of this game.

    Basically at this point, there is no reason to buy this game as there are many better now.
  21. Oct 7, 2015
    8
    Two steps below RES4 and a step below RES5, RES6 (in this new era of RES) is still a very good game in it's own respects. If you go into it thinking you're back in the late 90's and you're expecting original Resident Evil, then you will be disappointed. If you go into it and appreciate it for what it is in its own right, then you will have hours upon hours of fun (thanks to the manyTwo steps below RES4 and a step below RES5, RES6 (in this new era of RES) is still a very good game in it's own respects. If you go into it thinking you're back in the late 90's and you're expecting original Resident Evil, then you will be disappointed. If you go into it and appreciate it for what it is in its own right, then you will have hours upon hours of fun (thanks to the many campaigns), and multiplayer is worth checking out too. Expand
  22. Jul 15, 2015
    6
    Amagó mucho y se quedó en más de lo mismo. Casi nada de la esencia de lo que es la saga. No es injugable ni mucho menos pero para aprovecharlo bien hay que jugarlo cooperativo.
  23. Jun 6, 2015
    9
    Highly underrated game. Not sure why this game got such bad reviews. All the different scenarios for each character are awesome. Love the different types of zombies. I'd recommend this game if you can pick it up somewhere for cheap definitely.
  24. May 25, 2015
    6
    Leon's campaign should of been the whole game, everything else in this game is meh...

    All the other campaigns were heated gun battles... Does that sound like survival horror or Resident Evil to you? At least Leon's campaign had horror elements.
  25. Feb 12, 2015
    5
    A while ago, I wrote a review on how this game is worth playing despite all the bugs and flaws. Now I'm here to say that I was too nice. Unless you are a RE fanatic, you shouldn't buy this game. The bugs and flaws will make you contemplate suicide. I do not recommend this game to anybody anymore. Capcom should learn from this mistake. The game is almost perfect, but the flaws just won'tA while ago, I wrote a review on how this game is worth playing despite all the bugs and flaws. Now I'm here to say that I was too nice. Unless you are a RE fanatic, you shouldn't buy this game. The bugs and flaws will make you contemplate suicide. I do not recommend this game to anybody anymore. Capcom should learn from this mistake. The game is almost perfect, but the flaws just won't let you enjoy it. Expand
  26. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    Story line of this is very good and bound reminiscent impressions from RE2, RE4 and RE5, productplay is different, but it is mainstream now. Also quality of video/audio and programming - perfect.
  27. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Uno dei migliori videogiochi mai creati.Con una campagna sensazionale ed un gameplay ottimo se pur non ai livelli del secondo e del quarto capitolo.Un capolavoro.
  28. Oct 15, 2014
    4
    im a huge RE fan and RE4 is my fav game all the time i played RE6 for more than 60 hours and i platinumed RE6 i bought it in the hope of having a real survivor horror exp in leon campaign and it was good but in overall RE6 lost it identity greedy capcom trying to please everyone reaosn why i call it greedy as a survival/horror game it deserves 4/10 and as an action game 7/10
  29. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    HELLOY HELLOY THIS IS ADEPT.
    This game worst ever, best game for maslyat. Dont play it. Sonyblyadi huynu nakoldovali.
    CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY-CHY
  30. Jun 23, 2014
    5
    I felt compelled to sign up for metacritic so I could put my views across. It's current mixed score of 5.3 is probably fair. As a Resident Evil game, it fails on so many levels. Capcoms insistence on co-op removes any chance of there being the classic RE tension that enveloped the early games, the amount of QTE is way over the top,. When I was playing the game I thought to myself that II felt compelled to sign up for metacritic so I could put my views across. It's current mixed score of 5.3 is probably fair. As a Resident Evil game, it fails on so many levels. Capcoms insistence on co-op removes any chance of there being the classic RE tension that enveloped the early games, the amount of QTE is way over the top,. When I was playing the game I thought to myself that I was playing COD:B.O.W edition and I see some similar thoughts in other reviews. Even stripping away the Resident Evil name, as a game on its own 2 legs, it still is poor due to most of the reasons I mentioned above, alongside such other reasons as splitting the story over 4 campaigns, forcing you to replay certain sections of the game in 2 different campaigns. Yes some of the 0 reviews are just people taking their hatred for the game and it's destruction of the RE legacy too far but those giving it anything above a 7 to 'balance out the score' are just as bad. A 5 is a fitting score likely Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    I see the trolls are out in full force like usual. Is this game the same as it was ten years ago? No, I guess not- too bad nobody actually reviews the actual game they're playing these days.

    The game is tough, is full of zombies, is not nearly as nice with herbs or ammo as 4 and 5 were, and zombies take multiple headshots to kill even on lower difficulties. Play on a higher difficulty
    I see the trolls are out in full force like usual. Is this game the same as it was ten years ago? No, I guess not- too bad nobody actually reviews the actual game they're playing these days.

    The game is tough, is full of zombies, is not nearly as nice with herbs or ammo as 4 and 5 were, and zombies take multiple headshots to kill even on lower difficulties. Play on a higher difficulty and with the screen brightness where the game suggests- and you'll spend a lot of the game creeping forward praying you don't get mauled, or even running away from swarms when your ammo runs low. The game is considerably more survival oriented than 4 and 5 were as a result.

    As many have said, it mixes action, survival horror and shooter- so for those hoping the game would just be one thing they'll be disappointed to find this isn't RE2 or Silent Hill. You also have to be much more careful than in RE4 and 5, while also not getting the luxury of time those games offered to search for treasure in all areas.

    With three moderately sized adventures, you end up with a longer game as well. Of course, if you're a die hard hater of action games this probably won't be your Resident Evil. I wouldn't say this is the best in the series, but it definitely is far better than most of the people giving it 0s on the day it came out before they even tried it are saying.
    Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    55
    Capcom continues to thumb its nose at long time series fans. Not only have they abandoned any pretense of tension and fear, they've dredged up tired old storylines and shifted the game solidly into Gears of War territory. Let the series die!
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    50
    It's expanded beyond any plausible scientific explanation, with what is left being a cumbersome, grotesque mish-mash of disparate elements, barely strung together and about as subtle as a hammer to the thumb.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    Resident Evil takes another step towards the action genre, and by doing so loses even more of the atmosphere from the beginning of the series. It's an ok action game, but the lack of focus is the real problem. Probably not for fans of the first games.