Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil favorites Leon S. Kennedy and Chris Redfield are joined by new characters such as Jake Muller to face a world-wide bioterrorist threat, as the action moves between North America, the war-torn Eastern European state of Edonia and the Chinese city of Lanshiang.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    92
    It's definitely a notch above Resident Evil 5. It brings more scares, better visuals and very intense storylines to the mix. At the end of it all, it will feel like you've been a part of an intricate action-horror that satisfies your adrenaline needs by the end.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    Resident Evil is not a survival horror saga any longer, but this new iteration is an amazingly entertaining action game, with plenty of content.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Resident Evil 6 is one hell of a long ride, and there are some amazing stunts along the way. Even a few original ones. But next to the shooter that it tries so assiduously to out-do, Resi 6 feels stale, and compounds things with OTT action sequences that are more B-movie than Bourne. [Dec 2012, p.94]
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    76
    Despite the incredible amount of effort and manpower that went into making this game, it unfortunately falls short of being the definitive RE experience Capcom had set out to offer.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil 6 steers Capcom's survival-horror series in an even more action-oriented direction – and comes up short in some places as a result. However, if you can forgive the troublesome camera and woeful partner AI, there's still a lot to like about this third-person shooter.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    66
    Unfortunately Capcom have once again spent too much time fixing what didn't need to be fixed and not enough time addressing the real issues of this series. The game is long because it's drawn out or challenging because of a flawed control system rather than displaying these positive attributes through balanced game design. Resident Evil 6 is not a bad game, but it's not a great game either and this is a real shame. Despite this however, it still has many amazing elements that should not be overlooked and at its core is a decent horror experience.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    45
    Series faithful might stumble through for the sake of story, and perhaps to appreciate those few moments that recall when Resident Evil was at its peak glory. But this long, poor sequel is the ultimate test of patience for even the most dedicated.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    The Best Resident Evil I Have Played leon campaign is the best for me. Chris campaign is The Same Resident Evil 5. Jake Campaign isThe Best Resident Evil I Have Played leon campaign is the best for me. Chris campaign is The Same Resident Evil 5. Jake Campaign is Magnifico Plenty Of that I liked this game.! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This game not bad at all... except the aim .... but they will fix it... the game is fun... I enjoy it much.... also the mercenaries mode...This game not bad at all... except the aim .... but they will fix it... the game is fun... I enjoy it much.... also the mercenaries mode... don't know why people trolling the review Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Before I get into the game I want to talk about all the people on here dismissing other people's opinion's on here just because they're aBefore I get into the game I want to talk about all the people on here dismissing other people's opinion's on here just because they're a "fan-boy." To dismiss someone's opinion based on the fact that they enjoyed the other Resident Evil games is the most inane argument of all time. It would be like if someone liked the new Star Wars movies, you didn't, and they gave you logical reasoning as to why they liked the movies and your retort is to call them "fan-boys." That's not logical, that's derogatory name calling for absolutely no reason what so ever. Also, to anyone reading this I want to tell you to never, ever take anyone's opinion over the internet too seriously, everyone on the internet acts like they're smarter than everyone else and there's always going to be someone who hates something. Anyway... For the game itself I actually haven't gone through the entire mode but a lot of people reviewing it on here haven't either. I've done Leon and Chris's and they're both pretty fun, Chris's does get kind of dull during the last boss fight because you're out of ammo and you're waiting for that **** Piers to kill the monster, which he doesn't (if anyone gets to that level get a friend to play with you because the AI sucks). I can definitely see why people would complain about Leon's story, its decently written but there's no time to really think because things are happening so fast. It seems to be explosion after explosion, the person that reviewed it on GameInformer compared it to a Michael Bay movie and I can see why. Leon's campaign is still fun though and there's never a dull moment. Aloana, or Helena, or whatever is pretty badass throughout the game too, and she has a nice ass. Chris's story is more grounded than Leon's allowing them to build up more of a story. The problem with it though is that its leading to this giant confrontation with this person, I won't tell who because people get pissy about spoilers, but the whole game leads up to you fighting this person and.... well let's just say you don't end up fighting them at the last level which I found kind of disappointing. I can see why people are complaining about the game on here but where there's movie snobs, there's game snobs and there's going to be people who complain about this for no more of a reason than, "Capcom sucks," and, "This is a bad action game." I personally find it very fun and not that its trying to be something its not, how could it be something its not when its a brand new game with a different mindset going to it? If you play on Veteran the games pretty fun and I've been enjoying it ever since I got it. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    6
    I honestly think a lot of people hate this game because they're a bunch or rage quitting babies. I'm playing on pro to start and have noI honestly think a lot of people hate this game because they're a bunch or rage quitting babies. I'm playing on pro to start and have no problem killing zombies and using herbs. Yes, it's survival horror, there are zombies, you're trying to survive, zombies and gore equal horror...so yeah, its a survival horror action shooter! Hooray!
    My point is, in order to play this game you can't be a rage quitter. Yes, you MUST think ahead before using your herbs and equipping weapons. Using the D-pad is a vary good idea. melee attack is great especially when accompanied by a quick shot. No you can't just pause and change weapons you must find a safe place to lay low and do so. (hence THINK AHEAD) Yes! This game makes you WORK! QTEs all over the place so be quick and dextrous with your controller. I have no problem and find it enjoyable.
    "You can't kill zombies on the ground that haven't come alive yet." Big deal be ready for laying down, seemingly harmless zombies to come alive and remember where they are. Simple.
    "The zombies are hard to kill even with a head shot." FINALLY a challenge. Zombies can use weapons, again, FINALLY A CHALLENGE!
    "There are hard enemies that are almost impossible to kill!" (Remember Crimson head zombies and Hunters? You know the super fast zombies and the lizard things that would one hit decapitate you?)
    "Some monsters are stupid." Really, so giant spiders, snakes, cricket/ **** men, leaches, monkeys, and back voice acting weren't? OH OMG WAIT! What about zombie sharks!? No that's clearly not dumb.
    "Oh you just don't know a quality game when you see one." Sure I do, I just know when to relax and enjoy a game for what it is. A GAME.

    I gave this game a high score because I'm calm and patient and don't mind dying a few times to conserve ammo and health.

    YES! It is a roller coaster ride and one I quite enjoy. ^_^ If you can't handle a crazy ride stick with the kiddy park and go play Gears of War.

    NO, not the best game, or RE installment ever but hey, they wanna try something new fine. I support the poor guys at Capcom while the execs fudge stuff up.
    Valiant effort guys.
    Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    4
    It's not Resident. It's not Evil. It's a preposterous abomination in the long-running series. How on Earth is Capcom is getting a 6th ResidentIt's not Resident. It's not Evil. It's a preposterous abomination in the long-running series. How on Earth is Capcom is getting a 6th Resident Evil game? With all do respect, I still love the series, although RE5 was a good but average game. When I watched the demo for the game I was like "What is up with dat?" There's nothing new in the game. With a new character added, Jake Muller, he's exactly look like Grey Dante from Devil May Cry but with a mediocre campaign. Leon's new look was okay, not much. I thought Sherry Birkin's safe after the events in Resident Evil 2, but as a playable character? What's going on and what's with all the darkish screens? I think Capcom just picked up the wrong game. If Operation Raccoon City was a disappointment, so does this crap. Resident Evil 6 is one of the worst games of 2012. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    1
    Capcom lost its way and the hand in Resident Evil. Now it's just about money. Before, the games were made for gamers, now they are made aimedCapcom lost its way and the hand in Resident Evil. Now it's just about money. Before, the games were made for gamers, now they are made aimed for mass market. It's not just sad, its a wrong step the series is taking. The gore is gone, there's no more tense, horror and thrill. Ctritics and gamers are unanimous in rejecting the game. I liked the franchise in the past, now not anymore. Sadlly, this is going same way hollywood alike movies are going, a merely summer blockbuster (thats what they think, cause for me is just a B- movie) that entertain only 12 y/o teenagers. Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    Stupidest game ever Capcom mad orac and now re6. Both complete fails! I liked re4 but it got worse from there, now u can't even buy newStupidest game ever Capcom mad orac and now re6. Both complete fails! I liked re4 but it got worse from there, now u can't even buy new guns!!!! I hope they dont make another one cause I'm not getting it. Total wast of my money and weekend. There now just rushing more re out to get money and they are getting worse! Take my advice, don't even rent!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 379 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.