Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil favorites Leon S. Kennedy and Chris Redfield are joined by new characters such as Jake Muller to face a world-wide bioterrorist threat, as the action moves between North America, the war-torn Eastern European state of Edonia and the Chinese city of Lanshiang.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    92
    It's definitely a notch above Resident Evil 5. It brings more scares, better visuals and very intense storylines to the mix. At the end of it all, it will feel like you've been a part of an intricate action-horror that satisfies your adrenaline needs by the end.
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    Resident Evil is not a survival horror saga any longer, but this new iteration is an amazingly entertaining action game, with plenty of content.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Resident Evil 6 is one hell of a long ride, and there are some amazing stunts along the way. Even a few original ones. But next to the shooter that it tries so assiduously to out-do, Resi 6 feels stale, and compounds things with OTT action sequences that are more B-movie than Bourne. [Dec 2012, p.94]
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    76
    Despite the incredible amount of effort and manpower that went into making this game, it unfortunately falls short of being the definitive RE experience Capcom had set out to offer.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil 6 steers Capcom's survival-horror series in an even more action-oriented direction – and comes up short in some places as a result. However, if you can forgive the troublesome camera and woeful partner AI, there's still a lot to like about this third-person shooter.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    66
    Unfortunately Capcom have once again spent too much time fixing what didn't need to be fixed and not enough time addressing the real issues of this series. The game is long because it's drawn out or challenging because of a flawed control system rather than displaying these positive attributes through balanced game design. Resident Evil 6 is not a bad game, but it's not a great game either and this is a real shame. Despite this however, it still has many amazing elements that should not be overlooked and at its core is a decent horror experience.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    45
    Series faithful might stumble through for the sake of story, and perhaps to appreciate those few moments that recall when Resident Evil was at its peak glory. But this long, poor sequel is the ultimate test of patience for even the most dedicated.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Unfortunately, metacritic is dead. I have no doubts now. Bad game, good game-never mind. I can't look at the REAL opinion and at the REAL mark because of idiots who give "0" to EVERY game. Here is some examples: Mass Effect 3, Diablo 3, WoW:Mists of Pandaria and so on. These games aren't perfect, but they deserve some higher mark, than ZERO. About half of these "critics" even haven't played these games! Damn you, trolls... Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This is the first new title in the series in three and a half years. "Resident Evil 6" takes advantage of all of Capcom's capabilities to offer quality that is far ahead of other games. Supported by extensive promotional activities worldwide, the initial shipment of this new game has reached 4.5 million, the highest ever for a Capcom game Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, I don't understand the level of disapproval this game is receiving. Personally I loved it. But I suppose it's completely possible I just have bad tastes. There seem to be a ton of complaints about it's controls, but aside from having to deal with a couple unhelpful or distracting camera shifts, primarily in run away events like those in the Chris & Piers campaign I felt they worked just fine. I adjusted to using them pretty easily. Using cover wasn't always the most fluid of maneuvers, but that's really only a concern for the Chris campaign where mass enemy weapons fire is a regularity. As for the horror aspect it's a bit more prevalent in Leon's campaign and Ada's than the rest, sure. But there are several campaign's for you to choose from that prompt a need for somewhat different styles of play. Is that really problematic? Each campaign is fairly extensive covering 5 chapters each of which are reasonably long. If all you're looking for are jump scares, then I can understand your disappointment, not so much your desire for them though. People keep complaining it removes the survival aspect, but I have to ask, how so? You're constantly in danger and under attack so there's an obvious threat to your life. The only thing I can think of concerning the decrease in urgency of survival would be the inclusion of auto-saves versus the old fashioned find a type-writer saves. There does seem to be a large number of QTE's but not so much I felt like it had become it issue. That could be a matter of personal view on how many is too many though. My only complaint would be the unfortunate character death. But that's just because I liked the character, not necessarily that it was a bad narrative choice. I think the graphics are good, musical score is good, and I enjoyed the story. Whether you like it or not is probably a personal preference, but there /is/ a demo available that you could try before purchasing the game. I enjoy being able to play co-op. I love the idea of intersecting campaigns and being able to play with 4 people in a single match. The Agent Hunt extra game sounds fun, like a cool idea. Haven't had too much experience with it though, just a few matches and feel it maybe use some working on. Need to play a bit more to really decide though. Overall I loved the game. So I'm giving it 9/10. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    6
    Positives: Leon and Helena campaign feels like classic Resident Evil (more specifically Resident Evil 4), Some tense environments, Nice lighting effects (adds to the tension for some of the campaigns), The Interconnecting stories and very interesting campaign
    Negatives: the QTE (Quick time events) are very annoying, Jake and Sherry Campaign can be either very easy OR very hard, Chris and Piers campaign felt nothing like Resident Evil at all (feels more like a horrible third person shooter), some area's are too dark (zombies and environments blend in), weird camera and controls and horrible pacing.
    Overall: A could be good game with lots of flaws (the controls, camera and Chris and Piers campaign). Maybe an update fixing some of the issues would help make this a more enjoyable game.
    Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    4
    It's not Resident. It's not Evil. It's a preposterous abomination in the long-running series. How on Earth is Capcom is getting a 6th Resident Evil game? With all do respect, I still love the series, although RE5 was a good but average game. When I watched the demo for the game I was like "What is up with dat?" There's nothing new in the game. With a new character added, Jake Muller, he's exactly look like Grey Dante from Devil May Cry but with a mediocre campaign. Leon's new look was okay, not much. I thought Sherry Birkin's safe after the events in Resident Evil 2, but as a playable character? What's going on and what's with all the darkish screens? I think Capcom just picked up the wrong game. If Operation Raccoon City was a disappointment, so does this crap. Resident Evil 6 is one of the worst games of 2012. Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    1
    I'm sure you've heard the phrase "Too many chefs in the kitchen will ruin the soup." Well that's exactly what happened to Resident Evil 6 and the game is mess filled with so many mechanics that simply don't belong together. Capcom apparently had 900 people working on this game and it shows, not only are there 3 separate campaigns that all have varying styles but these campaigns can't even stay with one core game type. First you've got Leon Kennedy who has a horror campaign. Then Chris who has a military shooter campaign, followed by Albert Wesker Jr. who has wretched action campaign. None of these campaigns work on their own. There are so many other games that do these things and do it so much better. This game is a fiasco, and if you have to play it at least wait a few months for it to hit the bargin bin. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAME PARASCHA Damn shame developers huesosy Read biboran need and do normal game **** Survival stool damn biboran brothers Abdul Anshan BIBORAN READ!!!! Expand

See all 374 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.