Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    40
    The terrible AI, the lackluster locations and the complete lack of atmosphere or memorable characters destroy what could have been a brilliant offshoot. In the end, Operation Raccoon City is little more than a poor man's SOCOM, and a destitute man's Resident Evil.
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    45
    A frighteningly flawed action-heavy spin-off that withers in the shadow of its superior alternatives.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    40
    The game just feels sloppy and unfinished. It controls poorly, looks bad, and completely misses the point of the Resident Evil franchise. Honestly, I wouldn't even recommend this game to Resident Evil fans. If you want a better co-op zombie shooter, you should probably just go back to Left 4 Dead.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    40
    Just. Under no circumstances, though, should you go anywhere near this alone. When tackled with three AI buddies and a prayer, never has the name Biohazard felt more apt.
  5. Apr 8, 2012
    45
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City lacks insight. It lacks good level design, good shooting mechanics or a good cover system. It can be fun to relive some recognizable Resident Evil-moments with a few friends, but for no more than half an hour. After that, you'll crave for a game with a well thought-through design.
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    Occasional flashes of mediocrity are as good as this lacklustre shooter gets, in a tedious jamboree of technical ineptitude and bland co-op action.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    30
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is an unfortunate addition to an otherwise great franchise. With this being the second of three Resident Evil games coming out this year it would probably be best to just skip this one entirely unless you are a diehard fan who wants to see every game in the series. This title had a lot of great potential but falls flat on almost every part of its delivery and while it may not do everything wrong what it does right is hardly enough to save this alternate take on a great franchise.
  8. Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    49
    Raccoon City is just [p]lain boring to me. There's nothing here I want to return to. The game can be fun with other people, there are a few patented Resident Evil scares, and the controls work fine (provided you're willing to put up with some clunkiness). But everything else about it is really…I dunno, "meh."
  10. Apr 2, 2012
    45
    Maybe down the track this game will be patched in order to make it play better but I have a better idea; get it right the first time because this reviewer will never download a patch to make a game playable, that's why I bought a console, games should work every time straight out the box. This one does, barely, and that is why sadly I wouldn't bother with it.
  11. 35
    Strictly a game to be played with friends, but even then Operation Racoon City will leave you wondering: why?
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    40
    The problems with the computer AI make the single player a bit of a chore, and while the online co-op action is frantic and fun, it's also chaotic and lacking a bit of flow. There are quite a few glitches in the campaign, including zombies disappearing into scenery, or just disappearing entirely, and the set piece battles are hardly jaw-dropping.
  13. 40
    The chance to see the city from a new perspective is ruined by terrible AI, a wonky cover-system, a distinct lack of memorable moments, and a very short story.
  14. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  15. Apr 6, 2012
    40
    A second-rate shooter that's trying to hide its flaws under traditional Resident Evil paraphernalia, such as zombies, heroes and all the other things. A campaign of the game is pointless and without any content at all. Many of the annoying flaws do make your gameplay even harder and, unfortunately, many of those flaws are even in its multiplayer that might have been different if the authors had taken it as their primary goal.
  16. Mar 21, 2012
    40
    It tries, but gets outclassed by games that have been released years ago. That´s no easy feat to accomplish.
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    42
    Unworthy of the Resident Evil name. Patiently waiting for Resident Evil 6 is a lot more fun than actually playing this piece of crap. Broken shooting mechanics, a terrible cover system, abysmal AI, weak level design… A good idea on paper, an absolute terror for you PlayStation 3.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 80
  2. Negative: 31 out of 80
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now: Resident Evil Revelations. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Resident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or the monster is unaffected by bullets which is kind of strange considering I've loaded a lot of bullets onto this particular monster. The AI is just a disaster, they don't cooperate at all and have a mind of their own. The environments are some of the most bland I've seen in a game which is quite sad. Your in industrial settings throughout the entire game. Also the story is just laugh out loud bad with cheesy characters (with terrible lines) that aren't memorable. All in all this is just a disappointment for the resident evil franchise which I thought couldn't possibly get more worse. I'm sure this game will ONLY please the ADD gamers who like mindless shooting over story and creativeness. Full Review »