User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 175
  2. Negative: 81 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now: Resident Evil Revelations. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Resident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or the monster is unaffected by bullets which is kind of strange considering I've loaded a lot of bullets onto this particular monster. The AI is just a disaster, they don't cooperate at all and have a mind of their own. The environments are some of the most bland I've seen in a game which is quite sad. Your in industrial settings throughout the entire game. Also the story is just laugh out loud bad with cheesy characters (with terrible lines) that aren't memorable. All in all this is just a disappointment for the resident evil franchise which I thought couldn't possibly get more worse. I'm sure this game will ONLY please the ADD gamers who like mindless shooting over story and creativeness. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    A clone of SOCOM with the ambience of Resident Evil. A short campaign and repetitive .. Capcom just think out and withdraw money from their big franchises .. and without the DLC yet to come ...
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I've seen a lot of reviewers be too harsh on this game. I actually love the new resident evil. It's a fun squad shooter with a bit of extra stuff thrown in, like the new side arm mechanics. The game play is really fun and interesting, with a kind of Left 4 Dead feel, has some really good "Edge of your seat" moments. It's a new concept with a good pull off, people just hate change.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I would hold my breath till Resident Evil 6, this is crap to be honest, i do not understand the rest of the reviews, must be both blind, deaf and numb people.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    nice game they polished it very well game play is awesome its got a nice feel to it not really a big fan of the newer resident evil games but since they took it back to the old school i thought id give it a try and i was not disappointed
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    you know im a little curious about what the critics are going to say about this game i like it, it seems to flow nicely its better than res 4 and 5 i love res 1 2 and 3 it looks like they tryed to bring that to this game and you can see it so it not bad
  10. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad
    AI............................. Now lets just think for a second..... THIS GAME IS A MULTI-PLAYER GAME. Why should the developers waste there time perfecting the AI when it is more then likely that there will be 4 humans playing. POINTLESS?!?
    2. The Story? once again it is a multi-player game. Why would u want a heavy storyline with long cutscenes in a game that would most likely have 4 people sitting there pressing the skip button as quick as they can? 3.The difficulty- i would say the difficulty is equal to that of resident evil 5 times 2. There are just more enemys with guns and it is easy to get overwhelmed , but your not alone anymore. The difficulty is beautiful, there is nothing more rewarding then having 3 friends with you having swarms of zombies running at you, your ammo running out. some one getting infected and having to turn on your team mates and as the number of zombies reach a lower number you start brutally melee killing them all one by one. This is very very satisfying, trust me.
    4.No charter development- if they brought six new charters in with bright personality's it would become stupidly confusing and rather annoying quite fast. These charters suit there roles. They are the best of the best, the elites that work by code names and everything is strictly business . I have come to see personality's in the charters depending on who i'm playing with. I have a wise cracking snipper and a sassy medic . This lack of charter development has allowed me to see the people im actually playing with rather then some cliche' personality.

    i assume i'm coming cross as rather a fan boy, and let me assure you that is not true. i only joined the resident evil bandwagon at number 4 and i thought number 5 was pretty tacky. there are a few problems wrong with the game but no more then a lot of games that receive great reviews. I am amazed that this game isn't getting fair 8's all round as it is a great game that is really fun and i haven't even mentioned the addicting leveling system. i would ignore the reviews you read from critics and just think about what bothers you. will bad story line bother you while 3 of you are talking over the top of it ? will bad AI effect your gaming when u have 3 humans playing with you, not coms. will the difficulty get too much for you or do u have some balls hahahha.

    Enjoy
    Expand
  11. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Overall I've got to say I've been liking the game. It's not particularly amazing, but it is fun. My only complaint is having trouble getting into matches with other people and in versus modes I tend to glitch pretty often. Even with these issues though, I find it enjoyable to play. I do wish we could learn more about all the characters in it though, it feels like they received more fleshing out in the commercials than they did in the game itself. We learned nothing about the Spec Ops team in game. Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    RE:ORC is a Tactical cooperative 3rd person shooter created by Slant Six Games and was pushed by Capukom. Most reviews by users that I currently have been seeing are rating this game based off of the multi-player aspect alone and disregarding that it even contains "Resident Evil" in the title. I played this game most of the night and mid-day today. The game strays far far away from the RE franchise giving the user a more fast pace action game play instead of its usual slow paced survival horror. This game brought alot of good ideas to the table but falls short on almost everyone of those ideas. Controls are sluggish, AI are as dumb as ever, enemies can eat rounds and rounds of clips and stay alive and poor level design. The character selection is a group of forgettable characters with barely any back story to keep you engaged. Online multi-player is completely laggy at best, also during the versus section besides the TDM style game play you also are faced with AI enemies that attack you during your skirmish with real players. Playing campaign with friends is a bit fun but tends to becoming boring after awhile and the supposed replay factor of trying to unlock everything is disappointing as once unlocking the best gun in the game everything else just seems pointless. As of some other reviews saying "Taking the RE franchise back to the old school days" must have not been around when RE 1-3 where released as this game plays no where near any type of RE game I have ever played besides 5 which is still a ton better then this. This game should not hold the title "Resident Evil" if it does not want to be compared to its predecessors and should be based on Single Player as well as multi-player as I did not spend $65 for a multi-player only game. This game deserves the low scores that it is receiving from pro-reviewing sites and any score above a 5 is a lie. Stay away from this game unless you receive it for free or rented it, not worth its current price tag. Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    just.. just do yourself a favour.. Wait for RE6 if you want to experience the real resident evil game (which we hope it'll be good).. I even purposely created an account just to point how awful this game is
  14. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This game is Killer, in more ways than one. I can understand some peopleâ
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I was motivated at first, the idea sounded fun enough to buy the game, but then i felt totally cheated, maybe because i never thought that capcom would share the franchise with a western developer, i was surprised when the game started and the Slant Six logo came up, i went straight to the box and i wasn't able to find that logo on the box, I did a little research and found out that those guys were responsible for Socom Confrontation (not the best shooter i have played), but i went on and started the game...
    Everything felt wrong since the beginning, i was SURE that i was aiming to the head, but the enemy took from 4 to 6 shots to go down, the graphics were fair, but the mechanics felt broken, the game feels incomplete, the difficulty curve is not rational at all, meaning that it feels too easy at times but suddenly you are surrounded, your team is dead and so are you in no time.
    In my Opinion that game should have needed the following things to be considered for purchase:
    A couple more years of development
    Any studio but Slant Six
    At least 3 more zombie masks (with the 4 it has, it feels like we're killing clones instead of zombies)
    This year to be 2006, maybe at that time, with the ps3 just out in the market, this game could have had a chance to score.
    Please,... stay away from this game, and if you already made the mistake of purchasing it (like me) get rid of it as soon as possible, before everyone finds out how bad it is.
    Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Wow im very surprised at how good this game is im not a ps3 guy im all PC but i got to say the controls are great it really gives you that classic resident evil feel slantsixgames did a really good job here the zombies feel real the ai is really good
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    there is not anything i can really say bad about this games exept the lack of maps in mp other than that its a stand up game its a lot of fun and i cant seem to put it down lol id say it gets a 9.5 tho
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Dont READ ALL THOSE BADE CRITICS , i found the game very fun, and that why we play videogames, to have fun, killing zombies with socom control is really cool, sure the atmosphere ,the graphic, the sound isnt that hot, and sure it doesnt worth 60$ but i gave this game a 10 because of the fun and online play.
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    ORC is not as bad as alot of the unforgiving reviews it's getting. The game does have some flaws, but there is enjoyment to be had here. I would agree with some of the negative things said about this game (such as cover system bugs, bland environments) but I still have enjoy the game nonetheless. It has a budget feel to it, and this will anger the hardcore RE fans. If you enjoy games such as Left4Dead and EDF, this one is in that ballpark. If you open this game expecting it to be as polished as RE5 (like those of you who scored it 0) you will be in for a letdown. While there are better multiplayer games out there, this one is still fun with friends. Expand
  20. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculously good and they aren't just idiots running around randomly. The teammate A.I. is better then people seem to give credit, my friend and I role with Vector and Bertha and they both do a great job of executing what they need to. Sure, sometimes they walk straight past an enemy but that just makes you laugh. People need to just go into this game looking for fun and not a die hard Resident Evil experience. I really enjoy playing this game. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Resident Evil :ORC is a decent game is not a bad game, just that some people believed it was a continuation of the saga, and it is not, but returned to the original in some respects
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    By NO MEANS is this a bad game!!! After spending a few hours playing by myself, and then with other people; I can firmly say that this game is very solid and fun to play! It does have its problems such as buggy cover, hit detection, and problematic button mapping. But all in all it is a good game that will occupy your free time!
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    The only problem I have in this reviews, people need to atleast try the game thereselves to judge it,or watch a walktrough of it.Not saying the game is good,but people who won't try a game out because one reviewer gave a **** score to it is wrong.Because IGN will give it a 4.0,but other website reviewers might give it better scores,so don't let a score,make a decision for you to not play the game,try it yourselves 1st,then judge it, buy OPERATION RACCON CITY ( GREAT GAME) Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Haters gonna hate, but maybe they should actually purchase and play the games before they write condemning reviews. ( Maybe they just got tired of trashing Mass Effect 3?) I personally up the CE today, nice metal case and sweet team patches! Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development.

    Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  25. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The reviews for this are terrible, but I'm not convinced they're deserved. This game has it's failings, but the experience for me has been pretty fun thus far. Yes, the AI is terrible and the single player mode is awful. However, the multiplayer is incredibly fun once you get acquainted with the various modes and play styles. People on the fence should give it a try for themselves before passing judgement. Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 dead & Re mercenaries set within the universe of Re 2 & 3.You can either play the campaign by yourself offline or play online via the campaign or verses matches which have similar modes to that of capture the flag, team deathwatch, survival mode etc.The most notable thing is that while all this is happening tons of zombies, lickers,tyrants & hunters are running around attacking everyone in various places(imagine playing cod nazi zombies in 3rd person but still having to battle the opposing teams etc.The story mode is decent & at most beatable in a few hours to one day but thats not an issue as you should go into this game knowing was built to be more multiplayer resident evil game than a single player re like revelations or re 5 & 6.Besides if you've already played Resident evil 2 & 3 you already know that story & in this game the story is looked at from a different pov.You play 1 of four members of an elite team which have there own backgrounds, special upgradable weapons & abilities that are sent to help Hunk cover up any evidence that links umbrella to the outbreak. Initially you make or break the various events that happened in re 2 & 3 so you do things like help program nemesis to go after the stars team etc. Honestly if you buy & play this game with the mind set of knowing what its meant for than you will be more than happy.Further more we get to finally play a new resident evil game with zombies back in the mix, how could anyone complain about that.Bottom line don't listen to any of the bad reviews out there as you will regret it when you end up playing it later and didn't get in on the secret hype from those who took the risk and went with there gut. Expand
  27. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    I am a huge Resident Evil fan and like many others was surprised at the negative reviews for this game. Now that I have played the game I can say that the critics were wrong. The game isn't just bad it's absolutely dreadful. Firstly, the campaign was one of the worst I have ever played due to braindead AI, bland atmosphere, and a terrible "story". One of my biggest complaints is that sometimes enemies will take an entire clip to go down but another time it may only take a bullet. The multiplayer feels like a beta for an unfinished product that doesn't exist. Sure there are unlockables but the complete abscence of any customization options keep you wanting more to compensate for the already bland multiplayer experience. This isn't even worthy of the Resident Evil title because the scariest thing about this game is the fact that it exists. Expand
  28. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    I never thought I'd find a RE game worse than RE5 but it seems I finally have.
  29. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    underrated game that didn't have the money to pay off reviewers. This game isn't great but its not bad its somewhere between good and OK. AI is pretty bad but other than that its amazing. Some lobby bugs but that's normal. This is a multiplayer game not for the single player die hards. But honestly its good fun and I'd much rather play this online than... uncharted. Yeah I said it. Because it's unique. everyone has different stuff not just fleet foot and Gmal. Its also great if you went a hardcore multiplayer person because you will find success in this game. Graphics 9.5 ai 3 sound 7.5 gameplay fluid 8.6 replay value 9 Expand
  30. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is the best zombie game that is ever going to come out it is going original back to the old zombies and the nemisis is back you will love this game its cool but shoot them in the brain
  31. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Since i've been seeing mixed reviews for this game, i decided to buy it and make a review. Honestly i don't see what's really bad in the game because well i'm not a picky person and i just enjoy games. I loved the Multiplayer and Campaign so i don't see why people are complaining but people are entitled to their opinion. The campaign is fun with or without friends but with friends make's it all the better and Multiplayer as well is fun. If your a picky person and try to find way's in not liking a game just cause of very small flaws than don't buy, if your a RE fan and are looking for a fun different game, Than i say check it out. Overall, i liked the game and yea their are glitches but they can be patched. Expand
  32. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This entry to the resident evil series is a 3rd person shooter with horror elements. I seem to find many people still thinking that this title is still the former "Resident Evil" that carries the "survival horror" genre. This game is not a survival horror title, unless you make it that way. The single player campaign was short, but intense with 4 player coop, but who plays this for the single player? It is multiplayer game, and the multiplayer is fantastic. This game is still fresh, and still have glitches. Glitches are forgiven, if capcom doesn't sit on it and fix it but this is the year 2012 and videogames are patched via internet. With solid online play, and a forgettable single player campaign I give this game a 9/10. I see a very fun game with a unique and fun online experience when this title comes to mind. If you enjoy 3rd person squad based shooters, with a unique twist with different multiplayer modes this game is definitely worth a try. Expand
  33. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    RE:ORC is everything you should expect it to be. Its a tactical shooter based in the word of Raccoon City during the events of RE:2 and 3. Covering the prospective of Umbrella it gives RE fans a deeper insight into what was going on in back ground while the heros are busy trying to save the day, and ultimately why they failed to. This game makes a lot of sense seeing as RE:6 will be taking us back into this atmosphere once again and most players haven't touched RE:2 and 3 in over a decade. As far as game play goes this a player friendly shooter with simple mechanics and a dark and eerie environment that any gamer can pick up and play. Ultimately the game is lots of fun and is a must play for anyone who truly loves the story of Resident Evil. Expand
  34. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a squad shooter based in the Resident Evil universe. That being said, it is important to note that this is not a traditional Resident Evil game. It seems that most reviews fail to distinguish between what they think this game "should be" and exactly what it is- It is a squad based shooter in the Resident Evil universe. I am disappointed that sites such as IGN and Gamespot have people reviewing this game as if it were Resident Evil 6 and it cut many features and is nothing like past entries. It should be new and unique as this game is a new direction for the series and it amazes me how industry "professionals" cannot understand this. I will be informative in this review and tell things how they are without bias. Now to the review!

    Resident Evil contains about 4-5 hours of a campaign that can be played privately with AI or online with random people or friends. It really shines when playing co-op with others because the AI's hiccups don't come into play. Contrary to popular discussion, the AI is not as bad as stated by many, your team members are quite active in shootouts and sticking with you. However, they do seem to have problems helping the player at different points, but this can add to the challenge instead of disappoint. I never encountered AI getting caught anywhere or falling through anything during my play through. They acted pretty much as I expected- they shot some enemies and kept me alive (for the most part). Enemy AI on the other hand is hit or miss. The spec-ops AI seems pretty solid and shootouts are fun, but zombies are hit or miss as far as AI (they are dead and dumb after all, right?). I also had some minor problems with objects/enemies clipping in and out through gameplay. This only happened a few times for me throughout different levels, but in no way took away from my play through the game.

    Multiplayer on the other hand is a bit more hectic. The different game modes offer a good mix of popular game modes such as team attack (deathmatch with points), biohazard (capture the flag or t-virus in this case), heroes (deathmatch with popular characters such as Leon and Claire), or survivor (survive until a helicopter lands with only room for 1/2 the players in game). Each game mode is fun and adds in a extra twist with zombies and B.O.W.'s appearing to mix up the squad combat. I myself will spend hours with this game mode and points earned from campaign and multiplayer play are all put into the same point pool so character/weapon upgrades apply to all different types gameplay. There's also something to be said for blasting away the zombie of a player on another team who is wandering around aimlessly. It's just plain awesome.

    The sound of Operation Raccoon City are a first in the series as gun's fill the atmosphere and when the action dies down zombies can be heard growling throughout the streets(or the occasional roar from a B.O.W.) The graphics are up to par with most game's on the PS3 or 360 at this point: character models look great but don't expect to be blown away by the environments. The graphics and sound are solid, nothing more or less.

    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a new take on the series. Think Socom meets Left 4 Dead (without the playable zombies). That's not to say that if your a fan of one or the other your going to like Operation Raccoon City; you could absolutely hate this game. I believe that if you go into the store to buy this and know what your paying for- a squad shooter with zombies to mix up the fun- you won't be disappointed. Just know this isn't your typical RE experience and if you go into it with the expectation that this is RE:6 your going to be disappointed like others critics who failed to see what was in front of them.
    Expand
  35. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the game, especially the co-op. I found that if you have auto-cover issues the problem is not with the game...it is an easy feature to get the hang of. I had no clipping issues or glitches that inhibit game play; just wished the story was longer. Faults would have to be shortness of story and clunky control scheme. 8 overall for story, graphics sound and well done multiplayer.
  36. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    Dont get me started on this game why was slant 6 took this project on they killed resident evil game they try to utlize the resident evil 4 & 5 type of game play with socom and screwed this game. Trust me this game wont be any good if they took all best game screw over them.
  37. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    It is always disappointing when a game with such an amazing concept falls so short of its potential. The idea of being able to see a video game classic from the opposite side of the fence instantly filled me with excitement. What I actually ended up with was a game that felt largely unfinished. The various classes felt like they had very little diversity. Gameplay felt repetitive after only about two hours. The co-op was a welcome addition, but only made a small dent in the unreliable gunplay and melee mechanics. Many bosses were almost insurmountable in difficulty, even at the lower levels, and none of the enemies required more than a "shoot until it's dead" mentality. Overall, fans of he series will appreciate the story and perspective, but that is pretty much where the appeal of this game ends. Expand
  38. Apr 17, 2012
    0
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City [the junk game] 2012
    is not Resident Evil and not game and not any thing
    this game is bad away to be game !!!!
  39. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    There's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for the characters they introduced, but aside from that, I would say rent it. It offers the old RE feel into its atmosphere and combines it with a frantic third person shooter. You guys are like SH fans, too stubborn to really enjoy anything new. Expand
  40. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    Slant Six is absolute trash. Nuff said. I lost what little respect I had left for capcom the day i learned they actually decided to let them make the game after their other massive failure.
  41. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    I was really looking forward to a more action-oriented Resident Evil game. The previous games' survival horror wasn't my cup of tea. Sadly this game is no respectable shooter. Enemy AI is seriously messed up, and the characters are bland, stereotypical get-stuff-done mercenaries. I feel like I'm playing COD, which shouldn't be the case for a Resident Evil Game. And the DLC that is supposedly unlocked at a later point is useless too, because who will take any notice of it in a few months time when its such an average game? Disappointing. Expand
  42. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    First of all. This game was meant for the multiplayer, and a hats off to them for adding a single player campaign at least to provide some insight to what was going on behind the scenes during the events of RE2
    and RE3. Now as for the campaign, sure its only about 5 hours, but open your eyes. Third person shooters, first person shooters (Cod, Bf3) they have added campaigns, and they have
    become increasingly shorter. You don't play those games for the campaign. You play them for the multiplayer. I can say that slant six isn't the best western developer to choose for this project, but what they have done had a great premise, and the execution is no where near as horrible as all the critics are claiming. This is a 3rd person shooter based in the Resident Evil universe. It will only appeal to resident evil fans looking for a refreshing new take on the property. The reviewers are constantly focusing on the campaign of the game, assuming that upon receiving their review copies, there was no one to play with in multiplayer. What a half-assed review most of them have compiled, and bandwagoning what other review websites have said about the game. The multiplayer is as robust as it needs to be at launch, and includes the modes needed, with room for addition. They have time to add new maps, and will surely support the game after launch. Nitpicking the little things is what I have seen in all the reviews so far, and that just adds to the credibility of the reviewers themselves.. not much credibility there. I have been having a great time with multiplayer, and the small issues experienced do not hinder the game as a whole. reviewers these days just expect every game to sh!t excellence and I'm sure most of them are not even fans of the resident evil canon, in which slant six made a great effort to cater to the fans. This is a great shooter. The cover system is no where near as horrible as they make it out to be, I mean you just need to press gently to the wall you want to use for cover, as for picking up weapons and reviving teammates, just make sure the icon is displaying to perform the action. These reviewers just don't know how to play a game, simple as that. RE:ORC is a great addition to the franchise, proving that the property can be something different than survival horror with the inability to shoot while running in previous RE titles. Take it for what it is, and that is that. Expand
  43. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    I would score this a 7 with base game, 8.5 with the 2 expansions....

    Now I say that having played RE 1-5 on PlayStation 1,2 & 3. I was very surprised at the amount of zombie killing in this game and the overall pace. It is very much shoot and gun, not so much resource management or puzzle solving. The game goes right towards shooting out zombie brains right from the get-go. The
    gun-play and action is very fluid, in my opinion a step above RE4 and 5. Controls seem more natural and less confusing. Graphics were sufficient for PS3 standards, with the environments being particularly dark and convincing. Gory dismemberment due to shooting is improved... drastically. The weapon selection is good with semi-auto rifles, sub-machine guns, heavy machine guns, shotguns, and sniper rifles. Pistols are secondary weapons that fill a niche when ammo becomes scarce or if your main weapon has some weakness the pistol doesn't have. There are also several grenade types that can be carried and thrown, including flash, flame, and the traditional grenade. In summary, there are many ways to kill zombies and many different ways to have fun doing it.

    The biggest negative I identified is the lame Friendly AI. Many times, they won't pick up and use healing items even if they are in the process of dying and a first-aid spray is lying right in front of them. The AI classes don't do their job effectively if at all, or if they do it is a random event in the midst of shooting.

    The plot is passable... with the expansions it is better. Overall it is a story that is derived from RE 2 and 3. This game revisits old places from the previous games, which is fan-service. The plot bends some facts here and there from the previous games but I feel they did a good job at weaving this story into the RE lore.

    My overall score? The base game is probably a 7 due to lame AI and a confusing and unrealistic last level which affected the realism and plot. But don't get me wrong- the shooting fun felt like a 10. The game plus the 2 expansions, puts the overall game score at an 8.5 for me due to game length, overall killing mayhem, re-playability, and an epic final boss fight in the expansion. The ending in the expansion more or less makes up for the ending in the base game. Keep this in mind if you're thinking about buying.
    Expand
  44. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Despite all the mediocre-to-bad reviews, I decided to rent this game and see if it was really as terrible as they said. I was pleasantly surprised, though, to find that this game was not only better than the negative reviews would suggest, but actually a really fun TPS set in the Resident Evil universe. The story is that you play as one of Umbrellas cleanup crews during the Raccoon City outbreak, tasked with eliminating any evidence of the companies involvement with the incident, including any survivors. While fairly simple, the story fits this Delta Team into the events of Resi 2 and 3 quite nicely, taking you to many locations from those games and putting you into many scenarios that directly tie in to those games' stories, making for some cool fanboy moments. The gameplay is what surprised me the most. After reading so many negative reviews I went into this game expecting a broken mess. Instead I found a very fun shooter with good controls, plenty of characters and weapons, a cover system that works a lot better than it should and a pretty exciting campaign overall. There are two elements of the game that the reviewers were right about, however: The squadmate AI, which is pretty dumb, as they sometimes don't take cover, or even run right into a grenade or your line of fire, and the length of the story mode, which, on veteran difficulty (between normal and professional) took me 4 and a half hours to complete. But if you enjoyed the story mode it is worth replaying to unlock other weapons and there are some pretty good multiplayer modes to extend the value of the game. As far as graphics and sound the game gets the job done, with good environments and character models coupled with the signature Resident Evil sound effects like that of using a green herb or the hiss of the Lickers. Overall, this is a game very worth renting for a fun, exciting shooter experience, and worth buying if you are a fan of Resident Evil and, like me, you don't mind the series' new action-oriented approach. Expand
  45. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    I confess I had a lot of expectations towards this title and, yes, I was disappointed with the final product like most of the people here (both critics and users). But I really don't understand all the hate. This not the best game ever made and definitely not the worst. It's a different approach to the Resident Evil franchise and a very creative one, I must say. I hear people complaining all the time that the series got stuck in time and a revamp was a must. I really think Capcom tried its best with REORC. It could have been a much better game, no doubt about it. But it's fun, well made, nice graphics, nice gameplay, challenging sometimes and very atmospheric - in my opinion of course. I really had a great time with it and recommend it to anyone slightly interested. Expand
  46. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    It's not a classic resident evil series.But it still a "not bad "game. although the story is too short.but you still can get more detail in the game.what a promote is the coop-up mode.It's really fun when you play with ur squad.ok!The control system ,the camera,the feeling of shooting...are not good enough.even the price.I 'll say: If you are a resident evil fans or you have three more friends to join this game together.you could enjoy this game with no doubt. Expand
  47. May 18, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage game, too bad i spent my 20 dollars on a disc that i hate. No way im paying Capcom for a crappy game with crappy developers, a solid 0 for this game, it deserves it
  48. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this game greatly sure its not amazing but it is in no way as bad as most reviews have been giving raccoon city. I love the co-op campaign and the multiplayer is very fun sure there are a few little annoying things i have run into, but i can say my friends and I have had a blast with this game and its a keeper!
  49. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    alright ive played most of the game and here are my initial thoughts. first lets get down to combat the gameplay mechanics are overall pretty solid the guns do pretty good but the pistols are basically worthless i found my self loading about 10 pistol rounds into a zombie corpse but overall the gun play was good and up to par. the game also has a cover system which when you walk up to cover you will automatically lean against debris(objects if you don't know what debris is) anyway the cover system is really up to the player if they like it or not. secondly lets talk about classes the character that you choose has a certain ability that can help him or her in certain situations for example vector has a cloaking ability which is very useful.im not gonna go into full detail with classes but ill just say they are all pretty good. Now lets talk about A.I personally i thought the A.i wasn't bad , yes it can be a little buggy at times but overall it gets the job done. now my final thoughts the story wasn't long so if your looking for a long campaign you wont be happy with this one the campaign is usually 5-8 hours depending on how often you die. also a fine set of multiplayer modes keep this game alive and kicking overall if your a resident evil fan pick this game up.this game receives an 8/10. Expand
  50. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    I gotta say I was really concerned with this game when I first saw all those mixed reviews from critics and allot of fans alike.now I'm a very picky gamer and usually won't buy a game with bad reviews or even mixed since allot of the times those bad reviews are right,but this time I have to say that all those bad reviews are wrong.this game is AWSOME!!!.I've always loved the resident evil games (except those fps ones that came out a long time ago)but this RE game is hard to put down when you start playing it.give this game a try and i'm sure you won't be able to stop playing. Expand
  51. Jun 6, 2012
    2
    An abomination of a video game which triples as both the worst Resident Evil title of all time and the official signature on the contract to Capcom selling out. Slant Six Games (responsible for three Socom games) under publishing of Capcom have decided that it would be wise to discard the intense formula of releases like Resident Evil 4, and the nail biting atmosphere of classics like Resident Evil 2 and replace it with a water downed vibe of Call of Duty and a horrid 3rd person shooter in the vein of Uncharted. The game tries to convince us it will be a trip down memory lane, taking place throughout the events of Resident Evil 2 and 3, both being a beloved time in the series. Our hearts are broken instantly as we discover this game is nothing more than a shooter with zero tension, zero atmosphere, zero scares, zero weight, and zero character. At first glance the concept is great. We play as members of Umbrella this time around, and admits the chaos we try desperately to wash the blood of Raccoon City off our hands with bullets and grenades. Umbrella is out to cover their tracks and along the way you will meet characters and creatures of the series golden age, as well as see the famous story from a new and dark point of view. Sound interesting? Indeed it does, and this is half of what makes the game such a failure. While newer and younger fans of the series may eat this game up as an action title, it is only because they are unaware of what a huge step backwards this game is from any ounce of genius that the series originally had. The story is bland and a down ridiculously written cliched mess with laughable dialogue, dumb witted characters, and any kind of well placed pacing is no where to be found. The environments are boring, the enemies are re hashed countless times and bosses just don't have that final tweak that made them icons once upon a time. Aside from the problems Slant Six made to the series and genre, problems are littered within the gameplay as well. The cover system is a joke and often can simply not be relied on. It is very inconstant as their is no button command to enter it, instead just running towards an object throws you into cover rather its what you wanted or not. AI is non existent, enemies will poke their head out right into fire, they will dive into live grenades, and creatures will sometimes attack you and then run from you for no reason whatsoever causing you to chase them down. How can you fear lickers and hunters when your doing the chasing? Enemy killing is very frustrating, some enemies go out in one hit, while others are sponges soaking up twenty bullets or more easily. The game pretends to be co op but honestly with such bad team AI you almost have no choice but to play online with someone. This game feels as if it was meant for online play but suffers there as well. Its Call of Duty formula falls flat on its face due to the fact that the controls are so messy and the level up system is so dirt simple and quick that there is no feeling of reward. You are able to choose which Umbrella member you wish to play as between each mission, but it doesn't matter as each play exactly the same. The only difference being the range of their weapon, which some register completely useless. Raccoon City gets nothing correct in its delivery, and even manages to feel unfinished upon completion. It is an obvious quicky cash in from top to bottom and provides nothing fresh to Resident Evil or the genre of shooters. If you can remember games like Resident Evil: Dead Aim that you may find it laughable to know that it actually out shines this one, and if I had to recommend this game to any kind of player I dont think I could. Its too frustrating for casual players, and too down right bland for hardcore gamers, and just simply too out of sync with the franchise to interest fans. So I guess if I was forced to recommend this it would be to annoyance tolerating non Resident Evil fan gamers. The nostalgia we were promised is not here, the return of horror is not here, the return of icons like Nemesis fall flat on its face and is topped off with the destruction of even the series most likeable characters such as Leon Kennedy. If they were trying to piss off fans this product could be unchanged and do a great job at just that. As Umbrella tries to burn the evidence linking them to the T-Virus outbreak, Capcom should be out there burning all evidence showing that they were behind this game in any way. Expand
  52. Oct 5, 2012
    2
    Ok, we all know this game was a huge disappointment to Resident Evil fans and action based 3rd person shooters alike. It was an attempt to use the RE name on a online squad based game that was poorly created and assembled. The idea sounded good though. As a huge RE series fan, I really tried to like this game and played through it a couple times thinking there must be more here; there isn't. There is no worthwhile story here. combat is clunky and repetitive with a few exceptions. The online competitive modes were also just unplayable as much as I tried to play w friends. The graphics are almost like last gen systems. It was the quickest trade in to Game Stop I ever had. Expand
  53. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I think the idea of this game really really cool. Control the the "bad" side for the first time. But I don't like 4 things in this new resident evil: 1- The campaign is really really short. (But the versus modes are really amazing!.)
    2- I don't like in the game you can just see in the right vision of the weapon this disrupts a lot the gameplay.
    3- I was pissed! When i knew the nemesis mode
    is only for 360 players.
    4- The zombies skins are few. You sometimes feel you're playing gta: san andreas because it.

    But the game is really cool especially the online modes like: survivor and heroes mode.
    Expand
  54. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I'm an avid RE fan. When I got word that Capcom was making a CO-OP based game, I was somewhat excited. Going back to the PS2 days, does anyone remember "RE: Outbreak and RE: Outbreak Files 2?" Yeah. That was groundbreaking but when you aren't able to converse with your teammates but only through select commands, it was doomed from the start. Don't get me wrong, It was interesting to play as different characters rather than the usual ones we know.

    Operation Raccoon City is okay.

    Controls are good. However, the A.I. is garbage. For example, I dropped down below with one of the NPC's but the other two were down. There was no way for me to go back up and revive them. THUS, I had to start over and make sure they come down with me. The A.I. gets on my nerves. They tend to bunch up in the hallway and for them to protect me isn't as concise. It's glitchy here and there. Sadly, if a enemy knocks me down, I stay down. It just keeps attacking me without giving me a chance to get back up. If your a fan of the series, this game will appeal to you because of its surroundings from the previous RE titles. To this day, I still play RE2. Hands down one of the best in its class. They should remake that game!
    Expand
  55. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    If the game wasn't titled Resident Evil i beleive the game wouldn't be reviewed as harshly. When I picked it up I knew the game wasn't going to be great or amazing. The gameplay has some flaws such as the cover system and the amount of bullets it takes to kill someone. Some of the included features such as the perks per character are a nice change of pace that will really help when playing with other people. Expand
  56. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    Resident Evil Operation Racoon City had a lot of things going for it, a series with a rich history to it, a great reputation, and the guys who made Soccom working on it. So what the hell happened? The one positive thing that I can say about this game is what was advertised on the back of the box: You get to play as Umbrella. Everything else about the game is honestly quite bad. The graphics look like early 2000 to 2001. They are embarassingly bad. When I was in the hospital level, I thought it was a joke! The zombies all look the same, and there are only like 5 types: cops, teens, the redneck fattie, the soldiers, and the homeless dudes. But games graphics aren't everything right? What about gameplay? Well, that is surprisingly the worst part. No matter how much I tweaked the settings on the menu, the aiming still felt way off. It seems like the bullets hit everything except what you were aiming at! In true stupidy, the creators didn't go for a good button-based cover system like in the far superior Gears Of Wars games, as soon as you walk up to any type of object, you take cover. Say you're fighting dozens of zombies and you walk up to a barrel, you're going to take cover 90% of the time and likely get devoured. Your a.i teamates are horrendiously bad, so many times they walked right into my bullets. But the a.i for the enemy is so damn cheap, they will run up to you, knife you a bunch of times, back up, then shoot you. And when they don't do that, they stand out in the open as you put thousands of bullets in them. Speaking of the guns, they all suck. Enemies take so many bullets, you sometimes wonder if you're even hurting them! At times, its not clear where you're supposed to go. In one section, I had literally spent an hour shooting at hunters, thinking that I was making progress whem I realized I was supposed to run past them all! All because they didn't explain what the hell I was supposed to do! The characters are forgettable, the story is lame and chiched, and the idea that you can change RE history is all a lie, you're only given one choice where you can change the history and it ends up being lame as hell. The multiplayer is nothing different than the other billion shooters out there on the market.Add that with a bunch of bugs and you've got one mess of a video game. All in all, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is the worst Resident Evil game to date. Casual gamers are going to hate how bad it controls and how boeing it is, and die-hard Resident Evil fans are going to hate that it isn't scary, intense, or even made by Capcom. This is one trip to Racoon City, you do not want to take. Expand
  57. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    After reading several reviews and doing my homework about this particular game, I'm kinda glad I didn't listen to them. I'm here to give a clear and unbiased review of this game.

    Resident Evil, by all means, might as well be called Call of Duty: Raccoon City. This is not necessarily a bad thing. I have enjoyed playing both the campaign and multiplayer modes, even though the game
    admittedly has several flaws.

    The campaign mode, while not the most in-depth thing I've ever played, is solidly enjoyable. Squad-based combat that you can either do solo, with random players or specific friends. Of note, the latter two options have not been traditionally available in the campaigns of other famous FPS's. There are only a handful of missions, but with the extensive combat and searching of items and extras, each mission, on first run, can take about an hour apiece, giving you about a full 7 to 8 hour experience. The plot is threadbare, yes, but it excusable given the scope of the game. You are playing an elite "cleaner" team for the Umbrella corporation destroying all evidence of their involvement. This isn't that far-fetched given the conspiracy theories we believe about our own government. Some of the iconic characters of RE fame do make an appearance, but not in a significant way, so people expecting to play as their favorite RE icons will be disappointed. Gameplay is fluid and no less complicated than your average FPS, with the inclusion of a very fluid close combat system that is better than any other one I've played. There are many complaints abundant about your partner AI, and I have to say most of them are unfounded. Your partner AI's may be a little aggressive at times, but don't typically die until later missions or boss fights. In fact, these AI's are better than some other FPS partner AI's in that your partners in this game will actively pursue combat and actually kill enemies rather than just lay down a bunch of cover fire and make you do all the real work (ala Modern Warfare 3). While they may not always do what you'd want them to do, they're not really any dumber than the faceless partners of other FPS's I've played. The HUD is clean and allows you access to specific abilities and your recovery sprays and ordinances. Weaponry is abundant and varied almost ensuring that whatever you're used to using, you'll have. Each class has it's own unique passive and active abilities giving each character a unique flavor and allowing you to experiment to find a play style that suits you. Movement is rather restrictive sometimes since you can't jump or vault over obstacles, leaving you sometimes to wander through a winding path to proceed, but this is traditional RE style. If you've played RE titles, this is nothing new to you.

    The multiplayer mode is enjoyable, but with flaws. Biggest flaw of the game is that the multiplayer only offers you four different games modes, which I find unacceptable. Maps amount to eight so that's not so bad, but since you vote on any map you want every game, you can often find yourself on the same map for hours on end. The idea that every mode pits you against zombies and enemy opponents adds an extra element of action and planning to it, but some players may find frustrating. I do like the fact that melee attacks and headshots do not result in instant death, meaning lesser experienced players won't end up frequently respawning. The ability to kill zombies for experience also helps weaker players feel productive, even if other players are doing most of the work. It doesn't quite have the polished feel that other FPS's have and also suffers from not having a local split-screen option available. Although the multiplayer is unrefined and incomplete, it still doesn't mean you won't find yourself enjoying it on occassion.

    The overall problem with RE: Operation Raccon City is it's hybrid form. True FPS fans may not find it the most enjoyable game they've played and true RE fans expecting another RE game will certainly not be getting what they want (until RE6). If you're one of those fans in the middle who appreciated both the RE franchise and FPS's, this is something you may want to at least take a serious look at.
    Expand
  58. May 21, 2012
    0
    First of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank as garbage. Here are a few of its many, many problems: 1) the controls, they dont work. 2) your AI squad mates are useless, they do absolutely nothing but run around in circles. 3) The enemy AI is either brain dead easy or kills you in one shot. 4) the graphics are glitchy and framerate stutters constantly 5) your character "sticks" to the wall constantly, which sucks when your in a gunfight. I am 42 years old and have been playing FPS for over 20 years and I honestly cant remember ever playing a game as bad as this. It is broken and the minor 160 MB update Capcom released did nothing to help. This is just horrible, awful, junk. Dont buy it. Expand
  59. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a very fun and challenging game. So far I have no complaints, and think it has a good story plot with plenty of suspense. It has a lot going on with collecting intel items, to killing zombies, and following the story. All I can really say is I love it! And can't wait for Resident Evil 6!
  60. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I signed up here just to write a review for this game; it is not bad at all as long as you know what you are getting into - this is not RE6, this is a Socom/Killzone/RE hybid. Know what you are getting into, and you will enjoy it. No, it is not perfect; sometimes the graphics are uninspired, sometimes the level design is boring, but sometmes they are very atmospheric and uniquely creepy. My major beef with this game is that even though it takes place nearly 15 years ago, Capcom did nothing with the retro possibilities; it is more futuristic than retro. However, they added some really cool features to the squad combat genre; you can take zombies as bullet shields, you can make enemies bleed and be swarmed by zombies,you can become infected and turn on your squad, and the everpresent fact that you have to not only combat opposig squads, but the hoardes of undead serve as wildcards. The game would be a solid 8 if it had more levels, better graphics, and more inspired atmospheric level design, but if you like squad combat, KZ3-esque power upgrades, or just love the RE envionment and want a fresh take on it, it is worth buying used. Don't. Waste Expand
  61. Apr 29, 2012
    4
    Resident evil- raccoon city review (no spoilers)
    well first off i have only put a few hours into raccoon city and i already have an idea of how bad this game is and a reason or two to why it messed up. Capcom have created some of the best games in the past decade, the resident evil games, dead rising, street fighter and so on, but recently they've become lazy like turning resident evil's
    genre and by making raccoon city. I hope raccoon city is only this bad because the made it just to calm down the people waiting for the new resi evil. Anyway on to my review.

    the graphics are quite good, not once has the screen rate dropped or areas gone all fuzzy, and to be honest thats the only good i can draw from the game. Also one of the characters, bertha, is constantly healing you because shes the medic but she heals no one else which is stupid.

    Now to the bad sides, i dont know if its because if using the hardest difficulty but it can take anywhere from just under one mag to 3 magazines to kill an enemy. once i was shooting at an enemy missing an arm and it took two mags. the games engine cant take much, you cant go into cover while reloading and theres no need for cover and you can still be shot while in cover. grenades bare effect the enemies and it feels like its trying to focus you on the story, which isnt that good anyway, because the main game play is moving from one firefight to another. and finnaly the ai is the worst, they will walk up right next to the enemy and get loaded with bullets and are constantly dieing, they also get in your way, some times in the middle of a firefight and are really of no help.

    id give this game a 4/10, the box art is good to look at but not worth a buy.
    Expand
  62. May 5, 2012
    0
    Nota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo não possui um polimento adequado e é curto. Há elementos que devem agradar, principalmente o cooperativo e a própria jogabilidade, que fornece todas as opções que a pessoa busca em um shooter (cover, melee, etc). Há alguns problemas como a ausência de uma virada 180º de forma simples ou o combate corpo-a-corpo ser um tanto quanto estranho quando são dois jogadores se enfrentando. Mas são problemas mínimos. Expand
  63. May 13, 2012
    3
    The only thing more horrifying than a horde of zombies chasing you is that gameplay mechanics for this game. The storyline has a lot of potential, but the gameplay just does not follow through
  64. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    This might be the worst PS3 game I have ever played. This game makes Resident evil 6 look good. The number of flaws in this game is uncountable, so I am going to list the ones that really pissed me off the most.

    1. This game is obviously one big scam. The campaign lasts about 3 hours total, the DLC campaign which costs $20, lasts 4 hours. So most of the campaign is DLC, and you get
    less gameplay per dollar when you buy the game at $60. Not only that some of the DLC includes adding a grenade launcher to the verses mode, making verses mode unfair for those who don't want to pay another $10 or so for guns that should be in the game to begin with. 2. The AI is probably the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. Constantly throwing grenades off the wall and hitting you, running into trip mines, getting in your way by always knifing every enemy. Eventually I found it beneficial to just kill them and not revive them because they are such a pain in the ass. 3. Verses mode is the most unbalanced multiplayer I have ever seen. Basically to win you play as Assault class. Assault class gets super soldier = Good Game, whereas scientist gets program infected = useless as **** I found many moments where the game lags to no end, teleporting to the other side of the map somehow and getting killed by a zombie, DC out of a game. 4. The weapons are absolutely horrible. A head shot with a sniper rifle isn't an instant kill, since the beginning of time a shot to the head means you are dead, especially with a sniper (BOOM HEADSHOT). The shotgun does not cause any knock back. If I shot someone with a shotgun, I would expect them to fall on their ass like in re4 and re5, not take it like a boss and jump into it and hit me, like the hunters do. 5. Other than the zombies, you can't seem to tell if you are actually doing damage to enemies. There are fewer boss fights in the main campaign than DLC campaign... 6. A large majority of the enemies are PEOPLE WITH GUNS. The first god damn campaign has only william birkin and 2 dogs as infected enemies, the rest is spec ops who for some reason want you dead. 7. No one gives a **** about any of the characters you play as.

    If you play the game the rest will just present itself. This gets a 0/10 for having no redeeming qualities.
    Expand
  65. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    Better than I thought it was going to be and it can be fun but is a very average game.
  66. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    DON'T TRUST THE REVIEWS, try it for yourself. That's the bottom line. Here is my opinion: This game is great if you are a fan of Resi 2/3, you like shooting zombies and like playing as a CO OP squad with your mates! Positives: Multi-player co op is great/ runs really well/ joining games is easy/ unlocks are great/ sounds are spot on/ revisiting old RE2/3 locations is cool/ guns react well. Negatives: button selection is off sometimes/ a little repetitive at times/ enemies take a fair few bullets. Overall i think the reviews are off (or the game has been patched correctly now) as this seems like a real solid shooter to me. Ideal for fans of the original resi's. I will certainly be playing this for some time! Expand
  67. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    There is lot's of negative reviews here. This game is NOT meant to follow mainstream resident evil. You are Umbrella for God's sake in this game. You are basically the bad guy. What more fun is there than that? I love this game and bought it in spite of the reviews. I play every game with an open mind and had lots of fun playing this. Good graphics, pretty decent controls, and a so-so inventory system. I just wish I could kill more people like Chris Redfield, Jill, and the others. Killing Leon was pretty fun though (he is my favorite RE character). I enjoyed this game very much. Some of the newer creatures were very creepy. Have an open mind when playing games. This one is a keeper. Expand
  68. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    Probably the worst Resident Evil game I've played to date. The game lacks any kind of character and the gameplay can be downright frustrating when relying on the ridiculously bad AI partners. The lack of split screen is also a huge flaw as this is a team based shooter. Pass this one up.
  69. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    This game is really fun, and it allows you to explore the untold story of Resident Evil in a totally different way. That being said, it would've been so much better if there weren't so many glitches and it offered local co-op.
  70. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would never have guessed that Operation Raccoon City could be better than Resident Evil 6, but it actually it is far better. Storyline is great. There is 4-player coop and at last you can murder that wimp Leon. For me short campaign is main disadvantage. I recon they chopped half of it to sell soldier missions as a DLC. Nevertheless this game is worth your time, especially if you can play with your friends. Expand
  71. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    Crap this game is so poorly developed there is no other words to describe it other than steaming pile of crap I cant believe what capcom has been doing to there franchises.
  72. Mar 1, 2014
    2
    ORC is simply too shooter-oriented to even count as a Resident Evil game, but at the same time too low in quality to compete with other third-person shooters. While a few in-game features showed some promise, the game is overall infected with poor AI, bland game-play, flat and unmemorable characters, and an exceedingly short storyline.
  73. Aug 17, 2013
    2
    After playing this game I have come to realise that the standards in games have certainly dropped. This game was just one big frustration to me. The damage weapons do to enemies varied on a massive scale i.e. hunter could take 50-100 Machine Gun bullets where as the one I encountered took nearly 200 which I thought was frustrating. The game has no solid story to it as the characters are not very like-able or engaging and the layout was awful. I spent 50 Euro on this game when it first came out and was shot down to 30 Euro within the week at my local Gamestop. Multiplayer does not get much better either as it just doesn't suit the game at all. Overall I have to say it is a massive flop and really wouldn't recommend anybody buying it. Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Bueno, al principio el juego puede llegar a ser un verdadero espanto, pero conforme vas avanzando te das cuenta de que aquí si salen zombis reales y verdaderos, no como en Resident Evil 4 y Resident Evil 5, eso es lo que salva este juego, también los Licker y los Hunter, el enfrentarte a Némesis, a Birkin, enfrentarte a león...etc. Su modo campaña es muy pobre, pero es entretenida, los personajes los puedes mejorar y comprar armas, puedes disparar mientras te mueves, una gran novedad, en si esta muy bien, pero si es para jugar solo, no lo recomiendo, es para jugar con amigos y pasar el rato, el juego engancha bastante, matar zombis es divertido xD Juego recomendable. Expand
  75. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    Despite my apologetic approach to all Resident Evil games, this games was just very disappointing, the controls were very stiff and the game had more glitches than I could count, the story is also very, very short. Despite that, the game still has a nostalgic factor in it's favour and essentially, stops the game from being absolutely terrible.
  76. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Resident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the faceless characters you play as sound like they are choking on a something huge and the characters don't have diversity other than the masks they wear they are nothing really special. Now the whole game is bugged i found my self in a middle in a fire fight my gun turning upside town and my character glitches most of the time. The a.i is stupid literally they walk right in to mines and don't really gel you ever they are there to look pretty, also the enemy a.i is dumb even on hard difficulty i found zombies walking around when clearly i am moving around them in circles and the spec ops soldiers just stay in cover all the time. If you think multiplayer is gonna save this game then you're wrong the same problems occur in mutiplayer even though they are some pretty cool game modes like heroes it got me only playing for a few minutes. If you want to get a cool resident evil game buy resident evil 4 or 5 maybe even 6 and newcomers don't start your resident evil experience with this game it is not worth your time Expand
  77. Mar 14, 2014
    0
    trash just trash avoid this like the plague, the characters are undevoloped, the plot super weak and on top of that the gameplay is just boring, way to much hype.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]