Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PlayStation 3

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 201 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 201
  2. Negative: 95 out of 201

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad AI............................. Now lets just think for a second..... THIS GAME IS A MULTI-PLAYER GAME. Why should the developers waste there time perfecting the AI when it is more then likely that there will be 4 humans playing. POINTLESS?!?
    2. The Story? once again it is a multi-player game. Why would u want a heavy storyline with long cutscenes in a game that would most likely have 4 people sitting there pressing the skip button as quick as they can? 3.The difficulty- i would say the difficulty is equal to that of resident evil 5 times 2. There are just more enemys with guns and it is easy to get overwhelmed , but your not alone anymore. The difficulty is beautiful, there is nothing more rewarding then having 3 friends with you having swarms of zombies running at you, your ammo running out. some one getting infected and having to turn on your team mates and as the number of zombies reach a lower number you start brutally melee killing them all one by one. This is very very satisfying, trust me.
    4.No charter development- if they brought six new charters in with bright personality's it would become stupidly confusing and rather annoying quite fast. These charters suit there roles. They are the best of the best, the elites that work by code names and everything is strictly business . I have come to see personality's in the charters depending on who i'm playing with. I have a wise cracking snipper and a sassy medic . This lack of charter development has allowed me to see the people im actually playing with rather then some cliche' personality.

    i assume i'm coming cross as rather a fan boy, and let me assure you that is not true. i only joined the resident evil bandwagon at number 4 and i thought number 5 was pretty tacky. there are a few problems wrong with the game but no more then a lot of games that receive great reviews. I am amazed that this game isn't getting fair 8's all round as it is a great game that is really fun and i haven't even mentioned the addicting leveling system. i would ignore the reviews you read from critics and just think about what bothers you. will bad story line bother you while 3 of you are talking over the top of it ? will bad AI effect your gaming when u have 3 humans playing with you, not coms. will the difficulty get too much for you or do u have some balls hahahha.

    Enjoy
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I've seen a lot of reviewers be too harsh on this game. I actually love the new resident evil. It's a fun squad shooter with a bit of extra stuff thrown in, like the new side arm mechanics. The game play is really fun and interesting, with a kind of Left 4 Dead feel, has some really good "Edge of your seat" moments. It's a new concept with a good pull off, people just hate change.
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculouslyI pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculously good and they aren't just idiots running around randomly. The teammate A.I. is better then people seem to give credit, my friend and I role with Vector and Bertha and they both do a great job of executing what they need to. Sure, sometimes they walk straight past an enemy but that just makes you laugh. People need to just go into this game looking for fun and not a die hard Resident Evil experience. I really enjoy playing this game. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The reviews for this are terrible, but I'm not convinced they're deserved. This game has it's failings, but the experience for me has been pretty fun thus far. Yes, the AI is terrible and the single player mode is awful. However, the multiplayer is incredibly fun once you get acquainted with the various modes and play styles. People on the fence should give it a try for themselvesThe reviews for this are terrible, but I'm not convinced they're deserved. This game has it's failings, but the experience for me has been pretty fun thus far. Yes, the AI is terrible and the single player mode is awful. However, the multiplayer is incredibly fun once you get acquainted with the various modes and play styles. People on the fence should give it a try for themselves before passing judgement. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the bestI was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This game is Killer, in more ways than one. I can understand some peopleâ
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the game, especially the co-op. I found that if you have auto-cover issues the problem is not with the game...it is an easy feature to get the hang of. I had no clipping issues or glitches that inhibit game play; just wished the story was longer. Faults would have to be shortness of story and clunky control scheme. 8 overall for story, graphics sound and well done multiplayer.
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 deadI bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 dead & Re mercenaries set within the universe of Re 2 & 3.You can either play the campaign by yourself offline or play online via the campaign or verses matches which have similar modes to that of capture the flag, team deathwatch, survival mode etc.The most notable thing is that while all this is happening tons of zombies, lickers,tyrants & hunters are running around attacking everyone in various places(imagine playing cod nazi zombies in 3rd person but still having to battle the opposing teams etc.The story mode is decent & at most beatable in a few hours to one day but thats not an issue as you should go into this game knowing was built to be more multiplayer resident evil game than a single player re like revelations or re 5 & 6.Besides if you've already played Resident evil 2 & 3 you already know that story & in this game the story is looked at from a different pov.You play 1 of four members of an elite team which have there own backgrounds, special upgradable weapons & abilities that are sent to help Hunk cover up any evidence that links umbrella to the outbreak. Initially you make or break the various events that happened in re 2 & 3 so you do things like help program nemesis to go after the stars team etc. Honestly if you buy & play this game with the mind set of knowing what its meant for than you will be more than happy.Further more we get to finally play a new resident evil game with zombies back in the mix, how could anyone complain about that.Bottom line don't listen to any of the bad reviews out there as you will regret it when you end up playing it later and didn't get in on the secret hype from those who took the risk and went with there gut. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    ORC is not as bad as alot of the unforgiving reviews it's getting. The game does have some flaws, but there is enjoyment to be had here. I would agree with some of the negative things said about this game (such as cover system bugs, bland environments) but I still have enjoy the game nonetheless. It has a budget feel to it, and this will anger the hardcore RE fans. If you enjoy gamesORC is not as bad as alot of the unforgiving reviews it's getting. The game does have some flaws, but there is enjoyment to be had here. I would agree with some of the negative things said about this game (such as cover system bugs, bland environments) but I still have enjoy the game nonetheless. It has a budget feel to it, and this will anger the hardcore RE fans. If you enjoy games such as Left4Dead and EDF, this one is in that ballpark. If you open this game expecting it to be as polished as RE5 (like those of you who scored it 0) you will be in for a letdown. While there are better multiplayer games out there, this one is still fun with friends. Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    nice game they polished it very well game play is awesome its got a nice feel to it not really a big fan of the newer resident evil games but since they took it back to the old school i thought id give it a try and i was not disappointed
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    you know im a little curious about what the critics are going to say about this game i like it, it seems to flow nicely its better than res 4 and 5 i love res 1 2 and 3 it looks like they tryed to bring that to this game and you can see it so it not bad
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Dont READ ALL THOSE BADE CRITICS , i found the game very fun, and that why we play videogames, to have fun, killing zombies with socom control is really cool, sure the atmosphere ,the graphic, the sound isnt that hot, and sure it doesnt worth 60$ but i gave this game a 10 because of the fun and online play.
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    RE:ORC is everything you should expect it to be. Its a tactical shooter based in the word of Raccoon City during the events of RE:2 and 3. Covering the prospective of Umbrella it gives RE fans a deeper insight into what was going on in back ground while the heros are busy trying to save the day, and ultimately why they failed to. This game makes a lot of sense seeing as RE:6 will beRE:ORC is everything you should expect it to be. Its a tactical shooter based in the word of Raccoon City during the events of RE:2 and 3. Covering the prospective of Umbrella it gives RE fans a deeper insight into what was going on in back ground while the heros are busy trying to save the day, and ultimately why they failed to. This game makes a lot of sense seeing as RE:6 will be taking us back into this atmosphere once again and most players haven't touched RE:2 and 3 in over a decade. As far as game play goes this a player friendly shooter with simple mechanics and a dark and eerie environment that any gamer can pick up and play. Ultimately the game is lots of fun and is a must play for anyone who truly loves the story of Resident Evil. Expand
  14. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    underrated game that didn't have the money to pay off reviewers. This game isn't great but its not bad its somewhere between good and OK. AI is pretty bad but other than that its amazing. Some lobby bugs but that's normal. This is a multiplayer game not for the single player die hards. But honestly its good fun and I'd much rather play this online than... uncharted. Yeah I said it. Becauseunderrated game that didn't have the money to pay off reviewers. This game isn't great but its not bad its somewhere between good and OK. AI is pretty bad but other than that its amazing. Some lobby bugs but that's normal. This is a multiplayer game not for the single player die hards. But honestly its good fun and I'd much rather play this online than... uncharted. Yeah I said it. Because it's unique. everyone has different stuff not just fleet foot and Gmal. Its also great if you went a hardcore multiplayer person because you will find success in this game. Graphics 9.5 ai 3 sound 7.5 gameplay fluid 8.6 replay value 9 Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is the best zombie game that is ever going to come out it is going original back to the old zombies and the nemisis is back you will love this game its cool but shoot them in the brain
  16. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a squad shooter based in the Resident Evil universe. That being said, it is important to note that this is not a traditional Resident Evil game. It seems that most reviews fail to distinguish between what they think this game "should be" and exactly what it is- It is a squad based shooter in the Resident Evil universe. I am disappointed thatResident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a squad shooter based in the Resident Evil universe. That being said, it is important to note that this is not a traditional Resident Evil game. It seems that most reviews fail to distinguish between what they think this game "should be" and exactly what it is- It is a squad based shooter in the Resident Evil universe. I am disappointed that sites such as IGN and Gamespot have people reviewing this game as if it were Resident Evil 6 and it cut many features and is nothing like past entries. It should be new and unique as this game is a new direction for the series and it amazes me how industry "professionals" cannot understand this. I will be informative in this review and tell things how they are without bias. Now to the review!

    Resident Evil contains about 4-5 hours of a campaign that can be played privately with AI or online with random people or friends. It really shines when playing co-op with others because the AI's hiccups don't come into play. Contrary to popular discussion, the AI is not as bad as stated by many, your team members are quite active in shootouts and sticking with you. However, they do seem to have problems helping the player at different points, but this can add to the challenge instead of disappoint. I never encountered AI getting caught anywhere or falling through anything during my play through. They acted pretty much as I expected- they shot some enemies and kept me alive (for the most part). Enemy AI on the other hand is hit or miss. The spec-ops AI seems pretty solid and shootouts are fun, but zombies are hit or miss as far as AI (they are dead and dumb after all, right?). I also had some minor problems with objects/enemies clipping in and out through gameplay. This only happened a few times for me throughout different levels, but in no way took away from my play through the game.

    Multiplayer on the other hand is a bit more hectic. The different game modes offer a good mix of popular game modes such as team attack (deathmatch with points), biohazard (capture the flag or t-virus in this case), heroes (deathmatch with popular characters such as Leon and Claire), or survivor (survive until a helicopter lands with only room for 1/2 the players in game). Each game mode is fun and adds in a extra twist with zombies and B.O.W.'s appearing to mix up the squad combat. I myself will spend hours with this game mode and points earned from campaign and multiplayer play are all put into the same point pool so character/weapon upgrades apply to all different types gameplay. There's also something to be said for blasting away the zombie of a player on another team who is wandering around aimlessly. It's just plain awesome.

    The sound of Operation Raccoon City are a first in the series as gun's fill the atmosphere and when the action dies down zombies can be heard growling throughout the streets(or the occasional roar from a B.O.W.) The graphics are up to par with most game's on the PS3 or 360 at this point: character models look great but don't expect to be blown away by the environments. The graphics and sound are solid, nothing more or less.

    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a new take on the series. Think Socom meets Left 4 Dead (without the playable zombies). That's not to say that if your a fan of one or the other your going to like Operation Raccoon City; you could absolutely hate this game. I believe that if you go into the store to buy this and know what your paying for- a squad shooter with zombies to mix up the fun- you won't be disappointed. Just know this isn't your typical RE experience and if you go into it with the expectation that this is RE:6 your going to be disappointed like others critics who failed to see what was in front of them.
    Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    The only problem I have in this reviews, people need to atleast try the game thereselves to judge it,or watch a walktrough of it.Not saying the game is good,but people who won't try a game out because one reviewer gave a **** score to it is wrong.Because IGN will give it a 4.0,but other website reviewers might give it better scores,so don't let a score,make a decisionThe only problem I have in this reviews, people need to atleast try the game thereselves to judge it,or watch a walktrough of it.Not saying the game is good,but people who won't try a game out because one reviewer gave a **** score to it is wrong.Because IGN will give it a 4.0,but other website reviewers might give it better scores,so don't let a score,make a decision for you to not play the game,try it yourselves 1st,then judge it, buy OPERATION RACCON CITY ( GREAT GAME) Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Since i've been seeing mixed reviews for this game, i decided to buy it and make a review. Honestly i don't see what's really bad in the game because well i'm not a picky person and i just enjoy games. I loved the Multiplayer and Campaign so i don't see why people are complaining but people are entitled to their opinion. The campaign is fun with or without friends but with friends make'sSince i've been seeing mixed reviews for this game, i decided to buy it and make a review. Honestly i don't see what's really bad in the game because well i'm not a picky person and i just enjoy games. I loved the Multiplayer and Campaign so i don't see why people are complaining but people are entitled to their opinion. The campaign is fun with or without friends but with friends make's it all the better and Multiplayer as well is fun. If your a picky person and try to find way's in not liking a game just cause of very small flaws than don't buy, if your a RE fan and are looking for a fun different game, Than i say check it out. Overall, i liked the game and yea their are glitches but they can be patched. Expand
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This entry to the resident evil series is a 3rd person shooter with horror elements. I seem to find many people still thinking that this title is still the former "Resident Evil" that carries the "survival horror" genre. This game is not a survival horror title, unless you make it that way. The single player campaign was short, but intense with 4 player coop, but who plays this for theThis entry to the resident evil series is a 3rd person shooter with horror elements. I seem to find many people still thinking that this title is still the former "Resident Evil" that carries the "survival horror" genre. This game is not a survival horror title, unless you make it that way. The single player campaign was short, but intense with 4 player coop, but who plays this for the single player? It is multiplayer game, and the multiplayer is fantastic. This game is still fresh, and still have glitches. Glitches are forgiven, if capcom doesn't sit on it and fix it but this is the year 2012 and videogames are patched via internet. With solid online play, and a forgettable single player campaign I give this game a 9/10. I see a very fun game with a unique and fun online experience when this title comes to mind. If you enjoy 3rd person squad based shooters, with a unique twist with different multiplayer modes this game is definitely worth a try. Expand
  20. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    There's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for theThere's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for the characters they introduced, but aside from that, I would say rent it. It offers the old RE feel into its atmosphere and combines it with a frantic third person shooter. You guys are like SH fans, too stubborn to really enjoy anything new. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    there is not anything i can really say bad about this games exept the lack of maps in mp other than that its a stand up game its a lot of fun and i cant seem to put it down lol id say it gets a 9.5 tho
  22. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    First of all. This game was meant for the multiplayer, and a hats off to them for adding a single player campaign at least to provide some insight to what was going on behind the scenes during the events of RE2
    and RE3. Now as for the campaign, sure its only about 5 hours, but open your eyes. Third person shooters, first person shooters (Cod, Bf3) they have added campaigns, and they have
    First of all. This game was meant for the multiplayer, and a hats off to them for adding a single player campaign at least to provide some insight to what was going on behind the scenes during the events of RE2
    and RE3. Now as for the campaign, sure its only about 5 hours, but open your eyes. Third person shooters, first person shooters (Cod, Bf3) they have added campaigns, and they have become increasingly shorter. You don't play those games for the campaign. You play them for the multiplayer. I can say that slant six isn't the best western developer to choose for this project, but what they have done had a great premise, and the execution is no where near as horrible as all the critics are claiming. This is a 3rd person shooter based in the Resident Evil universe. It will only appeal to resident evil fans looking for a refreshing new take on the property. The reviewers are constantly focusing on the campaign of the game, assuming that upon receiving their review copies, there was no one to play with in multiplayer. What a half-assed review most of them have compiled, and bandwagoning what other review websites have said about the game. The multiplayer is as robust as it needs to be at launch, and includes the modes needed, with room for addition. They have time to add new maps, and will surely support the game after launch. Nitpicking the little things is what I have seen in all the reviews so far, and that just adds to the credibility of the reviewers themselves.. not much credibility there. I have been having a great time with multiplayer, and the small issues experienced do not hinder the game as a whole. reviewers these days just expect every game to sh!t excellence and I'm sure most of them are not even fans of the resident evil canon, in which slant six made a great effort to cater to the fans. This is a great shooter. The cover system is no where near as horrible as they make it out to be, I mean you just need to press gently to the wall you want to use for cover, as for picking up weapons and reviving teammates, just make sure the icon is displaying to perform the action. These reviewers just don't know how to play a game, simple as that. RE:ORC is a great addition to the franchise, proving that the property can be something different than survival horror with the inability to shoot while running in previous RE titles. Take it for what it is, and that is that.
    Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Haters gonna hate, but maybe they should actually purchase and play the games before they write condemning reviews. ( Maybe they just got tired of trashing Mass Effect 3?) I personally up the CE today, nice metal case and sweet team patches! Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. IHaters gonna hate, but maybe they should actually purchase and play the games before they write condemning reviews. ( Maybe they just got tired of trashing Mass Effect 3?) I personally up the CE today, nice metal case and sweet team patches! Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development.

    Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Wow im very surprised at how good this game is im not a ps3 guy im all PC but i got to say the controls are great it really gives you that classic resident evil feel slantsixgames did a really good job here the zombies feel real the ai is really good
  25. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    alright ive played most of the game and here are my initial thoughts. first lets get down to combat the gameplay mechanics are overall pretty solid the guns do pretty good but the pistols are basically worthless i found my self loading about 10 pistol rounds into a zombie corpse but overall the gun play was good and up to par. the game also has a cover system which when you walk up toalright ive played most of the game and here are my initial thoughts. first lets get down to combat the gameplay mechanics are overall pretty solid the guns do pretty good but the pistols are basically worthless i found my self loading about 10 pistol rounds into a zombie corpse but overall the gun play was good and up to par. the game also has a cover system which when you walk up to cover you will automatically lean against debris(objects if you don't know what debris is) anyway the cover system is really up to the player if they like it or not. secondly lets talk about classes the character that you choose has a certain ability that can help him or her in certain situations for example vector has a cloaking ability which is very useful.im not gonna go into full detail with classes but ill just say they are all pretty good. Now lets talk about A.I personally i thought the A.i wasn't bad , yes it can be a little buggy at times but overall it gets the job done. now my final thoughts the story wasn't long so if your looking for a long campaign you wont be happy with this one the campaign is usually 5-8 hours depending on how often you die. also a fine set of multiplayer modes keep this game alive and kicking overall if your a resident evil fan pick this game up.this game receives an 8/10. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    I gotta say I was really concerned with this game when I first saw all those mixed reviews from critics and allot of fans alike.now I'm a very picky gamer and usually won't buy a game with bad reviews or even mixed since allot of the times those bad reviews are right,but this time I have to say that all those bad reviews are wrong.this game is AWSOME!!!.I've always loved the resident evilI gotta say I was really concerned with this game when I first saw all those mixed reviews from critics and allot of fans alike.now I'm a very picky gamer and usually won't buy a game with bad reviews or even mixed since allot of the times those bad reviews are right,but this time I have to say that all those bad reviews are wrong.this game is AWSOME!!!.I've always loved the resident evil games (except those fps ones that came out a long time ago)but this RE game is hard to put down when you start playing it.give this game a try and i'm sure you won't be able to stop playing. Expand
  27. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I think the idea of this game really really cool. Control the the "bad" side for the first time. But I don't like 4 things in this new resident evil: 1- The campaign is really really short. (But the versus modes are really amazing!.)
    2- I don't like in the game you can just see in the right vision of the weapon this disrupts a lot the gameplay.
    3- I was pissed! When i knew the nemesis mode
    I think the idea of this game really really cool. Control the the "bad" side for the first time. But I don't like 4 things in this new resident evil: 1- The campaign is really really short. (But the versus modes are really amazing!.)
    2- I don't like in the game you can just see in the right vision of the weapon this disrupts a lot the gameplay.
    3- I was pissed! When i knew the nemesis mode is only for 360 players.
    4- The zombies skins are few. You sometimes feel you're playing gta: san andreas because it.

    But the game is really cool especially the online modes like: survivor and heroes mode.
    Expand
  28. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a very fun and challenging game. So far I have no complaints, and think it has a good story plot with plenty of suspense. It has a lot going on with collecting intel items, to killing zombies, and following the story. All I can really say is I love it! And can't wait for Resident Evil 6!
  29. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I signed up here just to write a review for this game; it is not bad at all as long as you know what you are getting into - this is not RE6, this is a Socom/Killzone/RE hybid. Know what you are getting into, and you will enjoy it. No, it is not perfect; sometimes the graphics are uninspired, sometimes the level design is boring, but sometmes they are very atmospheric and uniquely creepy.I signed up here just to write a review for this game; it is not bad at all as long as you know what you are getting into - this is not RE6, this is a Socom/Killzone/RE hybid. Know what you are getting into, and you will enjoy it. No, it is not perfect; sometimes the graphics are uninspired, sometimes the level design is boring, but sometmes they are very atmospheric and uniquely creepy. My major beef with this game is that even though it takes place nearly 15 years ago, Capcom did nothing with the retro possibilities; it is more futuristic than retro. However, they added some really cool features to the squad combat genre; you can take zombies as bullet shields, you can make enemies bleed and be swarmed by zombies,you can become infected and turn on your squad, and the everpresent fact that you have to not only combat opposig squads, but the hoardes of undead serve as wildcards. The game would be a solid 8 if it had more levels, better graphics, and more inspired atmospheric level design, but if you like squad combat, KZ3-esque power upgrades, or just love the RE envionment and want a fresh take on it, it is worth buying used. Don't. Waste Expand
  30. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    There is lot's of negative reviews here. This game is NOT meant to follow mainstream resident evil. You are Umbrella for God's sake in this game. You are basically the bad guy. What more fun is there than that? I love this game and bought it in spite of the reviews. I play every game with an open mind and had lots of fun playing this. Good graphics, pretty decent controls, and a so-soThere is lot's of negative reviews here. This game is NOT meant to follow mainstream resident evil. You are Umbrella for God's sake in this game. You are basically the bad guy. What more fun is there than that? I love this game and bought it in spite of the reviews. I play every game with an open mind and had lots of fun playing this. Good graphics, pretty decent controls, and a so-so inventory system. I just wish I could kill more people like Chris Redfield, Jill, and the others. Killing Leon was pretty fun though (he is my favorite RE character). I enjoyed this game very much. Some of the newer creatures were very creepy. Have an open mind when playing games. This one is a keeper. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]