User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 183
  2. Negative: 84 out of 183

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    nice game they polished it very well game play is awesome its got a nice feel to it not really a big fan of the newer resident evil games but since they took it back to the old school i thought id give it a try and i was not disappointed
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    you know im a little curious about what the critics are going to say about this game i like it, it seems to flow nicely its better than res 4 and 5 i love res 1 2 and 3 it looks like they tryed to bring that to this game and you can see it so it not bad
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Wow im very surprised at how good this game is im not a ps3 guy im all PC but i got to say the controls are great it really gives you that classic resident evil feel slantsixgames did a really good job here the zombies feel real the ai is really good
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    there is not anything i can really say bad about this games exept the lack of maps in mp other than that its a stand up game its a lot of fun and i cant seem to put it down lol id say it gets a 9.5 tho
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Dont READ ALL THOSE BADE CRITICS , i found the game very fun, and that why we play videogames, to have fun, killing zombies with socom control is really cool, sure the atmosphere ,the graphic, the sound isnt that hot, and sure it doesnt worth 60$ but i gave this game a 10 because of the fun and online play.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    The only problem I have in this reviews, people need to atleast try the game thereselves to judge it,or watch a walktrough of it.Not saying the game is good,but people who won't try a game out because one reviewer gave a **** score to it is wrong.Because IGN will give it a 4.0,but other website reviewers might give it better scores,so don't let a score,make a decision for you to not play the game,try it yourselves 1st,then judge it, buy OPERATION RACCON CITY ( GREAT GAME) Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Haters gonna hate, but maybe they should actually purchase and play the games before they write condemning reviews. ( Maybe they just got tired of trashing Mass Effect 3?) I personally up the CE today, nice metal case and sweet team patches! Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development.

    Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 dead & Re mercenaries set within the universe of Re 2 & 3.You can either play the campaign by yourself offline or play online via the campaign or verses matches which have similar modes to that of capture the flag, team deathwatch, survival mode etc.The most notable thing is that while all this is happening tons of zombies, lickers,tyrants & hunters are running around attacking everyone in various places(imagine playing cod nazi zombies in 3rd person but still having to battle the opposing teams etc.The story mode is decent & at most beatable in a few hours to one day but thats not an issue as you should go into this game knowing was built to be more multiplayer resident evil game than a single player re like revelations or re 5 & 6.Besides if you've already played Resident evil 2 & 3 you already know that story & in this game the story is looked at from a different pov.You play 1 of four members of an elite team which have there own backgrounds, special upgradable weapons & abilities that are sent to help Hunk cover up any evidence that links umbrella to the outbreak. Initially you make or break the various events that happened in re 2 & 3 so you do things like help program nemesis to go after the stars team etc. Honestly if you buy & play this game with the mind set of knowing what its meant for than you will be more than happy.Further more we get to finally play a new resident evil game with zombies back in the mix, how could anyone complain about that.Bottom line don't listen to any of the bad reviews out there as you will regret it when you end up playing it later and didn't get in on the secret hype from those who took the risk and went with there gut. Expand
  10. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is the best zombie game that is ever going to come out it is going original back to the old zombies and the nemisis is back you will love this game its cool but shoot them in the brain
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This entry to the resident evil series is a 3rd person shooter with horror elements. I seem to find many people still thinking that this title is still the former "Resident Evil" that carries the "survival horror" genre. This game is not a survival horror title, unless you make it that way. The single player campaign was short, but intense with 4 player coop, but who plays this for the single player? It is multiplayer game, and the multiplayer is fantastic. This game is still fresh, and still have glitches. Glitches are forgiven, if capcom doesn't sit on it and fix it but this is the year 2012 and videogames are patched via internet. With solid online play, and a forgettable single player campaign I give this game a 9/10. I see a very fun game with a unique and fun online experience when this title comes to mind. If you enjoy 3rd person squad based shooters, with a unique twist with different multiplayer modes this game is definitely worth a try. Expand
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    RE:ORC is everything you should expect it to be. Its a tactical shooter based in the word of Raccoon City during the events of RE:2 and 3. Covering the prospective of Umbrella it gives RE fans a deeper insight into what was going on in back ground while the heros are busy trying to save the day, and ultimately why they failed to. This game makes a lot of sense seeing as RE:6 will be taking us back into this atmosphere once again and most players haven't touched RE:2 and 3 in over a decade. As far as game play goes this a player friendly shooter with simple mechanics and a dark and eerie environment that any gamer can pick up and play. Ultimately the game is lots of fun and is a must play for anyone who truly loves the story of Resident Evil. Expand
  13. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    There's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for the characters they introduced, but aside from that, I would say rent it. It offers the old RE feel into its atmosphere and combines it with a frantic third person shooter. You guys are like SH fans, too stubborn to really enjoy anything new. Expand
  14. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    I gotta say I was really concerned with this game when I first saw all those mixed reviews from critics and allot of fans alike.now I'm a very picky gamer and usually won't buy a game with bad reviews or even mixed since allot of the times those bad reviews are right,but this time I have to say that all those bad reviews are wrong.this game is AWSOME!!!.I've always loved the resident evil games (except those fps ones that came out a long time ago)but this RE game is hard to put down when you start playing it.give this game a try and i'm sure you won't be able to stop playing. Expand
  15. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I think the idea of this game really really cool. Control the the "bad" side for the first time. But I don't like 4 things in this new resident evil: 1- The campaign is really really short. (But the versus modes are really amazing!.)
    2- I don't like in the game you can just see in the right vision of the weapon this disrupts a lot the gameplay.
    3- I was pissed! When i knew the nemesis mode
    is only for 360 players.
    4- The zombies skins are few. You sometimes feel you're playing gta: san andreas because it.

    But the game is really cool especially the online modes like: survivor and heroes mode.
    Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a very fun and challenging game. So far I have no complaints, and think it has a good story plot with plenty of suspense. It has a lot going on with collecting intel items, to killing zombies, and following the story. All I can really say is I love it! And can't wait for Resident Evil 6!
  17. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I signed up here just to write a review for this game; it is not bad at all as long as you know what you are getting into - this is not RE6, this is a Socom/Killzone/RE hybid. Know what you are getting into, and you will enjoy it. No, it is not perfect; sometimes the graphics are uninspired, sometimes the level design is boring, but sometmes they are very atmospheric and uniquely creepy. My major beef with this game is that even though it takes place nearly 15 years ago, Capcom did nothing with the retro possibilities; it is more futuristic than retro. However, they added some really cool features to the squad combat genre; you can take zombies as bullet shields, you can make enemies bleed and be swarmed by zombies,you can become infected and turn on your squad, and the everpresent fact that you have to not only combat opposig squads, but the hoardes of undead serve as wildcards. The game would be a solid 8 if it had more levels, better graphics, and more inspired atmospheric level design, but if you like squad combat, KZ3-esque power upgrades, or just love the RE envionment and want a fresh take on it, it is worth buying used. Don't. Waste Expand
  18. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    There is lot's of negative reviews here. This game is NOT meant to follow mainstream resident evil. You are Umbrella for God's sake in this game. You are basically the bad guy. What more fun is there than that? I love this game and bought it in spite of the reviews. I play every game with an open mind and had lots of fun playing this. Good graphics, pretty decent controls, and a so-so inventory system. I just wish I could kill more people like Chris Redfield, Jill, and the others. Killing Leon was pretty fun though (he is my favorite RE character). I enjoyed this game very much. Some of the newer creatures were very creepy. Have an open mind when playing games. This one is a keeper. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]