User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 175
  2. Negative: 81 out of 175

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2014
    0
    trash just trash avoid this like the plague, the characters are undevoloped, the plot super weak and on top of that the gameplay is just boring, way to much hype.
  2. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Resident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the faceless characters you play as sound like they are choking on a something huge and the characters don't have diversity other than the masks they wear they are nothing really special. Now the whole game is bugged i found my self in a middle in a fire fight my gun turning upside town and my character glitches most of the time. The a.i is stupid literally they walk right in to mines and don't really gel you ever they are there to look pretty, also the enemy a.i is dumb even on hard difficulty i found zombies walking around when clearly i am moving around them in circles and the spec ops soldiers just stay in cover all the time. If you think multiplayer is gonna save this game then you're wrong the same problems occur in mutiplayer even though they are some pretty cool game modes like heroes it got me only playing for a few minutes. If you want to get a cool resident evil game buy resident evil 4 or 5 maybe even 6 and newcomers don't start your resident evil experience with this game it is not worth your time Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    2
    ORC is simply too shooter-oriented to even count as a Resident Evil game, but at the same time too low in quality to compete with other third-person shooters. While a few in-game features showed some promise, the game is overall infected with poor AI, bland game-play, flat and unmemorable characters, and an exceedingly short storyline.
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    2
    Crap this game is so poorly developed there is no other words to describe it other than steaming pile of crap I cant believe what capcom has been doing to there franchises.
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    2
    After playing this game I have come to realise that the standards in games have certainly dropped. This game was just one big frustration to me. The damage weapons do to enemies varied on a massive scale i.e. hunter could take 50-100 Machine Gun bullets where as the one I encountered took nearly 200 which I thought was frustrating. The game has no solid story to it as the characters are not very like-able or engaging and the layout was awful. I spent 50 Euro on this game when it first came out and was shot down to 30 Euro within the week at my local Gamestop. Multiplayer does not get much better either as it just doesn't suit the game at all. Overall I have to say it is a massive flop and really wouldn't recommend anybody buying it. Expand
  6. May 18, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage game, too bad i spent my 20 dollars on a disc that i hate. No way im paying Capcom for a crappy game with crappy developers, a solid 0 for this game, it deserves it
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    Probably the worst Resident Evil game I've played to date. The game lacks any kind of character and the gameplay can be downright frustrating when relying on the ridiculously bad AI partners. The lack of split screen is also a huge flaw as this is a team based shooter. Pass this one up.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    This might be the worst PS3 game I have ever played. This game makes Resident evil 6 look good. The number of flaws in this game is uncountable, so I am going to list the ones that really pissed me off the most.

    1. This game is obviously one big scam. The campaign lasts about 3 hours total, the DLC campaign which costs $20, lasts 4 hours. So most of the campaign is DLC, and you get
    less gameplay per dollar when you buy the game at $60. Not only that some of the DLC includes adding a grenade launcher to the verses mode, making verses mode unfair for those who don't want to pay another $10 or so for guns that should be in the game to begin with. 2. The AI is probably the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. Constantly throwing grenades off the wall and hitting you, running into trip mines, getting in your way by always knifing every enemy. Eventually I found it beneficial to just kill them and not revive them because they are such a pain in the ass. 3. Verses mode is the most unbalanced multiplayer I have ever seen. Basically to win you play as Assault class. Assault class gets super soldier = Good Game, whereas scientist gets program infected = useless as **** I found many moments where the game lags to no end, teleporting to the other side of the map somehow and getting killed by a zombie, DC out of a game. 4. The weapons are absolutely horrible. A head shot with a sniper rifle isn't an instant kill, since the beginning of time a shot to the head means you are dead, especially with a sniper (BOOM HEADSHOT). The shotgun does not cause any knock back. If I shot someone with a shotgun, I would expect them to fall on their ass like in re4 and re5, not take it like a boss and jump into it and hit me, like the hunters do. 5. Other than the zombies, you can't seem to tell if you are actually doing damage to enemies. There are fewer boss fights in the main campaign than DLC campaign... 6. A large majority of the enemies are PEOPLE WITH GUNS. The first god damn campaign has only william birkin and 2 dogs as infected enemies, the rest is spec ops who for some reason want you dead. 7. No one gives a **** about any of the characters you play as.

    If you play the game the rest will just present itself. This gets a 0/10 for having no redeeming qualities.
    Expand
  9. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    It is always disappointing when a game with such an amazing concept falls so short of its potential. The idea of being able to see a video game classic from the opposite side of the fence instantly filled me with excitement. What I actually ended up with was a game that felt largely unfinished. The various classes felt like they had very little diversity. Gameplay felt repetitive after only about two hours. The co-op was a welcome addition, but only made a small dent in the unreliable gunplay and melee mechanics. Many bosses were almost insurmountable in difficulty, even at the lower levels, and none of the enemies required more than a "shoot until it's dead" mentality. Overall, fans of he series will appreciate the story and perspective, but that is pretty much where the appeal of this game ends. Expand
  10. Oct 5, 2012
    2
    Ok, we all know this game was a huge disappointment to Resident Evil fans and action based 3rd person shooters alike. It was an attempt to use the RE name on a online squad based game that was poorly created and assembled. The idea sounded good though. As a huge RE series fan, I really tried to like this game and played through it a couple times thinking there must be more here; there isn't. There is no worthwhile story here. combat is clunky and repetitive with a few exceptions. The online competitive modes were also just unplayable as much as I tried to play w friends. The graphics are almost like last gen systems. It was the quickest trade in to Game Stop I ever had. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    I am a huge Resident Evil fan and like many others was surprised at the negative reviews for this game. Now that I have played the game I can say that the critics were wrong. The game isn't just bad it's absolutely dreadful. Firstly, the campaign was one of the worst I have ever played due to braindead AI, bland atmosphere, and a terrible "story". One of my biggest complaints is that sometimes enemies will take an entire clip to go down but another time it may only take a bullet. The multiplayer feels like a beta for an unfinished product that doesn't exist. Sure there are unlockables but the complete abscence of any customization options keep you wanting more to compensate for the already bland multiplayer experience. This isn't even worthy of the Resident Evil title because the scariest thing about this game is the fact that it exists. Expand
  12. Jun 6, 2012
    2
    An abomination of a video game which triples as both the worst Resident Evil title of all time and the official signature on the contract to Capcom selling out. Slant Six Games (responsible for three Socom games) under publishing of Capcom have decided that it would be wise to discard the intense formula of releases like Resident Evil 4, and the nail biting atmosphere of classics like Resident Evil 2 and replace it with a water downed vibe of Call of Duty and a horrid 3rd person shooter in the vein of Uncharted. The game tries to convince us it will be a trip down memory lane, taking place throughout the events of Resident Evil 2 and 3, both being a beloved time in the series. Our hearts are broken instantly as we discover this game is nothing more than a shooter with zero tension, zero atmosphere, zero scares, zero weight, and zero character. At first glance the concept is great. We play as members of Umbrella this time around, and admits the chaos we try desperately to wash the blood of Raccoon City off our hands with bullets and grenades. Umbrella is out to cover their tracks and along the way you will meet characters and creatures of the series golden age, as well as see the famous story from a new and dark point of view. Sound interesting? Indeed it does, and this is half of what makes the game such a failure. While newer and younger fans of the series may eat this game up as an action title, it is only because they are unaware of what a huge step backwards this game is from any ounce of genius that the series originally had. The story is bland and a down ridiculously written cliched mess with laughable dialogue, dumb witted characters, and any kind of well placed pacing is no where to be found. The environments are boring, the enemies are re hashed countless times and bosses just don't have that final tweak that made them icons once upon a time. Aside from the problems Slant Six made to the series and genre, problems are littered within the gameplay as well. The cover system is a joke and often can simply not be relied on. It is very inconstant as their is no button command to enter it, instead just running towards an object throws you into cover rather its what you wanted or not. AI is non existent, enemies will poke their head out right into fire, they will dive into live grenades, and creatures will sometimes attack you and then run from you for no reason whatsoever causing you to chase them down. How can you fear lickers and hunters when your doing the chasing? Enemy killing is very frustrating, some enemies go out in one hit, while others are sponges soaking up twenty bullets or more easily. The game pretends to be co op but honestly with such bad team AI you almost have no choice but to play online with someone. This game feels as if it was meant for online play but suffers there as well. Its Call of Duty formula falls flat on its face due to the fact that the controls are so messy and the level up system is so dirt simple and quick that there is no feeling of reward. You are able to choose which Umbrella member you wish to play as between each mission, but it doesn't matter as each play exactly the same. The only difference being the range of their weapon, which some register completely useless. Raccoon City gets nothing correct in its delivery, and even manages to feel unfinished upon completion. It is an obvious quicky cash in from top to bottom and provides nothing fresh to Resident Evil or the genre of shooters. If you can remember games like Resident Evil: Dead Aim that you may find it laughable to know that it actually out shines this one, and if I had to recommend this game to any kind of player I dont think I could. Its too frustrating for casual players, and too down right bland for hardcore gamers, and just simply too out of sync with the franchise to interest fans. So I guess if I was forced to recommend this it would be to annoyance tolerating non Resident Evil fan gamers. The nostalgia we were promised is not here, the return of horror is not here, the return of icons like Nemesis fall flat on its face and is topped off with the destruction of even the series most likeable characters such as Leon Kennedy. If they were trying to piss off fans this product could be unchanged and do a great job at just that. As Umbrella tries to burn the evidence linking them to the T-Virus outbreak, Capcom should be out there burning all evidence showing that they were behind this game in any way. Expand
  13. May 21, 2012
    0
    First of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank as garbage. Here are a few of its many, many problems: 1) the controls, they dont work. 2) your AI squad mates are useless, they do absolutely nothing but run around in circles. 3) The enemy AI is either brain dead easy or kills you in one shot. 4) the graphics are glitchy and framerate stutters constantly 5) your character "sticks" to the wall constantly, which sucks when your in a gunfight. I am 42 years old and have been playing FPS for over 20 years and I honestly cant remember ever playing a game as bad as this. It is broken and the minor 160 MB update Capcom released did nothing to help. This is just horrible, awful, junk. Dont buy it. Expand
  14. May 13, 2012
    3
    The only thing more horrifying than a horde of zombies chasing you is that gameplay mechanics for this game. The storyline has a lot of potential, but the gameplay just does not follow through
  15. May 5, 2012
    0
    Nota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo não possui um polimento adequado e é curto. Há elementos que devem agradar, principalmente o cooperativo e a própria jogabilidade, que fornece todas as opções que a pessoa busca em um shooter (cover, melee, etc). Há alguns problemas como a ausência de uma virada 180º de forma simples ou o combate corpo-a-corpo ser um tanto quanto estranho quando são dois jogadores se enfrentando. Mas são problemas mínimos. Expand
  16. Apr 29, 2012
    4
    Resident evil- raccoon city review (no spoilers)
    well first off i have only put a few hours into raccoon city and i already have an idea of how bad this game is and a reason or two to why it messed up. Capcom have created some of the best games in the past decade, the resident evil games, dead rising, street fighter and so on, but recently they've become lazy like turning resident evil's
    genre and by making raccoon city. I hope raccoon city is only this bad because the made it just to calm down the people waiting for the new resi evil. Anyway on to my review.

    the graphics are quite good, not once has the screen rate dropped or areas gone all fuzzy, and to be honest thats the only good i can draw from the game. Also one of the characters, bertha, is constantly healing you because shes the medic but she heals no one else which is stupid.

    Now to the bad sides, i dont know if its because if using the hardest difficulty but it can take anywhere from just under one mag to 3 magazines to kill an enemy. once i was shooting at an enemy missing an arm and it took two mags. the games engine cant take much, you cant go into cover while reloading and theres no need for cover and you can still be shot while in cover. grenades bare effect the enemies and it feels like its trying to focus you on the story, which isnt that good anyway, because the main game play is moving from one firefight to another. and finnaly the ai is the worst, they will walk up right next to the enemy and get loaded with bullets and are constantly dieing, they also get in your way, some times in the middle of a firefight and are really of no help.

    id give this game a 4/10, the box art is good to look at but not worth a buy.
    Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    Slant Six is absolute trash. Nuff said. I lost what little respect I had left for capcom the day i learned they actually decided to let them make the game after their other massive failure.
  18. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    I never thought I'd find a RE game worse than RE5 but it seems I finally have.
  19. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    Resident Evil Operation Racoon City had a lot of things going for it, a series with a rich history to it, a great reputation, and the guys who made Soccom working on it. So what the hell happened? The one positive thing that I can say about this game is what was advertised on the back of the box: You get to play as Umbrella. Everything else about the game is honestly quite bad. The graphics look like early 2000 to 2001. They are embarassingly bad. When I was in the hospital level, I thought it was a joke! The zombies all look the same, and there are only like 5 types: cops, teens, the redneck fattie, the soldiers, and the homeless dudes. But games graphics aren't everything right? What about gameplay? Well, that is surprisingly the worst part. No matter how much I tweaked the settings on the menu, the aiming still felt way off. It seems like the bullets hit everything except what you were aiming at! In true stupidy, the creators didn't go for a good button-based cover system like in the far superior Gears Of Wars games, as soon as you walk up to any type of object, you take cover. Say you're fighting dozens of zombies and you walk up to a barrel, you're going to take cover 90% of the time and likely get devoured. Your a.i teamates are horrendiously bad, so many times they walked right into my bullets. But the a.i for the enemy is so damn cheap, they will run up to you, knife you a bunch of times, back up, then shoot you. And when they don't do that, they stand out in the open as you put thousands of bullets in them. Speaking of the guns, they all suck. Enemies take so many bullets, you sometimes wonder if you're even hurting them! At times, its not clear where you're supposed to go. In one section, I had literally spent an hour shooting at hunters, thinking that I was making progress whem I realized I was supposed to run past them all! All because they didn't explain what the hell I was supposed to do! The characters are forgettable, the story is lame and chiched, and the idea that you can change RE history is all a lie, you're only given one choice where you can change the history and it ends up being lame as hell. The multiplayer is nothing different than the other billion shooters out there on the market.Add that with a bunch of bugs and you've got one mess of a video game. All in all, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is the worst Resident Evil game to date. Casual gamers are going to hate how bad it controls and how boeing it is, and die-hard Resident Evil fans are going to hate that it isn't scary, intense, or even made by Capcom. This is one trip to Racoon City, you do not want to take. Expand
  20. Apr 17, 2012
    0
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City [the junk game] 2012
    is not Resident Evil and not game and not any thing
    this game is bad away to be game !!!!
  21. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    Dont get me started on this game why was slant 6 took this project on they killed resident evil game they try to utlize the resident evil 4 & 5 type of game play with socom and screwed this game. Trust me this game wont be any good if they took all best game screw over them.
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    just.. just do yourself a favour.. Wait for RE6 if you want to experience the real resident evil game (which we hope it'll be good).. I even purposely created an account just to point how awful this game is
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I was motivated at first, the idea sounded fun enough to buy the game, but then i felt totally cheated, maybe because i never thought that capcom would share the franchise with a western developer, i was surprised when the game started and the Slant Six logo came up, i went straight to the box and i wasn't able to find that logo on the box, I did a little research and found out that those guys were responsible for Socom Confrontation (not the best shooter i have played), but i went on and started the game...
    Everything felt wrong since the beginning, i was SURE that i was aiming to the head, but the enemy took from 4 to 6 shots to go down, the graphics were fair, but the mechanics felt broken, the game feels incomplete, the difficulty curve is not rational at all, meaning that it feels too easy at times but suddenly you are surrounded, your team is dead and so are you in no time.
    In my Opinion that game should have needed the following things to be considered for purchase:
    A couple more years of development
    Any studio but Slant Six
    At least 3 more zombie masks (with the 4 it has, it feels like we're killing clones instead of zombies)
    This year to be 2006, maybe at that time, with the ps3 just out in the market, this game could have had a chance to score.
    Please,... stay away from this game, and if you already made the mistake of purchasing it (like me) get rid of it as soon as possible, before everyone finds out how bad it is.
    Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    RE:ORC is a Tactical cooperative 3rd person shooter created by Slant Six Games and was pushed by Capukom. Most reviews by users that I currently have been seeing are rating this game based off of the multi-player aspect alone and disregarding that it even contains "Resident Evil" in the title. I played this game most of the night and mid-day today. The game strays far far away from the RE franchise giving the user a more fast pace action game play instead of its usual slow paced survival horror. This game brought alot of good ideas to the table but falls short on almost everyone of those ideas. Controls are sluggish, AI are as dumb as ever, enemies can eat rounds and rounds of clips and stay alive and poor level design. The character selection is a group of forgettable characters with barely any back story to keep you engaged. Online multi-player is completely laggy at best, also during the versus section besides the TDM style game play you also are faced with AI enemies that attack you during your skirmish with real players. Playing campaign with friends is a bit fun but tends to becoming boring after awhile and the supposed replay factor of trying to unlock everything is disappointing as once unlocking the best gun in the game everything else just seems pointless. As of some other reviews saying "Taking the RE franchise back to the old school days" must have not been around when RE 1-3 where released as this game plays no where near any type of RE game I have ever played besides 5 which is still a ton better then this. This game should not hold the title "Resident Evil" if it does not want to be compared to its predecessors and should be based on Single Player as well as multi-player as I did not spend $65 for a multi-player only game. This game deserves the low scores that it is receiving from pro-reviewing sites and any score above a 5 is a lie. Stay away from this game unless you receive it for free or rented it, not worth its current price tag. Expand
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  26. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I would hold my breath till Resident Evil 6, this is crap to be honest, i do not understand the rest of the reviews, must be both blind, deaf and numb people.
  27. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now: Resident Evil Revelations. Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    A clone of SOCOM with the ambience of Resident Evil. A short campaign and repetitive .. Capcom just think out and withdraw money from their big franchises .. and without the DLC yet to come ...
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Resident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or the monster is unaffected by bullets which is kind of strange considering I've loaded a lot of bullets onto this particular monster. The AI is just a disaster, they don't cooperate at all and have a mind of their own. The environments are some of the most bland I've seen in a game which is quite sad. Your in industrial settings throughout the entire game. Also the story is just laugh out loud bad with cheesy characters (with terrible lines) that aren't memorable. All in all this is just a disappointment for the resident evil franchise which I thought couldn't possibly get more worse. I'm sure this game will ONLY please the ADD gamers who like mindless shooting over story and creativeness. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]