Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PlayStation 3

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 225
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day withI'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now: Resident Evil Revelations. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    I am a huge Resident Evil fan and like many others was surprised at the negative reviews for this game. Now that I have played the game I can say that the critics were wrong. The game isn't just bad it's absolutely dreadful. Firstly, the campaign was one of the worst I have ever played due to braindead AI, bland atmosphere, and a terrible "story". One of my biggest complaints is thatI am a huge Resident Evil fan and like many others was surprised at the negative reviews for this game. Now that I have played the game I can say that the critics were wrong. The game isn't just bad it's absolutely dreadful. Firstly, the campaign was one of the worst I have ever played due to braindead AI, bland atmosphere, and a terrible "story". One of my biggest complaints is that sometimes enemies will take an entire clip to go down but another time it may only take a bullet. The multiplayer feels like a beta for an unfinished product that doesn't exist. Sure there are unlockables but the complete abscence of any customization options keep you wanting more to compensate for the already bland multiplayer experience. This isn't even worthy of the Resident Evil title because the scariest thing about this game is the fact that it exists. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2012
    4
    It is always disappointing when a game with such an amazing concept falls so short of its potential. The idea of being able to see a video game classic from the opposite side of the fence instantly filled me with excitement. What I actually ended up with was a game that felt largely unfinished. The various classes felt like they had very little diversity. Gameplay felt repetitive afterIt is always disappointing when a game with such an amazing concept falls so short of its potential. The idea of being able to see a video game classic from the opposite side of the fence instantly filled me with excitement. What I actually ended up with was a game that felt largely unfinished. The various classes felt like they had very little diversity. Gameplay felt repetitive after only about two hours. The co-op was a welcome addition, but only made a small dent in the unreliable gunplay and melee mechanics. Many bosses were almost insurmountable in difficulty, even at the lower levels, and none of the enemies required more than a "shoot until it's dead" mentality. Overall, fans of he series will appreciate the story and perspective, but that is pretty much where the appeal of this game ends. Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    0
    Slant Six is absolute trash. Nuff said. I lost what little respect I had left for capcom the day i learned they actually decided to let them make the game after their other massive failure.
  5. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Resident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the facelessResident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the faceless characters you play as sound like they are choking on a something huge and the characters don't have diversity other than the masks they wear they are nothing really special. Now the whole game is bugged i found my self in a middle in a fire fight my gun turning upside town and my character glitches most of the time. The a.i is stupid literally they walk right in to mines and don't really gel you ever they are there to look pretty, also the enemy a.i is dumb even on hard difficulty i found zombies walking around when clearly i am moving around them in circles and the spec ops soldiers just stay in cover all the time. If you think multiplayer is gonna save this game then you're wrong the same problems occur in mutiplayer even though they are some pretty cool game modes like heroes it got me only playing for a few minutes. If you want to get a cool resident evil game buy resident evil 4 or 5 maybe even 6 and newcomers don't start your resident evil experience with this game it is not worth your time Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    Dont get me started on this game why was slant 6 took this project on they killed resident evil game they try to utlize the resident evil 4 & 5 type of game play with socom and screwed this game. Trust me this game wont be any good if they took all best game screw over them.
  7. Dec 2, 2015
    2
    Operation Raccoon City é aquele game que você paga um preço de banana e acha caro, vale bem se encontrá-lo de graça. É difícil achar algo de bom neste jogo, a IA beira a babaquice, os inimigos são esponjas, sua munição acaba em segundos, mesmo tendo tantas espalhadas pelo cenário. Os hunters simplesmente te cercam e não deixam você levantar mais. O Cover é ridículo e impreciso. Jogar emOperation Raccoon City é aquele game que você paga um preço de banana e acha caro, vale bem se encontrá-lo de graça. É difícil achar algo de bom neste jogo, a IA beira a babaquice, os inimigos são esponjas, sua munição acaba em segundos, mesmo tendo tantas espalhadas pelo cenário. Os hunters simplesmente te cercam e não deixam você levantar mais. O Cover é ridículo e impreciso. Jogar em Co-op melhora levemente as coisas, mesmo assim pode ter certeza que inúmeros bugs ocorrerão e te frustarão. Os modos extras são divertidos só no primeiro dia e só. Uma palavra que define tudo isso é Trágico! Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Overall I've got to say I've been liking the game. It's not particularly amazing, but it is fun. My only complaint is having trouble getting into matches with other people and in versus modes I tend to glitch pretty often. Even with these issues though, I find it enjoyable to play. I do wish we could learn more about all the characters in it though, it feels like they received moreOverall I've got to say I've been liking the game. It's not particularly amazing, but it is fun. My only complaint is having trouble getting into matches with other people and in versus modes I tend to glitch pretty often. Even with these issues though, I find it enjoyable to play. I do wish we could learn more about all the characters in it though, it feels like they received more fleshing out in the commercials than they did in the game itself. We learned nothing about the Spec Ops team in game. Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad AI............................. Now lets just think for a second..... THIS GAME IS A MULTI-PLAYER GAME. Why should the developers waste there time perfecting the AI when it is more then likely that there will be 4 humans playing. POINTLESS?!?
    2. The Story? once again it is a multi-player game. Why would u want a heavy storyline with long cutscenes in a game that would most likely have 4 people sitting there pressing the skip button as quick as they can? 3.The difficulty- i would say the difficulty is equal to that of resident evil 5 times 2. There are just more enemys with guns and it is easy to get overwhelmed , but your not alone anymore. The difficulty is beautiful, there is nothing more rewarding then having 3 friends with you having swarms of zombies running at you, your ammo running out. some one getting infected and having to turn on your team mates and as the number of zombies reach a lower number you start brutally melee killing them all one by one. This is very very satisfying, trust me.
    4.No charter development- if they brought six new charters in with bright personality's it would become stupidly confusing and rather annoying quite fast. These charters suit there roles. They are the best of the best, the elites that work by code names and everything is strictly business . I have come to see personality's in the charters depending on who i'm playing with. I have a wise cracking snipper and a sassy medic . This lack of charter development has allowed me to see the people im actually playing with rather then some cliche' personality.

    i assume i'm coming cross as rather a fan boy, and let me assure you that is not true. i only joined the resident evil bandwagon at number 4 and i thought number 5 was pretty tacky. there are a few problems wrong with the game but no more then a lot of games that receive great reviews. I am amazed that this game isn't getting fair 8's all round as it is a great game that is really fun and i haven't even mentioned the addicting leveling system. i would ignore the reviews you read from critics and just think about what bothers you. will bad story line bother you while 3 of you are talking over the top of it ? will bad AI effect your gaming when u have 3 humans playing with you, not coms. will the difficulty get too much for you or do u have some balls hahahha.

    Enjoy
    Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    RE:ORC is a Tactical cooperative 3rd person shooter created by Slant Six Games and was pushed by Capukom. Most reviews by users that I currently have been seeing are rating this game based off of the multi-player aspect alone and disregarding that it even contains "Resident Evil" in the title. I played this game most of the night and mid-day today. The game strays far far away from the RERE:ORC is a Tactical cooperative 3rd person shooter created by Slant Six Games and was pushed by Capukom. Most reviews by users that I currently have been seeing are rating this game based off of the multi-player aspect alone and disregarding that it even contains "Resident Evil" in the title. I played this game most of the night and mid-day today. The game strays far far away from the RE franchise giving the user a more fast pace action game play instead of its usual slow paced survival horror. This game brought alot of good ideas to the table but falls short on almost everyone of those ideas. Controls are sluggish, AI are as dumb as ever, enemies can eat rounds and rounds of clips and stay alive and poor level design. The character selection is a group of forgettable characters with barely any back story to keep you engaged. Online multi-player is completely laggy at best, also during the versus section besides the TDM style game play you also are faced with AI enemies that attack you during your skirmish with real players. Playing campaign with friends is a bit fun but tends to becoming boring after awhile and the supposed replay factor of trying to unlock everything is disappointing as once unlocking the best gun in the game everything else just seems pointless. As of some other reviews saying "Taking the RE franchise back to the old school days" must have not been around when RE 1-3 where released as this game plays no where near any type of RE game I have ever played besides 5 which is still a ton better then this. This game should not hold the title "Resident Evil" if it does not want to be compared to its predecessors and should be based on Single Player as well as multi-player as I did not spend $65 for a multi-player only game. This game deserves the low scores that it is receiving from pro-reviewing sites and any score above a 5 is a lie. Stay away from this game unless you receive it for free or rented it, not worth its current price tag. Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reasonWhat happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    A clone of SOCOM with the ambience of Resident Evil. A short campaign and repetitive .. Capcom just think out and withdraw money from their big franchises .. and without the DLC yet to come ...
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I would hold my breath till Resident Evil 6, this is crap to be honest, i do not understand the rest of the reviews, must be both blind, deaf and numb people.
  14. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    I never thought I'd find a RE game worse than RE5 but it seems I finally have.
  15. Apr 17, 2012
    0
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City [the junk game] 2012
    is not Resident Evil and not game and not any thing
    this game is bad away to be game !!!!
  16. May 5, 2012
    0
    Nota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo não possui um polimento adequado e é curto. Há elementos que devem agradar, principalmente o cooperativo e a própria jogabilidade, que fornece todas as opções que a pessoa busca em um shooterNota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo não possui um polimento adequado e é curto. Há elementos que devem agradar, principalmente o cooperativo e a própria jogabilidade, que fornece todas as opções que a pessoa busca em um shooter (cover, melee, etc). Há alguns problemas como a ausência de uma virada 180º de forma simples ou o combate corpo-a-corpo ser um tanto quanto estranho quando são dois jogadores se enfrentando. Mas são problemas mínimos. Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I've seen a lot of reviewers be too harsh on this game. I actually love the new resident evil. It's a fun squad shooter with a bit of extra stuff thrown in, like the new side arm mechanics. The game play is really fun and interesting, with a kind of Left 4 Dead feel, has some really good "Edge of your seat" moments. It's a new concept with a good pull off, people just hate change.
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    just.. just do yourself a favour.. Wait for RE6 if you want to experience the real resident evil game (which we hope it'll be good).. I even purposely created an account just to point how awful this game is
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculouslyI pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculously good and they aren't just idiots running around randomly. The teammate A.I. is better then people seem to give credit, my friend and I role with Vector and Bertha and they both do a great job of executing what they need to. Sure, sometimes they walk straight past an enemy but that just makes you laugh. People need to just go into this game looking for fun and not a die hard Resident Evil experience. I really enjoy playing this game. Expand
  20. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 deadI bought this game excited with no knowledge of the bad reviews it had via various sites & surprisingly loved the crap out of it.I was a bit puzzled to find that critics wrote fairly bad reviews on this game because the flaws that were mentioned were minuscule at best & the reviews were over exaggerated.At its core, Resident Evil Operation Racoon City is a pure mash up of Socom+Left 4 dead & Re mercenaries set within the universe of Re 2 & 3.You can either play the campaign by yourself offline or play online via the campaign or verses matches which have similar modes to that of capture the flag, team deathwatch, survival mode etc.The most notable thing is that while all this is happening tons of zombies, lickers,tyrants & hunters are running around attacking everyone in various places(imagine playing cod nazi zombies in 3rd person but still having to battle the opposing teams etc.The story mode is decent & at most beatable in a few hours to one day but thats not an issue as you should go into this game knowing was built to be more multiplayer resident evil game than a single player re like revelations or re 5 & 6.Besides if you've already played Resident evil 2 & 3 you already know that story & in this game the story is looked at from a different pov.You play 1 of four members of an elite team which have there own backgrounds, special upgradable weapons & abilities that are sent to help Hunk cover up any evidence that links umbrella to the outbreak. Initially you make or break the various events that happened in re 2 & 3 so you do things like help program nemesis to go after the stars team etc. Honestly if you buy & play this game with the mind set of knowing what its meant for than you will be more than happy.Further more we get to finally play a new resident evil game with zombies back in the mix, how could anyone complain about that.Bottom line don't listen to any of the bad reviews out there as you will regret it when you end up playing it later and didn't get in on the secret hype from those who took the risk and went with there gut. Expand
  21. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The reviews for this are terrible, but I'm not convinced they're deserved. This game has it's failings, but the experience for me has been pretty fun thus far. Yes, the AI is terrible and the single player mode is awful. However, the multiplayer is incredibly fun once you get acquainted with the various modes and play styles. People on the fence should give it a try for themselvesThe reviews for this are terrible, but I'm not convinced they're deserved. This game has it's failings, but the experience for me has been pretty fun thus far. Yes, the AI is terrible and the single player mode is awful. However, the multiplayer is incredibly fun once you get acquainted with the various modes and play styles. People on the fence should give it a try for themselves before passing judgement. Expand
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the bestI was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This game is Killer, in more ways than one. I can understand some peopleâ
  24. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed the game, especially the co-op. I found that if you have auto-cover issues the problem is not with the game...it is an easy feature to get the hang of. I had no clipping issues or glitches that inhibit game play; just wished the story was longer. Faults would have to be shortness of story and clunky control scheme. 8 overall for story, graphics sound and well done multiplayer.
  25. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    this game is the best zombie game that is ever going to come out it is going original back to the old zombies and the nemisis is back you will love this game its cool but shoot them in the brain
  26. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Resident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or theResident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or the monster is unaffected by bullets which is kind of strange considering I've loaded a lot of bullets onto this particular monster. The AI is just a disaster, they don't cooperate at all and have a mind of their own. The environments are some of the most bland I've seen in a game which is quite sad. Your in industrial settings throughout the entire game. Also the story is just laugh out loud bad with cheesy characters (with terrible lines) that aren't memorable. All in all this is just a disappointment for the resident evil franchise which I thought couldn't possibly get more worse. I'm sure this game will ONLY please the ADD gamers who like mindless shooting over story and creativeness. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I was motivated at first, the idea sounded fun enough to buy the game, but then i felt totally cheated, maybe because i never thought that capcom would share the franchise with a western developer, i was surprised when the game started and the Slant Six logo came up, i went straight to the box and i wasn't able to find that logo on the box, I did a little research and found out that thoseI was motivated at first, the idea sounded fun enough to buy the game, but then i felt totally cheated, maybe because i never thought that capcom would share the franchise with a western developer, i was surprised when the game started and the Slant Six logo came up, i went straight to the box and i wasn't able to find that logo on the box, I did a little research and found out that those guys were responsible for Socom Confrontation (not the best shooter i have played), but i went on and started the game...
    Everything felt wrong since the beginning, i was SURE that i was aiming to the head, but the enemy took from 4 to 6 shots to go down, the graphics were fair, but the mechanics felt broken, the game feels incomplete, the difficulty curve is not rational at all, meaning that it feels too easy at times but suddenly you are surrounded, your team is dead and so are you in no time.
    In my Opinion that game should have needed the following things to be considered for purchase:
    A couple more years of development
    Any studio but Slant Six
    At least 3 more zombie masks (with the 4 it has, it feels like we're killing clones instead of zombies)
    This year to be 2006, maybe at that time, with the ps3 just out in the market, this game could have had a chance to score.
    Please,... stay away from this game, and if you already made the mistake of purchasing it (like me) get rid of it as soon as possible, before everyone finds out how bad it is.
    Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    ORC is not as bad as alot of the unforgiving reviews it's getting. The game does have some flaws, but there is enjoyment to be had here. I would agree with some of the negative things said about this game (such as cover system bugs, bland environments) but I still have enjoy the game nonetheless. It has a budget feel to it, and this will anger the hardcore RE fans. If you enjoy gamesORC is not as bad as alot of the unforgiving reviews it's getting. The game does have some flaws, but there is enjoyment to be had here. I would agree with some of the negative things said about this game (such as cover system bugs, bland environments) but I still have enjoy the game nonetheless. It has a budget feel to it, and this will anger the hardcore RE fans. If you enjoy games such as Left4Dead and EDF, this one is in that ballpark. If you open this game expecting it to be as polished as RE5 (like those of you who scored it 0) you will be in for a letdown. While there are better multiplayer games out there, this one is still fun with friends. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Dont READ ALL THOSE BADE CRITICS , i found the game very fun, and that why we play videogames, to have fun, killing zombies with socom control is really cool, sure the atmosphere ,the graphic, the sound isnt that hot, and sure it doesnt worth 60$ but i gave this game a 10 because of the fun and online play.
  30. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    nice game they polished it very well game play is awesome its got a nice feel to it not really a big fan of the newer resident evil games but since they took it back to the old school i thought id give it a try and i was not disappointed
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Play UK
    Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]