Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PlayStation 3

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak andIt is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak and eliminate any survivors. Meanwhile, the US Government has quarantined the city and dispatched its own team of elite soldiers to determine the source of the mysterious outbreak. You are an Umbrella Security Services soldier (U.S.S.), competing alone or in up to four player co-op in a battle against all the competing forces at play in Raccoon City. Expect the return of original Resident Evil enemies, iconic landmarks such as the Raccoon City Police Department and fan favourite characters, including Leon S. Kennedy, who, as a rookie police officer in Raccoon City, is on your hit list to eliminate. Three Corner Conflict: Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W) and zombies create an unpredictable third force and additional challenge on the battlefield, adding chaos to the shooter game play. Campaign Mode - both single player and up to 4 player co-op: You are part of the Umbrella Security Service. Protect the truth behind the T-Virus outbreak by any means necessary. Fight Online: Robust and fully featured online multiplayer modes. Define your Play Style: Gain new abilities and skills unique to your playable character as your experience level increases. International Team Development: a high quality, fully loaded, third person co-op / multiplayer shooter developed in collaboration between Capcom Japan development studios and an experienced Western multiplayer specialist studio. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Slant Six
  • Genre(s): Shooter, Sci-Fi, Action, Action Adventure, Horror, Horror, Shooter, Third-Person, Arcade
  • # of players: 1-8
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Raccoon City isn't the sort of game that will win awards – it's too rough around the edges in certain respects – and it's important to bear in mind that it's best experienced multiplayer rather than solo. But it's great fun and adds a fresh spin to a key time and place in the Resident Evil universe. It will bring a smile, in particular, to those who remember Resident Evils 2 and 3 with fondness.
  2. For the large part, whether offline or on, Operation RC manages to successfully inject old skool Resi charm into an enjoyably frenetic shooter. If the idea of battling rooms full of stretchy-tongued monstrosities with athletic controls in iconic surroundings has your Umbrella sense tingling, this is well worth a look.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    65
    This game is a decent TPS if played online. It lacks quality though, and the terrible AI makes the singleplayer campaign a real torture. Play it with friends, it's really the only way to enjoy it.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    50
    Unless you're going to play with others, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City isn't worth your time. Single player is infected with poor artificial intelligence, lack of useful feedback and abusive enemies. Rope in a couple of friends - or open your game up for anybody to join - and ORC improves, still beholden to many of its problems but better for the replacement of its inadequate AI with human players to help deal with its viruses.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    45
    A frighteningly flawed action-heavy spin-off that withers in the shadow of its superior alternatives.
  6. 40
    The chance to see the city from a new perspective is ruined by terrible AI, a wonky cover-system, a distinct lack of memorable moments, and a very short story.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    Occasional flashes of mediocrity are as good as this lacklustre shooter gets, in a tedious jamboree of technical ineptitude and bland co-op action.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 88
  2. Negative: 36 out of 88
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review byI was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    love this game,is very fun...dont understand the negativelove this game,is very fun...dont understand the negative reviews...................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This game is Killer, in more ways than one. I can understand some peopleâ
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I'm an avid RE fan. When I got word that Capcom was making a CO-OP based game, I was somewhat excited. Going back to the PS2 days, does anyoneI'm an avid RE fan. When I got word that Capcom was making a CO-OP based game, I was somewhat excited. Going back to the PS2 days, does anyone remember "RE: Outbreak and RE: Outbreak Files 2?" Yeah. That was groundbreaking but when you aren't able to converse with your teammates but only through select commands, it was doomed from the start. Don't get me wrong, It was interesting to play as different characters rather than the usual ones we know.

    Operation Raccoon City is okay.

    Controls are good. However, the A.I. is garbage. For example, I dropped down below with one of the NPC's but the other two were down. There was no way for me to go back up and revive them. THUS, I had to start over and make sure they come down with me. The A.I. gets on my nerves. They tend to bunch up in the hallway and for them to protect me isn't as concise. It's glitchy here and there. Sadly, if a enemy knocks me down, I stay down. It just keeps attacking me without giving me a chance to get back up. If your a fan of the series, this game will appeal to you because of its surroundings from the previous RE titles. To this day, I still play RE2. Hands down one of the best in its class. They should remake that game!
    Expand
  5. May 22, 2017
    4
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is simply a bad Resident Evil spin-off. Operation Raccoon City had some cool ideas and I honestly hadResident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is simply a bad Resident Evil spin-off. Operation Raccoon City had some cool ideas and I honestly had some fun with the game when it came out, but that does not make a good game. I loved the idea of playing as Umbrella agents during the events of Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil 3: Nemesis. That concept sounds great for a co-op Resident Evil title, but it was poorly executed. The gameplay just feels off, the game does not look good, and the story messes with the events of previous games, which means that this game is not canon to the storyline. If you’re a Resident Evil fan, just avoid this game unless you’re curious and can find it for a few dollars. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Resident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives workingResident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the faceless characters you play as sound like they are choking on a something huge and the characters don't have diversity other than the masks they wear they are nothing really special. Now the whole game is bugged i found my self in a middle in a fire fight my gun turning upside town and my character glitches most of the time. The a.i is stupid literally they walk right in to mines and don't really gel you ever they are there to look pretty, also the enemy a.i is dumb even on hard difficulty i found zombies walking around when clearly i am moving around them in circles and the spec ops soldiers just stay in cover all the time. If you think multiplayer is gonna save this game then you're wrong the same problems occur in mutiplayer even though they are some pretty cool game modes like heroes it got me only playing for a few minutes. If you want to get a cool resident evil game buy resident evil 4 or 5 maybe even 6 and newcomers don't start your resident evil experience with this game it is not worth your time Expand
  7. May 21, 2012
    0
    First of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank asFirst of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank as garbage. Here are a few of its many, many problems: 1) the controls, they dont work. 2) your AI squad mates are useless, they do absolutely nothing but run around in circles. 3) The enemy AI is either brain dead easy or kills you in one shot. 4) the graphics are glitchy and framerate stutters constantly 5) your character "sticks" to the wall constantly, which sucks when your in a gunfight. I am 42 years old and have been playing FPS for over 20 years and I honestly cant remember ever playing a game as bad as this. It is broken and the minor 160 MB update Capcom released did nothing to help. This is just horrible, awful, junk. Dont buy it. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews