Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak andIt is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak and eliminate any survivors. Meanwhile, the US Government has quarantined the city and dispatched its own team of elite soldiers to determine the source of the mysterious outbreak. You are an Umbrella Security Services soldier (U.S.S.), competing alone or in up to four player co-op in a battle against all the competing forces at play in Raccoon City. Expect the return of original Resident Evil enemies, iconic landmarks such as the Raccoon City Police Department and fan favourite characters, including Leon S. Kennedy, who, as a rookie police officer in Raccoon City, is on your hit list to eliminate. Three Corner Conflict: Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W) and zombies create an unpredictable third force and additional challenge on the battlefield, adding chaos to the shooter game play. Campaign Mode - both single player and up to 4 player co-op: You are part of the Umbrella Security Service. Protect the truth behind the T-Virus outbreak by any means necessary. Fight Online: Robust and fully featured online multiplayer modes. Define your Play Style: Gain new abilities and skills unique to your playable character as your experience level increases. International Team Development: a high quality, fully loaded, third person co-op / multiplayer shooter developed in collaboration between Capcom Japan development studios and an experienced Western multiplayer specialist studio. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Raccoon City isn't the sort of game that will win awards – it's too rough around the edges in certain respects – and it's important to bear in mind that it's best experienced multiplayer rather than solo. But it's great fun and adds a fresh spin to a key time and place in the Resident Evil universe. It will bring a smile, in particular, to those who remember Resident Evils 2 and 3 with fondness.
  2. For the large part, whether offline or on, Operation RC manages to successfully inject old skool Resi charm into an enjoyably frenetic shooter. If the idea of battling rooms full of stretchy-tongued monstrosities with athletic controls in iconic surroundings has your Umbrella sense tingling, this is well worth a look.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    65
    This game is a decent TPS if played online. It lacks quality though, and the terrible AI makes the singleplayer campaign a real torture. Play it with friends, it's really the only way to enjoy it.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    50
    Unless you're going to play with others, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City isn't worth your time. Single player is infected with poor artificial intelligence, lack of useful feedback and abusive enemies. Rope in a couple of friends - or open your game up for anybody to join - and ORC improves, still beholden to many of its problems but better for the replacement of its inadequate AI with human players to help deal with its viruses.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    45
    A frighteningly flawed action-heavy spin-off that withers in the shadow of its superior alternatives.
  6. 40
    The chance to see the city from a new perspective is ruined by terrible AI, a wonky cover-system, a distinct lack of memorable moments, and a very short story.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    Occasional flashes of mediocrity are as good as this lacklustre shooter gets, in a tedious jamboree of technical ineptitude and bland co-op action.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 82
  2. Negative: 33 out of 82
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review byI was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    There's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun withThere's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for the characters they introduced, but aside from that, I would say rent it. It offers the old RE feel into its atmosphere and combines it with a frantic third person shooter. You guys are like SH fans, too stubborn to really enjoy anything new. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    I pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although itI pre-ordered this game a week before release and after seeing the reviews I was worried that it was going to be a huge let down. Although it wasn't quite the game I imagined it would be, it is still a very solid game. I am playing through on professional with my friend and the A.I. does seem a bit spotty but it is definitely not game breaking. They don't do anything crazy ridiculously good and they aren't just idiots running around randomly. The teammate A.I. is better then people seem to give credit, my friend and I role with Vector and Bertha and they both do a great job of executing what they need to. Sure, sometimes they walk straight past an enemy but that just makes you laugh. People need to just go into this game looking for fun and not a die hard Resident Evil experience. I really enjoy playing this game. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this game greatly sure its not amazing but it is in no way as bad as most reviews have been giving raccoon city. I love the co-opI enjoyed this game greatly sure its not amazing but it is in no way as bad as most reviews have been giving raccoon city. I love the co-op campaign and the multiplayer is very fun sure there are a few little annoying things i have run into, but i can say my friends and I have had a blast with this game and its a keeper! Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game sizeWhat happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2014
    2
    Resident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives workingResident evil operation raccoon city is a total mess and a massive disappointment. The game's story is about some special operatives working for umbrella to try to clean up the mess in raccoon city. Sounds fun right? well no it's not, the story does not drive you forward to do anything and is quite boring. The graphics look like look horrible. The voice acting is okay but the faceless characters you play as sound like they are choking on a something huge and the characters don't have diversity other than the masks they wear they are nothing really special. Now the whole game is bugged i found my self in a middle in a fire fight my gun turning upside town and my character glitches most of the time. The a.i is stupid literally they walk right in to mines and don't really gel you ever they are there to look pretty, also the enemy a.i is dumb even on hard difficulty i found zombies walking around when clearly i am moving around them in circles and the spec ops soldiers just stay in cover all the time. If you think multiplayer is gonna save this game then you're wrong the same problems occur in mutiplayer even though they are some pretty cool game modes like heroes it got me only playing for a few minutes. If you want to get a cool resident evil game buy resident evil 4 or 5 maybe even 6 and newcomers don't start your resident evil experience with this game it is not worth your time Expand
  7. May 5, 2012
    0
    Nota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo nãoNota-se que o projeto poderia ser muito melhor do que ele é. Os problemas são muitos, o jogo não possui um polimento adequado e é curto. Há elementos que devem agradar, principalmente o cooperativo e a própria jogabilidade, que fornece todas as opções que a pessoa busca em um shooter (cover, melee, etc). Há alguns problemas como a ausência de uma virada 180º de forma simples ou o combate corpo-a-corpo ser um tanto quanto estranho quando são dois jogadores se enfrentando. Mas são problemas mínimos. Collapse

See all 82 User Reviews