Resident Evil: Revelations PlayStation 3


Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    A last year's model that's been brushed off, proving that bigger is not always better. This one serves well while waiting for the next "big" Resident Evil title. But if you skip this chapter, you'll feel no remorse. Especially when you think about that wide horizon of zombie games that are much more effective.
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    Revelations is an okay game, but too simple a port from the 3DS game. Game technical it’s one of the greatest horror games of the last years, but that says it all. It has the same defects as the 3DS version and it’s too expensive for that.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    Resident Evil Revelations managed great with its technical limitations and delivered a game more built on atmosphere and tension than on pure action. The story was dull but the adventure still riddled with exciting moments. The 3DS version may still be the better of the two but on console we get both improved graphics and better controls.
  4. games(TM)
    Jun 28, 2013
    This is the best way to experience Revelations, but it's too indecisive about its approach and not nearly polished enough to work its way into the must-play category for entrenched Resi fans. [Issue#136, p.109]
  5. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    Plus,it's got Chris Redfield in it. [Issue#232, p.80]
  6. Hyper Magazine
    Jun 10, 2013
    Careless, clumsy, and ugly as sin, Revelations may have been great on 3DS, but is out of its depth on a home console. [July 2013, p.80]
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    However, while this HD version doesn't offer many valuable improvements over the 3DS version, at its core Resident Evil: Revelations HD has the look and feel of a classic Resident Evil game, which makes it a welcome part of the franchise.
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    Really, the only thing that makes Resident Evil: Revelations notable is the apparent lack of knowledge of what makes a game scary. That’s a charge that couldn’t even be fairly levelled at the current-generation entries into the series but, sadly, it’s one that’s fair to level at Resident Evil: Revelations.
  9. May 27, 2013
    There are some neat moments on offer, and the Raid mode is a surprisingly enjoyable addition, but it’s a largely forgetful title, lost in a sea of much more memorable adventures.
  10. May 23, 2013
    As it currently plays, Resident Evil Revelations on the PS3 plays like an upscaled HD version of a 3DS title. Which it is. For some games, that might be a great thing; for this survival horror experience, it most certainly is not.
  11. May 22, 2013
    Revelations is competent enough to remind you of what Resident Evil can be, even if it doesn't get under your skin the way the best games in the series do.
  12. Like one of nature’s colossal ice cubes trying to crash poor Leo and Kate’s trip, Revelations sadly hits a stumbling block. In one key area, the action has unforgivably regressed from 2005’s Resi 4. Specifically, enemies now barely react to your bullets.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. May 24, 2013
    This game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installmentsThis game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installments in the Resident Evil series witch is very good Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2013
    a step in the right direction, but not quite as good as it could be. i would recommend buying this just to show capcom that we the playersa step in the right direction, but not quite as good as it could be. i would recommend buying this just to show capcom that we the players want survival horror, not half assed action like RE6. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2014
    Revelations was a game I had fairly good expectations for. After hearing that the game is considered a return to Resident Evil's horror roots,Revelations was a game I had fairly good expectations for. After hearing that the game is considered a return to Resident Evil's horror roots, I was expecting another true installment, similar to the lines of Resident Evil 4. Even though this game is fairly good, I can't help but feel the game is not quite as great as I was hoping it would be, and ultimately leaves me with mixed feelings.

    One of the changes to this game is the gameplay. In RE4, 5, and even 6, the gameplay had a strategic tone to it. Shoot a weak spot on the enemy, usually the legs or head, and then perform a devastating melee attack. This strategy and gameplay always felt satisfying, and helped you conserve ammo, which makes me disappointed that it's almost completely gone in Revelations. The option to stun an enemy and perform an melee attack is here, but it's not the same as it was. Unlike past games, the new enemies don't really have any defined weakspot, meaning you'll be shooting your enemy randomly and hopefully get lucky enough to stun the enemy and then close in. However, because you can't adequately plan this out, it's not a strategy you can rely on, and the mindless shooting honestly makes the gameplay less fun. Some enemies - like the sub-bosses - do have that option to do enough damage and close in for a melee attack, but it's ultimately not enough, and feels tacked on in this game.

    The game also ditched the laser sight and went with a cross hair, and I don't mean the one in RE6 (considering that one was terrible). This cross hair is standard and works fine, but I do miss the laser sight being here, but with the strategy gone, I'm questioning whether or not it would make any difference to play the game that way.

    Another annoyance is your inventory. Unlike past games, the amount of ammo you can carry is limited. Instead of taking up more slots, the game straight up limits how much ammo and herbs you can carry. If the limit was fairly reasonable, it'd probably be a good mechanic, but the amount you can carry is limited so severely it's frustrating, especially when you run into those sequences where you find so much ammo, and you can't carry even a third of it. Couple this with the fact that you drain your ammo so quickly when fighting even standard enemies, and you'll think to yourself, "if I could've picked up that ammo earlier this wouldn't be such a big deal." There are items you can pick up later in the story to upgrade your capacity, but without a way to do it by yourself, it ultimately becomes one huge waiting game, and even with the upgrades, the amount you can hold is still relatively small. This game would've benefited so much from the storage system in RE5, which was a great mechanic that we haven't seen since for some odd reason.

    Another thing I have mixed feelings about is the story. The story primarily follows Jill Valentine, but you take control of several other protagonists as well, which would've been a fantastic way to give the story more depth. As we've seen in games like Dead Space: Extraction, multiple view points can really help a story and make it more interesting, but Revelations fails to capture this. Out of all 4 characters, Parker is the only interesting one, with a likable personality. Jill and Chris are only memorable because they're returning characters, and the fourth guy is so boring and insignificant I can't even tell you his name right now, because I don't remember it. This was made worse by the game switching you back to Jill just as you were getting used to the new protagonist.

    Also, a weak point of the story is how this game holds any relevance to the Resident Evil's overall story. The story in this game could've never happened, and it wouldn't have made any real difference to the series as a whole. All major plot points in the story are sealed by the game's end, and the story isn't big enough to make an impact on you, or hold any significance.

    The graphics are definitely one of the better things about this game. The game is a port from the 3DS, but the graphics do hold up as looking pretty nice. It doesn't compare to the PS3's current standards, but it does easily outshine what we saw in the first two years of this console's life cycle in terms of visuals. Animations aren't smooth. Trying to walk in this game will lead to your character constantly jerking, which takes you out of the immersion, especially in the game's more creepy parts, and yes, the game does return to the horror elements that hardcore fans have been begging for, even if it's still not that scary overall.

    The bottom line with this game is that it's an overall good title, but it has some major design decisions that I just don't understand. The lack of strategy in combat makes the overall game less engaging and fun, and the inventory space is frustrating. Hardcore fans should appreciate the return to a more horror based atmosphere, but in the end, it doesn't make up for the flaws this game has.
    Full Review »