Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 20, 2013
    88
    This former 3DS game doesn’t stand toe-to-toe with the best console shooters, but it’s a faithful port. Revelations has a lot to offer fans of the series and players looking for a more evenly paced, thoughtful shooter.
  2. May 22, 2013
    85
    In the end, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the best Resident Evil releases for the home console that offers players around 10 hours of addictive and adrenaline pumping moments in the campaign mode.
  3. May 20, 2013
    83
    One of the most interesting games of the Resident Evil series in this generation. The respect for the origins of the franchise is total, but that does not stop the game from innovating in the interactions. In addition, the atmosphere achieved seduces all lovers of terror, except for enemies who are not charismatic and spoil an overall finish that would have been outstanding. Their adaptation to consoles is remarkable, and the technical aspects are good, despite coming from Nintendo 3DS.
  4. May 22, 2013
    75
    Something was lost in the transition from the 3DS to the couch: despite a very (and a little too much) faithful conversion, Resident Evil Revelations shows drawbacks and missteps that were absent in the stellar, original release.
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    71
    Plus,it's got Chris Redfield in it. [Issue#232, p.80]
  6. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is competent enough to remind you of what Resident Evil can be, even if it doesn't get under your skin the way the best games in the series do.
  7. May 23, 2013
    60
    As it currently plays, Resident Evil Revelations on the PS3 plays like an upscaled HD version of a 3DS title. Which it is. For some games, that might be a great thing; for this survival horror experience, it most certainly is not.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. May 24, 2013
    10
    This game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installmentsThis game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installments in the Resident Evil series witch is very good Collapse
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This game was amazing. Awesome throw back to the original resident evil games. Scary as heck, pls be forewarn play at night with the lightsThis game was amazing. Awesome throw back to the original resident evil games. Scary as heck, pls be forewarn play at night with the lights off at your own discretion. Dodging is made difficult so you cant easy wiggle your way around things. Very eerie sound effects and voices, which suck cuz they are so scary. A++++ game cant wait for the next one. Oh by the way. Jill and Jessica are hot. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed the return to survival horror. I always feel that there should be more zombies in Resident Evil games, but at least the enemiesI enjoyed the return to survival horror. I always feel that there should be more zombies in Resident Evil games, but at least the enemies didn't shoot back. Nit picking, but the costumes kind of suck. Unlockable ninjas and pirates? I always enjoyed the classic outfits the most. Also what the heck is with one pant leg on the Jessica character? I mean you know that you're going into a place with zombie monster things and you choose a strange wet suit with an exposed leg? Last but not least, I never could decide weather I liked weapon customizing or not. RE4, 5 and 6 had it, but it's not so believable that in the given situations that it would be plausible. Charge shots and fantasy illegal custom parts were just dumb. Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    8
    Resident Evil Revelations is an action packed 3rd person shooter just like RE5 and RE6. This adventure is taken place on a boat for most ofResident Evil Revelations is an action packed 3rd person shooter just like RE5 and RE6. This adventure is taken place on a boat for most of the time. A lot of similarities can be taken from previous RE games as stated above. For example, a lot of searching and blasting monster type enemies with multiple characters that you can control. Because this was initially ported on the 3DS there is some negatives on this version. The main frustrating moments for me was, NPC's not helping a whole bunch in combat. It's frustrating when the enemy is clearly pursuing you and ignoring your NPC partner all the time. Other negatives in this version are lack of puzzle solving and graphics are above average. There's only really one type of puzzle in game and it's super easy and takes no time to figure out. While the graphics are not up to standard for 2013 and won't blow you away. But of course you have to take the bad with the good. And the good elements of this game are, story is appealing, great character interactions, cool monsters and game play is easy to get into. I just wish we could see more of the classic RE in this version. With all that said I still recommend this game if your a RE fan. And if your new to the series than I would say give Jill Valentine and Chris Redfield (Legendary Resident Evil Characters) a chance to entertain you for awhile. Long live Resident Evil! Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Anyone care to help out a gamer in need? Lame as it sounds i'm trying to get enough donations to buy a copy of the game!Anyone care to help out a gamer in need? Lame as it sounds i'm trying to get enough donations to buy a copy of the game! http://www.gofundme.com/36elk4 Thought maybe some fellow Resident Evil fans might help out someone desperate to switch over from Resident Evil 6. Hell of a thing being broke...drive a man to do crazy things... Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Un juego que prometía mucho pero que se ha quedado entre aburrido, repetitivo y con una trama que no engancha en absoluto. La verdad es que laUn juego que prometía mucho pero que se ha quedado entre aburrido, repetitivo y con una trama que no engancha en absoluto. La verdad es que la jugabilidad es robótica y dificultosa, los enemigos son idiotas, no hay zombis...tenia posibilidades pero la han cagado, prefiero jugar al Resident Evil 5 o 6 que a este, me ha parecido un paso atrás respecto a la sexta entrega, no lo recomiendo, por cierto...de miedo no tenia nada...jugaba obligado y deseando terminarlo para venderlo y comprarme el The Last Of Us Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    1
    Nothing like the first resident evils

    why oh why are some of you reviewing this game as if its like the first resident evils? No it isn't
    Nothing like the first resident evils

    why oh why are some of you reviewing this game as if its like the first resident evils? No it isn't at all, its still too arcadey and dosen't follow the same framework.

    I really wounder if any of you have ever played the original games and dino crisis 1 and 2.

    This is nothing like it, and closer to resident evil 5 than 1, 2 or 3.

    I still play dino crisis 1 and 2 now and it totally tears this rubbish apart.

    Untill Capcom decide to make resident evil again like the old ones and the remakes on the gamecube, then nothing at all will ever be like the first ones or dino crisis, so don't like ok!!!
    Garbage!
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews