Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 20, 2013
    88
    This former 3DS game doesn’t stand toe-to-toe with the best console shooters, but it’s a faithful port. Revelations has a lot to offer fans of the series and players looking for a more evenly paced, thoughtful shooter.
  2. May 22, 2013
    85
    In the end, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the best Resident Evil releases for the home console that offers players around 10 hours of addictive and adrenaline pumping moments in the campaign mode.
  3. May 20, 2013
    83
    One of the most interesting games of the Resident Evil series in this generation. The respect for the origins of the franchise is total, but that does not stop the game from innovating in the interactions. In addition, the atmosphere achieved seduces all lovers of terror, except for enemies who are not charismatic and spoil an overall finish that would have been outstanding. Their adaptation to consoles is remarkable, and the technical aspects are good, despite coming from Nintendo 3DS.
  4. May 22, 2013
    75
    Something was lost in the transition from the 3DS to the couch: despite a very (and a little too much) faithful conversion, Resident Evil Revelations shows drawbacks and missteps that were absent in the stellar, original release.
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    71
    Plus,it's got Chris Redfield in it. [Issue#232, p.80]
  6. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is competent enough to remind you of what Resident Evil can be, even if it doesn't get under your skin the way the best games in the series do.
  7. May 23, 2013
    60
    As it currently plays, Resident Evil Revelations on the PS3 plays like an upscaled HD version of a 3DS title. Which it is. For some games, that might be a great thing; for this survival horror experience, it most certainly is not.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. May 24, 2013
    10
    This game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installments in the Resident Evil series witch is very good Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    This game was amazing. Awesome throw back to the original resident evil games. Scary as heck, pls be forewarn play at night with the lights off at your own discretion. Dodging is made difficult so you cant easy wiggle your way around things. Very eerie sound effects and voices, which suck cuz they are so scary. A++++ game cant wait for the next one. Oh by the way. Jill and Jessica are hot. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed the return to survival horror. I always feel that there should be more zombies in Resident Evil games, but at least the enemies didn't shoot back. Nit picking, but the costumes kind of suck. Unlockable ninjas and pirates? I always enjoyed the classic outfits the most. Also what the heck is with one pant leg on the Jessica character? I mean you know that you're going into a place with zombie monster things and you choose a strange wet suit with an exposed leg? Last but not least, I never could decide weather I liked weapon customizing or not. RE4, 5 and 6 had it, but it's not so believable that in the given situations that it would be plausible. Charge shots and fantasy illegal custom parts were just dumb. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    Decent game, a lot better than Resident Evil 6. This returns to its horror roots and not just action b.s. This is a step in the right direction for Capcom. Still not the best Resident Evil, that would be Resident Evil Remake. This however is a good attempt at once was the pinnacle of survival horror. The game doesn't have the best graphics, but this is understandable considering it was ported from the 3DS. The monsters in this game were okay, nothing too impressive and the sound was a little weird as well with this game. I also didn't like the scanning tool because I just think of it as a waste of time that was just implemented to make the game longer, there was no need for that. Still good job Capcom, a lot better than Resident Evil 6 which was not even a survival horror. Decent game, nice job. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    Anyone care to help out a gamer in need? Lame as it sounds i'm trying to get enough donations to buy a copy of the game! http://www.gofundme.com/36elk4 Thought maybe some fellow Resident Evil fans might help out someone desperate to switch over from Resident Evil 6. Hell of a thing being broke...drive a man to do crazy things... Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Good port of the 3DS masterpiece. I still think that they should have permanently removed the move and shoot option and stuck with the traditional RE4 style of gameplay. I think that some of the graphics could have been worked on more. There are some framerate issues, but it doesn't affect gameplay that much. Certainly better than RE6. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    1
    Nothing like the first resident evils

    why oh why are some of you reviewing this game as if its like the first resident evils? No it isn't
    at all, its still too arcadey and dosen't follow the same framework.

    I really wounder if any of you have ever played the original games and dino crisis 1 and 2.

    This is nothing like it, and closer to resident evil 5 than 1, 2 or 3.

    I still play dino crisis 1 and 2 now and it totally tears this rubbish apart.

    Untill Capcom decide to make resident evil again like the old ones and the remakes on the gamecube, then nothing at all will ever be like the first ones or dino crisis, so don't like ok!!!
    Garbage!
    Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews