• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 6, 2011
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    83
    It's easy to say that this is the best Resistance title, but it's also easy to say that it's not Insomniac's best game.
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    93
    Resistance 3 is far superior to its two predecessors and it's one of the most powerful and beautifully crafted shooters on the market for PlayStation 3.
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    77
    Even if its multiplayer is a bit generic and bland, Resistance 3 is hands down the best game in the trilogy.
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    85
    This may not quite be the pièce de résistance finale that franchise fans desired. But a good-not-great single-player campaign story for the trilogy conclusion with a less interesting protagonist is easily overcome with a fantastic variety of alien-eliminating weaponry, solid FPS controls that restore gameplay functionality to fan-favorite quality with the reintroduction of the weapon wheel and health bar, and good-not-great multiplayer.
  5. Sep 7, 2011
    70
    It's just a shame that Insomniac Games seemed so hell bent on pushing the dramatic angle that got in the way of a great example of a solid first-person shooter.
  6. 70
    A little more spit and polish could have significantly elevated the title to the ranks of the FPS elite. The old school gameplay was a winner in my book; just don't expect to be wowed by the plot or anything else.
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    85
    Resistance 3 failed to outmatch its main competitor – the Killzone series – but still is a great game. It's got a tangible atmosphere of threat, a personal story that does not drip with cheap pomposity, a set of 12 fantastic upgradeable weapons that are fun to use and very good visuals (if you don't look at textures up-close). Boss battles are somewhat disappointing though and enemy AI leaves much to be desired. There's also nothing groundbreaking here but good old FPS standards were put together brilliantly. [October, p.44]
  8. 90
    All in all, Resistance 3 delivers a very enjoyable campaign with some incredible action sequences. Competitive multiplayer is quite well done, and adds quite a bit of replayability to this package. If you're a PS3 owner who loves first-person shooters, Resistance 3 simply shouldn't be missed.
  9. 87
    There's a greater feeling of depth, life and narrative to the tale and the gunplay is satisfying even if we do have to reserve some criticism for the AI, which still shows itself to be rough around the edges at times.
  10. Sep 28, 2011
    89
    A considerable step up for the series and results in a game that should suit every gamers tastes.
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    85
    We had lots of fun with Resistance 3, though it doesn't revolutionize the shooter genre.
  12. Oct 3, 2011
    70
    Overall Resistance 3 is a notable step up in the series and has a lot of offer; it is highly polished and c some enjoyable set-pieces and encounters.
  13. Sep 12, 2011
    88
    With solid graphics, great sound, and some very addictive gameplay, including the multiplayer component, Resistance 3 is a great way for the PS3 to start the fall/winter season of gaming
  14. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    As a conclusion to the franchise (no doubt pending an awkwardly justified fourth game and spin-offs), Resistance 3 manages to send it off as gracefully as possible.
  15. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    Its campaign is a thrill ride of rollercoaster-like set-pieces, huge boss battles, and consistently fast-paced action, and its multiplayer is a solid, enjoyable, anarchic complement. If you own a PS3 and you love first-person shooters, you would do well to add this one to your collection.
  16. Sep 19, 2011
    96
    With only a few minor issues, Insomniac has produced not only the best Resistance game to date, but one of the best FPS games I have ever experienced.
  17. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Doesn't exactly rewrite the book on first-person shooters, but it offers thoroughly enjoyable gameplay, with a low learning curve, set against a strong narrative. Fans of the previous games will find much to love here, and even newcomers will find it a good jumping on point thanks to the intuitive controls.
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    70
    It lacks the connective tissue to join its bite-size skirmishes into a seamless epic, but as a lightweight pick-up-and-play romp, Resistance 3 is hard to resist.
  19. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    First-person shooter design has reached an evolutionary ceiling and desperately needs some mutant DNA to push it onwards and upwards. Resistance 3 could have provided that genetic jolt; but Insomniac has chosen to look back to how we used to play rather than grapple with how we could play in the future. As understandable as it is, that cautious approach results in a game that is extremely enjoyable, but never as imaginative as you want it to be.
  20. Sep 7, 2011
    80
    Though being a well-crafted game that will surely please fans of the series and genre, Resistance 3 fails to reach pure excellence due to some unattended promises and a far too classical concept that lacks any sort of innovation. It will guarantee hours in fun in both single player and multiplayer, but Insomniac could have surely done something more if its aim was to reach the top.
  21. 80
    Resistancve 3 ends in a good way, without risking too much and staying true to the original formula. For those who follow Resistance from the beginning, it should be a mandatory acquisition.
  22. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    Resistance 3 is the peak point in the franchise Insomniac's been working those latest years. It may or may not be too late, but it's a great game nonetheless.
  23. Sep 5, 2011
    70
    Despite trying to act as a gritty tale of survival, Resistance 3 is in essence just a regular shooter, with far more action filled firefights than lurking tales of humanity. Thankfully it's a well made game and has an impressive arsenal of excellent weapons, and the multiplayer - including a much-missed co-op mode - is a lot of fun.
  24. Sep 7, 2011
    85
    Resistance is a solid PS3 Exclusive. The plot is muddled and messy, but the old-school gameplay and the reintroduction of the weapon wheel save the day. The COD-Like multiplayer is, though derivative, rewarding and funny.
  25. Oct 18, 2011
    82
    Improved over the previous editions, Resistance 3's showcase of the human condition vs. adversity pulls together with the right mix of drama, action and game mechanics to be one of the marquee shooters of the year.
  26. Sep 28, 2011
    96
    It is definitely a more personal experience than Killzone 3 or even past Resistance games, with a more focused story and linear mission path featuring higher stakes - fighting for family, friends, and the entire world.
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    70
    With no reason to connect with these characters and little in the way of action to separate itself from the packed FPS crowd, Resistance 3 makes it clear that the series doesn't belong amongst the triple-A competition in the genre.
  28. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    From the single-player campaign to co-op and competitive multiplayer, Resistance 3 is a considerably more intimate experience. It's arguably the best installment to date, but I still think Insomniac Games can do even better.
  29. Sep 9, 2011
    91
    Resistance 3 treads a line between homage and original work, loads the player up with amazing guns to play with, packs in a passably stocked multiplayer mode, and offers an amazing single-player campaign.
  30. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    There's no argument there: Resistance 3 is the best episode of the series. More enticing, more polished, and more fun. Some shortcomings prevent it from reaching the top of the genre, though, but it still comes out as one of the best FPS exclusives on the PS3.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 155
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    3
    The unique multi-player part from R2, has been removed. The PVE part was the greatest thing ever seen, and now they totally destroy it with just an abnormal FPS. Multi-player part: PVP only. This is just a Half-Life, U-Torrent, Quake look a like.... Have never ever been so desapointet, was so looking forward for this game. Dead Island will be my thing instead. Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    Nothing to write home about. The only unique bit from r2 has been removed. Fails to break the mold and doesn't differentiate from anything else in the sci fi fps genre. Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Just finished the campaign mode after my midnight pickup from Gamestop. To fans of the series, you will be very happy about what Insomniac has done to the game. It does feel a bit more arcadey as far the feel of the guns but I feel like it is definitely for the better. The upgrade system is fantastic and is a great addition. The story is everything you have come to expect from the Resistance series which is a definitely a plus and the dire situation injected into the story is perfectly conveyed throughout the entire game. I am going to play through again in co-op and finish upgrading my weapons and I haven't touched the multiplayer yet on the retail copy. Everything I experienced from the beta from the last month leads me to believe I am going to spend quite a bit of time with multiplayer from here on out. The multiplayer in my opinion is just as polished as COD, Halo & Battlefield but you are just dealing with a more basic concept in R3 and not as intricate. The single player competes with any of those games as well and is very immersive so I would suggest this game to newcomers to the series as well. I could not have asked for any more in my Resistance experience. Full Review »