Resistance: Fall of Man PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 663 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 663

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoelC.
    Nov 29, 2006
    0
    This game blows. The PS3 is overpriced, and not selling well at all. Sony really screwed up this generation of consoles. Too bad, the PS2 was great. I've played this game and can't see any reason to spend $600 on junk for a machine. Hey Sony, try thinking outside the box and innovating, not copying. Get the Wii folks, I've never had so much fun in gaming.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    Auger is the worst weapon idea ever created. Everything about this game (story, gameplay, graphics, sounds/music) felt dated and poorly done even for 2006.
  3. Fboyguy
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    This game is a disgrace why because it tries to be like half life,gears of war,doom 3 and return to castle wolfenstein and fails terribly.The only reason sony put out this game is because they wanted to beat gears of war and the xbox 360 but the 360 has already beat theps3 in the console wars because of its technology and games,also this game is the only one exclusivly for the ps3 that isThis game is a disgrace why because it tries to be like half life,gears of war,doom 3 and return to castle wolfenstein and fails terribly.The only reason sony put out this game is because they wanted to beat gears of war and the xbox 360 but the 360 has already beat theps3 in the console wars because of its technology and games,also this game is the only one exclusivly for the ps3 that is getting good reviews but its not winning any awards ,Look at gears of war its won alot of awards game of the year,best action,and also best graphics but this game looks like it could be on the ps2.Overall dont buy the ps3 because of this game or metal gear solid 4 either because this game is coming out on the pc in march with the same graphics and the same gameplay and mgs4 is going to come out on the xbox 360 bout a year after it comes out on the ps3 and the xbox360 version will have extras on it so save some money and dont buy the ps3 and get a xbox 360 it has gears of war,oblivion,mass effect,fable2,and assasins creed which is also coming out on the ps3 but the xbox 360 version will be better.Trust me.DONT BUY A PS3! Collapse
  4. TonyM
    Mar 18, 2008
    2
    The game is not worth getting, the graphics are alright and so is the plot but the AI is so dumb that it is an insult calling them AI, the flashlight is quite annoying and there is a massive similarity with Half Life 2, Gears of war, Quake 4 and Doom 3(which are all way better than this). The multiplayer is quite bad with really random maps with pointless designs
  5. JohnC.
    Dec 21, 2006
    3
    Well, well, a tru next-generation game - NOT! Lame, basic FPS and short, too short!!! Is The awsome media format - the Blu-Ray - needed for a game of this extent ???
    And Sony fanatics, don't really have much shame anymore, saying that the game uses only 1% of the machine ??? NExt time they'll be sayng one doesn't need to turn on the power...
    Shesh...!
  6. SamH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    3
    I was extremely sad when i got home after paying £45!!!! for this peice of junk. it was truely awful and i hated every moment. the graphics are very ordinary and the art is dull , even on my 1080p 40 inch samsung. most people who think this game is good should play gears of war or halo 3 , they make this shooter seem so ordinary in all ways possible.
  7. SonytheGreatBetrayer
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    All my frined went out and payed a butt load on the PS3. I've played this game a lot, and I've had time to think. Not at all the "must have" title for a PS3. In fact a PS3 isn't a "must have" right now. The Wii's just fun and 360 has Gears, Ranbow 6 LV, and more. Buy a Wii or a 360.
  8. CharafB.
    Aug 17, 2008
    2
    This game sucks really soo much that when i taught that this would be good game in shop but in home i tested it and graphics look really bad no good textures and sad multiplayer so i didnt like it.only good thing was the sounds in game i liked them but all the other was so bad that i bought xbox360 and halo 3 and i think their much better .
  9. TonyF.
    Nov 28, 2006
    1
    Very Dissappointing Game. Expected good graphics and gameplay. But got neither
  10. CliffgayB.
    Nov 29, 2006
    1
    The game didn't live up to the hype. I would rather go play my 360 and play call of duty for the original xbox. Or maybe even some Fuzion Frenzy cause this game is horrible and don't waste your money.
  11. AtomHeart
    Dec 1, 2006
    4
    As the supposed premier (and only...) launch game for the PS3, this is a mediocre game and with that a colossal dissapointment.
  12. Pete
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    It's "Gears of War-lite" for all you sony fanboys.
  13. DerekR.
    Dec 13, 2007
    3
    Billed as a killer must have PS3 title I was expecting much, MUCH more. Its frankly just another dull FPS. the graphics are a good point and have a real vintage look about them in keeping with its setting, but the lack of shine and polish gets a little oppressive after a while. Gameplay was originally slightly marred by the lack of rumble (which has now been fixed, not too soon Sony) but Billed as a killer must have PS3 title I was expecting much, MUCH more. Its frankly just another dull FPS. the graphics are a good point and have a real vintage look about them in keeping with its setting, but the lack of shine and polish gets a little oppressive after a while. Gameplay was originally slightly marred by the lack of rumble (which has now been fixed, not too soon Sony) but the actions of the enemies who will stand still while you gun them down is laughable, it has the obligatory minor enemies (a sort of dog like version of Half Lifes head crabs) to break up the monotonous waves of chimera. You amass a wide range of different looking weapons that unfortunately have very little variation in power. The level design is a high point, some good interior and exterior sections, not overly loaded with endless tunnels and mazes, the few vehicle sections scattered throughout are regretfully poor, most noticeably the Tank sections. This is a launch title so it wasn't going to have the same standard of polish that you might expect to see after the console has found its feet but still this is a mediocre offering and hasn't helped the slow start for the PS3. Expand
  14. ChebouryDmytryk
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    I am allowed to be too critical when reviewing Resistance Fall Of Men? Absolutely! After all the bragging, ostentatious palaver with a lengthy panegyric from Kutaragi & Sons about their Super Computer being the only true Next-Gen system at the expense of some + $600 I was expecting some truly ground breaking visuals, gameplay and Sixaxsis implementation! What I got was a chopped up gameI am allowed to be too critical when reviewing Resistance Fall Of Men? Absolutely! After all the bragging, ostentatious palaver with a lengthy panegyric from Kutaragi & Sons about their Super Computer being the only true Next-Gen system at the expense of some + $600 I was expecting some truly ground breaking visuals, gameplay and Sixaxsis implementation! What I got was a chopped up game story with subpar visuals and tacked on Sixaxsis controls! Sure the game has some strong points but so does Genji... and a bunch of other Sony trite! I will not even get into the gripe I have with the system itself! Sorry this shiiit is better off where it came from... the land of the rising Doom! I guess what needs to be done is what 200.000 other PS3 owners are doing... sell it on Ebay make some profit, get the Wii & Xbox 360!Shame on you Sony! Expand
  15. MattW.
    Dec 11, 2006
    0
    I thought this book was terrible. The character development was misleading. The plot left a lot of questions unanswered like will martha find out who stole her shrubbery. I cant believe that this is going to be the first of a trilogy. I hope the squirrels are back for the next book. The only good part if you ask me. The PS3 is disappointing and if this is the best book on offer then I am I thought this book was terrible. The character development was misleading. The plot left a lot of questions unanswered like will martha find out who stole her shrubbery. I cant believe that this is going to be the first of a trilogy. I hope the squirrels are back for the next book. The only good part if you ask me. The PS3 is disappointing and if this is the best book on offer then I am Tomato Johnson, the NY private eye with a blue hat. 0/10 Expand
  16. KDep
    Dec 13, 2006
    1
    Not very impressive. Standard FPS game. Nice looking, but nothing else otherwise. Just more of the same tried (tired) and true humans vs. aliens. I wasn't very enthused and I won't be looking forward to the next one. I WASTED $600 on this piece of crap... PS3 is going on ebay tomorrow.
  17. Aug 31, 2011
    4
    Can't stand this game. It has co-op, sure. But waiting THIRTY seconds to respawn?? Come-on... And why doesn't health regenerate EVER? Even on easy this game is extremely hard. Probably harder than any other game on PS3 and I have a lot of games.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    From start to finish, Fall of Man is one hell of an outstanding roller coaster ride that every last PS3 owner needs for day one...Above all else, it's the multiplayer elements that truly ascend this one to the next level. It's a must have for sure.
  2. When you kill an enemy it doesn't disappear and when you blow up part of the near fully destructible environments the pieces don't go away either. The obvious power of the PS3 and the masterful coding work of the developers let everything stay on screen all the time while never taking a frame hit. This is an incredible accomplishment for a launch game on any system. [JPN Import]
  3. 85
    Resistance falls a little short of being the hoped-for "Halo-killer," but with a package that would be considered complete by any standards, it delivers a launch classic, and it lives up to its billing as the PS3's killer app.