Resistance: Fall of Man PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 663 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 663

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidO.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  2. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself.
  3. JesseM
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the whole game I believe and is not someone you can get attached to. The graphics are good and show big tremendous battles, but I experienced some slow down. The gameplay was solid and there were many neat guns in the game. I did not like though how the game kept throwing the same enemies at you though. It takes a while before you fight a different enemies other than the typical Chimera foot solider. All and all Resistance is fun while it last's and the multilayer will probaley interest you for a bit but in the end I would only pick this game up for around 20 to 30 bucks. Cheers. Expand
  4. JasonL.
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    This game has a solid campaign but really looses points in the muliplayer. The maps are boring and seem like very liitle thought was put in to designing them and everyone plays 1 hit kill matches. The muliplayer is mildly entertaining but nothing special and certainly not the best on the console. I would actually give this a 7.5 but I am rounding up becuase it was a release game and as a This game has a solid campaign but really looses points in the muliplayer. The maps are boring and seem like very liitle thought was put in to designing them and everyone plays 1 hit kill matches. The muliplayer is mildly entertaining but nothing special and certainly not the best on the console. I would actually give this a 7.5 but I am rounding up becuase it was a release game and as a release game it is good. If you are looking for a multiplayer I would recomend Call of Duty 4, Rainbo Six or even GRAW 2. If you don't play online I would suggest Drake's Fortune or Rachet and Clank. All in all it's a solid game that is worth checking out, but there are better games out there for the ps3. Expand
  5. EmmettT.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game rocks, Yes halo and gears are real nice games with good multiplayer but there not good enough to say that they are better then this game. And the same goes for this game to say that it is better. Most of these people that complain about it can not play it and get mad so they put bad reviews.
  6. AndrewR.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    This was the best game at the time, and there is nothing stoping that.. People keep comparing it to Halo blah blah blah... quit trying to compare and play it!!! then give your input... Halo has gone trough 3 games this was a first work, just you wait until Resistance 2 comes out... look out Halo.
  7. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    A very good game that got me into FPS again. It was also my first game online and boy is it hectic and fun. The single player is entertaining but the most fun is in the multiplayer.
  8. ChanseW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    One thing about shooters is that throughout the game most players think they will be safe behind cover. Yet Insomniac's Resistance:Fall of Man throws that whole idea out the proverbial window with the implementation of clever weaponry and a campaign that...although dull at times...still provides a solid playthrough. Not to mention the multiplaye, which with its Call of Duty esque One thing about shooters is that throughout the game most players think they will be safe behind cover. Yet Insomniac's Resistance:Fall of Man throws that whole idea out the proverbial window with the implementation of clever weaponry and a campaign that...although dull at times...still provides a solid playthrough. Not to mention the multiplaye, which with its Call of Duty esque rewards system as one progresses though the ranks and a still active online community provide hours of gaming. Graphically it is a bit weak, although it must be taken into account that this was a PS3 launch title. Furthermore it was Insomniac's first shot at a shooter (no pun intended). About 3/4 of the way through the game ramps up in difficulty and the color palette becomes trite, but until then it holds your attention. A 'alternate universe' storyline provide a better backdrop than any other WWII shooter, and while the cutscenes between levels are simply boring slideshows, the gameplay in between is action-packed. The game is certainly a must play for any PS3 owner or shooter fan, and although it may not have the same credentials as a Call of Duty or Halo, give it a shot...you will like it. Expand
  9. SpencerT
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    While graphically not as stunning as, say, Uncharted or Metal Gear Solid 4, the unique setting, rich and gripping storyline, just plain fun guns, terrifying and brilliant enemy design, cunning AI and vibrant and fun multiplayer make this a brilliant game. In addition, between the Skill points, unlockable weapons and collectable intel, here is ample material to allow much replay value.
  10. TravisM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    This game is by far one of the best PS3 games ever, Starts rather bland with a great story building behind it. Midway, The game's narrative starts to drive the game and the level design gets way better, As a cross platform gamer, Owning all three modern consoles.. I can say this is better than Halo 3, And most 360 FPS's. Don't let your console pride blind you from great games.
  11. anthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    8
    Solid shooting. A little easy at times, with no recoil whatsoever with the guns and no hand tremors for the sniper. AI however was not great. Superhuman provided a good challenge though. The story was well done, presented like a documentary. The presence of the chimera provided a eerie atmosphere which suited the game and its environments. Online was very well done with customisable 40 Solid shooting. A little easy at times, with no recoil whatsoever with the guns and no hand tremors for the sniper. AI however was not great. Superhuman provided a good challenge though. The story was well done, presented like a documentary. The presence of the chimera provided a eerie atmosphere which suited the game and its environments. Online was very well done with customisable 40 player matches. Expand
  12. NeonSighs
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    Unfortunately Fall of Man can be a bore to play. The Ai is predictable, level design is linear and distinctly average, and players are asked to walk through some sections of the level (without fireing a single shot) as a cheap way of prolonging the length of the game.

    The visuals are solid throughout, but do not meet the expectations or the hype the publisher conjured prior to launch.
  13. AlanH.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Being one of the lucky ones to pick up a Playstation 3 without being shot in the face by one of those deranged maniacs, I picked up this game because of all the hype. Some people were wondering if it lived up to it... and it did. As you probably have seen already while scrolling down to the Readers Review section, you've probably noticed that almost all the scores for this game were Being one of the lucky ones to pick up a Playstation 3 without being shot in the face by one of those deranged maniacs, I picked up this game because of all the hype. Some people were wondering if it lived up to it... and it did. As you probably have seen already while scrolling down to the Readers Review section, you've probably noticed that almost all the scores for this game were nineties. This game is one of the greatest first person shooters ever made. It rivals that of Halo with its massive forty player online multiplayer. The graphics are amazing and the story, though basic, is wonderfully told by a third person narrative perspected. The sound is also great. But I think the real protagonist of this game is the weapons. Insomniac, famed creators of the Rachet and Clank series, already had experience creating exotic and many awe inspiring weapons. they gave this FPS that same five-star treatment with its weapons as well and out came weapons such as the Bullseye, Auger, and many other weapons. I would like to congratulate not only Insomniac for creating this great first person shooter, but also Sony for creating the Playstation 3, a system powerful and worthy enough to endure this wonderful game. Thank you. Expand
  14. ElliottP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    This doesn't live up to the Sony hype. Resistance is a subpar shooter with neat weapons. Wait for Halo 3.
  15. TravisM.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing game. 360 fanboys give it no just, and I wouldn't doubt they don't even own the console or game. Great graphics and even better gameplay. Controls are smooth. To me, either you love this game or you clearly haven't actually played it.
  16. Rol
    Dec 22, 2006
    7
    Good in places, but too patchy to be anything but mundane as it adds little to the genre. The graphics are sharp but lack that something extra to say this is a good looking game. Taken on singleplayer I'll give it 6 but the multiplayer is good fun and would get an 8. Not bad but won't silence any critics of the PS3 either.
  17. FeenixErazona
    Dec 26, 2006
    8
    I never liked alien/monster shooter games at all but I gave this game a fair chance and I found myself continuing on to the next level with no hesitation whotsoever! The graphics up front seemed kinda lacking but as you progress through the game the levels become so detailed with rich graphics, I dont think Microsoft could could even dream of producing equal quality images. The game I never liked alien/monster shooter games at all but I gave this game a fair chance and I found myself continuing on to the next level with no hesitation whotsoever! The graphics up front seemed kinda lacking but as you progress through the game the levels become so detailed with rich graphics, I dont think Microsoft could could even dream of producing equal quality images. The game seemed to go by fast but all in all its not exactly a real short game. I dont know much about this genre as I do not care for alien/monster shooters but this game was a real great launch title in my opinioin. The multiplayer hump has been well over came with the great online gameplay. Thumbs up! Expand
  18. SeanF.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome graphics, intricate gaming design, and multiplayer options that rival Halo 2, this game has surpassesed everyone else. And it only uses 1% of the PS3's processing power. Keep it up Sony!
  19. Knightmare!
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    Well, well!! apparently some individuales didn't do their homework, or just did'nt pay attention. The game is awesome compared to some other games. Pay attention to detail! and there is enough of it in this game. Things you would not be able to see in ps2 games you would see in this game. Like the reflective walls in the underground processing base of the chimera. With closer Well, well!! apparently some individuales didn't do their homework, or just did'nt pay attention. The game is awesome compared to some other games. Pay attention to detail! and there is enough of it in this game. Things you would not be able to see in ps2 games you would see in this game. Like the reflective walls in the underground processing base of the chimera. With closer look see you could see the excellent detail that was put in. And the character models of the enemy look really good up close. There are things about the game that are frantic and fun to say the least. and to play co-op in story mode on a big screen high def TV is bananas! So all you youngstas leavin "1's" need to leave the "PS3's" to the grown folks and stick with your Halo's. Expand
  20. ChrisH.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    This game is just WOW. graphics are better then halo3 and online.....40 Players! as when i play halo 3 online, theres only a max of 16 players (but i play the 5v5 slayer and skirmish). The weopens are original, the monsters are original, the game is original. Pick up the game ASAP.
  21. AidanS.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    I'm not a huge fan of most FPS, but this is one of my favorite games in the last 5 or 6 years. The great weapons (you unlock more and more as you beat it) and the amazingly detailed levels really make the game a blast. Just unlocked superhuman difficulty and plan on beating it on that. Multiplayer is fun and unique. I wouldn't say the game is as good as HL2, but I enjoyed it I'm not a huge fan of most FPS, but this is one of my favorite games in the last 5 or 6 years. The great weapons (you unlock more and more as you beat it) and the amazingly detailed levels really make the game a blast. Just unlocked superhuman difficulty and plan on beating it on that. Multiplayer is fun and unique. I wouldn't say the game is as good as HL2, but I enjoyed it more than any others. Highly recomended to anyone, amazing for a launch title and huge congrats to Insomniac for making a great game on their first attempt at a FPS. Expand
  22. NJ
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome online play 40 players and great single player. The first true nextgen game for any system. Love it.
  23. Sean
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This game is the best game i have ever plsyed and if you have a ps3 You need this game. the online play is perfect because it is never the same andlots of settings. Capaign is excelent also and very long. if you have Halo3, its time to throw it. out and buy an Ps3 and this game. I play online look for me my user name is Havok R519 or Havok R505.
  24. M.M.
    Dec 30, 2007
    9
    This is a great FPS. Intruiging storyline, outstanding co-op and multiplayer modes, comprehensive online too, creative and tactical weapons and excellent atmosphere and level design all combine to make this a must-play game. And all this from a launch title! One of the best FPS games I have played. Highly Recommended.
  25. Andrew
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have ever owned an anyone who gave it a 0 has never played it before and must be an Xbox 360 owner who is only jealous that he can't afford a PS3.
  26. Alexandre
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This game justifies the cost of the PS3. Hands down the best fps I've played in years.
  27. IsaacB.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Best first person shooter ever, hands down. Original storyline (neither World War 2, nor Sci-Fi, but something in between), great multiplayer (up to 40 characters!), great gameplay, nice graphics for a launch title.
  28. ThomasB.
    Mar 25, 2007
    7
    All in all, it's a solid and enjoyable launch game (PAL gamer), especially online (which is obviously free through PlayStation Network) and in co-operative campaign mode. While not visually stunning, it was easy to pick up and play, especially for someone like myself who rarely plays FPS games. I'm not sure if it's a reason to buy a PlayStation 3, but the game is a must for All in all, it's a solid and enjoyable launch game (PAL gamer), especially online (which is obviously free through PlayStation Network) and in co-operative campaign mode. While not visually stunning, it was easy to pick up and play, especially for someone like myself who rarely plays FPS games. I'm not sure if it's a reason to buy a PlayStation 3, but the game is a must for owners, if only for online action. Expand
  29. ShamusM.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    INTENSE gameplay, spectacular graphics, the most intriguing game i have ever played in my life!!! Great story line great weapons and a great overall first person shooter. BUY IT NOW!!!!! ;)
  30. DensyD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to the excitement of the scenes! The online play is WAY too cool, also.!!!! Expand
  31. VitoA.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Considering this game was a release title which kick started the next chapter in Sony's success story; this game lives up to the expectations in every possible way. Insomniac are truly a great team of developers and are tribute to true workmanship and skill. They don't complain about the supposed difficulty of coding on the Playstation 3 like many other developers. What they do Considering this game was a release title which kick started the next chapter in Sony's success story; this game lives up to the expectations in every possible way. Insomniac are truly a great team of developers and are tribute to true workmanship and skill. They don't complain about the supposed difficulty of coding on the Playstation 3 like many other developers. What they do is release 2 quality games within a year and then already preview the sequel to this game which looks spectacular. I praise this game in the highest! Very satisfying. Expand
  32. JackH
    Oct 22, 2008
    5
    This is the only game in my PS3 library of 10 games that i HAVE NOT FINISHED...it didn't hold me at all...i mean come on...aliens invading the world? been there...way past done that. I spent a good bit of time online playing this game, which was fun, but when the far superior Call of Duty 4 came out i quit doing this game online. The single player story is just too boring and whored This is the only game in my PS3 library of 10 games that i HAVE NOT FINISHED...it didn't hold me at all...i mean come on...aliens invading the world? been there...way past done that. I spent a good bit of time online playing this game, which was fun, but when the far superior Call of Duty 4 came out i quit doing this game online. The single player story is just too boring and whored out. I know when it comes to shooters there isn't a lot to work with story-wise, but please...try harder. Call of Duty 4 and Dead Space are excellent shooting games that have very cool stories...call of duty 4 reigns supreme. Expand
  33. CS
    Feb 26, 2008
    5
    This is a completely sub-par, average title at best, that brings 0% new to the table. Multiplayer is very poorly designed. I think majority of these reviews were when it first came out and no one had a PS3 game to compare too.
  34. EdK.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing game! The complete package with a killer Single player/Co-op game and the best online multiplayer out on any console.
  35. CliffB.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Finally a chance to play it first hand, and what can I say... This is a pretty damn amazing achievement - the quality of the graphics, complex animation blending system, realistic deformation and ragdoll physics, density of particle effects, glass simulation, etc, etc...Once you get to sit down and play it the graphics turn out to be way better than I was expecting - if anything this game Finally a chance to play it first hand, and what can I say... This is a pretty damn amazing achievement - the quality of the graphics, complex animation blending system, realistic deformation and ragdoll physics, density of particle effects, glass simulation, etc, etc...Once you get to sit down and play it the graphics turn out to be way better than I was expecting - if anything this game has been unfairly underrated in this department. There are some of the most spectaular environments I've ever seen in a game, especially when you get to the huge alien interiors towards the end. Gameplay is great, as you would expect from Insomniac - the pacing is perfect and builds nicely as you progress through the game - by the end of it the whole experience gives you that feeling of adventure like when you've read a great novel and intrigued to find out about what the Chimera are, where they came from, and where do the "Cloven" fit in to it all. I haven't tried multiplayer yet, but I hear that's one of the best things about it. Just mind-blowing what they pulled off here, especially for a launch title. Collapse
  36. GarricB.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This game is a killer app. The controls are superb, the story seems interesting, and the different types of weapons keeps the game fresh. The multiplayer is second to none for console games with 40 players online with no lag. The battles in the game are fast and frentic, both in story and online. This game should already be an instant classic.
  37. AdamBaldovinos
    Dec 21, 2006
    5
    I own a PS3 and have been waiting for a good game. The only game decent game is Resistance and everyone knows that, even if you dont have a PS3 or even played one. All in All Resistance is the Hyundai of Gears Of War and you know that all you PS3 fans. So save yourself a couple hundred and get a 360 until a good game comes out for the PS3 like MGS4, GTA 5, AC. Trust me its a waste of moneyI own a PS3 and have been waiting for a good game. The only game decent game is Resistance and everyone knows that, even if you dont have a PS3 or even played one. All in All Resistance is the Hyundai of Gears Of War and you know that all you PS3 fans. So save yourself a couple hundred and get a 360 until a good game comes out for the PS3 like MGS4, GTA 5, AC. Trust me its a waste of money until a good game comes out. Expand
  38. KennethM.
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Easily the best console FPS. Normally I'll only ever play them on the PC, but this whoops the crap out of Halo, etc
  39. AlecB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    This is easily the best ps3 game out right now. The action is intense and gory. Action packed all the way from start to finish. Resistance and Call of Duty 3 are really the only games I play for PS3.
  40. FrancoF.
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    This is hands down better than any 360 launch title and even Gears of War. A real alternative to Halo.
  41. Aug 11, 2010
    7
    Whilst it adds entirely nothing new in terms of gameplay mechanics - what do you expect from a genre so unambiguously entitled 'FPS'? - the overriding notion of the impending desolation of Earth is as refreshing as the genuinely hopeless fight through a ruined United Kingdom. Bonus points for pissing off the Church of England with its Manchester Cathedral sceneWhilst it adds entirely nothing new in terms of gameplay mechanics - what do you expect from a genre so unambiguously entitled 'FPS'? - the overriding notion of the impending desolation of Earth is as refreshing as the genuinely hopeless fight through a ruined United Kingdom. Bonus points for pissing off the Church of England with its Manchester Cathedral scene (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/6736809.stm). Expand
  42. Sep 27, 2010
    9
    the first game i got for my PS3 was this game. its a very fun FPS game thats fairly long compared to most about 10-12 hours. the gun selection is insane you get around 18 guns and 5 differnt granade types some like the backlash grenade are just sick idea's and are cool to use. i like the fact you are not limeted to just a few guns which has become the current trend in alot of FPS games . ithe first game i got for my PS3 was this game. its a very fun FPS game thats fairly long compared to most about 10-12 hours. the gun selection is insane you get around 18 guns and 5 differnt granade types some like the backlash grenade are just sick idea's and are cool to use. i like the fact you are not limeted to just a few guns which has become the current trend in alot of FPS games . i love carrying a arsenal into battle with me . the story is fairly intresting but will leave you with some question marks . the graphics are ok they are not mind blowing but this is a PS3 launch game. the enimy AI is pretty smart they will ducj and dive for cover or out of the way of your grenades . yjeu will try and suppress you and rush or come at you guns a blazing . the best way you can describe this game is it takes all the cool things done in fps games and hybrids them into one game. that being said its also one of the flaws the game is alot of fun but theres nothing really that seperates it from any thing els . the online also did nothing for me i played it for a few jours and felt no reason to do it again . the story mode was alot of fun though played through it a few times and enjoyed it. Expand
  43. Sep 19, 2010
    7
    Resistance Fall of Man (RES) is a good game, no doubt. Above all the features online are perfects, no track of lag or problem. If you play with your friends, RES will conquer you. But the campaign isn't so good as the online: the checkpoints are very very distant and the story doesn't appear so intriguing. But, all things considered, we are talking about a good game.
  44. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game. The single player creates a great story that gives you the sense you are fighting a war you cannot win. However, the game really earns this score due to it's expansive multiplayer. Very balanced gameplay with a large variety of great maps and fun weapons make the online a great experience.
  45. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    Even though this game is six years old it still manages to hold it's own against other newer shooters, and that's saying a lot, the graphics do show age but the sound design is still fantastic, and the controls are tight and feel great, you can still find matches online but honestly I didn't find the multiplayer all that enjoyable but hey at least it's still got it, and the fact thatEven though this game is six years old it still manages to hold it's own against other newer shooters, and that's saying a lot, the graphics do show age but the sound design is still fantastic, and the controls are tight and feel great, you can still find matches online but honestly I didn't find the multiplayer all that enjoyable but hey at least it's still got it, and the fact that people still play it says something about how popular of a game this is, the best part of the game and the reason you should buy this is for the phenomenal campaign, while the story or characters aren't all that interesting or great, the set pieces are, and it reminds me of older shooters like Doom 3 in the way it manages to be a challenge without ever really feeling overly difficult, maybe a little frustrating in one or two parts but it never felt like the game was trying to work against me, and it helps that they give you one of the best FPS arsenals of all time, and checkpoints are generally very forgiving, especially seeing as how you get full health after you respawn at a checkpoint, and it includes two player local co-op, and new weapons are unlocked after you beat the campaign so that adds reason to play through it twice just to try out the new toys, honestly if your a fan of good challenging shooters then this is a must buy, I highly recommend. Expand
  46. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    I played this game for the first time in 2011 and i find it still to be one of the best games on the ps3. Users who play this after the likes of Black Ops will surely whinge about how it can't compare, but in all honesty this game is brilliant. One of the best campaign's ever, cannot wait to play resistance 2 and then 3!
  47. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    Granted, this is a launch title and it's now 2011, and we've been spoiled with call of duty and the like, but I found this to be worthy of a 5/10. I won't hate on the story, its the reason I bought it, I love the alternate history stuff. Its the GAMEPLAY. Horrible. Felt cartoonish, slow moving enemy bullets, poor AI animation, useless friendly AI. At no point did I get sucked in, theGranted, this is a launch title and it's now 2011, and we've been spoiled with call of duty and the like, but I found this to be worthy of a 5/10. I won't hate on the story, its the reason I bought it, I love the alternate history stuff. Its the GAMEPLAY. Horrible. Felt cartoonish, slow moving enemy bullets, poor AI animation, useless friendly AI. At no point did I get sucked in, the gunplay was too bad. In COD or nearly any other fps, you get sucked in and forget you're holding a controller. Not here. Ruined a good idea with a VERY mediocre game. :-[ I will play through the rest to play the sequels because I love the idea of this universe so much. Hope the sequels are better. MUCH better. Expand
  48. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Good fps, has some character to it, looks more then decent and it's fun to use all the different weapons on the variety of enemies. I don't play a lof of fps's but this played well and the controls were good. I liked the healing system as well.
  49. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    I recently completed this game as of the end of 2013. Despite this being an old game, I had a lot of fun playing it. This series has the most unique weapons that are just fun to play with. The guns in other shooters are all the same, so this is a pleasant change of pace.

    I really got into the whole universe created here.. I always enjoy a good alternate universe story. The story was a
    I recently completed this game as of the end of 2013. Despite this being an old game, I had a lot of fun playing it. This series has the most unique weapons that are just fun to play with. The guns in other shooters are all the same, so this is a pleasant change of pace.

    I really got into the whole universe created here.. I always enjoy a good alternate universe story. The story was a little hard to follow though, and the game dragged on longer than it probably should have. Those are my only gripes with the game though.. All other aspects are well done including graphics and sound. Overall I highly recommend.
    Expand
  50. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Game is pretty darn good. One of the exclusives that PS3 fanboys got to get. What else can I say about this game? A lot. Like what? Well, to make an essay short. This game offers the creeps and the humor. It doesn't care whether the jokes or scare factors are uncalled for, it'll give you the run of your life. Look back on it, say you enjoyed it and move on to the next level. Amazing. YouGame is pretty darn good. One of the exclusives that PS3 fanboys got to get. What else can I say about this game? A lot. Like what? Well, to make an essay short. This game offers the creeps and the humor. It doesn't care whether the jokes or scare factors are uncalled for, it'll give you the run of your life. Look back on it, say you enjoyed it and move on to the next level. Amazing. You cannot give this game a shrug because you will regret it. The multiplayer is a blast! I repeat, a blast! Since its on the PS3's online network, which consists of a much more mature and grown-up audience, not to mention most Resistance players derive from Europe, there are no trollers. And we all hate trolls, whether you are a troll yourself or not. The campaign and multiplayer is a dual combo that will leave you playing this game for weeks. Maybe months. Maybe years, well that is until its sequel comes out. Until then, this game is the game to play! Expand
  51. May 31, 2012
    9
    8.5 - Resistance is a fine FPS with a wonderful sense of scope. Playing for the first time almost 6 years after it's release, I finally understand the excitement revolving around the game. Great voice acting, fair character animations, and an intriguing (if unexplored) world and fiction. A fairly strong sense of pacing keeps this game from getting too dull, as some parts remind of the8.5 - Resistance is a fine FPS with a wonderful sense of scope. Playing for the first time almost 6 years after it's release, I finally understand the excitement revolving around the game. Great voice acting, fair character animations, and an intriguing (if unexplored) world and fiction. A fairly strong sense of pacing keeps this game from getting too dull, as some parts remind of the great Half Life 2. The incredible, versatile, and creative arsenal that you have at your disposal is a blast to play around with. Resistance truly gives the player tools of destruction to blast quickly through hoards of enemies, making each encounter blisteringly fast paced instead of a dull and boring. The most commendable feature of Resistance is the art direction. Aside from the surprisingly sharp graphics (that trump some games of today), the looming Chimeran structures in the distance and the incredible amounts of detail gone into the creatures and world itself is truly astounding. Browns, greys, and blacks fill the color pallet, but I only feel that this is frowned upon due to playing so many other "brown FPS" games in recent years. Insomniac has some brilliantly creative minds. There are times when Resistance begins to tear at the seams, and difficulty spikes near the end prove frustrating and cheap, but Resistance: Fall of Man is a highly polished and exciting FPS that delivers all the intensity, intrigue, and chaos of a top tier FPS. And it's so cheap now, it's almost a crime not to give it a try! Expand
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    Great game, however it borrows some ideas from half-life. Not a bad thing, because half-life is great, as is half-life 2. This game is fun to play with lots of interesting enemies and weapons. The mulitplayer is fun but it is fairly generic. Co-op is good, but not top notch and is only good for 1 playthrough. Lack of motion controls hinders you from experiencing the intensity of theGreat game, however it borrows some ideas from half-life. Not a bad thing, because half-life is great, as is half-life 2. This game is fun to play with lots of interesting enemies and weapons. The mulitplayer is fun but it is fairly generic. Co-op is good, but not top notch and is only good for 1 playthrough. Lack of motion controls hinders you from experiencing the intensity of the firefights, and lack of trophy support gives it slightly less replay value. Expand
  53. Sep 10, 2014
    6
    Meh. Repetitive, just another mindless shootemup. The story was interesting at first, but became stale as the story progresses. The weapons were meh, the enemies were meh. The gameplay was ok, but nothing special. The lack of online for resistance has stopped me from buying future iterations of this franchise. Shame, the online looks great from what I've seen on youtube, it would've savedMeh. Repetitive, just another mindless shootemup. The story was interesting at first, but became stale as the story progresses. The weapons were meh, the enemies were meh. The gameplay was ok, but nothing special. The lack of online for resistance has stopped me from buying future iterations of this franchise. Shame, the online looks great from what I've seen on youtube, it would've saved this game from being below average and scored a 7 or even an 8 from me, but nope, no online. Expand
  54. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    10-Presentation; The plot, setting, and characters are a success.
    10-Graphics; The art style may lack variety, but everything is so well done.
    8.5-Sound; Music is hit or miss, but the voice acting and sound effects are excellent. 10-Game play; The levels, controls, mechanics, and AI are excellent. 10-Lasting value; There's co-op, 16 hour campaign, 40 player multiplayer, tons of weapons
    10-Presentation; The plot, setting, and characters are a success.
    10-Graphics; The art style may lack variety, but everything is so well done.
    8.5-Sound; Music is hit or miss, but the voice acting and sound effects are excellent.
    10-Game play; The levels, controls, mechanics, and AI are excellent.
    10-Lasting value; There's co-op, 16 hour campaign, 40 player multiplayer, tons of weapons and modes, and tons to unlock.
    Overall-10/10
    Expand
  55. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Pretty generic and can be a little frustrating at times but overall it's a pretty decent experience. Graphics shine when in and around chimera structures, otherwise, they can look pretty bland and ugly. Guns are the highlight of this game and enemy AI are surprisingly smart. At a 8$ price tag, i recommend it.
  56. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Resistance has the best and most fascinating alternate history setting I know. Resistance Fall of Man is a very good game, and about the only game that revolves around Human-alien war which is something I really like and I really like science fiction, there is no other game that portrays war in Britain, and more importantly, there is no other game that realistically features Human fightingResistance has the best and most fascinating alternate history setting I know. Resistance Fall of Man is a very good game, and about the only game that revolves around Human-alien war which is something I really like and I really like science fiction, there is no other game that portrays war in Britain, and more importantly, there is no other game that realistically features Human fighting against aliens and that is something I really like.

    The story is fantastic and well imagined, and there is a big alternate history background to it, the Russian Revolution fails so there is no Communism or Soviet Union, the first World War plays out differently and so World War II never happened. Also, Russia closes it's borders in 1921 and is still an empire; still ruled by Tsar as the aliens take over the massive country and there are a load of other historical changes as well. You should read the whole fictional history on Resistance Wiki.

    The story is narrated by a female soldier called Rachel Parker, telling you about what's happening, what goes on and what happened, and you get to see photos of events shown in no colour, making it look more realistic, of course they are a bit too blurred and unclear though.

    The weapons are very good, and there are skill-points similar to Ratchet & Clank, it's just stupid that Insomniac didn't do any trophies to this game. The NPC soldiers beside you are OK... depending on the difficulty and there are times where they are terrible and barely fight the aliens which does bring down the game at times, and there are times where they fight and kill the enemies. I just don't understand why people can make up smart enemies but not NPC allies around you.

    The story in this game in single player is about Europe being invaded and overrun by frightening aliens and eventually invading Britain, and they came out of Russia. The US and British forces come together to fight off and drive the Chimera out of Britain. You are Nathan Hale and you partake in the fight for Britain as you fight along soldiers or alone a lot of the time.

    As for the multiplayer, I never went online on the Ps3 until recently and I like it so much, sadly, because this is an old game, nobody plays it and when I get into servers, whoever makes up the server puts on stupid settings like 1 shot kill and takes away much of the weapons, I don't understand why they want to do that, whoever hosts the games. They are custom and not ranked though, you can't get any ranked games now. Playing 40 player battles would be enjoyable, but it's too late for that now. But I am not judging or rating this game by today's standards.

    This game has a very good feel to me and an engaging story which may leave you with questions such as how this all happened, what happens to Britain and western Europe after, what happened to Europe during the invasion and what happened to Russia. I just absolutely wish Resistance was made in this generation, right now, rather than 7 years ago, I would love this game to have really realistic graphics like other games, and much better A.I. Resistance is not flawless, but it has a fantastic setup, but sadly, its sequels were poorly handled and has lots of problems.
    Expand
  57. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Short version: one of the greatest games of all time!

    Long version: The alternate-history storyline was really good and imaginative, and the color palette really made me feel like I was in WW2-era Europe. The weapons were a great mix of realistic and over-the-top sci-fi, and great fun to shoot. The enemy designs were awesome, and the level design was greatly varied to keep things
    Short version: one of the greatest games of all time!

    Long version:
    The alternate-history storyline was really good and imaginative, and the color palette really made me feel like I was in WW2-era Europe. The weapons were a great mix of realistic and over-the-top sci-fi, and great fun to shoot. The enemy designs were awesome, and the level design was greatly varied to keep things interesting: some were very battle-action-oriented, and others were more creepy and tense. Then the developers made a great game into a super-awesome game by including unlimited weapons, vehicle segments, health packs, split-screen co-op (rare these days), and 4-way split-screen multiplayer (ultra-rare). And the soundtrack is excellent and fits the game perfectly with its militaristic sci-fi vibe! This is the game that got me back into FPS gaming.
    Expand
  58. Jun 8, 2013
    6
    This game is funny and I mean that in its hard to think of the reason why its getting a 6/10. It has all the ideas for a great shooter and in many places it is and its alot of fun. The Chimera are a good enemy idea and can occasionally give you a jump plus the weapons are creative aswell. The story is ok but not brilliant but the biggest let down is probably just some sections of the gameThis game is funny and I mean that in its hard to think of the reason why its getting a 6/10. It has all the ideas for a great shooter and in many places it is and its alot of fun. The Chimera are a good enemy idea and can occasionally give you a jump plus the weapons are creative aswell. The story is ok but not brilliant but the biggest let down is probably just some sections of the game which are sort of boring I suppose. Nathan Hale isn't very interesting here and some levels aren't designed well. A good game but not brilliant Expand
  59. May 27, 2013
    7
    This was the first FPS i ever played. At that time i found it amazing. I will now give a honest review. So it is pretty much a basic shooter. You have a gun and have to move forward and shoot every alien there is in your way. And then there is some special levels where you have to control a tank. Or other things. You get new guns with new special abilities and you can carry all the guns.This was the first FPS i ever played. At that time i found it amazing. I will now give a honest review. So it is pretty much a basic shooter. You have a gun and have to move forward and shoot every alien there is in your way. And then there is some special levels where you have to control a tank. Or other things. You get new guns with new special abilities and you can carry all the guns. The story is the standard the aliens are taking over the world story and the person you play as have a strange connection to them that we all know so well. So what makes me give it a 7 out of 10? Well, the atmosphere is very good. In the game there is some levels where you are alone. And the dark corridors and creepy music fits the game very well at those points of the game... Actually the music and the atmospher just fits the game in general. And the enemy variation is great. I loved and still love how there suddenly comes a new enemy out you've never seen before and have to kill. There was some awesome scary moments where some slow enemys could come up behind you and jump in your face. But i did also feel that there was to few if them. One of the things i loved most of the game was that there was a coop mode. So you could play the cool campaing with one of your friends. There is also a multiplayer mode but it is not really that good. It was just to out dated. But i did love playing vs mode with my friends. Pretty much multiplayer just only with you and your friends. Expand
  60. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    "Resistance: Fall of Man" es un first person shooter de ciencia ficción inteligente que, en un minuto de juego sabe hacerte entender que, en realidad es uno de los títulos de PlayStation 2 más jugado en mucho tiempo desde 2006 que traspasó las ventas. Yo me encuentro entre esas personas; "Resistance: Fall of Man" es un juego vicioso para los que les gusten los videojuegos de disparos en"Resistance: Fall of Man" es un first person shooter de ciencia ficción inteligente que, en un minuto de juego sabe hacerte entender que, en realidad es uno de los títulos de PlayStation 2 más jugado en mucho tiempo desde 2006 que traspasó las ventas. Yo me encuentro entre esas personas; "Resistance: Fall of Man" es un juego vicioso para los que les gusten los videojuegos de disparos en primera persona tipo "Killzone". Expand
  61. May 30, 2014
    10
    If you want to play an original and traditional first person shooter though have a less outdated feel whilst playing, then Resistance: Fall of Man is for you. This game is hard...really hard, and enjoys to keep the action short and sweet, but with a huge bang. Resistance is a long game for its genre, and is full of collectibles and achievements which obtain skill points to unlock goodiesIf you want to play an original and traditional first person shooter though have a less outdated feel whilst playing, then Resistance: Fall of Man is for you. This game is hard...really hard, and enjoys to keep the action short and sweet, but with a huge bang. Resistance is a long game for its genre, and is full of collectibles and achievements which obtain skill points to unlock goodies such as concept art. While the M.P. may be gone forever, the offline M.P. and offline cooperative mode for campaign are both worth a purchase. Resistance: Fall of Man is one of the best first-person shooters of all time. Expand
  62. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 7 out of 10, Re-play: 7 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  63. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    Resistance :FOM is a nice FPS, nothing more, nothing less. It contains cliches, and some of the levels are very repetitive, some interior elements are seen over and over, but its a good experience all-together.
  64. Jul 1, 2014
    6
    I think I played this one too late, the voice acting and story felt very cheesy and the visuals were pretty bad too. I liked the premise of an alien attack during World War 2 and shooting around was a lot of fun (especially with a friend) for a while but things got boring pretty quickly for me.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    From start to finish, Fall of Man is one hell of an outstanding roller coaster ride that every last PS3 owner needs for day one...Above all else, it's the multiplayer elements that truly ascend this one to the next level. It's a must have for sure.
  2. When you kill an enemy it doesn't disappear and when you blow up part of the near fully destructible environments the pieces don't go away either. The obvious power of the PS3 and the masterful coding work of the developers let everything stay on screen all the time while never taking a frame hit. This is an incredible accomplishment for a launch game on any system. [JPN Import]
  3. 85
    Resistance falls a little short of being the hoped-for "Halo-killer," but with a package that would be considered complete by any standards, it delivers a launch classic, and it lives up to its billing as the PS3's killer app.