Resistance: Fall of Man PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 699
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BergF.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Best game ever play by far! Fun factor is amazingly strong! The graphics look so real!
  2. HatoraiH.
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    Best game graphics of the year, fun and inspiring gameplay with an exceptional insensitivity rate. Have never played a game this good before. GO BUY IT!
  3. LuizO.
    Jun 2, 2008
    8
    The game is one of the best FPS games I've played (not many as I'm not a super fan of the genre), with an engaging story telling, mixing animation and great artwork. Voice acting is also great, specially Rachel Parker, a Captain he helps rescuing from the Chimera. Rachel follows Nathan over the radio during the hole game, giving him directions and tips of what to do. Here are my The game is one of the best FPS games I've played (not many as I'm not a super fan of the genre), with an engaging story telling, mixing animation and great artwork. Voice acting is also great, specially Rachel Parker, a Captain he helps rescuing from the Chimera. Rachel follows Nathan over the radio during the hole game, giving him directions and tips of what to do. Here are my scores: Graphics:8.0 The game looks gorgeous, I'd say it really shows the PS2 and the XBox are in an old generation of consoles, but it turns out that it is also far from using the full power of the PS3. The expressions on Nathan Hale's face are not really involving, for a guy who is going through some really had times, he lacks some personality in his expressions. The colors in the game are pale, giving it a gloomy feel that you would expect in a game picturing a war in England during the 50's, it really makes you feel like you are in seeing images from the past, just brilliant. The models for the weapons, the chimera, the vehicles, the buildings and the other environmental stuff are very well rendered and detailed, there is a part of the game where it is snowing, if you spin around, you will really get a very nice sense of relative movement. One thing that was really bad is that while playing, your character is not a fully rendered body, but just a gun and and a hand, you might be asking, how did I noticed that if the game is in first person, well try to find a corner than look all the way down, you will understand. Story: 9.0 This is the best part, because during the entire game they keep showing you bits and peaces of a whole, that you will still be unaware in the end of the game. This gives them a lot of ground to work on more titles that unfold the real background behind the chimera. Even though the animations of Hale look too plain and without feeling, it's Rachel who tells the story, with her very truthful British accent and emotion enough for you to forget about the rest. The story makes you want go through the game just to see how it will turn out and leaves you wanting to know the answers to a lot of questions. As this is a franchise, this is actually a good thing. Sound: 7.5 The battle field does sound like it should and the quiet areas to, what it does bad is that if you step slowly on a surface it will make the same noise as if you were jumping. While this is great to give you the scares if you are trying sneak in quiet scenarios, it detracts a lot from the realism you expect in the sound of today games. The surround sound works well, but it's just a good sounding game, not great, not superb, not perfect. Gameplay: 8.5 Fun, rewarding and fast paced. I am not super into FPS games, I'm more of a sneaking kind of guy, but in Resistance, I have to admit that I really enjoyed going berserk at the times the game forced me to. If you, on the other hand, love to go crazy shooting all that moves, you will love this game, specially because friendly fire is ON. The AI is great at times, the enemies will take cover when under fire and will attack you with grenades while you are under cover, but there are many times when you are able to shoot a chimera slowly to death without seeing any sort of reaction. Some chimera have different behavior, being more aggressive and visceral, trying to attack you no matter what, these are the best times to use your good and old shotgun. When playing coop, the game does some funny (weird) stuff, as it is check point triggered, when you hit a check point area, the game will force your buddy there by teleporting him there and as the campaign is the same as the single player, only in vertical split screen mode, the game totally ignores the other character, story wise, as if he never existed. Generally, if you are covered, you don't have to worry about enemies shooting at you, unless they guys are shooting with a weapon called Auger, which can go through anything. This really adds to the game play, forcing you take action instead of hiding when you have these kinds of enemies around. Sniping is just great, with special headshot animations and a special effect that I will not spoil here. There is also different animations when you kill them by shooting their legs, the effect is really good. One other problem I noticed, is that you cannot hold the grenade for a while to maximize the damage, but at the same time it was cool to see chimeras jumping away in order to scape my grenades. I wish Hale could do that too. There are lots of unlockables in the game which became available (you get a message on scree) when you accomplish certain things, too bad trophies are yet to come. Interactivity: 7.0 Yeah, I can play PS2 games where I go through vegetation or other things without it moving, but on the PS3... sorry guys, I want you to animate the environment, it could be a simple animation like the ones we had in Metal Gear Solid 3, but yes, I want the environment to interact with me, when I throw an RPG in a wall, it is ok with me if it doesn't collapse, but I need it to show some damage. I really hope to see a game where you can shoot a tree to make it fall over a house giving you an alternative way to access another area of the map without making the game a sandbox. Multiplayer: 7.5 The offline campaign is super fun to play with a friend, even though, as I already said, the game pretends Nathan's friend is not there, but the choice of making it Vertical splitscreen wasn't really for my taste, I know this is a compromise, either horizontal or vertical, you will end up loosing area, but I personally rather see my enemies than a little bit more of the sky. On the online part, it is a lot like Quake, you got a good variety of weapons, energy packs, ammo... and many guys to shoot but I have to tell you, I was destroyed in the matches I've participated, so it wasn't really fun for me. Expand
  4. BobM.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    Simply the best FPS graphics in gaming history. Great gameplay and storyline!!!
  5. MathewD.
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    I give it an 9 because the map is hard to understand and along with the radar. The game was made where the alliens(or whatever they are) have fast speed and can see heat through walls as an advantage, and humans can see people on the radar on the map as an advantage over them, and they can also crouch. So can it be an advantage if you can not read the map very well. Other than that it was I give it an 9 because the map is hard to understand and along with the radar. The game was made where the alliens(or whatever they are) have fast speed and can see heat through walls as an advantage, and humans can see people on the radar on the map as an advantage over them, and they can also crouch. So can it be an advantage if you can not read the map very well. Other than that it was a very very good game, I would give it a 10 for graphics and storyline, and an 8 for the screen and player view (radar, map etc.). Expand
  6. KurtisH.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Great game. Nice story line and gameplay. I hate FPS's but this game rocks.
  7. BobJ.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    People say that there is no reason to buy a PS3, cause there aren't any good games out. Well, this one game right here is all you need. I'm on my 3rd playthrough on the campaign, and I've played over 100 online games. Yet and every time I start it up, it still feels new. This IS the reason to get a PS3.
  8. JohnT.
    Feb 8, 2007
    10
    Highly entertaining shooter with a strong multiplayer and co-op to boot. A long list of stylish weapons makes for some very action packed gameplay.
  9. JoshS.
    Mar 30, 2007
    8
    I bought the game yesterday after general release of the PS3 a week ago. Despite already completing it, it leaves me aching for more, the content and the storyline is genius. You can keep on playing and playing and find new things out during the way. Even if the enemies were a bit repetitive and the graphics wre not the best and do not do the PS3 justice, it is the best game for the PS3 I bought the game yesterday after general release of the PS3 a week ago. Despite already completing it, it leaves me aching for more, the content and the storyline is genius. You can keep on playing and playing and find new things out during the way. Even if the enemies were a bit repetitive and the graphics wre not the best and do not do the PS3 justice, it is the best game for the PS3 at the moment. All who own a PS3, buy this game! Expand
  10. RodB.
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    This game has all the elements that make a great game and it avoids pitfalls that ruin many an otherwise good game. It has good sound effects with no annoying repetition; great graphics with interaction possible with many of the game elements; engaging plot that is well developed and tastefully narrated. If you like FPS games, you will like this one.
  11. AlanK.
    Dec 29, 2006
    7
    The game itself has great graphics and an easy to use camera angle system; however, I found the game itself to be fairly easy to beat. In fact I was able to master the game in about 10 hours. The multi-player action on this game is also a little sub-par meaning that the map dose not indicate where your competition is located until you are in a close proximity; making it quite difficult The game itself has great graphics and an easy to use camera angle system; however, I found the game itself to be fairly easy to beat. In fact I was able to master the game in about 10 hours. The multi-player action on this game is also a little sub-par meaning that the map dose not indicate where your competition is located until you are in a close proximity; making it quite difficult for beginners to locate the competition. Expand
  12. MarcF.
    Oct 20, 2007
    6
    Very very average game. by itself its a decent game, but when you match it up with other competing next gen games, it really isnt good at all. the graphics are okay, maybe on par with half life 2 which came out in 2003. no character development, horrible story, but ok its a shooter. however, some things are inexcusable for a next gen game. the enemy ai is completely retarded, and the game Very very average game. by itself its a decent game, but when you match it up with other competing next gen games, it really isnt good at all. the graphics are okay, maybe on par with half life 2 which came out in 2003. no character development, horrible story, but ok its a shooter. however, some things are inexcusable for a next gen game. the enemy ai is completely retarded, and the game is very repetitive. playstation 3 is really going down the tubes if this is the killer app. i see a lot of fanboys giving it a 10, but i really do not think it deserves anywhere near that score, even as a ps3 owner. you guys need to wake up and play the good games out there. get halo 3, gears of war, the orange box, graw 2, lost planet, oblivion, dead rising, crackdown, the outfit. try something original, this game is stale, and mutliplayer is lame. ok 40 players but it sucks. from personal experience, if youre a serious gamer looking to pick up a console, save your money and get a 360 cuz theres no good multiplayer gaems out on the ps3 yet. and the unified friends list / achievements across all games seal the deal. my 2 cents. Expand
  13. TerryJ.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Awesome campaign, graphics, story, and settings. Great to see co-op, 40 player online, and the online ranking system is nice. Very high replay value.
  14. BillG.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This game is the best thing I've ever played! Awesome graphics and gameplay. I like everything about it and thats why I give it a 10!
  15. Barry
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Awesome. Great graphics (even better than Halo 3's and it's been out many more months) and the gameplay is sound.. multiplayer is a blast, probably the best the PS3 for a good few months.
  16. AdrianG.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Best game of 2007 without thought. I have played it for weeks and haven't gotten bored. Single Mode is a lot of fun trying to find the intel documents, and finishing hard and superhuman mode. On online, it is the best out of all games in history.
  17. Fboyguy
    Feb 7, 2007
    0
    This game is a disgrace why because it tries to be like half life,gears of war,doom 3 and return to castle wolfenstein and fails terribly.The only reason sony put out this game is because they wanted to beat gears of war and the xbox 360 but the 360 has already beat theps3 in the console wars because of its technology and games,also this game is the only one exclusivly for the ps3 that isThis game is a disgrace why because it tries to be like half life,gears of war,doom 3 and return to castle wolfenstein and fails terribly.The only reason sony put out this game is because they wanted to beat gears of war and the xbox 360 but the 360 has already beat theps3 in the console wars because of its technology and games,also this game is the only one exclusivly for the ps3 that is getting good reviews but its not winning any awards ,Look at gears of war its won alot of awards game of the year,best action,and also best graphics but this game looks like it could be on the ps2.Overall dont buy the ps3 because of this game or metal gear solid 4 either because this game is coming out on the pc in march with the same graphics and the same gameplay and mgs4 is going to come out on the xbox 360 bout a year after it comes out on the ps3 and the xbox360 version will have extras on it so save some money and dont buy the ps3 and get a xbox 360 it has gears of war,oblivion,mass effect,fable2,and assasins creed which is also coming out on the ps3 but the xbox 360 version will be better.Trust me.DONT BUY A PS3! Expand
  18. Joe
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    The best fps ever and it was a launch title to top it all of, its so dark in atmosphere and yet so bright and enjoyable with the unique weapons that insomniac are notorious for, in lenght it will have you playing for days ... different levels in England are designed well and change in scenery so things dont seem samey lol, their are many different kinds of the chimeran race to fight, many The best fps ever and it was a launch title to top it all of, its so dark in atmosphere and yet so bright and enjoyable with the unique weapons that insomniac are notorious for, in lenght it will have you playing for days ... different levels in England are designed well and change in scenery so things dont seem samey lol, their are many different kinds of the chimeran race to fight, many vehicles and when moving with a team you feel so involved with the great sound coming from your squad aswell as the scary screams coming from your enemie as they jump from the ceiling making u **** ur pants, great game not to mention ALOT of fun online (40players !!) .... im gonna say it .... BEATS HALO IMO haha, one of the many reasons to get a ps3 and from day 1 it can be urz ! haha this is a true killer app. Expand
  19. Bear
    Mar 23, 2007
    5
    Average, average, average. Does nothing to move this most stagnant of genres forwards. All the PlayStation worshiping casual gamers will think it's the second coming, but it really is lagging behind many of the big-name shooters we've seen over the past few years.
  20. LiboW.
    Mar 5, 2007
    5
    My opinion may not do the ENTIRE game justice, but just playing it for 2 days at my friend's house, the game gave me a mediocre "another-one-of-those" FPS feelings (like how prey used innovative weapons and gravity but still fell short). The only reason I'm voting here is that, there's something very fishy about these grammatically correct, perfectly capitalized, My opinion may not do the ENTIRE game justice, but just playing it for 2 days at my friend's house, the game gave me a mediocre "another-one-of-those" FPS feelings (like how prey used innovative weapons and gravity but still fell short). The only reason I'm voting here is that, there's something very fishy about these grammatically correct, perfectly capitalized, back-of-the-box descriptive "reviews". Smells of SCEA.... Expand
  21. Timski
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    Look, Xbox360 is old news. This game kicks ass on a machine that doesn't sound like a hoover when running. Live with it.
  22. MarkK.
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    A truly engaging game, driven with quite a well narrated story. While I thought Gears of War was better all-round, Resistance outshone it in the narrative and did a good job of establishing an identity that hopefully will develop with a sequel. Recommended wholeheartedly.
  23. TreyM.
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    If your rating this against Halo then your being a biased fanbou/girl. This game is not Halo, it is not Half-Life and it is not Call of Duty. It borrows elements from all of the games and makes one amazing game. The narration was compelling and the graphics were stunning. The end left ou wanting more and left you KNOWING you would get more. Multiplayer mode was also very entertaining, If your rating this against Halo then your being a biased fanbou/girl. This game is not Halo, it is not Half-Life and it is not Call of Duty. It borrows elements from all of the games and makes one amazing game. The narration was compelling and the graphics were stunning. The end left ou wanting more and left you KNOWING you would get more. Multiplayer mode was also very entertaining, though it could use more open maps. The weapons were my favorite aspect of the game, each one making you think of a strategy! Get this game PS3 owners. The End. Expand
  24. DarylL.
    May 11, 2007
    8
    Graphically its certainly impressive, a great launch title for the PS3 to boast the technical capabilities we can expect to see in the future. The co-op mode in particular is great fun, along with Internet play options gives Resistance that extra longevity. Its not a groundbreaking game as theres something missing to distinguish itself from the vast competition of FPS games available at Graphically its certainly impressive, a great launch title for the PS3 to boast the technical capabilities we can expect to see in the future. The co-op mode in particular is great fun, along with Internet play options gives Resistance that extra longevity. Its not a groundbreaking game as theres something missing to distinguish itself from the vast competition of FPS games available at the moment. This leaves the single player with a sense of 'seen it all before' thus is unlikely to give anyone any great incentive to do it all over again. You do get to unlock you weapons when completed but personally i think its more fun using them against humans on the net rather than going through that game again. Having said that its still a top game, with the restricted choice of games out on the PS3 at the moment this is probably the must buy for any action seeker. Expand
  25. DanB
    May 3, 2007
    9
    This is way more enjoyable (and varied) than say, Gears of Bore or Halo 2. Some of the graphics are superb and multiplayer is awesome. The PS3 is running this without breaking a sweat too!! Consider that its a launch title (think the forgettable Perfect Dark Z) and imagine what Resistance 2 is going to be like.......buy this now.........
  26. Dan
    May 6, 2007
    9
    I think this is a great launch game for the ps3. It is a solid FPS and boasts crisp graphics and a compelling storyline. Even on a standard TV, the game is beautifully realised with some excellent attention to detail. The levels are generally well planned and the AI, whilst not exceptional, will offer even the most experienced of a gamers a run for their money. All this, coupled with a I think this is a great launch game for the ps3. It is a solid FPS and boasts crisp graphics and a compelling storyline. Even on a standard TV, the game is beautifully realised with some excellent attention to detail. The levels are generally well planned and the AI, whilst not exceptional, will offer even the most experienced of a gamers a run for their money. All this, coupled with a very efficient online mode represent very good value. Well done Insomnia, it will be interesting to see what happens next on this platform as the programmers tap into the power of PS3. Sony were right to delay the launch of their console rather than rush to the production lines like Microsoft. Liittle wonder that, Microsoft are already working on an upgraded 360 system. Expand
  27. ScottH.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    The game is a excellent games and is awsome online.
  28. AnonymousMC
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    For a first generation game on the next generation console system, this game really finds its niche. Great multiplayer options really makes this game shine. My only problem is that the campaign never really surprises you. If you are used to playing FPS's, especially great ones like Half-Life, then you will be expecting ambushes around every corner. Unfortunatly, the most surprisingFor a first generation game on the next generation console system, this game really finds its niche. Great multiplayer options really makes this game shine. My only problem is that the campaign never really surprises you. If you are used to playing FPS's, especially great ones like Half-Life, then you will be expecting ambushes around every corner. Unfortunatly, the most surprising moments are when you actually fight a harder enemy. Again, unfortunatly, you end up fighting that monster the next level. What makes this game good, however, is the weapons. Every weapon feels unique and well thought out. With great checks and balances, along with creative secondary fires, it's hard to figure out why the carbine seems to be the best weapon to use...And why the story line is in 1951.

    Positives: Great weapon system, narration, and multiplayer.
    Negatives: Mediocre incorporation of weapons in the campaign, lackluster differences in enemies, and the lack of surprises
    Overall: A great fix for people wanting an FPS on their PS3. The campaign is enjoyable, but leaves something to be desired. The multiplayer picks up what the campaign left out.
    Bottom Line: If you have a PS3 and enjoy FPS's, then buy this game. You won't be dissapointed.
    Expand
  29. SeanT.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    The best on-line multiplayer game. Excellent single player and cooperative storyline. Good graphics and fast paced action.
  30. IgorK.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This game is great! Me and my friend are still playing in cooperative mode and we can't stop. Only lack of electricity will make us to stop playing it! Developer did a good work.
  31. DensyD.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to the excitement of the scenes! The online play is WAY too cool, also.!!!! Expand
  32. AaroS.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    The second best PS3 game ever (Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction FTW). It has everthing that awesome game needs and you want to play this game more, more and more. the online game is awesome as well as the campaing mode which has exellent story. Insomniac Games gives you super cool weapons that you'll love to use! 40 players online matches are just FANTASTIC! You got an The second best PS3 game ever (Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction FTW). It has everthing that awesome game needs and you want to play this game more, more and more. the online game is awesome as well as the campaing mode which has exellent story. Insomniac Games gives you super cool weapons that you'll love to use! 40 players online matches are just FANTASTIC! You got an awesome ranking system and many patches will make your play time even better. There are also two different map-packs which you can buy easily. This is the game that deserves 10 out of 10! Expand
  33. AaronB.
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    Wow!!! an amazing experience! this game contains so much action! though this game reminds me of war of the worlds movie. the online of this game is epic !!! this game is a must have for all ps3 users just one amazing experience!!!
  34. ZackaryS.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    This game is the reason i bought a PS3 and i was not disappointed. its a very good game its in my top 15 fav the only thing thats i don't like is some of the online components but its still a very strong excellent titles.
  35. ChrisL.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    It is a brilliant game, it is fun and the gun selection is great because you can use the chimeran guns as well. I hope the new game Resistance 2 will be just as good.
  36. MontyG.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    A complete package of a game. Solid single player with a surprisingly effective narrative structure, and addictive multiplayer that steps in as the 'halo' for PS3.
  37. TonyM
    Mar 18, 2008
    2
    The game is not worth getting, the graphics are alright and so is the plot but the AI is so dumb that it is an insult calling them AI, the flashlight is quite annoying and there is a massive similarity with Half Life 2, Gears of war, Quake 4 and Doom 3(which are all way better than this). The multiplayer is quite bad with really random maps with pointless designs
  38. danieln.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    The graphic are quite good but not superb which for me is the only reason this game doesn't get 10 out of 10. The storying line has quite a few twists and is quite detailed. The storyline is also a breath of fresh air, this game is superb considering that this is a release title and this game won't be topped for a while
  39. JoeH.
    Jul 31, 2008
    7
    Clearly a launch title, this is a little lacking in the graphics department. The game play is a little repetitive in places all though there are also some really quite inventive and fun parts. The real niggle though is changing weapons (very poorly implemented) and the choice of weapons. Sure there are quite a lot of weapons but I've only really used about 4 or 5 of them, the rest Clearly a launch title, this is a little lacking in the graphics department. The game play is a little repetitive in places all though there are also some really quite inventive and fun parts. The real niggle though is changing weapons (very poorly implemented) and the choice of weapons. Sure there are quite a lot of weapons but I've only really used about 4 or 5 of them, the rest are rather pointless. Those giving this game a 0, 1 and 10 have ulterior motives, for me it Expand
  40. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    7
    This game reminds me of Halo 3. Yes, it's fun to play and is good, but was overhyped to the max and doesn't bring anything new to the FPS genre. Just like Halo, if it weren't as hyped up as it was, it would be in the middle of the FPS ladder. Somewhat disappointing.
  41. JoeT.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. A little humor, a few explosions. I can only think of one other thing it could use but thats not appropriate for all ages. Addictive would be an understatement.
  42. TerranceC.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    What can I say? Its an extremely polished experience from start to finish. Totally engrossing.
  43. ACE5
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    "Is this it...is this the best you could conjure up, Sarumann...er... Sony!" This was an action packed game all the way through, but for some reason I felt like I was playing a altered and updated version of serious sam. But overall still a good game.
  44. [Anonymous]
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay. What more could you want? This is simply one of the best console first person shooters I've played. Awesome game.
  45. RoyD.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    I played this game with a Japanese import (no ps3's available in aus just yet) and seriously it was the best of all five games that came with it in the mail. It wasn't just better, it was undenaibly better. I also have an xbox and as a devoted halo 2 player (came second in the australia wide tournament) i am already starting to think that this game is better then halo. And I played this game with a Japanese import (no ps3's available in aus just yet) and seriously it was the best of all five games that came with it in the mail. It wasn't just better, it was undenaibly better. I also have an xbox and as a devoted halo 2 player (came second in the australia wide tournament) i am already starting to think that this game is better then halo. And i've only played it one time through. Well done insomniac on creating the rare b ut very much enjoyabloe killer app. Expand
  46. PeterW.
    Nov 20, 2006
    5
    The graphics are mediocre at best and the game play was not very interesting.
  47. SonnyC.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    This game is completely awesome! The replay value is great. I love how you are encouraged to play the game again by getting a new arsenal of cool weapons. The character AI is splendid. The physics are the best I've seen in any console game (OMG the ragdolls!). The story is awesome and it leaves me hoping they make a sequel (the story seems open ended enough to allow for one.) For the This game is completely awesome! The replay value is great. I love how you are encouraged to play the game again by getting a new arsenal of cool weapons. The character AI is splendid. The physics are the best I've seen in any console game (OMG the ragdolls!). The story is awesome and it leaves me hoping they make a sequel (the story seems open ended enough to allow for one.) For the people that gave this game low scores: Did you even play the game or did you watch YouTube videos to come up with your verdict? Or... Did you decide to give a low rating because you hate Sony. Thanks for your immature "opinion". Insomniac: Great Job. Just like the Ratchet series, you've managed to pull the sort of masterpiece that you have a distint history of doing. Congratulations on a job well done. The graphics in some of the later levels... OMG.. Expand
  48. JohnC.
    Dec 21, 2006
    3
    Well, well, a tru next-generation game - NOT! Lame, basic FPS and short, too short!!! Is The awsome media format - the Blu-Ray - needed for a game of this extent ???
    And Sony fanatics, don't really have much shame anymore, saying that the game uses only 1% of the machine ??? NExt time they'll be sayng one doesn't need to turn on the power...
    Shesh...!
  49. DaveB.
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    I'm generally a Noob when it comes to first-person shooters, So I didn't really know what to expect from it. I have to say I was impressed with the smoothness of movement, the visuals, and the controls.
  50. ChaseR.
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    I am not to sure about what the nay sayers are talking about. The attention to detail regarding graphics, smoothness of motion and effects, AI's ((Hard Mode)), and the feel of this game are great. Especially the graphics! ((If you don't agree you need to get a high def TV obviously)) Its almost like watching a movie during game play. It can give a actual challenge on campaign I am not to sure about what the nay sayers are talking about. The attention to detail regarding graphics, smoothness of motion and effects, AI's ((Hard Mode)), and the feel of this game are great. Especially the graphics! ((If you don't agree you need to get a high def TV obviously)) Its almost like watching a movie during game play. It can give a actual challenge on campaign mode to even the better gamers. Last but not least the online gaming is great also. Fast pace run and gun action with all the fun details that only Resistance offers. BTW> Blue Ray is the future! This game literally takes nothing out of the processing power of the PS3! 360 is nothing....... Expand
  51. IndiS.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Insomniac games made another game that looks awesome such as the storyline, co-operative, multiplayer, online, clan, medals and finally skill points but there's still more. Plus there's updates for Resistance: Fall of Man when you play online to make a little improvement but it will come in future or game items from the PlayStation store if there are any. If your not sure about Insomniac games made another game that looks awesome such as the storyline, co-operative, multiplayer, online, clan, medals and finally skill points but there's still more. Plus there's updates for Resistance: Fall of Man when you play online to make a little improvement but it will come in future or game items from the PlayStation store if there are any. If your not sure about this game download the demo from the PlayStation store and see how you feel about this game. Expand
  52. DavidK.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    Its obvious that from the list of games we were given to try from Marc.F thats hes a Xbox fan"BOY" that aside i agree that this game is not great, but i also beliave that, the games story is excellent i just think that they executed the story soo badly, and i feel the solo campaing is not worth it, if you get it GET online. which in my opinion, is much like Halo 1,2, and 3, they are PANTS Its obvious that from the list of games we were given to try from Marc.F thats hes a Xbox fan"BOY" that aside i agree that this game is not great, but i also beliave that, the games story is excellent i just think that they executed the story soo badly, and i feel the solo campaing is not worth it, if you get it GET online. which in my opinion, is much like Halo 1,2, and 3, they are PANTS unless online. so i gave this game an 8, graphics.....you probably wont even give a wow, as they are lacking in finer details, Solo campaingn. ok but not worth it unless you have online. ONline = really good fun, one great online game, still not the best though. Expand
  53. J.K.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    This game has the best co-op mode I have seen.
  54. JacoboT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    5
    This game is horrible. Nothing makes it stand out. It pales in comparison to most FPS's. Its graphics are nothing special. this is a reason not to buy a PS3, Gears of War is much better than Resistance: Fall of Man, graphicly and 150% gameplay. I expected more from this game, but it sucked, not even worth renting.
  55. SamH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    3
    I was extremely sad when i got home after paying £45!!!! for this peice of junk. it was truely awful and i hated every moment. the graphics are very ordinary and the art is dull , even on my 1080p 40 inch samsung. most people who think this game is good should play gears of war or halo 3 , they make this shooter seem so ordinary in all ways possible.
  56. J
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    This is by far one of the best games I have ever played. The story line is awesome and the weapons are too. I've played a lot of FPS's including Doom and the Halo series, and nothing else even comes close. If you own a PS3, you need to get this game!
  57. StevenM.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    This game is a decent FPS. It brings absolutely nothing new to the table though. The story is pretty lame, the guns are cool but un-balanced, and the multiplayer is a bit too frantic for 40 people. Plus, the PS3 controller is terrible for shooters. The lack of rumble and poor placement of the analog sticks really detract from the gameplay. Playing this game with a keyboard and mouse, or This game is a decent FPS. It brings absolutely nothing new to the table though. The story is pretty lame, the guns are cool but un-balanced, and the multiplayer is a bit too frantic for 40 people. Plus, the PS3 controller is terrible for shooters. The lack of rumble and poor placement of the analog sticks really detract from the gameplay. Playing this game with a keyboard and mouse, or even the 360 controller probably would've made a huge difference. The graphics are nothing to get excited about. Actually, if you are expecting to be blown away, you are going to be very disappointed. I showed this to my brother and he actually chuckled and said "You paid over 600 dollars for THAT?" It's not terrible, but it won't knock your socks off either. It's not a top of the line shooter like Half Life 2, Halo, or Doom 3, but it's close. Expand
  58. M
    Oct 27, 2007
    7
    Great gameplay but the story lets it down. Yet again the world is in trouble and America has to save everyone else! The player can't even choose to play as a Brit, even though we're supposed to be fighting side by side with the Americans. And I wonder whose great idea it was to feature Manchester Cathedral... But apart from that it's worthy of a 7/10.
  59. SonytheGreatBetrayer
    Jan 6, 2007
    2
    All my frined went out and payed a butt load on the PS3. I've played this game a lot, and I've had time to think. Not at all the "must have" title for a PS3. In fact a PS3 isn't a "must have" right now. The Wii's just fun and 360 has Gears, Ranbow 6 LV, and more. Buy a Wii or a 360.
  60. MorganC.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This is, by a long shot, the best shooter I have ever played. Outshines either Halo by a great deal, for those who compare the two.
  61. ChuckieA.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself.
  62. Chris
    Feb 18, 2007
    5
    Looks really nice, but it doesn't draw me in. I find myself losing interest in it after only having it for a week.
  63. JoshuaS.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    This next-gen shooter really has improved my outlook on the FPS genre. Although it comes as one of very few choices for this console the sheer power of the graphics of this game as well as the unique spin on the very overplayed WW2-ERA shooters really boosted the ratings. With the addition of game updates, integrated online play, and a ranking system I believe this is one of the best This next-gen shooter really has improved my outlook on the FPS genre. Although it comes as one of very few choices for this console the sheer power of the graphics of this game as well as the unique spin on the very overplayed WW2-ERA shooters really boosted the ratings. With the addition of game updates, integrated online play, and a ranking system I believe this is one of the best shooter games you'll find, to rival Gears of War. Expand
  64. Jitty
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    I've been playing this game for weeks and I beat the game on medium and am working on hard. And I'd have to say that this game is... very fun, isn't revolutionary but it doesn't need to be. It's a fun, solid shooter. And I would recommend it to almost anyone who is willing to try it with an open mind. I give it a 9.0 because some of the textures weren't good I've been playing this game for weeks and I beat the game on medium and am working on hard. And I'd have to say that this game is... very fun, isn't revolutionary but it doesn't need to be. It's a fun, solid shooter. And I would recommend it to almost anyone who is willing to try it with an open mind. I give it a 9.0 because some of the textures weren't good and because yes, it wasn't revolutionary. Expand
  65. ZackZack
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Pretty good game, decent story, pretty good gameplay, and awesome graphics, however, I think that the PS3 can, and will do much, much better.
  66. DillonK.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    I loved this game. The controls were well laid out and the graphics were excellent! The AI is rather good and that
  67. StevenMoore
    May 3, 2007
    7
    After completing the game, it's just nothing special. It tries hard to be Half Life 1, 2, Doom 3 and Halo 2 all in one but it just comes up a bit short, which is a shame considering the effort that has been put into this title. Graphically it's rather bland with flat lighting and some ugly textures, though the levels are enormous and show that the PS3 has massive potential. IfAfter completing the game, it's just nothing special. It tries hard to be Half Life 1, 2, Doom 3 and Halo 2 all in one but it just comes up a bit short, which is a shame considering the effort that has been put into this title. Graphically it's rather bland with flat lighting and some ugly textures, though the levels are enormous and show that the PS3 has massive potential. If you have a PS3 you'll doubtless pick it up and enjoy it, in a couple of years it'll still be high on the average score lists simply because nothing better was available at the time. Collapse
  68. VersemS.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    This game was the beginning step to the rise of the Playstation 3 with good graphics and story. It had great level design and the Chimeran weapons are quite creative. The use of the SIXAXIS is pretty exciting when an enemy jumps onto you. The online multiplayer supports up to 40 players while offline you have 4 which is really fun with some friends. Resistance: Fall of Man is a great FPS This game was the beginning step to the rise of the Playstation 3 with good graphics and story. It had great level design and the Chimeran weapons are quite creative. The use of the SIXAXIS is pretty exciting when an enemy jumps onto you. The online multiplayer supports up to 40 players while offline you have 4 which is really fun with some friends. Resistance: Fall of Man is a great FPS and once you begin you can find yourself playing for hours. Expand
  69. JoeyK.
    Jun 27, 2007
    8
    I was surprised how good this game was. When the PS3 launched, I wasn't interested, I thought it was just an average shooter that got inflated scores because it was the best launch title. But it's actually a very good shooter on its own. The story is interesting, but not great, and the premise is neat, but not fantastic. The unique weapons are cool, and help to set it apart from I was surprised how good this game was. When the PS3 launched, I wasn't interested, I thought it was just an average shooter that got inflated scores because it was the best launch title. But it's actually a very good shooter on its own. The story is interesting, but not great, and the premise is neat, but not fantastic. The unique weapons are cool, and help to set it apart from games with similar styles and settings. The main flaw of the game is that is suffers from too many shooter cliches and conventions. That doesn't detract from the gameplay, but it makes most parts of the game seem predictable and familiar. But overall, it's a really fun shooter. I don't even like FPS that much, especially on consoles, but I had a great time playing through the whole game on co-op with a friend. Expand
  70. LukeB.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Great game. great graphics, great online what more could you ask for.
  71. AndrewT.
    Jul 10, 2007
    9
    I love this game i could play multiplayer with friends everyday, i think the best game i ever played.
  72. RickS.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    I've clocked this games in every mode and every level including superhuman, I have thousands of on-line kills and I STILL want to play it.
  73. DaveG.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Pure class to play- and great online play to match! Very invigorating storyline and just good overall.
  74. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    It's not impressive, it's not a breath of fresh air. It's just another FPS...
  75. RandyS.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This is the shit, it's better than Halo 2 and 1...The computer AI is smart as hell...This game will keep you on your toes.
  76. DavidO.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Fun, but way over rated and unoriginal. Too much hype, not enough new things. Lame single player.
  77. ChuckieA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    I recently finished the entire game & felt very Satisfied to what it had to offer, then i tried the online play. WOW!!! Incredible!! I could not tell you how amazing it is to play against 40 other players at once, you have to see for yourself.
  78. JesseM
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the Solid shooter but nothing else. Storyline was not deep enough also there were no characters in the game I could really get attached to. I hate Parker. What bothered me was that the story line is not told from the main characters point of view. Instead it is told from some bitch named Parker. Another thing that bothered me was that the main character Nathan Hale only talks once in the whole game I believe and is not someone you can get attached to. The graphics are good and show big tremendous battles, but I experienced some slow down. The gameplay was solid and there were many neat guns in the game. I did not like though how the game kept throwing the same enemies at you though. It takes a while before you fight a different enemies other than the typical Chimera foot solider. All and all Resistance is fun while it last's and the multilayer will probaley interest you for a bit but in the end I would only pick this game up for around 20 to 30 bucks. Cheers. Expand
  79. JasonL.
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    This game has a solid campaign but really looses points in the muliplayer. The maps are boring and seem like very liitle thought was put in to designing them and everyone plays 1 hit kill matches. The muliplayer is mildly entertaining but nothing special and certainly not the best on the console. I would actually give this a 7.5 but I am rounding up becuase it was a release game and as a This game has a solid campaign but really looses points in the muliplayer. The maps are boring and seem like very liitle thought was put in to designing them and everyone plays 1 hit kill matches. The muliplayer is mildly entertaining but nothing special and certainly not the best on the console. I would actually give this a 7.5 but I am rounding up becuase it was a release game and as a release game it is good. If you are looking for a multiplayer I would recomend Call of Duty 4, Rainbo Six or even GRAW 2. If you don't play online I would suggest Drake's Fortune or Rachet and Clank. All in all it's a solid game that is worth checking out, but there are better games out there for the ps3. Expand
  80. EmmettT.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game rocks, Yes halo and gears are real nice games with good multiplayer but there not good enough to say that they are better then this game. And the same goes for this game to say that it is better. Most of these people that complain about it can not play it and get mad so they put bad reviews.
  81. AndrewR.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    This was the best game at the time, and there is nothing stoping that.. People keep comparing it to Halo blah blah blah... quit trying to compare and play it!!! then give your input... Halo has gone trough 3 games this was a first work, just you wait until Resistance 2 comes out... look out Halo.
  82. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    A very good game that got me into FPS again. It was also my first game online and boy is it hectic and fun. The single player is entertaining but the most fun is in the multiplayer.
  83. ChanseW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    One thing about shooters is that throughout the game most players think they will be safe behind cover. Yet Insomniac's Resistance:Fall of Man throws that whole idea out the proverbial window with the implementation of clever weaponry and a campaign that...although dull at times...still provides a solid playthrough. Not to mention the multiplaye, which with its Call of Duty esque One thing about shooters is that throughout the game most players think they will be safe behind cover. Yet Insomniac's Resistance:Fall of Man throws that whole idea out the proverbial window with the implementation of clever weaponry and a campaign that...although dull at times...still provides a solid playthrough. Not to mention the multiplaye, which with its Call of Duty esque rewards system as one progresses though the ranks and a still active online community provide hours of gaming. Graphically it is a bit weak, although it must be taken into account that this was a PS3 launch title. Furthermore it was Insomniac's first shot at a shooter (no pun intended). About 3/4 of the way through the game ramps up in difficulty and the color palette becomes trite, but until then it holds your attention. A 'alternate universe' storyline provide a better backdrop than any other WWII shooter, and while the cutscenes between levels are simply boring slideshows, the gameplay in between is action-packed. The game is certainly a must play for any PS3 owner or shooter fan, and although it may not have the same credentials as a Call of Duty or Halo, give it a shot...you will like it. Expand
  84. CharafB.
    Aug 17, 2008
    2
    This game sucks really soo much that when i taught that this would be good game in shop but in home i tested it and graphics look really bad no good textures and sad multiplayer so i didnt like it.only good thing was the sounds in game i liked them but all the other was so bad that i bought xbox360 and halo 3 and i think their much better .
  85. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    5
    I really dont understand how this game can have a higher user rating than a game like gta 4! Its not a bad game, but what it is is very average, people sometimes put it on a par with halo 3, which i would agree with, but then halo 3 is really very average too! Resistance is a mediocre fps in a sea of mediocre fps's, i wont say it wasnt worth the money, but thats mainly because i only I really dont understand how this game can have a higher user rating than a game like gta 4! Its not a bad game, but what it is is very average, people sometimes put it on a par with halo 3, which i would agree with, but then halo 3 is really very average too! Resistance is a mediocre fps in a sea of mediocre fps's, i wont say it wasnt worth the money, but thats mainly because i only spent 18 quid on it! The gameplay has some nice moments, and the addition of 2 player coop is helpful as its something lacking in other fps titles. Expand
  86. SpencerT
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    While graphically not as stunning as, say, Uncharted or Metal Gear Solid 4, the unique setting, rich and gripping storyline, just plain fun guns, terrifying and brilliant enemy design, cunning AI and vibrant and fun multiplayer make this a brilliant game. In addition, between the Skill points, unlockable weapons and collectable intel, here is ample material to allow much replay value.
  87. TravisM.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    This game is by far one of the best PS3 games ever, Starts rather bland with a great story building behind it. Midway, The game's narrative starts to drive the game and the level design gets way better, As a cross platform gamer, Owning all three modern consoles.. I can say this is better than Halo 3, And most 360 FPS's. Don't let your console pride blind you from great games.
  88. anthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    8
    Solid shooting. A little easy at times, with no recoil whatsoever with the guns and no hand tremors for the sniper. AI however was not great. Superhuman provided a good challenge though. The story was well done, presented like a documentary. The presence of the chimera provided a eerie atmosphere which suited the game and its environments. Online was very well done with customisable 40 Solid shooting. A little easy at times, with no recoil whatsoever with the guns and no hand tremors for the sniper. AI however was not great. Superhuman provided a good challenge though. The story was well done, presented like a documentary. The presence of the chimera provided a eerie atmosphere which suited the game and its environments. Online was very well done with customisable 40 player matches. Expand
  89. NeonSighs
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    Unfortunately Fall of Man can be a bore to play. The Ai is predictable, level design is linear and distinctly average, and players are asked to walk through some sections of the level (without fireing a single shot) as a cheap way of prolonging the length of the game.

    The visuals are solid throughout, but do not meet the expectations or the hype the publisher conjured prior to launch.
  90. AlanH.
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Being one of the lucky ones to pick up a Playstation 3 without being shot in the face by one of those deranged maniacs, I picked up this game because of all the hype. Some people were wondering if it lived up to it... and it did. As you probably have seen already while scrolling down to the Readers Review section, you've probably noticed that almost all the scores for this game were Being one of the lucky ones to pick up a Playstation 3 without being shot in the face by one of those deranged maniacs, I picked up this game because of all the hype. Some people were wondering if it lived up to it... and it did. As you probably have seen already while scrolling down to the Readers Review section, you've probably noticed that almost all the scores for this game were nineties. This game is one of the greatest first person shooters ever made. It rivals that of Halo with its massive forty player online multiplayer. The graphics are amazing and the story, though basic, is wonderfully told by a third person narrative perspected. The sound is also great. But I think the real protagonist of this game is the weapons. Insomniac, famed creators of the Rachet and Clank series, already had experience creating exotic and many awe inspiring weapons. they gave this FPS that same five-star treatment with its weapons as well and out came weapons such as the Bullseye, Auger, and many other weapons. I would like to congratulate not only Insomniac for creating this great first person shooter, but also Sony for creating the Playstation 3, a system powerful and worthy enough to endure this wonderful game. Thank you. Expand
  91. ElliottP.
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    This doesn't live up to the Sony hype. Resistance is a subpar shooter with neat weapons. Wait for Halo 3.
  92. TonyF.
    Nov 28, 2006
    1
    Very Dissappointing Game. Expected good graphics and gameplay. But got neither
  93. JoelC.
    Nov 29, 2006
    0
    This game blows. The PS3 is overpriced, and not selling well at all. Sony really screwed up this generation of consoles. Too bad, the PS2 was great. I've played this game and can't see any reason to spend $600 on junk for a machine. Hey Sony, try thinking outside the box and innovating, not copying. Get the Wii folks, I've never had so much fun in gaming.
  94. CliffgayB.
    Nov 29, 2006
    1
    The game didn't live up to the hype. I would rather go play my 360 and play call of duty for the original xbox. Or maybe even some Fuzion Frenzy cause this game is horrible and don't waste your money.
  95. TravisM.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing game. 360 fanboys give it no just, and I wouldn't doubt they don't even own the console or game. Great graphics and even better gameplay. Controls are smooth. To me, either you love this game or you clearly haven't actually played it.
  96. AtomHeart
    Dec 1, 2006
    4
    As the supposed premier (and only...) launch game for the PS3, this is a mediocre game and with that a colossal dissapointment.
  97. Rol
    Dec 22, 2006
    7
    Good in places, but too patchy to be anything but mundane as it adds little to the genre. The graphics are sharp but lack that something extra to say this is a good looking game. Taken on singleplayer I'll give it 6 but the multiplayer is good fun and would get an 8. Not bad but won't silence any critics of the PS3 either.
  98. FeenixErazona
    Dec 26, 2006
    8
    I never liked alien/monster shooter games at all but I gave this game a fair chance and I found myself continuing on to the next level with no hesitation whotsoever! The graphics up front seemed kinda lacking but as you progress through the game the levels become so detailed with rich graphics, I dont think Microsoft could could even dream of producing equal quality images. The game I never liked alien/monster shooter games at all but I gave this game a fair chance and I found myself continuing on to the next level with no hesitation whotsoever! The graphics up front seemed kinda lacking but as you progress through the game the levels become so detailed with rich graphics, I dont think Microsoft could could even dream of producing equal quality images. The game seemed to go by fast but all in all its not exactly a real short game. I dont know much about this genre as I do not care for alien/monster shooters but this game was a real great launch title in my opinioin. The multiplayer hump has been well over came with the great online gameplay. Thumbs up! Expand
  99. SeanF.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Awesome graphics, intricate gaming design, and multiplayer options that rival Halo 2, this game has surpassesed everyone else. And it only uses 1% of the PS3's processing power. Keep it up Sony!
  100. Knightmare!
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    Well, well!! apparently some individuales didn't do their homework, or just did'nt pay attention. The game is awesome compared to some other games. Pay attention to detail! and there is enough of it in this game. Things you would not be able to see in ps2 games you would see in this game. Like the reflective walls in the underground processing base of the chimera. With closer Well, well!! apparently some individuales didn't do their homework, or just did'nt pay attention. The game is awesome compared to some other games. Pay attention to detail! and there is enough of it in this game. Things you would not be able to see in ps2 games you would see in this game. Like the reflective walls in the underground processing base of the chimera. With closer look see you could see the excellent detail that was put in. And the character models of the enemy look really good up close. There are things about the game that are frantic and fun to say the least. and to play co-op in story mode on a big screen high def TV is bananas! So all you youngstas leavin "1's" need to leave the "PS3's" to the grown folks and stick with your Halo's. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    From start to finish, Fall of Man is one hell of an outstanding roller coaster ride that every last PS3 owner needs for day one...Above all else, it's the multiplayer elements that truly ascend this one to the next level. It's a must have for sure.
  2. When you kill an enemy it doesn't disappear and when you blow up part of the near fully destructible environments the pieces don't go away either. The obvious power of the PS3 and the masterful coding work of the developers let everything stay on screen all the time while never taking a frame hit. This is an incredible accomplishment for a launch game on any system. [JPN Import]
  3. 85
    Resistance falls a little short of being the hoped-for "Halo-killer," but with a package that would be considered complete by any standards, it delivers a launch classic, and it lives up to its billing as the PS3's killer app.