Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    100
    Its weird blend of influences coalesce into an experience that transcends its parts, creating a title that feels familiar enough for the average rhythm fan, but different enough to be considered on its own merits. Retro/Grade is a seamless mix of concept and execution, an essential entry into the music genre.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    91
    Overall, Retro/Grade is a wholly unique experience in both genres that it represents, and is well worth your time. If you have any interest in rhythm games or shoot 'em ups, you should do yourself a favor and check this out.
  3. Fresh, funky, and super fun. [Nov 2012, p.82]
  4. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    Retro/Grade is a stunning take on both the rhythm and the space shooter genres – both of which haven't had much innovation in recent years. With solid mechanics, fun gameplay and excellent presentation, this could just be the best, and certainly the most unique, downloadable game this year.
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    As far as rhythm games go, Retro/Grade is up there with the best.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Retro Grade’s unique take on the Ryhtm game genre will leave you suprised and satisfied. On a higher difficulty it can be quite challenging and though trophy hunters will be dissapointed with the lack of Platinum and extreme difficulty of attaining all the bronzes, the sheer addictiveness will have most players looking to unlock 100% of this games content. Quirky, addictive, fun and unique it’s everything an indie game should be.
    Trophy Difficulty Very Hard

    Story 7/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Graphics 9.5/10
    Sound 8/10
    Lasting Appeal 9/10

    Read my full review here: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/retrograde-review/
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I didn't know what to expect from this game. I haven't played a good shmup (shoot 'em up) in awhile, so I was hoping this would scratch the itch. I knew going in that it was rythm-based, but I thought maybe there would some shooter action. I was wrong in thinking this, but very pleasantly surprised by this unique take on the rythm-music genre. An excellent soundtrack filled with a variety of electronica, several difficulties that cater to all skillsets, a high level of replayability (despite its' initially disappointing length), great sense of self-aware and irreverent humor, the ability to use your dust-gathering guitar periphreals, and, most importantly, fast, fun and rewarding gameplay. The graphics and models (with the exception of the stellar background detail) are forgettable and disappointing, and the lack of co-operative play is a letdown; but, the game shines in every other category. Oh, and stay for the credits. Full Review »
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    You have to be careful with this game. Find and download the demo first on the PSN or watch videos of gameplay with the sound on. You may actually hate the music. I do not think it is for everyone.

    Retro/Grade is pure eye candy if you like colorful things flying in space with lots of special effects exploding and doing crazy particle stuff. So in the visual department the game is excellent and should probably get an 8 or 9. Not 10 because you do not get many options to edit the visuals like in other games. Another thing that the game does well is providing fun rhythm based gameplay. The lights keep coming from both sides. you catch some and avoid the others. Very unique.

    The problem is the soundtrack, which is the main basis of Retro/Grade, is not perfect. By "not perfect" I mean in a a reflex based game with space theme I'd expect something with faster beats, more panic sounding, It does not have to be a masterpiece. But here many of the tracks sounds slow. Not sure how to describe this in layman terms, but it may sound like a tree sloth trying to run and being slow, a turtle slowly moving each of its legs to get to the finish line, maybe a funeral march. They have loud beats but as slow as some European waltz. In guitar hero or rock band games when a level needed to be easier you did not have to pick a slow song, you just got fewer notes. Thankfully you can try this in the demo. You may just like this kind of stuff.
    Full Review »