User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    You have to be careful with this game. Find and download the demo first on the PSN or watch videos of gameplay with the sound on. You may actually hate the music. I do not think it is for everyone.

    Retro/Grade is pure eye candy if you like colorful things flying in space with lots of special effects exploding and doing crazy particle stuff. So in the visual department the game is
    You have to be careful with this game. Find and download the demo first on the PSN or watch videos of gameplay with the sound on. You may actually hate the music. I do not think it is for everyone.

    Retro/Grade is pure eye candy if you like colorful things flying in space with lots of special effects exploding and doing crazy particle stuff. So in the visual department the game is excellent and should probably get an 8 or 9. Not 10 because you do not get many options to edit the visuals like in other games. Another thing that the game does well is providing fun rhythm based gameplay. The lights keep coming from both sides. you catch some and avoid the others. Very unique.

    The problem is the soundtrack, which is the main basis of Retro/Grade, is not perfect. By "not perfect" I mean in a a reflex based game with space theme I'd expect something with faster beats, more panic sounding, It does not have to be a masterpiece. But here many of the tracks sounds slow. Not sure how to describe this in layman terms, but it may sound like a tree sloth trying to run and being slow, a turtle slowly moving each of its legs to get to the finish line, maybe a funeral march. They have loud beats but as slow as some European waltz. In guitar hero or rock band games when a level needed to be easier you did not have to pick a slow song, you just got fewer notes. Thankfully you can try this in the demo. You may just like this kind of stuff.
    Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I didn't know what to expect from this game. I haven't played a good shmup (shoot 'em up) in awhile, so I was hoping this would scratch the itch. I knew going in that it was rythm-based, but I thought maybe there would some shooter action. I was wrong in thinking this, but very pleasantly surprised by this unique take on the rythm-music genre. An excellent soundtrack filled with a varietyI didn't know what to expect from this game. I haven't played a good shmup (shoot 'em up) in awhile, so I was hoping this would scratch the itch. I knew going in that it was rythm-based, but I thought maybe there would some shooter action. I was wrong in thinking this, but very pleasantly surprised by this unique take on the rythm-music genre. An excellent soundtrack filled with a variety of electronica, several difficulties that cater to all skillsets, a high level of replayability (despite its' initially disappointing length), great sense of self-aware and irreverent humor, the ability to use your dust-gathering guitar periphreals, and, most importantly, fast, fun and rewarding gameplay. The graphics and models (with the exception of the stellar background detail) are forgettable and disappointing, and the lack of co-operative play is a letdown; but, the game shines in every other category. Oh, and stay for the credits. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Retro Grade’s unique take on the Ryhtm game genre will leave you suprised and satisfied. On a higher difficulty it can be quite challenging and though trophy hunters will be dissapointed with the lack of Platinum and extreme difficulty of attaining all the bronzes, the sheer addictiveness will have most players looking to unlock 100% of this games content. Quirky, addictive, fun and uniqueRetro Grade’s unique take on the Ryhtm game genre will leave you suprised and satisfied. On a higher difficulty it can be quite challenging and though trophy hunters will be dissapointed with the lack of Platinum and extreme difficulty of attaining all the bronzes, the sheer addictiveness will have most players looking to unlock 100% of this games content. Quirky, addictive, fun and unique it’s everything an indie game should be.
    Trophy Difficulty Very Hard

    Story 7/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Graphics 9.5/10
    Sound 8/10
    Lasting Appeal 9/10

    Read my full review here: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/retrograde-review/
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    stra recensione
    Rick Rocket ha appena salvato il mondo, ma l'incredibile scia di distruzione che si è lasciato alle spalle, ha causato un'anomalia temporale che ha invertito lo scorrere del tempo. Rick sarà percio costretto a combattere nuovamente la sua battaglia, ma questa volta al contrario.... e senza alterare il continuo spazio/temporale. Questa è la premessa
    stra recensione
    Rick Rocket ha appena salvato il mondo, ma l'incredibile scia di distruzione che si è lasciato alle spalle, ha causato un'anomalia temporale che ha invertito lo scorrere del tempo. Rick sarà percio costretto a combattere nuovamente la sua battaglia, ma questa volta al contrario.... e senza alterare il continuo spazio/temporale. Questa è la premessa alla base di Retro/Grade, primo titolo di 24 Caret Games, che mescola in maniera ambiziosa Sparatutto e Rhythm Game in un connubio assolutamente affascinante.

    Nella nostra battaglia al contrario, dovremo infatti occuparci sia di schivare i proiettili nemici, che tornando indietro nel tempo ci raggiungeranno da sinistra, che di posizionarci nell'esatto punto da cui avevamo sparato i nostri proiettili, che invece ci raggiungeranno da destra. Il tutto evitando buchi neri e boss di dimensioni ragguardevoli che faranno di tutto per allontanarci dal nostro obiettivo.
    Dicevamo prima che Retro/Grade può essere incastonato nella categoria dei Rhythm Game, questo perché l'azione su schermo si svolgerà all'unisono con la musica, come un Rock Band o un Guitar Hero qualsiasi (tanto che chi già possiede le chitarre con cui si possono giocare questi titoli, potrà affrontare Retro/Grade con l'aiuto della periferica anzichè del classico Joypad) e bisogna dire che raggiunge in pieno l'obiettivo, dato che una volta presa la mano e compreso appieno il gameplay ci troveremo a disegnare delle vere e proprie coreografie con la nostra navicella, nel disperato tentativo di schivare l'ennesimo proiettile nemico ed essere una frazione di secondo più tardi due "tracce" più in alto per allinearci con uno dei nostri proiettili. Data la particolare tipologia di gameplay, gli sviluppatori hanno intelligentemente studiato 6 livelli di difficoltà, cosicchè ognuno possa trovare quello più idoneo e che anche chi ha già una certa dimestichezza coi Rhythm Game possa trovare un livello di sfida adeguato. Proprio come accade in Rock Band, infatti, i livelli di difficoltà più bassi prevedono solo tre tracce ed un numero limitato di proiettili da recuperare e schivare, mentre quelli più alti prevedono ben 5 tracce ed un numero semplicemente impressionante di proiettili, cosa che metterà a dura prova anche i giocatori più esperti. Per fortuna, abbiamo la possibilità di tornare indietro nel tempo (o avanti, a seconda dei punti di vista) in caso di errori e poter rimediare, naturalmente non all'infinito, ma solamente dopo aver riempito l'apposita barra.

    Le tracce che compongono la campagna principale, sono purtroppo soltanto dieci e oltre ad affrontarle ad un livello di difficoltà più elevato, l'unica modalità alternativa sono le sfide, presenti in numero ragguardevole, ognuna con un obiettivo ben definito e, inutile dirlo, di difficoltà progressivamente più alta. Oppure si può provare a raggiungere il punteggio più basso (logicamente, dato che si va indietro nel tempo...) nelle classifiche online costantemente aggiornate...

    Per quanto riguarda l'aspetto tecnico, anche in questo caso 24 Caret Games ha fatto il suo dovere: l'accompagnamento musicale è di ottimo livello ed anche chi non ama il particolare genere musicale (piuttosto "danzereccio"), si troverà a seguire le tracce col capo per trovare la concentrazione necessaria a superare le fasi più ostiche. La grafica, infine, oltre ad essere uno spettacolo per gli occhi, si muove anch'essa a tempo di musica e fornisce al giocatore un utilissimo aiuto "visivo", oltre ad essere coloratissima e a tratti quasi "psichedelica", come ad esempio quando si attiva il bonus per il moltiplicatore di punteggio.

    Insomma, come Dust è stato una piacevolissima sorpresa su XBLA, anche il PSN ha il suo "outsider" estivo: questo Retro/Grade soddisferà senza ombra di dubbio ogni fan di Rock Band/Guitar Hero e delle produzioni di Q? Entertainment/Tetsuya Mizuguchi, tutti gli altri dovrebbero perlomeno provarlo, tanto che per gli utenti Playstation Plus è disponibile gratuitamente fino a fine mese, mentre per tutti gli altri saranno 9,99 euro davvero ben spesi.

    Voto: 9/10 (www.videogiocare.org)
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The rhythm genre isn't dead, it just got better with lasers. [November 2012, p79]
  2. It's easy to get sucked in. [Nov 2012, p.119]
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    A briefly mesmerizing trip backwards through sonic space that never quite coalesces into an essential purchase. [Nov 2012, p.64]