Ride to Hell: Retribution PlayStation 3

Metascore
13

Overwhelming dislike - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
0.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game is set in the last years of the roaring 1960s, a time of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll. The biker movement, rock music and the hippie counterculture all add to the fascinating atmosphere to be experienced in Ride to Hell. Action-loaded from the very start with free roamingThe game is set in the last years of the roaring 1960s, a time of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll. The biker movement, rock music and the hippie counterculture all add to the fascinating atmosphere to be experienced in Ride to Hell. Action-loaded from the very start with free roaming environments, players can immerse themselves in the liberty and freedom of riding full throttle with their gang on a multitude of different vehicles through the dusty flats of Western America. Protecting their turf, their brothers and their machines from rival gangs is just a taste of what this epic game involves. Ride to Hell is not for the faint-hearted; it's aimed heavily at the player who wants to become fully involved in the original West Coast biker culture. With its hard drinking, bare-knuckle environment, this is as close to the action as you can get. [Deep Silver] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    30
    Disastrous. There are no more adjectives to describe a title like Ride to Hell: Retribution.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    No word exists for the level of disgust I have for everybody involved in its blasphemous making.
  3. If The Last of Us is gaming’s Citizen Kane moment, this is its Plan 9 From Outer Space. [September 2013, p73]
  4. Riding to actual Hell over 1000 miles of broken glass using your own scrotum as a toboggan would be more enjoyable.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 24 out of 32
  1. Sis
    Dec 16, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. Ratchet & Clank, because this is the biggest masterpiece I have ever seen. Why, because it has MC's and guns! Rock on!!
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deep silver has had a difficult history in making games. But who would have thought they would set the bar so high that no upcoming game with any anticipation could possibly match it? Ride to Hell: Retribution is a genre defying masterpiece that combine all gaming elements such as third person shooting, free roaming environments, beat em' up, action adventure, rock and roll themes. The story is by far the most complex and detailed masterpiece I've ever seen in a game. Jake Conway who has recently been divorced for two years, awakes one day to find his peaceful home town being invaded by a small army of American cyborgs claiming the world would be a better place if it we're run by a gigantic mother core they are planning to insert in the Earths core. And thus begins an epic tale of redemption and battle for freedom. Since I can give away plot points ,I was intrigued to find that the robots were actually attacking them because they found that the human race was secretly hiding them, and trying to weaponise them against enemy forces. I was also extremely shaken by the cut scene where Jake ruthlessly guns down dozens of robots and then he takes a sewing pin, pulls out their robotic cores, puts it on the end of a long metal pole and pretends to be a predator. Since it's a sandbox game, there are over a hundred vehicles to choose from. All of which are brilliantly designed to the tiny amount of smoke coming from the exhaust, to the reflection of the sun on the roof. Also you can customise them of course. I found a hilarious customisation where you can put colourful banner on the side of the car saying "Deep Silver are the best!!!" It's actually quite hard to pinpoint my favourite part of this masterpiece. Perhaps the part where Jake and a robot the size of the Empire State Building battle on the sun. Or maybe the part where Jake's brother swallows a radioactive LEGO brick and breaks up into a thousand Lego men which is used to take down a boss by disassembling it chip by chip. My one criticism with Ride to Hell is the beginning where Jake shows sympathy towards his uncle who has treated him wrongly for nine years. But I suppose Deep Silver shows this as some sort of character development. I heard that there may be two more games from this one. This worries me, because I mentioned that they have. Set the bar very high. But I'm confident that the Ride to Hell franchise will go down in history as "the game that changed the world."

    (PS this is a joke)
    Expand
  3. ERB
    Aug 31, 2013
    1
    I can't believe Deep Silver would make such a terrible game!The story of this game is confusing,terrible and worst.I mean at the start of thisI can't believe Deep Silver would make such a terrible game!The story of this game is confusing,terrible and worst.I mean at the start of this game you go riding at your motorcycle then suddenly you go kill some people with your turret and then you go ride your motorcycle again then suddenly you go beat up a guy.I mean how did that happen?how did I went there?This is so random!And the graphics of this game is so terrible!I mean it looks like a 2004 game rather than a 2013 game.It feels outdated.

    And not just that the game play of this game is so messy and terrible I would rather not finish the game because its to boring!And I also hate this game because the enemies of this game is so easy!I mean almost all the enemies of this game are dumb I mean its like they just wanted to die rather than to kill you!I mean they always charge at you and you can easily kill them because they move so slow[Except for other enemies of this game].And not just that the voice acting is so bad that I almost want to laught at it except that this game is not funny!But one thing for sure that this game didn't get a score of 0 from me its because Its a PS3 game.I always loved PS3 games because almost all PS3 games I've played is so cool and awesome[except for this one].And I couldn't believe why I bought this game.Maybe because the title of this game is awesome.But I should tell you this guys"Don't ever buy this stupid game"Its not even worth your money and time.[So far this is the longest game review I've ever had.]
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2014
    0
    This game is possibly the largest piece of S*** ever! how in Gods name can someone release this! I got for free and I still want my moneyThis game is possibly the largest piece of S*** ever! how in Gods name can someone release this! I got for free and I still want my money back! F*** THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2014
    0
    This game is quite possibly one of, if not the worst game ever made. Mechanically it's simply broken with controls that don't work, charactersThis game is quite possibly one of, if not the worst game ever made. Mechanically it's simply broken with controls that don't work, characters and objects that just explode for no reason, gameplay that lacks any real pacing, and enough graphics and audio glitches; including entire sections that lack background sounds or sound effects completely, that I consider this a defective product and demanded a full refund.

    Worse than all that though is this game is outright offensive. Glorifying violence and sex on the most base and childish levels, you literally save women from thugs regularly for which they reward you with sex, fully clothed sex mind you... we can't have nudity now can we.

    This debased and disgusting game is an insult to everyone. It's insulting to women, treating them as nothing but sex objects and trophies, it's insulting to men depicting us all as violent thugs who only do things if there's a promise of sex at the end, it's insulting to gamers that the developers presume we're all such pathetic lonely sad-acts that this hamfisted shoehorning of sex into the game would be appealing, and it's insulting to society that they dared to release this at retail and charge money for it. I sincerely hope that anyone involved in this abysmal game never works in this industry again, they should all be ashamed of themselves.
    Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    This is the WORST F?&*ING piece of crap ever. It is a legal means of torture. This GAME is cr*p just EVERYTHING about this game sucks!
    DO NOT
    This is the WORST F?&*ING piece of crap ever. It is a legal means of torture. This GAME is cr*p just EVERYTHING about this game sucks!
    DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
    Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2014
    0
    Ride to hell lives up to its title, this game gives the complete exp of hell to you in one game. Playing this game is very bad.STAY AWAY.Ride to hell lives up to its title, this game gives the complete exp of hell to you in one game. Playing this game is very bad.STAY AWAY. Enjoying it and calling it a good game is sin in itself. It is funny for the first few minutes because of laughable physics, awful driving mechanic, screwed up bike sound effects and horrible voice acting but soon becomes repetitive. This game has extremely bad graphics and the most insulting sex scenes in a game it will make you feel ashamed about yourself for playing the game. It is just bad DONT PLAY RIDE TO HELL : RETRIBUTION EVER. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews