Metascore
13

Overwhelming dislike - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.0

Overwhelming dislike- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game is set in the last years of the roaring 1960s, a time of sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll. The biker movement, rock music and the hippie counterculture all add to the fascinating atmosphere to be experienced in Ride to Hell. Action-loaded from the very start with free roaming environments, players can immerse themselves in the liberty and freedom of riding full throttle with their gang on a multitude of different vehicles through the dusty flats of Western America. Protecting their turf, their brothers and their machines from rival gangs is just a taste of what this epic game involves. Ride to Hell is not for the faint-hearted; it's aimed heavily at the player who wants to become fully involved in the original West Coast biker culture. With its hard drinking, bare-knuckle environment, this is as close to the action as you can get. [Deep Silver] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    30
    Disastrous. There are no more adjectives to describe a title like Ride to Hell: Retribution.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    No word exists for the level of disgust I have for everybody involved in its blasphemous making.
  3. If The Last of Us is gaming’s Citizen Kane moment, this is its Plan 9 From Outer Space. [September 2013, p73]
  4. Riding to actual Hell over 1000 miles of broken glass using your own scrotum as a toboggan would be more enjoyable.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 28
  2. Negative: 21 out of 28
  1. Sis
    Dec 16, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. Ratchet & Clank, because this is the biggest masterpiece I have ever seen. Why, because it has MC's and guns! Rock on!!
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Deep silver has had a difficult history in making games. But who would have thought they would set the bar so high that no upcoming game with any anticipation could possibly match it? Ride to Hell: Retribution is a genre defying masterpiece that combine all gaming elements such as third person shooting, free roaming environments, beat em' up, action adventure, rock and roll themes. The story is by far the most complex and detailed masterpiece I've ever seen in a game. Jake Conway who has recently been divorced for two years, awakes one day to find his peaceful home town being invaded by a small army of American cyborgs claiming the world would be a better place if it we're run by a gigantic mother core they are planning to insert in the Earths core. And thus begins an epic tale of redemption and battle for freedom. Since I can give away plot points ,I was intrigued to find that the robots were actually attacking them because they found that the human race was secretly hiding them, and trying to weaponise them against enemy forces. I was also extremely shaken by the cut scene where Jake ruthlessly guns down dozens of robots and then he takes a sewing pin, pulls out their robotic cores, puts it on the end of a long metal pole and pretends to be a predator. Since it's a sandbox game, there are over a hundred vehicles to choose from. All of which are brilliantly designed to the tiny amount of smoke coming from the exhaust, to the reflection of the sun on the roof. Also you can customise them of course. I found a hilarious customisation where you can put colourful banner on the side of the car saying "Deep Silver are the best!!!" It's actually quite hard to pinpoint my favourite part of this masterpiece. Perhaps the part where Jake and a robot the size of the Empire State Building battle on the sun. Or maybe the part where Jake's brother swallows a radioactive LEGO brick and breaks up into a thousand Lego men which is used to take down a boss by disassembling it chip by chip. My one criticism with Ride to Hell is the beginning where Jake shows sympathy towards his uncle who has treated him wrongly for nine years. But I suppose Deep Silver shows this as some sort of character development. I heard that there may be two more games from this one. This worries me, because I mentioned that they have. Set the bar very high. But I'm confident that the Ride to Hell franchise will go down in history as "the game that changed the world."

    (PS this is a joke)
    Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Not the best game i've ever played, but not the worst either, i have neither clawed out my eyes, or worshipped. Should have got the price right, it's budget baby. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    0
    Ride to hell lives up to its title, this game gives the complete exp of hell to you in one game. Playing this game is very bad.STAY AWAY. Enjoying it and calling it a good game is sin in itself. It is funny for the first few minutes because of laughable physics, awful driving mechanic, screwed up bike sound effects and horrible voice acting but soon becomes repetitive. This game has extremely bad graphics and the most insulting sex scenes in a game it will make you feel ashamed about yourself for playing the game. It is just bad DONT PLAY RIDE TO HELL : RETRIBUTION EVER. Expand
  5. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    This game is a crime, It is absolutely unplayable. The graphics are awful, the game play is awful, the story is awful and don't get my me started on the voice acting. DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE!!! Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Worse than anyone can imagine should be avoided by everyone on earth.

    Zero gameplay, disgusting controls, production values from the
    toilet.

    Expect returned copies to be sitting alongside ET very soon.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    This is the WORST F?&*ING piece of crap ever. It is a legal means of torture. This GAME is cr*p just EVERYTHING about this game sucks!
    DO NOT
    BUY THIS!!! Expand

See all 28 User Reviews